You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach and Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin. RollingNews.ie

Opinion poll: Small drop in support for Fianna Fáil, with voters unhappy over missed housing targets

The latest Business Post/Red C poll puts Sinn Féin as the most popular party at 23%.

SUPPORT FOR FIANNA FÁIL has fallen by two points, according to a new opinion poll.

The latest Business Poll/Red C poll also suggests that a quarter (25%) of people who voted for the party in November’s general election would have voted differently if they had known that the housing completion figures for the year would not be met.

Figures published by the Central Statistics Office last month showed that a total of 30,330 new homes were built last year, 6.7% less than 2023 and just under 10,000 units less than what the outgoing government promised voters would be completed last year.

Opposition parties have accused Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael of misleading the public during the election by stating that close to 40,000 houses would be delivered in 2024. 

Taoiseach Micheál Martin has said the outgoing coalition “got the figure wrong” and that he regrets that. 

According to the Business Post, 18% of people who said they voted for Fine Gael said they would not have done so if they had known the true housing figures. 

However, despite those responses, the opinion poll does not show a significant leap in support for any of the other political parties.

It puts support for Fianna Fáil at 20%, down two points and three points behind Sinn Féin, who stand as the most popular party on 23%, four points higher than they secured at the general election.

Support for Fine Gael remains unchanged at 20%, while the Independents are down two points at 11%. 

In terms of the smaller parties, Labour are up one point at 4%, with support for the Social Democrats (7%), Aontú (4%) and the Green Party (3%) unchanged. 

Both People Before Profit (3%) and Independent Ireland (4%) have both seen a boost of one point in their popularity.

The poll was conducted among 1,029 adults between 14 and 19 February. The margin of error is plus or minus 3%.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 207 comments
207 Comments
    Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:17 PM

Imaging giving your vote to a political party based on that party’s forecast of housing completions, when that party or its representatives doesn’t actually build any houses

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:24 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Doesn’t that rule also out using housing as a reason to vote for the opposition who also haven’t built any houses but forecast what they are planning to build?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:29 PM

@Ger Whelan: yes, I wouldn’t look at the number of forecast completions as it’s just a random target that’s not based on any methodology – they may as well just stick their finger in the air. I look at policy, and the competence, or otherwise, of politicians as I see it

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Bri Lye
    Favourite Bri Lye
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:53 PM

@Kevin Kerr: like SF…they dont build any houses and also object to planning application

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:09 PM

@Bri Lye:
    To be fair, all politicians will object to planning when it suits them

Mute Boody
    Favourite Boody
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:15 PM

@Kevin Kerr: so, you do agree that the housing crisis is caused by an immigration crisis?

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:30 PM

@Boody:
    The only way the housing crisis will be solved will be by immigration.
    We are desperately short of building staff, young Irish lads have no interest, experienced foreigners won’t come here because of high rents so the only hope is training the IPS immigrants that do come.
    Give them a trade and a route to permanent residence after x amount of years.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:42 PM

@P. J.: you’re so out of touch with reality. Do you think these IPS immigrants are going to train to work a trade in Ireland? They are coming from Africa and East Asia. They don’t work construction. We have over 100,000 Indians in Ireland, I’ve never seen one work construction in my life. There is a few thousand Moldovans, I come across multiple on sites. Also, if you brought in 200,000 immigrants, where about 5% will work construction, then that 5% will have to build accommodation for the 200,000 to break even. That’s not going to happen. So you’re trying to chase the demand, but we’re increasing the demand every year. It’s great for construction workers as there wages will continue to rise as the demand for them continues to rise. It’s bad for everyone else.

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:44 PM

@Ger Whelan: no, because the opposition have never been in power, so there is no evidence of them ever failing to meet housing targets, whereas ffg have and there is evidence of them failing to meet housing targets every single year

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:51 PM

@Kevin Kerr: the policies of the Government however do deliver houses, and last year there were over 65k commencements

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:19 PM

@Joe Willis:
    Firstly, why bring up Indians? They are not in the IPS system because they wouldn’t qualify, and can’t get the dole, they are working, (and paying taxes), mostly in the service industries
    Is it you don’t like the look of them?
    Why wouldn’t the people in the IPS centres work in construction? Did you ask them? Those people are stuck in old hotels and empty nursing homes etc, with the threat of being sent home. Now the courts system allows them to drag that out too long, I think we would agree on that but if they had the choice of going home after a year or working construction with the chance of residency after time a lot more than 5% would take it.
    BTW I also work in construction and my rates have doubled in the last few years so maybe we shouldn’t suggest solutions!!

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:40 PM

@P. J.: I’ve seen plenty of these IPS gang and the majority dont strike me as building workers, going by their designer trainers and fancy clothes.
    The majority are unskilled and simply drawn here by our handouts mentality.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:36 PM

@Thomas Sheridan:
    I seriously doubt you would ever actually go into an IPS centre and see how they live and listen to their stories.
    Probably afraid they would somehow damage your “Irishness”

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:09 PM

@Kevin Kerr: so you exclude fine Gael and FF
    If only many more would wake up and follow suit. Stop electing people who’ve failed and will fail again.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 23rd 2025, 7:50 PM

@Bri Lye: SF have consistently delivered credible housing plans which have had to be shelved because of the unbelievable willingness of the Irish people to let them selves be ruled by the corporate, outrageous FFG

Mute Bri Lye
    Favourite Bri Lye
    Feb 24th 2025, 12:38 AM

@S Suilleabhain: I can produce a plan… especially when I know I won’t have to deliver it cos I won’t be in government

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 24th 2025, 7:22 PM

@Bri Lye: SF won the 2020 election..yet for the foreseeable we are still going to be reading stories about scandals bought and paid for by FFG. It’s not right. It’s not ok

Mute Boody
    Favourite Boody
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:21 PM

Fianna Fail are the only party to loo k after the economy

Mute Eamon De Valera
    Favourite Eamon De Valera
    Feb 23rd 2025, 9:18 PM

@Boody: even I’m laughing at that one

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:17 PM

Makes no difference, as they’ll be in Government for at least 5 years. They’ll offer another juicy give with one hand take in secret with the other hand which will buy them votes from the blinded older voters who get out and vote while the majority of younger voters refuse to vote instead choosing to sit at home and complain online thinking they are making a difference.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:42 PM

@Ger Whelan: FF unshackled gave us and would give us again a housing surplus.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:14 PM

@thomas molloy:
    No they won’t Thomas. Because they, or any other party regardless of political ideology, have enough builders.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:17 PM

@thomas molloy: FF “unshackled” bankrupted the country and left hundreds of ghost estates littered around the country. But sure you knew what and chose to ignore it right?

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:28 PM

@thomas molloy: possibly the dumbest comment to grace the journal comments…. & that’s saying something!

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis

@Ger Whelan: we should have voted in Sinn Fein. Everyone would get a free house.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney

@Ger Whelan: it’s know way to run a country

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:04 PM

@Joe Willis: let me guess,home owner , retired, public sector

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:18 PM

@sean weir: not yet, no where near, and no.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Feb 23rd 2025, 9:03 PM

@Ger Whelan: unfortunately

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 25th 2025, 3:37 AM

@Joe Willis: then you’ve plenty time to stop voting for FFG

Mute Boody
    Favourite Boody
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:12 PM

Fianna Fail will always be the most popular party, I don’t know anyone who doesn’t vote for Fianna Fail

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:22 PM

@Boody: I don’t. Now you know one person that doesn’t vote Finna Fail.

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy

@Boody: burst your bubble boody… There’s a big world out there.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Feb 23rd 2025, 9:02 PM

@Boody: wouldn’t it be great if they could manage public finances better and put irelands priorities first above all others maybe then they’d get more support just a bit of cop on on they’re part just a little. If they could focus on the key areas for once it would give people a lot more assurance.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 23rd 2025, 11:02 PM

@Paddy C: why would fianna fail listen to this or attempt to actually do the right thing? They (narrowly) came first this time having routinely done the wrong thing

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Feb 23rd 2025, 11:09 PM

@S Suilleabhain: true they don’t need to do much at all they’ll get back in again next time anyway no matter how bad it gets.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 24th 2025, 3:06 AM

@S Suilleabhain: Also lying to the public pre election oh they do that everytime.

Mute Boody
    Favourite Boody

We need Fianna Fail and the Church

Mute Brian Hackett
    Favourite Brian Hackett
    Feb 23rd 2025, 3:49 PM

@Boody: at least we know how many trolling accounts you have now with 51 likes

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:32 PM

@Boody: you forgot the Christian Brothers.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:17 PM

@Boody: Don’t forget the Gaa

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 25th 2025, 1:46 AM

@Jp Cleary: and the worst apologist nuns and priests who are proud of the clerical abuse they did and covered up. Fine people

Mute barry lyons
    Favourite barry lyons
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:20 PM

FFG have given Ireland one f the worlds highest debts per capita according to the CSO

Mute Boody
    Favourite Boody
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:24 PM

@barry lyons: pretty sure Fianna Fail gave wasters like you, an increase in your dole

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:58 PM

@barry lyons: but I seen an article of an NGO on here yesterday, that we should be paying off Africas debts because it’s the right thing to do? Did you not say we have one of the highest debts per capita in the world? Who’s right here?

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Feb 24th 2025, 1:53 PM

@Boody: is that why you voted for them?

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Feb 24th 2025, 2:00 PM

@Joe Willis: we have the 9th highest debt per capita in the world

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:28 PM

The state of him.

Mute Boody
    Favourite Boody
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:37 PM

If you don’t vote for Fianna Fail, then there is something radically wrong with you

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:34 PM

Alternative headline ‘Sinn Féin back on top’

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:03 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: does that not depend jn who was asked? And where? These polls had SF winning the last election…..but look at what happened. If you think 1029 is truly representative of the populace who are eligible to vote, we could save millions on future elections and just ask 1 person per parish what they think.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:59 PM

@Barry Wilson: you forgot bigly

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 23rd 2025, 7:17 PM

@Pat Barry: 1 parish pump person*
    They’re the only ones in this country who count in the eyes of FFG and how any of those most up to their eyes in debt / bills / kids emigrated can look any loved ones or friends in the eyes – creatures

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:19 PM

Dreadful shower, a plague on all their houses!

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:03 PM
    Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Feb 23rd 2025, 3:13 PM

But sure, haven’t FF and FG not sorted out the housing crisis by letting people build cabins in their back gardens?

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:33 PM

@AnthonyK:
    And the price for a 2 bed cabin has probably doubled in the week

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:48 PM

Did anyone actually before things would somehow change by voting them back in time and time again?

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:13 PM

@Paddy C:
    What makes you think those people wanted them to change?

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 24th 2025, 7:22 PM

@P. J.: that stinks to high heaven of a me feiner population

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:32 PM

As everyone knows all they do is tell porky
    Pies

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:04 PM
    Mute Tech Wont Save You
    Favourite Tech Wont Save You
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:08 PM

@Bren: As Gaeilge, le do thoil.

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:09 PM

You mean to tell me that there’s still grown people that believe in fairytales,

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:15 PM

@Brian Molloy: true, the 20% who voted for Shinners

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac

You can have all the housing targets you want, and they love to spin it, but nobody to build. This is what you voted for.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:38 PM

@Shane O Mac:
    Exactly.
    All the parties were falling over themselves on housing targets during the election.
    50,000 per year says one, I bid 60,000 says another, I bid 100,000 says someone else……
    And every single one of those parties were well aware that we will be lucky to maintain 30,000 regardless of who was elected.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:19 PM

@P. J.: yet there were 65k commencements last year

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:11 PM

@Johnny Wilson:
    An irrelevant figure.
    Completions for 2022 were 29,000
    2023 had 32,000 and last year’s were down to 30,000
    Almost certain to drop further this year.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:07 PM

@Johnny Wilson: and 30,300 houses built ,
    commencements don’t matter

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 23rd 2025, 11:09 PM

@Johnny Wilson: 30 000 built. That is all that matters and it’s not something to be hopeful about ..

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:39 PM

FF back suggesting tax-breaks for developers too..the ‘Boom’ is back lads.
    Bet you the FF tent at the Galway Races will be back too, with all their snouts stuck in the trough.

Mute Tech Wont Save You
    Favourite Tech Wont Save You
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:54 PM

Gwan the Mary Lou! Some woman.

Alan
    Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:58 PM

@Tech Wont Save You: should cut down on the pork pies though!

Mute GoodBrother
    Favourite GoodBrother

We can end up having to scavange for food and canibalise each other and FF FG support will remain steady. The Kim dynasty will lose an election in North Korea before FF and FG are both out of power.

Mute Del Ray
    Favourite Del Ray
    Feb 23rd 2025, 11:12 PM

@GoodBrother: Do SF have a link with North Korea?

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 24th 2025, 7:25 PM

@Del Ray: you’re more likely to get one with FG surely, sided with the German ‘socialist party’ in the 40s
    if the shoe fits

Mute George Dempsey
    Favourite George Dempsey
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:35 PM

Polls at this stage make little difference, they have another 4+ years to see what else they can hide from us and tell us more lies

Mute j m m
    Favourite j m m
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:28 PM

Zero ambition, caretaker govts as voted by the usual majority conservative thinking Irish. Don’t blame ff/fg, they’re inept in any case …. blame yourselves. Ireland needs a radical shift on their thinking and change the stagnant worn-out approaches on anything that isn’t just associated with making capital.
    Please don’t bounce back with how the ‘others’ would be worse. I’ve no solutions either but a change needs to happen.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:47 PM

@j m m:
    Thing is in that election a majority (barely) signaled they don’t want change, at least not significant change
    Or they can’t agree on what it should be.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 24th 2025, 2:29 AM

@P. J.: or they haven’t got a clue,state propaganda is all they look at as regards media and preparing ahead of an election

Mute John Purcell
    Favourite John Purcell
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:29 PM

Think we’re at a point where a lot of ppl just will never own a house.

Mute John Purcell
    Favourite John Purcell
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:48 PM

@John Purcell: what I mean here is there are only so many leavers the government can pull to get and get houses build. Global market now with Eastern Europe booking, and increasing immigration coupled with reductions in interest rates mean supply will never catch demand.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:11 PM

Got the figures wrong when Meehole and his lot tanked the economy back in the day.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:07 PM

We need to go back for the future and order all local authorities to make social housing the priority objective as applied in the post WW2 period.
    That cleared the family per room TB ridden tenements, without foreign investors nor any native offshored developers. Dependance on market scarcity driven policy will never solve social needs.
    Let the free market build the 4 beds and state build the social 3 beds. For rent Tower blocks of 1 & 2 beds cain be left to REIT and Pension Fund.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:38 PM

@William Kelly:
    Great idea!
    Who’s going to build them?

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:18 PM

@P. J.: all the foreigners that you all complain so much about ,the boom was built on eastern European workforce .I came to Cork in 2002 and the amount of people that complained about “foreign nationals” takings jobs was breathtaking.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:50 PM

@sean weir:
    Excuse me, go try find any comment I have ever made complaining about foreigners…….
    I think we have nowhere near enough of them.
    I actually suggested exactly that, getting immigrants to build on this very article a couple of hours ago.
    A thread started by Kevin Kerr.
    Specifically, training IPS residents in the trades and giving them a promise of residency after a set number of years.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:38 PM

Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me. But we’re a super intelligent country ha ha.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:57 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: I seen what the Bolsheviks did to Europe, to know never ever to vote in a Marxist party as long as I live. Better dead than red.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:11 PM

@Joe Willis: wtf are you talking about ???
    Read a book,pure bog animal you are

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:20 PM

@sean weir: the only people who want communism like you, are people who can’t compete in a capitalist society. So you want an entire reset, so you can try again.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:36 PM

White stick government, peeing against the wind.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Feb 23rd 2025, 3:07 PM

The 25% of fools who voted for this creep and his FF party should have known he had plucked the housing figures out of his rear end. FF have never delivered what they have promised and thanks to these lackeys we are stuck with this detest able clo wn for 5 years.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:04 PM

If you believed the comments here then the far right parties should be on 40-50%. Ireland first and all that crap. The loudest wierdos here speak for 2% of the actual population

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:17 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: The concept of “Ireland First” is “crap”? How long have you been a traitor to your own people? Nationalism is okay for Palestinians and Ukrainians but Ireland belongs to the world, yeah? You sir, are the definition of a cuck.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:21 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT:
    Your being very generous with your 2%
    Irrelevant nobody’s.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT

@Chop Chop: Awww did i hurt your far right feelings? Hate being called out don’t ye? Ye are not supported by the people of Ireland and no amount of whinging on here will change that. The truth hurts eh…

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:01 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: the majority of Europe, the USA, Canada (in march), Australia and NZ have a different view. No wonder their standard of living and buying power is higher than ours.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 23rd 2025, 3:29 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Thats how it goes tho. Legislate the majority based on the minority. Frustraiting.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:13 PM

@Chop Chop: so says the yank

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:13 PM

Elected by fools, the majority stayed away. Not a good sign for the future of Ireland

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:17 PM

@087 bed: majority didn’t stay away, turnout was 59.7%

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:04 PM

@087 bed: Excuse me I’m no fool nor are the Irish electorate they voted to keep the Belfast directed party out. We were proved correct also we knew both the Social Democrats are only a debating society after 3 elections now made their excuses again to crib from the sidelines and as for Labour they still think we haven’t forgotten how they attacked the carers and weakest in Society and now pretend they have the answers

Mute SteveH
    Favourite SteveH
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:50 PM

Germany is going far right today thanks to socialist governance

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:24 PM

@SteveH:
    Germany nowhere near going far right, latest polls put them on 21% so even with a large surge about 75% or 3 out of 4 voters will have rejected them.
    The same happened in The Netherlands, where the far right party actually got into power but only after ditching their leader and all of their most controversial policies with the coalition partners joining only after they ensured they would outnumber them within cabinet and government benches.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:18 PM

Doesn’t matter if it dropped to zero percent there in now

Mute derek
    Favourite derek
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:55 PM

Seriously!? Its not all the governments fault! Why are they so expensive, unaffordable and not worth the price they are going for!? Answer obvious! Profit profit profit! Until there is a way figured out to produce homes at normal prices then its never going to change! Until there is no demand anymore and this will happen like the last time because of unaffordabilty which we cant fully blame the government for!

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:08 PM

@derek: unbelievable comment

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 23rd 2025, 7:20 PM

@derek: unreal. This same government in the main created all the crises that we are seeing.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 10:11 PM

@derek: are you taking the piss of course its their fault. Its their policy

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:29 PM

It’s a sad reflection on the electricate sheep,

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:18 PM

@N D K:
    Or a sad reflection on the opposition, in the midst of the worst housing crisis ever, they couldn’t convince enough people they could do better.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:49 PM

@N D K: did you mean electrocuted sheep ?

Alan
    Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:53 PM

@P. J.: that’s exactly it. There is no opposition. All parties subscribe to the same centre and centre right politics. So, there is no reason to change things as they are. The real crime is that this allows far right parties to become the only markedly different alternative. Thankfully, in spite of this, they have no substantial support.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:30 PM

@Alan: centre right? Really? High taxes and mass immigration is left wing. Pro lgbt abortion and censorship is left wing. You’re delusional

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:02 PM

@Joe Willis:
    Yourself and Alan are mixing economic attitudes and social ones.
    On the economy the 3 main parties are centre right, centre and centre left, covering 60% of the voters.
    Some of the smaller parties cover the more extreme options.
    On Social issues the vast vast majority of TDs are different shades of socially liberal.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:25 PM

@P. J.: high taxes is left wing. We have very high tax here. If you make 100k, you will give half of it to the government when you count in USC PRSI PAYE and the little taxes they squirm out of people. The closest state to right wing in monetary policy is Texas, USA. There is no income tax. Only federal tax that all states have.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:26 PM

@Joe Willis: and the wealthy gulf states of course like UAE, Quatar, Saudi,

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:14 PM

*tumbleweed

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:15 PM

It’s a sad state of affairs,such poor choices to vote for,fffg are terrible,but unfortunately the best of a very,very bad bunch.

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:36 PM

@Deano74: that’s why we need to get rid of all the parties create new ones for the future generations of Ireland

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:59 PM

@Housing Hunger yes,I’m well aware fffg are back in government.

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74

@Housing Hunger Games: I never mentioned new parties,the electorate put fffg back in despite there terrible record last term,why,imo there not convinced by the other parties available,and that is a sad state of affairs,and if the electorate disagree there are poor choices,why didn’t one of them end up with enough seats to form a government.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:47 PM

@Housing Hunger Games: so you think that everyone who voted ffg will disagree that the party have made poor choices? How delusional are you. A vote for fffg was a vote to ensure that Sinn Fein did not get into government, as they were the biggest opposition by a mile. Why would ffg voters go and vote for a different new party, half of them stay and still vote fffg and Sinn Fein get the majority? That would be a disaster for this country.

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:01 PM

@Joe Willis: What he’s trying to make out Joe is that the electorate disagree with an earlier post of poor alternatives to vote for as opposed to fffg,yet that electorate returned none of them great alternatives to be in government.

Mute r k
    Favourite r k
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:39 PM

Modern houses are too expensive to build and too expensive to certify. So the choice is a Rolls Royce house or homeless, or now a glorified shed in the back garden. Houses built in the boom(with proper blocks!) Are serving people well,yes a little drafty and costs a few quid extra to heat but they work.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:35 PM

@r k:
    Now this I agree with.
    Ask people would they like a C3 house in a year or an A3 in 5 years I know which they will pick

Mute Patrick Fitzgibbon
    Favourite Patrick Fitzgibbon
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:26 PM

Sock puppetry

Mute SteveH
    Favourite SteveH
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:54 PM

It’s a shame there is no Alternativ fuer Irland

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:36 PM

@SteveH:
    There was, they got less than 1% of the vote.

Mute Tezmond McVicar
    Favourite Tezmond McVicar
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:40 PM

Bit late.

Mute Carl Valderrama
    Favourite Carl Valderrama
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:30 PM

And the nonsense continues. There is no difference in any of the parties

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:34 PM

@Carl Valderrama: Read their manifestos and stop making silly comments.

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:37 PM

@Carl Valderrama: well said

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:19 PM

@Brian D’Arcy:
    I’m not into fiction.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:53 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: oh really? Read FF manifesto that claims they are a ‘right of centre’ party. Even though there isn’t a single ‘right wing’ policy that they try and implement. Ridiculous high taxes, 100,000+ immigrants in one year, pro lgbt, pro abortion, pro censorship. Sounds very right wing to me.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:14 PM

@Joe Willis: Your limited understanding allows you believe that right of centre means right wing. Veins of the Dunning-Kruger effect run through your comments.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:30 PM

@Jack Hayes: you probably think the AfD is far right

Mute BRENDAN O'CONNELL
    Favourite BRENDAN O'CONNELL

When you have a slogan housing for all, including free housing for Easters who come here no wonder we have a house ing, hospital, school, prison overcrowding .

Mute BRENDAN O'CONNELL
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:36 PM

@BRENDAN O’CONNELL: should be Easters.

Mute Ayn Rand's Hand Shandy
    Favourite Ayn Rand's Hand Shandy

@BRENDAN O’CONNELL: Free housing for Easter? Eggselent idea.

Mute BRENDAN O'CONNELL

@BRENDAN O’CONNELL: won’t let me use w

@BRENDAN O’CONNELL: heard you the first time, Easter Bunny.

@BRENDAN O’CONNELL: happens to ankers a lot.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:14 PM

All within margin of error

Mute John Brennan
    Favourite John Brennan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:32 PM

18% who voted Fine Gael would and 25% who voted Fianna Fáil it seems would say they would not have done so if they knew the true housing figures. No offense to these people but they are telling barefaced lies.

Mute SteveH
    Favourite SteveH
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:49 PM

Germany goes to the polls today. With over 20 million people not born there living there the obvious question is “How German is Germany in 2025?”. Daft socialists can pat themselves on the back for pushing Germany and so many other nations to the right.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:28 PM

@SteveH: exactly blame lies on the government itself ignoring people’s concerns

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:04 PM

Could be worse could have spin fein in government and Bankrupt the nation in 3 years.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:35 PM

@Darran Macken: At least they’d do it quicker than FFG….. took them about 95.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Feb 23rd 2025, 10:13 PM

@Darran Macken: your reason for that comment and proof

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 23rd 2025, 11:05 PM

@Darran Macken: the only people who really think like that are beyond help. They love money and most importantly they love the fear that’s been used to keep the cartel in government

Mute Stephen Brennan
    Favourite Stephen Brennan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 10:39 PM

And people keep voting them in will they ever learn

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 3:54 PM

Polls 2 months after an election
    They could not get a exit poll correct and as for the Business post I’m amazed Sinn Fein hasn’t sued them over false polls leading up to last election

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:10 PM

@Tim Brennan: If they had done anything remotely wrong Suin Fein would have sued!!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:25 PM

@Sean Hayes: Note the Exit poll these polling companies have skin in these games seeking to influence voting patterns

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:59 PM

Lost of for word’s

Mute John Garvin
    Favourite John Garvin
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:22 PM

So 25 percent of people said they wouldn’t vote Fianna Fáil but they only down 2 percent in the poll?

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Feb 23rd 2025, 7:21 PM

@John Garvin: well that’s a hell of a lot of clowns, people of Ireland threw away many opportunities since the crash to put manners on FFG

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 23rd 2025, 12:27 PM

‘She’s a promise in the year of election’

Mute Sandra Lysaght
    Favourite Sandra Lysaght
    Feb 23rd 2025, 8:03 PM

You get what u vote for . No point in complaining

Mute Rosie Martin
    Favourite Rosie Martin
    Feb 24th 2025, 6:52 PM

No school places for kids with disabilities, no services, but he sends money out to everywhere and anywhere except use it in Ireland that the citizens need. These endless narratives are over. Support the Irish people for a change.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 23rd 2025, 2:10 PM

Housing do