Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A 2009 photo of SDLP MLA Conal McDevitt SDLP/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Bullet and sympathy card sent in post to SDLP member

The SDLP has condemned the death threat, with Conall McDevitt saying it will not prevent him from doing the job he has been elected to do.

AN SDLP MEMBER was sent a bullet in the post today, an action that he said will not stop him doing the job he was elected to do.

The SDLP has condemned a death threat against Assembly Member Conall McDevitt, after he received the bullet and sympathy card in the post this morning.

It described this as the latest in a series of threats against the South Belfast MLA since December, and follows a similar threat on SDLP Mid-Ulster MLA Patsy McGlone and the attack on the home of SDLP Councillor Claire Hanna, as well as several threats against other elected representatives.

McDevitt said:

These threats only strengthen my determination that we must work towards a better future for everyone in this region, and will not prevent me from doing the job I have been democratically elected to do. The foundations for a new society laid by the Good Friday Agreement will never be undermined by those who seek to drag us back to violence.

He described the threat as “the acts of fascists and they will be defeated democratically.”

Read: MP condemns those who “want Derry to be a theatre for destruction”>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

24 Comments
    Mute timmy tells tales
    Favourite timmy tells tales
    Mar 6th 2013, 11:22 PM

Return to sender!

Mute Ian Creaner
    Favourite Ian Creaner
    Mar 7th 2013, 10:33 AM

Let’s never allow ourselves to sink to their level.

Mute Tomas Mac Maghnuis
    Favourite Tomas Mac Maghnuis
    Mar 6th 2013, 11:17 PM

Disgraceful Cowardly acts

Mute Alan Dempsey
    Favourite Alan Dempsey
    Mar 6th 2013, 11:27 PM

These people need to cop on ffs. Get a life.

Mute Stewart Dickson MLA
    Favourite Stewart Dickson MLA
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:47 AM

Standing with you.

Mute zebedee
    Favourite zebedee
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:13 AM

It takes a special kind of character not to be affected by this kind of cowardly threat.
    I don’t fully agree with SDLP policies, but this is a spineless threat on a man serving his community in the way he believes. Another assault on a fragile democracy.

Mute Irish Mule
    Favourite Irish Mule
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:56 AM

Over a feckin flag have they nothing better to do. My god they’ve not much goin on in their lives

Mute Professor Mehoop
    Favourite Professor Mehoop
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:04 AM

Loyalist, dumbass, in-bred, dole-scrounging, kerb-vandalising, knuckle-dragging, dickh3ads. Or the Shinners.

Mute Tomas Mac Maghnuis
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:37 AM

Why would it be the Shinners ???

Mute Tomas Mac Maghnuis
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:59 AM

Another crowd of anti Shinners I see I’ve you no do much why are you not at the police with your information

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Mar 7th 2013, 1:04 AM

I don’t recall anyone accepting British rule

Mute Tomas Mac Maghnuis
    Mar 7th 2013, 1:18 AM

They didn’t Fergal but you always find a few dumbasses on here

Mute Sham Rock
    Favourite Sham Rock
    Mar 7th 2013, 5:30 AM

The first reality of Irish politics is to deny reality.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Mar 7th 2013, 8:19 AM

@Tomas. Why COULDN’T it be Shinners?

Mute Tomas Mac Maghnuis
    Mar 7th 2013, 8:50 AM

@ Jason you keep going on about the GFA but how can anyone take you serious with a pic of Homer …… Duh

Mute Tomas Mac Maghnuis
    Mar 7th 2013, 8:52 AM

@ Jimmy we all know only to well if the Shinners where sending bullets the cops would be arresting everyone knows only to well that loyalists are sending bullets in the post to Alliance Sinn Fein and SDLP parties

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Mar 7th 2013, 9:16 AM

Ahhh … pooooor Jimmy … some people cant talk about real issues without making stuff up, or suggesting lies….
    You really need to get out more

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Mar 7th 2013, 9:30 AM

So called ‘dissident republicans’? Could they be behind these cowardly acts, most likely it’s their opposites on the loyalist side but lets face it terrorists are terrorists no matter what flag they wrap themselves in. Mr McDevitt is an elected member of the MLA and as such a representative of the people of that constituency, all the people. The thugs and lowlifes who try to intimidate him are losers with no cause other than their own warped invention. The people of Ireland north and south have already spoken in GFA and they want a peaceful country in which to get on with their lives. The morons on both ends of extremist spectrum need to understand that they are never going to defeat the will of the people and the sooner they get used to that then the sooner they can p*** off!

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:14 AM

These type of people represent the pinnacle of cowardice. They would be the first ones to collaborate with serious aggressors, if they thought that they might gain the upper hand in the future. They represent nothing, other than a willingness to create terror, destruction and fear, if it benefited them. They represent hate for the sake of hate, and nothing else. It’s hard to believe that such people could exist today, but it’s not long ago that we have seen terrible examples of this in devastating action. Just why this hatred continues to ferment, decade after decade, regardless of the destruction it has wrought, is the question that needs to be answered I think.

Mute Thomas ryan
    Favourite Thomas ryan
    Mar 7th 2013, 1:28 AM

A absolute disgrace humans these days no morals.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:36 AM

Terrorists!!
    I’m glad we live in a democracy and not a communist utopia. Don’t let those terrorists bully you.

Mute mary cull
    Favourite mary cull
    Mar 7th 2013, 4:13 AM

Get back to your school playground if you love playing your games young foolish & dim mentality..

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Mar 7th 2013, 12:31 AM

Wee Conall will love the free publicity. Up here, we get more death threats than Christmas cards. It’s all part of the fun and games

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 7th 2013, 7:28 PM

they (the unionists) talk about law and order They talk about peace and loving democracy. is it as long as it served the interest’s of the status quo. now when democracy is usurping their ideals and the reality of becoming a minority within the north of Ireland is starting to happen, they resort to the same tactics that they themselves would have condemned years before. message for ye unionists. ye better start getting used to it sooner or later there will be an outright majority up there. there will be a referendum on the northern question and it will finally be put to bed once and for all. maybe if ye came down for a day or two and had a look around in the dreaded republic ye might find that it is not actually that bad down here.