You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/tuaindeed

Burglary gangs targeting empty Dublin city centre properties

Many business owners are now beefing up security.

CRIMINAL GANGS SUSPECTED of carrying out dozens of burglaries across Dublin’s commuter belt are now targeting empty commercial premises left vacant during the Covid-19 crisis. 

Gardaí have been called to the scenes of a number of break-ins or attempted burglaries at premises in the capital in the last three weeks. 

Officers suspect that a criminal gang which used to target suburban Dublin has now moved closer to the city centre to carry out the crimes.

Premises with expensive fixed assets and stock, such as pubs, are being targeted by the burglary gang. 

Fianna Fáil’s Jim O’Callaghan said gardaí have reported an increase in burglaries in Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Waterford in the past number of weeks.

He said: “Gardai have reported a recent increase in crime in cities. Gardaí believe that the checkpoints established as part of Operation Fanacht have interrupted the movement of criminal gangs who target rural areas close to the motorway.

“Commercial premises have now become target areas. I would strongly urge communities to remain vigilant of suspicious activity during these testing times.”

Operation Fanacht was launched on 8 April. Gardaí conducted 150 permanent checkpoints on major routes, over 500 shorter and mobile checkpoints, as well as a large number of high visibility patrols at tourist locations, natural beauty spots, and parks and beaches.

Adrian Cummins, head of the Restaurant Association of Ireland, said that many businesses have been beefing up security since the restrictions on movement came in. 

He told TheJournal.ie: “There are so many premises lying idle at the moment and owners are doing everything in their power to mitigate against burglaries. 

“Our industry would not be as high risk as say those with a significant quantity of alcohol stock, valuable furniture or TV equipment. 

“It’s high risk at the moment and just like many other businesses, we are in a very dangerous situation. We have circulated advice to our members regarding security.”

Away from that, gardaí have seen criminals targeting homes while families exercise or go shopping during Covid-19 lockdowns.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Gary O CONNOR
    Favourite Gary O CONNOR
    Apr 19th 2020, 9:43 AM

Pension fund for Canadians.
    Should never have been sold.
    FFG way..

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:02 AM

@Gary O CONNOR: Never have, never will. A tax on stupidity.

Mute old man trucker
    Favourite old man trucker
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Justin Gillespie: tell that to last nights winner

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Justin Gillespie
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:19 AM

@old man trucker: The odd big winner just keeps everyone else sucked in. “It could be you” Yea right.

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:25 AM

@Justin Gillespie: Well it could have been them, and it was.

I play because it’s a few quid and it goes to good causes too. https://www.lottery.ie/useful-info/apply-for-good-causes-funding

One of the Astro pitches I use was funded by National Lottery. And a lot of kids uses these pitches for training on – which wouldn’t have happened if people didn’t play lotto and contribute to the good causes.

Yes it’s a chance to win life changing money, but I like to think that each time I buy a ticket, I’m supporting good causes too.

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:39 AM

@old man trucker: I’ll tell it to last night’s millions of losers

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:41 AM

@Justin Gillespie: Another day another suck the life outta ya comment. Click the poll and answer, save us your negativity please by not commenting. Good boy.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:52 AM

@Justin Gillespie: I don’t really do it except for really occasionally.
    But you could also see it as a tax the funds of which are used to fund worthwhile projects in the community but which also gives you the chance of becoming a millionaire.
    Depends if you have a negative outlook on life I suppose!

Mute JarryWasNotInTheRA
    Favourite JarryWasNotInTheRA
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:56 AM

@Joe: but ye but no but ye but no.

Mute Richard Russell
    Favourite Richard Russell
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:16 AM

@Justin Gillespie: a tax on dreams it could be used to finance rte instead of the licence

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:37 AM

@Gavin Mckenna: Don’t think you have a full grasp on how these forum things work Gavin,
    Mind you it’s a long time since anyone called me a boy!!

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:40 AM

@Gavin Mckenna: My main issue with the lottery is not the people who can take it or leave it but the many many people who spend money they can ill afford on them in the mistaken belief that they have a real chance at winning life changing money.
    I remember when the lottery started some one saying that if you bought a ticket on Monday you were far more likely to be dead by Saturday than you were to win the jackpot, and that was before they made it even harder.
    As for sctatch cards………

Mute Ricky
    Favourite Ricky
    Apr 19th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Justin Gillespie: Justin, is moaning on The Journal truly the only thing in the world that brings you pleasure? I mean, is there anything good you see in the world?

Mute John J. Smith
    Favourite John J. Smith
    Apr 19th 2020, 12:08 PM

@Joe: The lottery was sold to a Canadian company, so most of the profits goes to them!

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Apr 19th 2020, 12:30 PM

@John J. Smith: look at their website. €4m raised for good causes last week!
    65% of annual revenues go to good causes according to the deal. So you’re wrong!

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Apr 19th 2020, 1:05 PM

@Ricky: You’re mistaking me for some of those moaning lefties Ricky, I am normally a glass haf full kink of guy but there are a couple of things that get to me & the Littery/scratch cards is one of those things.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Apr 19th 2020, 1:33 PM

@Justin Gillespie: Oh the aul freedom a speech speel is it? Thought so. Listen. If you’ve feck all good to say keep it shut. Good boy.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Apr 19th 2020, 1:40 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: If journal.ie relied on the sparkling positivity you seem to be espousing it would be a quiet place indeed.
    I must also comment on the fact that the tone of your post is completely at variance with your sentiments regarding said positivity. Something for you to work on.
    Wishing you many blessings on this sunny day.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Apr 19th 2020, 4:39 PM

@Justin Gillespie: It’s a bit of a laugh. For less than the price of a pint or 2? Once or twice a month? I know the odds (1:46!/6!) but to hell with it. ‘If you’re not in you can’t win! ” And I vaguely resent the implication of stupidity.

Mute Liam Fahey
    Favourite Liam Fahey
    Apr 19th 2020, 9:39 AM

Whole lot less after it became privatised and they ducked around with the number of balls.

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work

Never:
    It’s a tax on the poor.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:31 AM

@School4work: it’s not a tax on anyone, those who play it choose to do so.

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:45 AM

@Derek Lyster: :Promoting gambling

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:54 AM

@School4work: why? Do only poor people play it?

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:28 AM

@Criostoir Mac Ranghaill: I bet its not!

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:35 AM

@Criostoir Mac Ranghaill: how is it promoting gambling? I’ve play the same numbers each week but don’t know how to place a bet in a bookies.

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:53 AM

@Joe: A quick google pulls up plenty of articles and videos explaining how it pretty much is

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Apr 19th 2020, 2:19 PM

@Derek Lyster:
    Tell that to the poor people who are caught in the lotto trap:

Apr 19th 2020, 2:25 PM

@EillieEs: If one partakes and uses money in a game of chance on a regular basis with very little prospects of winning in normal terms would be having a flutter

Apr 19th 2020, 2:35 PM

@EillieEs: Unfortunately a gambler is the last to admit that they have a problem with gambling money

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 19th 2020, 4:21 PM

@Criostoir Mac Ranghaill: not just money, gambling with other things too, going out without taking a jacket, gambling on love and emotions!

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Apr 19th 2020, 4:40 PM

@School4work: Why not the rich?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Apr 19th 2020, 5:50 PM

@Criostoir Mac Ranghaill: I hardly think playing two lines per draw would suggest a gambling problem.

Mute eoin carroll
    Favourite eoin carroll
    Apr 19th 2020, 9:36 AM

Is this an add

Mute EVAIS DOVES
    Favourite EVAIS DOVES

@eoin carroll: this comment is going to divide us

Mute Fergus Murphy
    Favourite Fergus Murphy
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:01 AM

@EVAIS DOVES: it will be a long division

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Fergus Murphy:

Maybe! But it was a great multiplier for the player/s making the relatively small investment for participation in last night’s draw.

Congratulations to the winners!

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:17 AM

I was working in retail around the time the sell happened and could see the decline in prizes even from scratchcards and quickpicks. I haven’t played since that trend started, regardless of the jackpot.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery

Gone to dear, answer never

Mute JarryWasNotInTheRA
    Favourite JarryWasNotInTheRA
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:54 AM

@Gerard Heery: too*

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:13 AM

@JarryWasNotInTheRA: thanks I spotted that after I posted

Mute D Writer
    Favourite D Writer
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:42 AM

@Gerard Heery: sigh. You two.

Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:06 AM

A tax on hope

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Apr 19th 2020, 9:57 AM

The lotto, also known as tax for the poor.

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:08 AM

@Winston Smith: nah that’s booze and fags

Mute TL55
    Favourite TL55
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:13 AM

@Winston Smith: Not a tax. Nobody is forced to play it

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:13 AM

@Mattress Dick: Fags yes, just you paying to cut years off your life. Rich people drink alcohol too.

Mute Wheresmyjumper
    Favourite Wheresmyjumper
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:07 AM

@Winston Smith: must be great to be as smug as you

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Apr 19th 2020, 12:56 PM

@Mattress Dick: Can actually go add in there gambling in general.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Apr 19th 2020, 1:03 PM

@Wheresmyjumper: More cynical than smug.

Mute Ferdia McManamon
    Favourite Ferdia McManamon
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:07 AM

Tomorrow’s poll: Do you like stuff?

Mute James Fenlon
    Favourite James Fenlon
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:34 AM

@Ferdia McManamon: Yes

Mute Karl C
    Favourite Karl C
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:55 AM

@Ferdia McManamon: if I say yeah will you give me €9.7 million??

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:30 AM

@Karl C: bit short right now in the house, I can’t get maybe 9.1 for you and the rest to follow? Please don’t hurt the dog, oh or family.

Mute Karl C
    Favourite Karl C
    Apr 19th 2020, 3:01 PM

@ThatLJD: that will have to do I suppose. I’ll send the heavies around though if I don’t get my money eventually haha.

Mute Gary Heslin
    Favourite Gary Heslin
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:13 AM

€6 minimum spend…gone way way too expensive..I was in New York in January $1 to play lotto..

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:34 AM

@Gary Heslin: did you win the Lotto to go to New York?

Apr 19th 2020, 10:41 AM

The big money spinner for the people who run the lotto is that there is no roll over for the lotto plus and lotto extra
    Look back at the numbers of winners in this section  few and far between
    Its a psychological scam

Mute roberto Mankini
    Favourite roberto Mankini
    Apr 19th 2020, 9:38 AM

If not an ad, you’ll find it’s deffo market research. What harm?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:28 AM

The lotto is a bit like offering a prize of €5 to someone if they can guess a coin flip correctly at €3 per guess. It doesn’t make any sense to play.

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:22 AM

@Rochelle: it’s not about sense,, it’s about buying a ticket when the jackpot is high, then going to bed and in the moment of slumber(not quite awake but not gone to asleep) you are thinking about how you would tell the members of your family how you are about to pay for their houses and make their life’s that bit easier,, it’s all about the dream,, well it was till they sold it to a foreign investment company,, why the hell wasn’t our it given to our own pension fund….:(

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:33 AM

@devils avacado: I’d pay for your house if I won big, just so you know. Now stop stealing my dreams, Don you also get the one where you’re eating a kitkat in a field of cabbage? What does it mean, I’m in need of a chat with a panda in a vegan restaurant?

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Apr 19th 2020, 12:11 PM

@ThatLJD: never had the cabbage kit-kat one, but for some reason I have a recurring dream where I can jump really high and float to a soft landing, but I’m being chased by a pitch black shadow of a man who is wearing a cape and a very big hat,, looks like the hooded claw from Penelope Pitstop,, only a lot scarier,, apparently it means I have suppressed memories,, or some crap like that…..:)

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 19th 2020, 12:57 PM

@devils avacado: you don’t want to be going around talking about that. It’s not constructive, you need to be bottling that up inside along with whatever else you can. If you don’t the day will come where something will trigger you and your reaction will be disappointingly mellow. If you bottle everything up and have this repressed range and anguish inside then it’s going to make for a far better spectacle when you eventually blow up.

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Apr 19th 2020, 1:02 PM

@ThatLJD: Amen brother.:)

Apr 19th 2020, 2:27 PM

@devils avacado: Your chances diminishes drastically when the jackpot is bigger

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Apr 19th 2020, 2:35 PM

@ThatLJD: Range? Range Rover? Cooker?

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Apr 19th 2020, 4:39 PM

@Criostoir Mac Ranghaill: how?

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 19th 2020, 4:44 PM

@Daniel Kelly: rage, apologies. You’d think a stylus would improve my fat finger excuse, but no!

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:14 AM

Ridiculous to sell our Lotto to an investment company, they bought it for for a reason, it’s a constant flow of cash every week, how anybody thinks it was a good idea to give away our money to retired Canadian teachers is beyond me,, short sighted fools,, and for that reason,,, I’m out, I haven’t done it since they increased the price and made it harder to win.

Apr 19th 2020, 2:32 PM

@devils avacado: That’s Fine Gael for you franchise everything that iis state owned
    Total no brainer

Mute artur filip
    Favourite artur filip
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:11 AM

I used to play All or Nothing and I got few wins and I know some who got 5k 3 times but they replaced with Daily Million which is c.ap game with zero winnings.

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:50 AM

The lucky winner can now go for a trip around the world, oh wait…

Mute Shay Flynn
    Favourite Shay Flynn
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:29 AM

Playing 32 years now.
    Birthday numbers
    Would have a fortune if I kept the cash
    Afraid not to do it in case the numbers dont come up

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Apr 19th 2020, 12:09 PM

@Shay Flynn: This is why it’s a tax on the poor. Just give up. Chances of winning is 10 million to 1. Chances of getting hit by lightning is 3 million to 1. You have more chance of getting hit by lightning 3 times before you came close to winning the lotto

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Apr 19th 2020, 2:37 PM

@Bren: I take them odd’s… Much better than 1 in 10 million chance!

Mute Caoimhin O hEidhin
    Favourite Caoimhin O hEidhin
    Apr 19th 2020, 8:33 PM

@Bren: so your telling me there’s a chance

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Apr 19th 2020, 11:28 AM

31.1% have an gambling issue. Not a pleasant statistic!

Mute Stephen McManus
    Favourite Stephen McManus
    Apr 19th 2020, 1:46 PM

@Stephen: So true. I would say Ireland has a gambling problem. There’s even gambling machines for children in many places.

Mute Declan Sweeney
    Favourite Declan Sweeney
    Apr 19th 2020, 3:12 PM

I do our own soccer club lotto every week,
    Killala AFC – Jackpot €16000

Keep local, do the local lotto u know where the funds are going

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Apr 19th 2020, 12:15 PM

buy lotto sometimes are too expensive

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Apr 19th 2020, 1:08 PM

Just another Tax on those willing to pay it

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Apr 19th 2020, 3:26 PM

There was a time that you would win a few Bob the odd time on scratch tickets but it looks like the odds of winning anything have taken a hike.
    Same with the lotto
    I much rather keep my hard earned in my own pocket .

Mute Eamonn Morrissey
    Favourite Eamonn Morrissey
    Apr 19th 2020, 10:57 AM

It’s a tax on the stupid. Over 100 million I get stupid

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Apr 19th 2020, 4:24 PM

It could be you, but probably never will!

Mute Rory Phelan
    Favourite Rory Phelan
    Apr 20th 2020, 7:34 AM

The National Lottery are thinking of buying some advertising from us poll.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Apr 20th 2020, 8:17 AM

As I explained to a friend the other day, I have one €2,500 at least. He has been handing over €5 a week for the last 10 years and I haven’t. It’s a tax on the desperate and the struggling, promoted by the all for No 1 society.

Mute Paul O Faolain
    Favourite Paul O Faolain
    Apr 20th 2020, 8:16 AM

I do it in the bookies, better odds

Mute Billy Flynn
    Favourite Billy Flynn
    Apr 20th 2020, 6:01 AM

Have the same numbers from day 1 so am trapped .Should be made go all quick picks.