You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Twin Design

Three arrested after gardaí confront gang at scene of burglary

Two of the three were due before court this afternoon, gardaí said.

Updated at 3.30pm

THREE MEN HAVE been arrested after gardaí confronted a gang at the scene of a burglary in Co Cavan in the early hours of this morning.

As part of the gardaí’s Operation Thor crackdown – which targets known burglars – the three were arrested in connection with a raid at a business in Kingscourt in Cavan.

Detective gardaí responded to a call from the premises at around 1am, according to the force.

On arrival, the officers were confronted by three men who were subsequently arrested at scene.

Two of the arrested men – aged in their early 20s and 30s – were detained at Baileboro Garda Station, under the provisions of Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act, 1984.

The third man, in his early 30s, was detained at Carrickmacross Garda Station. He was released this morning without charge, with a file to be prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The two men still in custody were due before a special sitting of Monaghan District Court this afternoon.

Operation Thor 

Launched earlier this month, Operation Thor is a new nationwide crackdown from the gardaí, targeting 200 of Ireland’s most prolific burglars.

It will see an increase in recruitment, additions to the garda fleet, as well as investment in communications technology for gardaí and public awareness campaigns.

Uniformed patrols are also being increased in burglary hotspots, which gardaí have identified through the PULSE system.

Read: Gardaí are cracking down on Ireland’s most prolific burglars

Read: Three men arrested over robberies in three different counties

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

55 Comments
    Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Nov 21st 2015, 11:57 AM

Now please punish accordingly or it’s just a waste of time

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:36 PM

Bring them before a special court today and remand them in custody msybe they were looking to see if ther was a deli conter

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Nov 21st 2015, 4:12 PM

Really, it wasn’t that difficult after-all, just a question of a political will to go chasing criminals instead of everyday motorists.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Nov 21st 2015, 10:09 PM

I just had to check if it was April the first! The guards answered a burglary call? Go on out of that! Our guards? A burglary call? Honestly they actually when to the scene of the crime in time to catch the filth robbing the place? No I’m not believing that for one second.

Mute shelly
    Favourite shelly
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:10 PM

Third man was released without charge and a file blah….blah….blah……, was he there with the other two at time of burglary? Then throw the book at him and the other two. Mandatory sentencing of 10 yrs for burglars, no bail. While this guy is out waiting for the DPP to look at the file she is sent, he can commit many more crimes. Grrr

Mute David Breese
    Favourite David Breese
    Nov 21st 2015, 1:39 PM

Mandatory prison sentences don’t work. One only needs to look at the mess in the U.S. to realize that.

Nov 21st 2015, 2:12 PM

But what our soft judges are doing now isn’t working.

Mute Dawes30
    Favourite Dawes30
    Nov 21st 2015, 2:45 PM

Because it works in the US? The crime rate over there is far far higher than in Ireland. You want mandatory sentences? That’s fine, just be prepared for no effect whatsoever on the low crime rate (which is then exaggerated by stories like this) coupled with a huge increase in accused taking trial dates (as you have nothing then to lose by pleading not guilty). Judges give out proper sentences all the time, and refuse bail in nearly all cases where Gardai object under s2 bail act (which has always allowed bail to be refused where there is a risk an accused will commit a further offence – but don’t let the politicians tell you that because that doesn’t help their sound bites and ‘getting tough on crime’ stance) but of course it doesn’t get reported because it’s not news worthy, much better to voice outrage at a handful of cases.

Mute Timmy O'Toole
    Favourite Timmy O'Toole
    Nov 21st 2015, 3:55 PM

Where do you propose housing the rapists and murderers? if you are sentencing burglars to a mandatory 10 years there won’t be sufficient jail space for them.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy

Mandatory sentencing and 50 lashes for second offence, see your crime stats after that !

Mute Timmy O'Toole
    Favourite Timmy O'Toole

Where do you propose housing the rapists and murders? If you are giving mandatory 10 year sentences to to burglars there won’t be enough jail places for more serious offenders.

Mute Timmy O'Toole
    Favourite Timmy O'Toole
    Nov 21st 2015, 4:36 PM

Where do you propose housing the rapists and the murderers? If you are giving 10 year mandatory sentences to burglars there won’t be enough jail space for more serious offenders. There will be more criminals out on bail. There will be longer delays in securing convictions

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Nov 21st 2015, 10:05 PM

It works a lot better then letting them go Scott free.
    Personally anyone who breaks into someone’s home should be shot on the spot and the shooter rewarded for ridding the country of this filth

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Nov 22nd 2015, 5:34 PM

Why report a burglar being shot dead sure just bury it somewhere and plant a tulip on top of it and do the same for the next one and plant 2 tulips just in case you forget how many you put in the ground .

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Nov 21st 2015, 11:58 AM

1st big result for the Government’s new Operation Thor. I hope that they can now catch the Hole in the Roof gangs and put them away.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:06 PM

By the gardai yes, but where is our justice reform. Is that after the next election or is that a promise for the one after that.

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:08 PM

I hear that the “Wet Bandits” a gruesome twosome are top of the Gardai’s wanted list!

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:10 PM

This was a Government backed decision aimed at tackling rural crime and large gangs. Which as we can see is already beginning to work. The Bail Bill, will be in this session on top of other measures such as the new DNA data system.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:21 PM

This governments relationship with an Gardai and justice in general leaves a bad smell after it. But, it is good to see an initiative like this in action , albeit needed sooner.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:22 PM

Hi Blaine, you waive your right to an opinion on the perceived successes of Merkel’s representatives in Ireland by virtue of the fact that you are a member of Fine Gael, talk about pissing on our backs and telling us it’s raining.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:36 PM

It says a lot about our capabilities when the arrest of 3 burglars makes the national news. Do the Gardai not arrest burglars every day, or is this something unusual or maybe it’s FG spin to show how tough they are on crime?
    Hello Blaine, I’m surprised to see you still here. As you were so gungho on going off to fight Isis yesterday, I expected you to be on a military jet somewhere over Syria by now.

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:46 PM

Devlin, your away with the faries.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:52 PM

@Blaine, that does’nt suit your image. Call her anne marie at least. I reckon you’d be away in Europe with the fairies if you get half a chance.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:58 PM

Exactly Richard

Mute Jes McNamara
    Favourite Jes McNamara
    Nov 21st 2015, 1:08 PM

If I read the article correctly, this burglary was detected because of a phone call from the premises being burgled and not as a result of “Targetting the top 200 burglars nationwide” which is what Operation Thor is supposed to be. So though the capture will be added to the statistics for Operation Thor, it was in reality the standard work of local Gardai and not oart of the Governaments initiative.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 21st 2015, 1:10 PM

Blaine….is your real name Frances??

Mute Dawes30
    Favourite Dawes30
    Nov 21st 2015, 2:50 PM

The bail bill Blaine? It does nothing new that’s already on the statute books. Judges already have the power to refuse where there is evidence of a risk an accused will commit a further offence. And guess what? It’s used all the time! And the Judges tend to refuse bail unless the evidence doesn’t stack up! Of course this doesn’t suit the narrative you want to go with so just go to your tough and crime stance and ignore all other salient facts.

Mute Apogee
    Favourite Apogee
    Nov 21st 2015, 3:55 PM

Half the problem is that if a judge gives them hefty sentences they’ll appeal as it would be so abnormal here. These guys are known burglars with a history caught in the act and likely a list of previous as long as your arm. Good to see them getting caught but the average sentence is only 3 years for this. That should be doubled at the very minimum.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Nov 21st 2015, 5:35 PM

In this session ??? Are you for real ? When they transferred loan shark’s bets on to my children’s and my grandchildren’s shoulders they were able to do it overnight. Just remember that everybody when they come looking for you and your family’s votes very shortly.

Mute Nicholas Coffey
    Favourite Nicholas Coffey
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:03 PM

I’d love to have attended the meeting where the name “Operation Thor” was conceived

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:14 PM

Genius name. Bringing the hammer down on criminals. Now let’s see if judges actually know how to use a hammer to.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:19 PM

Might have been on a Thursday the day is named after Thor

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:19 PM

They do… “Suspended Sentence”… knock…knock.. next!

Mute Padraig Nolan
    Favourite Padraig Nolan
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:23 PM

The judges don’t give a flying f#ck.

They are the ring masters of a rotten system!!

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:26 PM

Supernintendo murphy” ngeardai, what’ll we call this iniciative?”

Garda Boisin: “operation thor”

Murphy:” thatllwhat made u think of dat, tis brillant”

Boisin:”its norse code for the god of knockin de bollix out of people”

Murphy : ” wheelwarriors, explode into action, ngeardai! Mount up!”

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:32 PM

Ah they only bring down the hammer on water protestors, or anti-Nama demonstrations!

Mute Kathleen Comer
    Favourite Kathleen Comer
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:05 AM

The judges wont bring down the hammer on them. They will give them a suspended sentence a slap on the wrist and let them off to do the same thing again

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:56 PM

What’s it going to be? 6 months with 5 suspended? After all, I’m sure these poor guys had it tough and they were probably under the influence of alcohol…..so, not really their fault

Mute MyBrokenKnees
    Favourite MyBrokenKnees
    Nov 21st 2015, 1:55 PM

10 to 20 years on the chain gang wearing nice pink overalls.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 21st 2015, 1:08 PM

Great work by the Gardai but now we can expect mademoiselle Fitzgerald with her “I told you I’d make things better,didn’t I”??.. She was on radio yesterday and actually said..” People are suspicious of the 1000′s of fighters who’ve come back to Europe”…….suspicious?in the real world they get locked up for years….!

Mute Tomasz Kuchnik
    Favourite Tomasz Kuchnik
    Nov 21st 2015, 2:09 PM

I wish there was South American model re burglars…. they usually don’t live till the first court hearing.

Mute Marion
    Favourite Marion
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:28 PM

Is that Tom Cruise in the balaclava??

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Nov 21st 2015, 5:04 PM

@Marion: It looks like Edna!

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Nov 21st 2015, 4:48 PM

The legal lobby don’t want more prisons as their customers are repeat offenders. Somebody with numerous convictions can potentially make solicitors, Junior council and Senior Council a huge amount of money. They also make money from the damage caused in insurance claims. Of course the judges and their families are all involved in the business so the status quo is maintained. It’s a huge business and if offenders were imprisoned it would seriously effect their business. People’ lives are put in danger to allow criminals continue to prosper and the legal profession to thrive. The moral in the Gardai is shot to pieces with repeat offenders constantly getting off cries. Shame on our government.

Mute Dawes30
    Favourite Dawes30
    Nov 21st 2015, 8:36 PM

*counsel

Mute Grace Jeaney
    Favourite Grace Jeaney
    Nov 21st 2015, 5:30 PM

Burglars are a scourge in this country, if they aren’t given proper jail time, there is no deterrent. This ridiculous system of suspending sentences makes a mockery of Garda time and resources. Repeat offenders should be jailed for at least ten years.

Nov 21st 2015, 1:36 PM

Jail is too good for them, the sewage system is not?

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Nov 21st 2015, 12:20 PM

Fookin deadly.

Mute ijlester
    Favourite ijlester
    Nov 21st 2015, 9:11 PM

Are we really falling for this spin from the government? Is it not obvious to everyone that these arrests have nothing whatsoever to do with Operation Thor – but the spin now is that anything at all positive from the Gardai is as a result of this ” new initiative” from Noirin & Frances? There is no fresh investment in the Gardai – just repeated “announcements” of recruiting and “new high powered” cars – just the replacement of clapped out cars that have reached 300,000 kms! Does anyone even know how much it costs to keep these cars on the road to 300,000 kms? About twice as much as replacing it at 150,000 kms, thats how much. Operation Thor? Are we that gullible?

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 21st 2015, 10:51 PM

No..we’re not.

Mute Paula Tully
    Favourite Paula Tully
    Nov 21st 2015, 4:59 PM

Well done lads and lassies

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Nov 21st 2015, 11:44 PM

How can we put this…..I wonder……what background these criminals have?? Are they from a wandering background? Moving from place to place?

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 22nd 2015, 1:49 AM

You mean circus folk?fairgrounds?that type of amusement? Hardly.

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Nov 22nd 2015, 5:36 PM

You mean do they ” travel” a bit ?

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Nov 22nd 2015, 6:38 PM

Something along those lines Donal…..are they fond of moving about…….that kind of thing.