You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Photos: Glen Hansard, Damien Rice, Imelda May and U2 among the Dublin city buskers last night

A big crowd as in attendance for the annual event.

Christmas Eve busk Hansard and May Lorraine O'Sullivan / PA Images Lorraine O'Sullivan / PA Images / PA Images

A HOST OF famous figures from Irish music hit the streets of Dublin last night for the traditional busking session near Grafton Street.

Raising money for homeless charities, the stars performing included Glen Hansard, Imelda May, Damien Rice, Bono and the Edge outside the Gaiety Theatre.

Christmas Eve busk One half of U2 Lorraine O'Sullivan / PA Images Lorraine O'Sullivan / PA Images / PA Images

The U2 frontman told the assembled crowds: “As the buckets go around, fill them with silver, fill them with hope – the season of hope.”

An empty guitar case in front of the rockers was filled up with proceeds going towards the Simon Community.

Glen Hansard had a pointed song aimed at the government, with the topic of the lyrics centering on the ongoing housing crisis. 

The annual sing-song on Grafton Street usually attracts big crowds, such as in 2016 when gardaí were forced to shut down the event due to the volume of people

Christmas Eve busk Lorraine O'Sullivan / PA Images Lorraine O'Sullivan / PA Images / PA Images

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

56 Comments
    Mute Shane Dunne
    Favourite Shane Dunne
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:42 AM

Fair play to them. Screw the begrudgers. It’s a nice act for a great cause.

Mute Picture This
    Favourite Picture This
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:46 AM

@Shane Dunne: yeah great stuff .Glen is thre salt if the earth. There is another conversation to be had. But not today.

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:50 AM

@Picture This: great shout

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:52 AM

@Shane Dunne: ha Bono asking people to dig deep in their pockets is he for real.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:56 AM

@Picture This: glens homeless support ?

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:39 PM

@Alex Reed: personal account?

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:46 PM

@Scorpionvenomm: Get help will you. It’s beyond boring at this stage.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:02 PM

@Alex Reed: Bonos donation written off by his personal accountant ?

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:04 PM

@Alex Reed: Bonos donation noted for tax credits by his personal accountant ?

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:50 AM

Be better if Bono payed his taxes in lreland

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:56 AM

@Fran O’Keeffe: you couldn’t leave it alone could you.not even for today.

Mute Acedeuce
    Favourite Acedeuce
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:57 AM

@Fran O’Keeffe: hope he continues not to pay taxes in Ireland to keep annoying people like you over something so trivial.. He does a lot for Ireland and charity.. Fair enough he can be a bit OTT for some, but I’ll never understand the hatred Irish people have towards him

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:58 AM

@Seriously stunned: a point that should be brought up everyday .

Flatley and O Leary hats off to you boys

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:10 PM

@Fran O’Keeffe: the amount of spite, envy, and begrudgery in this country is shocking.

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:12 PM

@Fran O’Keeffe: except he personally does pay tax in Ireland, u2 as a group pay there taxes in the Netherlands as in limited company

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:13 PM

@Chin Feeyin: Funny it’s only directed at the same few people though.

Mute Shane Cusack
    Favourite Shane Cusack
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:27 PM

@Acedeuce: Trivial?? Can you not see the hypocrisy?? Nothing personal against Bono as there are hundreds others that do it but all our public services are funded mostly through taxation. I pay my fair share, you probably do as well? Yet he a multi multi millionaire if not billionaire contributes little or nothing. However he’s asking people to fill a bucket with silver? Just because you may like his music doesn’t change that fact. He could easily pay his full tax obligation in Ireland and he’d still be filthy rich but chooses not to….A homeless and health crisis going on! But it’s ok though because he tells other people to help through song Christmas Eve? Smoke and mirrors is all it is.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:34 PM

@colm connolly: They are not Dutch.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin

@Shane Cusack: Shane, unless you see his tax return, you have no idea what tax he pays. Just because something is on Facebook does not make it true.

U2’s publishing company moved some of its income to Netherlands. That is all that is known. Nobody knows how much tax the individuals pay in Ireland because that’s confidential.

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:45 PM

@Squiddley Diddley: apple aren’t Irish and you want 13bn or whatever off them!
    You begrudgers want it both ways!
    U2 are registered in Holland. Paul hewson is an Irish resident and all his personal income is taxed in Ireland. People need to cop on.if you want u2 to pay their taxes only to Ireland then you have to also want Apple , Facebook, Google, Intel, Microsoft, all pay their taxes to their original country of origin otherwise you’re just a hypocrite. Happy christmas begrudgers. Hope you get some joy in 2019.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:50 PM

@Aidan Mitchell: If you are saying U2 are just a greedy corporation that don’t care about the community they are based in then your argument makes perfect sense. Read Frontman by Harry Browne, might educate you about the real Bono.

Mute Brendan Fogarty
    Favourite Brendan Fogarty
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:07 PM

@Shane Cusack: You are wrong. Bono pays all his personal taxes in Ireland. Moneys made by U2 however are payed in Holland as they are a limited company. He does more for charity with fundraising etc than most.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:15 PM

@Chin Feeyin: woah woah woah chin don’t let sensibility get in the way of begrudgery. It’s non irish

Mute Stephen Cumbers
    Favourite Stephen Cumbers
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:24 PM

@Shane Cusack: do you pay your full tax obligation or do you avoid paying tax through any relevant schemes that are available to you ?

Mute Jono
    Favourite Jono
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:29 PM

@Aidan Mitchell: amen aiden

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:51 PM

@Seriously stunned: Pay your taxes Bono and stop preaching to everyone else.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Dec 25th 2018, 3:15 PM

@Seriously stunned: not when he asks people to give he should put his money where his mouth is

Mute Shane Cusack
    Favourite Shane Cusack
    Dec 25th 2018, 8:13 PM

@Stephen Cumbers: I pay my full tax obligation. If every Artist/Business person registered a limited company in the Netherlands or anywhere abroad wouldn’t things be great in Ireland. It’s fine though. I’ll just join a band, once a year do the odd busking and people will just ignore it. Simples!

Mute Stephen Cumbers
    Favourite Stephen Cumbers
    Dec 25th 2018, 10:41 PM

@Shane Cusack: so you don’t use any if your personal tax credits that revenue allow you ? You don’t claim relief on your health expenses ? You don’t claim PAYE credits as an employee ?
    You should really avail of these things just like U2 ( not Bono) as a company avail of any tax avoidance schemes that are available to them. Nothing wrong with avoiding tax. Its evasion that is illegal.

GM
    Mute GM
    Favourite GM
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:33 PM

@colm connolly: very little compared to the potential corporate tax they should pay in Ireland

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Dec 26th 2018, 12:28 AM

@GM: noting wrong with it , no way anybody here would not do the same to minimise there tax bill , bono pays more tax in one year in Ireland than you or I will in our lifetimes

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Dec 26th 2018, 9:55 AM

@Squiddley Diddley: where did I say u2 were a greedy corporation?? I read the blurb of your book there, but no thanks. I don’t need over hyped negativity in my life thank you very much.
    U2 is a business. All bands are businesses. They tour and sell records to make money.
    The members of this business are Irish residents. They earn and invest as individuals and pay (a lot) of tax to Irish state on earnings.
    I note your ignored my comments on apple etc.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Dec 26th 2018, 6:04 PM

@Aidan Mitchell: Didn’t ignore those comments about Apple etc at all. Just commented on the equivalence you are implying. I’m sure the Dutch social services are glad of the income from U2. The country that actually looks after their friends and relatives and educated them and their kids will do without but that’s cool, cos they are just another corporation.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Dec 26th 2018, 6:13 PM

@Aidan Mitchell: Fair dues for checking out the book though. Have a Happy New Year.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Dec 25th 2018, 12:15 PM

Waterford Whispers on the ball with their orange status Bono/Hansard warnings !

Mute RobbieL
    Favourite RobbieL
    Dec 25th 2018, 2:00 PM

All well and good for the famous to come out and ask Joe Public to ‘dig deep’
    A bit like talking out of both sides of their mouths considering the wealth they hoard.
    I’m all for people giving what the feel they can give but please we are all entitled to our own opinion but have a look In the mirror before asking citizens of this country who keep these home grown charities going.

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    Dec 25th 2018, 4:57 PM

@RobbieL: what good is paying a couple of Euro a month in taxes if you have the carbon footprint of a space rocket??

Mute RobbieL
    Favourite RobbieL
    Dec 25th 2018, 9:25 PM

@Alan Watts: I’m sure Bono and the other band members plus other wealthy individuals who pontificate about the carbon footprint are useing an alternative power source to power their live shows, manufacturing cd’s in a carbon neutral environment and flying around the world on hand gliders. But I think not!!
    Like most people who are not camera shy they like to put the blame for global issues on Joe Public who do what they can through recycling which is another tax, through useing less water which will raise its head again soon no doubt, through useing less electricity and gas etc again to be hit with a levy for not useing enough.
    So bring on the carbon tax. Maybe Bono and the others will be asking us next year to dig deep for that also.

Mute Insider at RTE
    Favourite Insider at RTE
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:28 PM

Bono pays his personal tax in Ireland. Publishing income for U2 goes tru Netherlands. So what? I claim back 20% on my med exps. Should I be excoriated for this? I also invested in a nursing home and got tax relief…should I hang my head in shame? Happy Christmas ye miserable shower

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Dec 25th 2018, 2:01 PM

@Insider at RTE: Ah you can’t beat mick o’leary for paying his taxes.

Mute Joseph Kane
    Favourite Joseph Kane
    Dec 25th 2018, 3:29 PM

Virtue signalling

Mute Malcolm Smith
    Favourite Malcolm Smith
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:32 PM

I suppose it’s no different than the once a year mass goers.

Mute paul jones
    Favourite paul jones
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:25 PM

I’d rather eat a homeless person than listen to these luvies lecture me with their hypocritical lyrics. # Bonopayyourtaxes

Mute Rob Ryan
    Favourite Rob Ryan
    Dec 25th 2018, 2:45 PM

Surprised there was enough room for Boneheads Ego

Mute ed dunne
    Favourite ed dunne
    Dec 25th 2018, 7:43 PM

Merry Christmas bono.f legend

Mute Frank Brennan
    Favourite Frank Brennan
    Dec 25th 2018, 1:20 PM

To hell with the begrudgers ,well done to everyone ,always the same few crying over trivial issues .

Mute Irish Protestant
    Favourite Irish Protestant
    Dec 25th 2018, 6:13 PM

Pretentious tw@ts

#wheresleo

Dec 25th 2018, 12:54 PM

@Adrian: leo is obsessed with social media, so lets give him a hashtag.

Mute thephantomshit
    Favourite thephantomshit
    Dec 25th 2018, 3:40 PM

It’s nice that Bono is busking but cheapo still owes me money for my tickets in that Berlin gig. Never refunded the postage and service fee element.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Dec 25th 2018, 4:14 PM

Bonos ego could not keep him out of the limelight despite the fact that he praises Fine Gowl at every chance he gets. Bonos educated solution to social ills is to praise the parasites who create the problems.

Mute Catherine O'Connor
    Favourite Catherine O'Connor
    Dec 25th 2018, 7:33 PM

Be even better if they gave money as a donation for the homeless!!!

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Dec 25th 2018, 4:54 PM

Ugh,,the vile creature turned up

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Dec 25th 2018, 10:34 PM

I don’t think Live Aid would happen today with the amount of people giving out about the rich asking for donations for the poor! That’s what that was all about!

Mute Eamon Dunphy officia
    Favourite Eamon Dunphy officia
    Dec 25th 2018, 10:02 PM

I turned up two years ago, and blew the house away with my rendition of “baby it’s cold outside”

Mute Funky63
    Favourite Funky63
    Dec 25th 2018, 11:43 AM

Maybe it U2 paid their fair share of taxes here, there might be better services for the homeless.