You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

'Election posters at the ready': Minister gives go-ahead for four by-elections

The constituencies will going to the polls at the end of the month.

THE WRIT FOR the four by-elections on 29 November was moved in the Dáil today.

Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy said the polling orders would be signed after the writ was moved to allow political parties “get their poster teams at the ready”. 

He called on the elections to be “fair and respectful”, stating that there will be “stiff competition” as there is an array of talented candidates.

The upcoming by-elections are happening as a result of the four TDs who vacated their seats after being elected to the European Parliament in May

The four seats vacated that now have to be filled are:

• Frances Fitzgerald (FG) – Dublin Mid-West
  • Clare Daly (I4G) – Dublin Fingal
  • Billy Kelleher (FF) – Cork North-Central
  • Mick Wallace (I4C) – Wexford 

Moving the writ for the Dublin Mid-West by-election, the housing minister paid tribute to his colleague Frances Fitzgerald,  stating that she will be “an enormous loss to Dáil Eireann”.

Speaking in the Dáil today, Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty said he was pleased the by-elections will be held so soon after the European elections. He highlighted that 10 years previously he had to go to the High Court to force a by-election in Donegal.

On that occasion, the court ruled that a 17-month delay was unreasonable. Doherty won the resulting by-election after Pat ‘The Cope’ Gallagher’s election to the European Parliament in June 2009.

Current legislation now means that by-elections must be held within six months of a Dáil seat being vacated. 

Labour leader Brendan Howlin said today that these four by-elections bring us “one step closer to getting rid of this government”.

The Taoiseach has already admitted to his party members that the party has a fight on its hand as it is not usual for a sitting government party to have much success in by-elections. 

At a recent Fine Gael fundraiser he said: 

“Winning by-elections is very difficult for Government parties. It has only happened three times in 35 years. But it can be done. 

“There are four by-elections and only one of the seats was held by Fine Gael.  We have selected strong candidates and we have a strong message to bring – James Reilly, Colm Burke, Emer Higgins, Verona Murphy.”

Braving the weather this evening, the Taoiseach officially began canvassing in the Dublin Mid-West constituency, for what is expected to be the party’s best hope in terms of winning a seat.

Fine Gael Councillor Emer Higgins has a large support base in the area and the backing of former TD for the area, and now MEP, Frances Fitzgerald.

However, also running in that constituency is former Green Party TD Paul Gogarty. He could be tipped for success due to his recognisable name (and who can forget that music video as well as his ‘F**k you Deputy Stagg’ moment).

Speaking in Clondalkin today, he said what the results of the by-election will have on the Dáil arithmetic depends if Dublin-Fingal and Wexford, which were held by Clare Daly and Mick Wallace go to someone else other than Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.

File (1) Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and Cllr Emer Higgins in Clondalkin this evening.

Fine Gael will be looking to retain the seat, with Fianna Fáil pushing hard to retain the Cork North-Central seat and also possibly gain another. 

Win or lose, what all parties will be looking at in these four by-elections is the transfer of votes.

With the general election just a few months out, all eyes will be on where votes are transferred – where the public are putting their votes, and where they are putting their number two votes on the ballot paper.

While it is obviously not an exact science, political anoraks will see this mini-election of sorts as an indicator of what might be to come at Easter, or Varadkar’s preferred date on May 2020. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:03 AM

Say nothing or the Government will impose an early switch on tax.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:14 PM

Sh!t, I knew I forgot to turn something off a few months back.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:20 AM

Has the comments of the week article been disposed of lads? It had become a bit of a Saturday morning tradition tbh

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:28 PM

I’ve noticed that too. There’s been no ‘Top Comments…’ article for the last couple of weeks.

Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:33 PM

mcgoo. 3 weeks now. Yes it’s missed. Bit of light hearted banter it was..

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Oct 8th 2016, 1:42 PM

@mcgoo:

Brinster must have most comments. Trouble is, he said nothing.

Mute RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Favourite RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Oct 8th 2016, 2:23 PM

Nevermind comment of the Week. — Where is Quinton gone with them Techie articles?

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Oct 8th 2016, 2:33 PM

And that fella who called himself a businessman and came out with utter claptrap. He was entertaining

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Oct 8th 2016, 7:48 PM

Why worry about what the great unwashed vote for, let them eat cake!

Mute Michael Hayden
    Favourite Michael Hayden
    Oct 8th 2016, 8:04 PM

It might be because some of the top comments have been criticising the journal over there closing comments on other articles.

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:05 AM

No, still have the windows open.
    It’s all in the mind, if you think you’re cold you’ll feel cold, but this isn’t cold weather, it’s mild temperatures.
    Just put a fleece on at night, you’ll be grand.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:20 PM

I would hazard a guess that the majority of women in Ireland have turned the heat on, while they have killings with their man who is trying to turn it off without getting caught. This exciting little game will now go on continuously until around next May or June.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:49 PM

And I thought it was only me

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:18 AM

Not since they put a freeze on Irish water bills. I used to use them to light the fire.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:13 AM

Not until Christmas Eve.

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:21 AM

@David Murphey:
    Old school.
    Respect.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:35 AM

I wear an extra Geansaí around the house.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Oct 8th 2016, 5:49 PM

@brian magee:
    What’s a geansai?

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Oct 8th 2016, 7:41 PM

Cod piece.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:15 AM

Along the western coast of Ireland, 2016 has been a bleak dismal summer without sun or heat

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:22 AM

Not so great in the “sunny” south east either.

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Oct 8th 2016, 3:59 PM

Just how we like it.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:18 AM

For some people, it is a choice of heat or food and medicine.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:46 AM

Or beer even.

Mute Cathal P Forde
    Favourite Cathal P Forde
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:22 AM

Everyone is different. While my sister has her heating on I find an hour or two in the evening just to warm up the house is grand.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:24 PM

Am male. Don’t need heating.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:04 PM

How about just Yes/No?

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:36 AM

There’s no on switch with solid fuel. Have I started burning the stock of wood I logged this year or the turf saved? Just in the last few days on the small stove. At least I know for certain that the fuel only has my blood on it.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:57 AM

‘A’ rated gaff so no need to yet, thankfully.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:04 PM

‘C’ rated gaff, burnt the lot in Sept and was warm for an hour!!!!

Mute TehJurolan
    Favourite TehJurolan
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:34 PM

@M Bowe: x rated gaff, always on fire.

Mute Ann Twomey
    Favourite Ann Twomey
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:33 PM

Don’t you just love the #Irish sense of humour!

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 8th 2016, 3:57 PM

Yes indeed. Lets keep it that way. Don’t overly dilute the gene pool!

Mute Robby D
    Favourite Robby D
    Oct 8th 2016, 1:01 PM

Waiting to see how much the government give us back in the budget before i make an extravagant decision about warming my house up

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:20 AM

No but we’ve turned the emmersion off!

Mute Cathal P Forde
    Favourite Cathal P Forde
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:29 AM

Turning off the emersion won’t really make any savings. If you hot water isn’t being used and the cylinder properly insulated the emersion won’t need to heat water therefore not use any substantially measurable amount of electricity. I only had two wash hand basins and a sink off the hot water so instead of heating a cylinder of water I opted for a combination boiler which heats the hot water as I need it

Mute Jim Meen.
    Favourite Jim Meen.
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:43 AM

Its spelt immersion. Ive had heating on for an hour or two here and there, but lit the first fire of the year last night. Love having a big open fire in the sitting room. #smellofturf

Mute Stephen Hayden
    Favourite Stephen Hayden
    Oct 8th 2016, 5:19 PM

Spelled is spelled spelled. Not spelt.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:16 PM

Good to see so many options but what about, ‘Yes, just for some of the colder nights/ mornings’….all depends on your heating options because as already mentioned solid fuel stoves can be turned down to a continuous warm output.

Mute Brian O'Donovan
    Favourite Brian O'Donovan
    Oct 8th 2016, 4:07 PM

Should be another option. Did the wife turn on the heating yet …

Mute Finn H. Schoyen
    Favourite Finn H. Schoyen
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:14 PM

Invest in a smart thermostat. One that learns your habits, and that you can temporarily override at the touch of a button or twist of a knob, or even from you smartphone. Forgot to change a setting when you left the gaff? No problem!

There are a number of good brands to choose from these days too, and some can do your hot water too.

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:27 PM

A++ rated so no

Mute Danny Nash
    Favourite Danny Nash
    Oct 8th 2016, 1:59 PM

@Leitrim303: Bought a timber-framed house and it has struggled to drop below 18 degrees even downstairs.

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Oct 8th 2016, 5:25 PM

@Danny Nash: ya we have no oil boiler. the house stays around 20c even in winter. Defiantly the way to go.

Mute Ian McGrath
    Favourite Ian McGrath
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:10 PM

Nah! It’s still 30C here . . .

Mute Meow
    Favourite Meow
    Oct 8th 2016, 3:01 PM

Nope. Not cold enough yet

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Oct 8th 2016, 10:50 PM

Me mammy leaves her bedroom window open every night of the year. And she doesnt allow the heating to be on. Its always like an igloo in our house. To me anyway

Mute Ciaran O'Malley
    Favourite Ciaran O'Malley
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:25 PM

still beautiful over here in Toronto!
    Legend summer and autumn.

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Oct 8th 2016, 10:50 PM

Hell no, I’m sweating in this weather

Oct 8th 2016, 6:44 PM

Need to find the switch first.