You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin at a press briefing today.

Government ministers agree to take 10% pay cut, Taoiseach says

The cut was approved by members of the Cabinet earlier today.

THE CABINET HAS agreed on a 10% pay cut for government ministers, Taoiseach Micheál Martin confirmed this evening. 

The Taoiseach said the government today decided “to give back 10% of its salaries back to the State as and from the commencement of government” last month. 

Martin said this cut goes from the Taoiseach down as far as the Ministers of State. 

The cut was approved by members of the Cabinet earlier today. Martin described it as an “important measure”. 

Speaking of the vote last week to approve a pay increase for super junior ministers, Martin said this “could have been handled better” by the government.

On Friday, the Dáil voted to pass legislation to extend a €16,000 allowance to all three super junior ministers in the current Cabinet.

This was a pay increase which minister for public expenditure Michael McGrath “didn’t recall” his party, Fianna Fáil, trying to block in 2017.

Under the previous rules, only two super juniors could avail of the allowance, which is paid out on top of the Minister of State salary of €124,439.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 158 comments
158 Comments
    Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:23 PM

An absolute disgrace increasing junior ministers by 16k. What were the government thinking….seriously. Adbsolutely disgusting. Front line medical staff should have received this money any day before these ministers

Mute KilkennyProud
    Favourite KilkennyProud
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:26 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: It was only the 3 Super Junior Ministers

Mute Sean Murnin
    Favourite Sean Murnin

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: Ahh come on now, front line medical staff got a round of applause. Imagine the bills they can pay with that.

See 48 more replies ▾
    Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan

@KilkennyProud: They were testing the waters.

Mute JoyMonkey
    Favourite JoyMonkey
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:27 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: Front line medical staff get paid enough too.

Mute Padraig O Toirnoir
    Favourite Padraig O Toirnoir
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:30 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire:Medical staff will get increase.
    But by your comment you are saying it would be better if they did nothing and didnt reduce minister salaries. I’m happy with response – like you was not happy with junior minister pay increase.

Mute Quoka
    Favourite Quoka
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:31 PM

@JoyMonkey: They do in your granny!

Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Padraig O Toirnoir: people have very short memories. When crap hit the fan these were the people on the front line forgoing their families to keep people alive

Mute Paula Mackie Senior
    Favourite Paula Mackie Senior
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:36 PM

@KilkennyProud: only 3. That’s not the point. They shouldn’t be getting 16K€ during this crisis. Frontline workers are far more worthy of pay rise.

Mute Shane Barry
    Favourite Shane Barry
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:42 PM

@KilkennyProud: 42000€ but people claiming €350 who were on less before are no good scammers.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:45 PM

@JoyMonkey: nurses start at under 25k. Healthcare assistants, cleaners etc probably minimum wage and zero hour contracts. Don’t think that is really enough

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:52 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: It is a start but not enough. I’ve been on furlough for past 3 months and will be for few more. A 20% gross pay reduction.

Taoiseach should go further. Taoiseach, President, Ministers, ceann comhairle, TDs & Senators down 20% for 24 months. Limit vouched expenses to max of 10% of base salary then pay your own way. No travel expenses to Dail if live within 75km. All CEOs of semi state organisations & quangos a reduction of 20% for 12 months. Be ruthless.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:56 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: Just to clarify, They were NOT increasing Junior Ministers pay by 16k ,They were trying to pay their 3rd Super Junior that 16k , ASIs paid to the other Two. I’m firmly of the opinion that there should never be Super Juniors, and that would save just 48 K.. Anyway, they are ALL getting far too much.

Mute Ferg
    Favourite Ferg
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:56 PM

@KilkennyProud: yeah 3 too many.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:58 PM

@JoyMonkey: how much does a nurse get paid? How much does a hospital cleaner get paid? You haven’t a clue what they have gone true during this. Cut the salaries of the fat cats at the top by 25/30% . politicians can live on 70k max per year. Consultants the same. If you can’t live on 70k you have problems

Mute Jennifer J
    Favourite Jennifer J
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:23 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: why didn’t they just get a round of applause like the frontline workers – shameful on behalf of the government

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:27 PM

@Jennifer J: they don’t need around of applause. What they do need is a racing kick in the hole, it might get the brains going.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Ger Murphy: I wish u were in charge. But turkeys don’t vote for Christmas

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:30 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: they did NOT increase junior ministers pay, they increased the number of junior ministers for two to three and extended the pay to the third new ministerial post to that of the other two ministers holding those posts.

In context if you have two truck drivers and decide you want a third truck driver and promote a van driver to a truck driver roll so you now have three truck drivers there would be a strike if the new truck driver was paid less than the existing two drivers. It is one of the issues that teachers, and others, have complained about – people doing the same job for different remuneration.

Mute JGD
    Favourite JGD
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:35 PM

@barry moore: why shouldn’t people be able to earn a much as their skills and talents allow? If you start capping salaries you end up with demotivated and second rate people in all jobs. Just like in the old Soviet Union…

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:54 PM

@JGD: what talent or skills were shown with super junior minister pay increase? Zero. What talent or skills were shown with stopping the PUP payments on people who left the country. They changed the rules after they stopped the payments. What talent or skill was used when eamon ryan was sleeping during a vote on workers rights. You can’t expect front line workers to do the grunt work and carry the country on 25kper yes while the fat cats on 140k+ hide and with the stroke of a pen give themselves a pay rise.

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:02 PM

@JGD: cleaning is a skill and even if cleaning paid top money a lot of people still wouldn’t do it … think it’s above them

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:12 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: Its a start but its not really going to hurt them in all fairness, a 20-30% paycut would send a clear message of solidarity with us more mortals who have been hit hardest. On another note, someone above mentioned that frontline healthcare staff are paid enough, that’s utter nonsense, try telling that to a HCA or junior nurse or hospital porter who have all worked during this pandemic, real work with no advisers to assist them in their daily duties. Again though, it is a start but like I said, it will have little impact on the lifestyle that mi sisters enjoy. Maybe they should also look at the expenses these politicians claim, especially the one that pays them just for turning up for work.

Mute Berkieahern3
    Favourite Berkieahern3
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:13 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: I haven’t forgotten what the front line staff did, don’t lump me in with the brainwashed fianna fail gombeen voters!

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:22 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: Plenty of other frontline workers excluding the medical section that are keeping the country going also, truck drivers, bus drivers, shop workers/cashiers, you get the picture.

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:34 PM

@JoyMonkey: for the hours that they work …they do not..and before the covid crises they were treated like dirt by a lot of people…

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:38 PM

@barry moore: hospital consultants couldn’t live on 75k…. sure their medical insurance would be more than that.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:54 PM

@David Corrigan: testing the waters? did they really think the waters had turned since February 8th?

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:54 PM

@barry moore: suppose consultants aren’t front line staff?? So don’t deserve what they paid. What do you think someone who trains for 15-20years, takes responsibility for all decisions regarding patient care, including during covid and for covid patients, gets sued in this country at the drop of a hat, is responsible for their patients 24/7 365 days a year (no shift work there) and is in demand all over the world should be paid???

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:56 PM

@Patricia O’Reilly: they choose to take out indemnity insurance its not a requirement. The state covers public hospitals.

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:57 PM

@Ciaran bolger: not forgetting they already had a 30% pay cut. One of the reasons we have 500 empty consultant posts here

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:59 PM

@barry moore: yea just for the craic, sure they don’t need it at all.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:02 PM

@Ciaran bolger: as I said the state covers malpractice. Nurses are in demand all over the world why aren’t they paid equally? Some of them can spend the same amount of time studying different areas.

Mute Pat Casey
    Favourite Pat Casey
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:16 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: 100 per cent in agreement

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:21 PM

@barry moore: you clearly have no idea what your talking about. Firstly the insurance doesn’t cover doctor malpractice, it covers the institution and it’s loyalty is to the institution. They will happily (and have) throw the professional under the bus to cover the institution. That’s why most public consultants still carry their own insurance and representation to protect their own reputations because the public indemnity scheme couldn’t give a fig for their reputation.
    There is no comparison between consultant education, training and responsibilities compared to nurses. In terms of depth, duration, intensity, exams, thesis, research and responsibility they are pole’s apart. It’s like comparing an electrician to an electrical engineer or a draftsman to an architect.

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:30 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: Fianna Fail gave us The Teflon Taoiseach. Now we have The Toss pot Taoiseach.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:45 PM

@KilkennyProud: They were fast enough to pass legislation concerning this travesty…. Not so long ago Simon Harris threatened striking nurses with fines if they did not return to work. Varadkar supported Harris. These are the same people who refused to support a motion concerning low paid workers and Debenham workers. Hypocritical paracites.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:55 PM

@Ciaran bolger: your even saying it your self they choose to pay for the insurance. If they are so well trained and have so much research behind them why would they need insurance to cover their mistakes unless they aren’t competent. Meaning they aren’t worth the huge salary they are taking.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:01 PM

@Ciaran bolger: I know of two cases where medicines was prescribed by a consultant and when it went to the pharmacy they refused to give the meds as they would cause an adverse reaction when taken.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:30 PM

@KilkennyProud: it was only one actually. 2 were already getting the money and they had to change the rules to allow the 3rd super junior minister have the same rate of pay as the other 2..

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Jul 28th 2020, 12:06 AM

@barry moore: seriously???

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Jul 28th 2020, 12:15 AM

@barry moore: are you kiddin me???, 2 whole cases??? How about the 1,000’s of patients who get their tumours removed every year, chemotherapy, radiotherapy, not to mention cardiac treatment, diabetes treatment everything really, who do you think diagnoses everything, prescribes treatment regimens, including all the drugs given…..doctors including consultants. As for insurance, is your house insured??, why, if you are competent and not in the habit of starting fires why would you need it.

Mute Alan McGreevey
    Favourite Alan McGreevey
    Jul 28th 2020, 1:26 AM

@barry moore: Why don’t you spend less time ranting on the internet and go out and make a difference in the world. You know those useless fat cats were all voted into office. You could be too. Then you could fix everything, probably cure COVID19, cut your own salary, and take abuse off trolls every day. You might actually realise how difficult the job is instead of working that groove into your armchair.

Mute Rita McCabe
    Favourite Rita McCabe
    Jul 28th 2020, 6:31 AM

@David Corrigan: and they got scalded.

Mute seamus toomey
    Favourite seamus toomey
    Jul 28th 2020, 7:14 AM

@Padraig O Toirnoir: it wasn’t junior ministers who hit the rise

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 28th 2020, 7:16 AM

@Alan McGreevey: haha. I’m working 50 hours on an standard week trow in some overtime and studying. Haven’t missed a day this year and haven’t had annual leave. No Groove in my armchairs.

Mute seamus toomey
    Favourite seamus toomey
    Jul 28th 2020, 7:17 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: nearly there with your facts ??? Were not junior ministers they were super junior ministers already 2 added a 3rd and made pay the same it had to be equal

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 28th 2020, 7:20 AM

@Ciaran bolger: as part of mortgage agreement it has to be insured, its not insured by choice.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 28th 2020, 8:11 AM

@Ciaran bolger: i didn’t build it, I didn’t make the electrical goods nor did I plumb it. Its insured against other people mistakes. Now your comparing apples with oranges.

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Jul 28th 2020, 9:28 AM

@David Corrigan: let’s argue over money while the cases continue to go up ?!

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Jul 28th 2020, 10:07 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Three truck drivers all driving at the same time. They’d have 10 in the cab if they could get away with it.

Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:25 PM

Fair play. It’s probably a sign of things to come for use all but still, good to see this. Our politicians wages were (are) simply too high.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:34 PM

@Dec: I wouldn’t mind the wages being high if we actual got good people working as politicians but they couldn’t arrange a p up in a brewery.

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley

@Jim Buckley Barrett: you know the answer run for office

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan ODoherty
    Favourite Alan ODoherty

@Dec: fair play my A***

Mute Alan ODoherty
    Favourite Alan ODoherty
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:37 PM

@Dec: fair play , my backside – they didn’t come up with the idea themselves

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:39 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: fireside talk go run yourself.

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt

@Jim Buckley Barrett: only ourselves to blame Jim. And shur look it….its a well paid job

Mute David Walters
    Favourite David Walters
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:46 PM

@John Nolan: Jim has a job already, which in turn pays for these wasters.

Mute Bennett blaster
    Favourite Bennett blaster
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:04 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: they’re pretty good at p ups in the dail bar

Mute Lorcan McNamee
    Favourite Lorcan McNamee
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:05 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: It is lazy to tar all politicians with the same brush: they are not all the same. The “all politicians are crooks and wasters” line is a cliché and is too easy – it is generally used by people who want to make themselves feel better by disparaging others. The fact that we have, at this stage, mainly controlled the virus is at least partly down to politicians.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Dec: are they getting their increase in October?

Mute El Poblo Escobar
    Favourite El Poblo Escobar
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:06 PM

@Lorcan McNamee: you are deluded man the fact that the politicians didn’t shut down the country fast enough in January is the reason we have the number of cases and deaths we have had. We have frontline staff to thank for controlling the virus and the nphet for guiding the clowns you call politicians that quote lord of the rings among other shite when a country is in crisis let give the voter a few quid for or cause we done so bad I the election now they are in government watch them take it away tenfold.

Mute Tom Curran
    Favourite Tom Curran
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:03 PM

@Dec: Hopefully, they can make it up on expenses

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:07 PM

@Dec: A TDs salary is double the average full time wage, hardly too high given they are elected. Plus the average full time pay doesnt include nixers etc which would prob bring it up to 60k in all honesty.
    Most TD, SF aside, are well qualified and would earn 100k+ in the private sector, so its nonsense to think they enter politics solely for $$$$

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Jul 28th 2020, 2:34 AM

@Dec: They didn’t have the intelligence to do that on day one.It was only public outcry about the 16000 increases that forced them to do that.They are a pathetic lot unable of any sort of intelligent thinking.
    so I don’t think they should be praised for this.
    I think they should have take a cut of a minimum of 20 % considering their employer is almost bankrupt

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Jul 28th 2020, 2:50 AM

@Lorcan McNamee: so name few who deserve our respect.I can’t think of any who are forward thinking with clever ideas to benefit this country.its all about themselves and their parties and how to keep the power.They never have the ability to work together for the common good of this country

Mute MollyMsalone
    Favourite MollyMsalone

Too late damage is done, greed and self interest has shown.

Mute Mick Costello
    Favourite Mick Costello

And also agree(silently) to increase expenses allowance no doubt

Mute KilkennyProud
    Favourite KilkennyProud

@Mick Costello: sure when you’re making stuff up why stop there?

Mute Mick Costello
    Favourite Mick Costello
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:19 PM

@KilkennyProud: sorry of course our fantastic political leaders are so honest they would never dream of that

Mute Mick Costello
    Favourite Mick Costello
    Jul 28th 2020, 12:07 PM

@KilkennyProud: Micheál Martin to be paid more as Taoiseach than Varadkar was after ‘pay cut’ https://jrnl.ie/5161760

Mute Mr Jerry Curtin
    Favourite Mr Jerry Curtin
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:29 PM

Too little too late

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:56 PM

@Mr Jerry Curtin: I disagree, this is a welcome gesture.
    Not many people would take a voluntary 10% pay cut

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Jul 28th 2020, 2:57 AM

@Hector Son:

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Jul 28th 2020, 2:58 AM

@Tom’s: Clown

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick

Is that the best they can do? It’s only approx 5 per cent of net pay. Joke

Mute Roger Dawson
    Favourite Roger Dawson
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:51 PM

@Mattress Dick: How about 60% pay cut for all TD’S and Unelected by the People
    Senators

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:48 PM

@Roger Dawson: will you take the same pay cut

Mute Roger Dawson
    Favourite Roger Dawson
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:55 PM

@Tony Lyons: Yes
    Do you know how much a pensioner get in Ireland.
    Do you know what 60% of 200k is

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:51 PM

@Roger Dawson: Who did you vote for Roger?

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:44 PM

Maybe they should reform the expenses gravy train now. Super high salary still and generous expenses to. Just window dressing to divert media attention away from an own goal

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:28 PM

Take it and give it to the medical staff that worked twice as hard in these times.

Mute Uncle Bobby
    Favourite Uncle Bobby
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:41 PM

No politician should get paid more than average industrial wage.

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:44 PM

@Uncle Bobby: tell that to the SF lads the richest party in the state.

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:25 PM

@John Nolan: How many ministers do they have?

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:05 PM

@Uncle Bobby:

Politics isn’t an 8 to 5 job, Bob.

Sure they’re only getting warmed up after teatime on at least three days a their grueling working week

It seems like a 24/7 365 always-on, tough type of job.

And they can’t even call in the unions to demand better quality ear muffs when noise levels from opposition benches reach breaking point.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:10 PM

@Rory J Leonard: god I wounder how many more td’s would be having naps if they had earmuffs

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:29 PM

@8-Bit-Relic: none in Dail and have a look at the mess up North taking the Queens shilling.

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:58 PM

@John Nolan: I got it, none!

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jul 28th 2020, 8:07 AM

@Uncle Bobby: I have no problem with them getting twice the industrial average. but they seem to have managed to get there wages back up to pre crash levels. unfortunately they are linked to civil service grades so how many are at that level and are their responsibilities commensurate with the salary.

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Jul 28th 2020, 9:48 AM

@Uncle Bobby: Only a poorly educated ignoramus could think thats sensible.
    Chukey our law clowns

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon

Too late…they all showed their true colours when they voted for it.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:24 PM

All this because they got too greedy.

Mute yoloboyz
    Favourite yoloboyz

A nice gesture given what happened last week… however i personally would be happier if they justify their salary with hard work and well thought out, fair and positive decisions…

Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:34 PM

A big round of applause for the Ministers, FFG propped up by the false promise party the Greens, will bleed as much money out of this term as the can, because they no we no the come the next election Sinn Feín will not be denied there time in government.

Mute Eoin O Shea
    Favourite Eoin O Shea

@Jimmy Mac: yes, because they were somehow ‘denied’ government this time. The current government was formed from a democratic process. End of story.

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:43 PM

@Jimmy Mac: if this is bad the coming of the pointers and divers.. Ireland wont know what hit them.

Mute Ger McDonnell
    Favourite Ger McDonnell
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:49 PM

@Jimmy Mac: Did the shinners up north not accept salaries from Westminster while refusing to take their seats there?

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:25 PM

@Ger McDonnell: Listen to The Week in Politics,they argued against the increase and gave it all back!SF manifesto had proposals to cut politicians pay here and reforms also re pensions!

Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:48 PM

@Eoin O Shea: what planet are you from, these gangsters would sell there mother for power, but the next election will be the last time they will ever rob us again.

Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:51 PM

@Eoin O Shea: A Cork man with no morals. Michole not even the grass roots want him.

Mute Aine Ryan
    Favourite Aine Ryan
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:54 PM

Good move by Taoiseach, Like to hear the total figure in savings. Now needs to announce a wage increase for nurses and hospital front line workers. This issue needs to be addressed and resolved NOW.
    Also needs to read Vicky Phelans’ Sunday Independent article yesterday and fully implement all those recommendations proposed in the review and give her the credit and courtesy she so rightly deserves now. She is a shining star in our midst and the women of Ireland owe her a huge debt of gratitude.

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:08 PM

@Aine Ryan: Heard her on radio earlier today and she is just an absolute warrior.

Mute Michael Brennan
    Favourite Michael Brennan
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:57 PM

Maybe I’m losing it. But if the 3 super juniors got a 16k raise on an original salary of 124k, bringing their salaries to 140k. Then a 10 percent payout. 14k. Doesn’t that mean they now get 126k? Isn’t that a pay rise?

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:32 PM

@Michael Brennan: only one super junior was getting an allowance increase of 16k. The whole cabinet is taking a 10% cut.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 28th 2020, 9:46 AM

@Tim Pot: If you factor in the €8,000 pay increase they awarded themselves plus vouched and unvouched expences this propaganda exercise is pointless….Nothing changes… The pigs are back at the trough.

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S

Trying to amend the feathering of own nests which was a huge sting in the tail for the ordinary Joe soap.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:02 PM

The cut should continue through too TDs Senators Councillers and the Judiciary

Mute BeyondRoom313
    Favourite BeyondRoom313
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:55 PM

Damage control over the PUP Airport Patrols. A lot of people have copped on that they should not be doing this as it wasn’t stated in clear language when the PUP was announced. Regardless about how you feel about the issue, they cannot justify these airport raids on something that was never mentioned when the PUPs were handed out.

I think what they are doing at the airports is a monumental piece of wickedness – targetting the poor on purpose – and they already regretting it. Glad it backfired and this is trying to hide it.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:02 PM

If these politicians actually did the job themselves maybe they’d be worth it but they have so many advisors, juniors, super juniors etcetera etcetera King & I pronunciation here) you wonder why they are being paid so much to just be puppets!!! We’d save a fortune if we got rid of the front end / top heavy TDs

Mute Christopher Mulrooney #WeAreStarfleet
    Favourite Christopher Mulrooney #WeAreStarfleet
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:40 PM

Make it 50% and also make all your financial records available to the public. We are the ones who pay your overpaid salaries and you guys did promise the change and transparency that we voted for.

Mute Peter Denham
    Favourite Peter Denham

It’s welcome for sure. It should have done at the beginning of lockdown but greedy Leo wasn’t having it unfortunately.

Mute Eugene
    Favourite Eugene
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:38 PM

100% pay cut and earn the rest! Like those on hours worked and mentally in attendance..

Mute AOL
    Favourite AOL
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:57 PM

Make it a set average wage as a politician and you will get people who actually want to do the job to run. Not shams who fall asleep and are only there for the money and pension

Jul 27th 2020, 8:45 PM

Why do politicians need with such high salaries what do they do with it that they need it so badly but can’t let poorer workers have a decent wage. Put every TD and minister on 30-40000 a year that is enough for them to live on.

Mute Charles Shelly
    Favourite Charles Shelly

Greed for What to do sit down ,drive home and get paid. I’m not going to pay any more tax ..

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:33 PM

i wonder were they embarrassed into doing this by what the New Zealand govnmt did , 20% in their case.

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:11 PM

@RJ.Fallon: Even after her 20% cut the NZ PM was still on a bigger wage than our Taoiseach.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:37 PM

I doubt this would have happened without the backlash they got. Should be more but it’s something.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:31 PM

Bet that excluding the super ministers.
    Nurses should get a 16k raise for all there work not some made up positions.

Mute Csilla
    Favourite Csilla
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:09 PM

They all had an €8000 pay rise not long ago.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Jul 27th 2020, 7:31 PM

Jeans how will they manage without it…like as if we will ever know if they did take a cut.

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:31 PM

The irony of Pascal D telling us that they had to give the 3rd super junior minister the same as the other ministers as they were doing the same work….. oddly enough they didn’t think that about the new entrant teachers/ nurses……oh sometimes I wonder who ties their shoe laces in the morning!

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:06 PM

Caught milking the system bare faced

Mute Seriously
    Favourite Seriously

Feeling FF yet? Jokers

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:46 PM

And they after giving 16,000 pay rise ffs

Mute SkepticalHippoEyes
    Favourite SkepticalHippoEyes
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:00 PM

I know everyone gets triggered by politicians salaries but 125k + 16k allowance is a standard senior executive salary. But sure go ahead, getting the pitchforks out makes some people feel better about themselves

Mute Bennett blaster
    Favourite Bennett blaster
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:04 PM

@SkepticalHippoEyes: they’re paid far too much for the work they do.

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:01 PM

@SkepticalHippoEyes: executives can also be held accountable when they mess up and oh ya when they really make a dogs dinner, they get sacked not pay offs or resign with a cushy pension, kicked out the door…..so I’d not go comparing it too much

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:08 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell: TDs do lose their seat.

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Jul 28th 2020, 5:18 PM

@Bain triail aisti: being voted out is different to say standing over a billion euro hole of a children’s hospital or a cervical cancer scandal…..amazing nobody got sacked then hmm

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley

Our local Sinn Fein TD gets an extra 26,000 euro travelling expenses for travelling into the Dail from Sketries. This on top of 94,000 euro salary. It’s keeps getting better no Mater what party is in.

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:35 PM

@Tim Quigley: 50 properties and a hefty bank account. Not bad for a republican party who are paid by Westminister for representing their electorate and who dont turn up because they dont recognise that establishment. Tbey took the sovereigns when Assembly was closed down for a few years. Now they want to rule in Dublin!

Mute Magic 8 ball
    Favourite Magic 8 ball
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:38 PM

USC? that was a temp move 2010 permanent now . This paycut will be a real temp move as soon as super-duper junior spoofer minister 16k increase is forgotten. I give it 6 months an reinstated nothing said in media.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jul 28th 2020, 12:01 AM

@Magic 8 ball: they’ll just claim extra sundry expenses

Mute Jambon Decapabanana
    Favourite Jambon Decapabanana
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:33 PM

Lies.

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:52 PM

I said it before and I’ll say it again only the voter’s to blame

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:50 PM

How in the name of our lord can someone who is not elected by the people of Ireland become a super junior minister in the Dail

Mute Orla Cosgrave
    Favourite Orla Cosgrave
    Jul 29th 2020, 12:16 AM

@Paul Dolan: my thoughts exactly. What qualifications do they have to warrant such a salary and then get a pay rise and tmare not in the jobs a wet day.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:35 PM

Credit where credit is due, at least Micheál is trying

Jul 27th 2020, 8:43 PM

@Alex Nevin: More like lying they will give themselves a 30% raise then give the 10% cut and claim they are doing their part when in fact it’s them that should have massive salary cuts and leave the poorer working people allow with the cuts.

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon

@Alex Nevin: yes , very trying.

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:25 PM

As I said before. The minister don’t have an argument anymore if the union’s ask for equality payment.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 28th 2020, 12:55 AM

They did NOT take a 10% pay cut…The just reinstated a cut already in existence. When the three ring circus formed the government the cut the privious government took was Billy and void. In the meantime an 8% increase was sanctioned. This was before the three ring circus took power. If people remember Sinn Fein T.Ds refused this increase .The spin this three ring circus is now spinning are lies.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jul 27th 2020, 9:07 PM

A positive and welcome move.

Tip of the iceberg for TD income when considering the lavish expense allowances and pensions they’re entitled to but the small cut was more of a concession than Varadkar was willing to make just a few months ago.

Mute Eva Reingraber
    Favourite Eva Reingraber

Oh so they will only get €112/3k … poor them … absolute joke

Mute Mary Brennan
    Favourite Mary Brennan
    Jul 27th 2020, 10:41 PM

Keep them on the run .,don’t let this go ,sick of this extra €16,000 should never have agreed to give this pay rise

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Jul 28th 2020, 1:20 AM

Too little too late 10% is only chicken feed what about all politicans right across the board together with all the political pensioners with double / treble pensions
    Restore the rightful pensions to the 80,000 + contributory pensioners and cut out this penny pinching when there is 5 euro increase that all state pensioners get the full increase

Mute KENNETH FITZPATRICK
    Favourite KENNETH FITZPATRICK
    Jul 28th 2020, 1:03 AM

This could have been handled by the Government better,Michael you only decided to do a U-TURN on this because of the back LASH,From the Citizens of this Country

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:49 PM

Damage limitations! Decrease that will be supplemented by covid means?

Mute Patrick Hughes
    Favourite Patrick Hughes
    Jul 28th 2020, 8:46 AM

The biggest racket of all is their unvouched expenses and allowances lets start with 250 euro per month mobile phone allowance, 8k for setting up an office and the insane Parlimentary standard allowance which is up to 32.5k PA for doing their jobs all on top of their over inflated salaries. This by the way is on top of the unvouched expenses they all claim……..

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Jul 27th 2020, 11:52 PM

Why dont we have a nationwide round of applause for the crooks that are in the Dail

Mute gary connolly
    Favourite gary connolly
    Jul 28th 2020, 9:25 AM

50% cut and they’ed still be on too much.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Jul 28th 2020, 5:42 AM

AH SURE LET’S GIVE THEM A CLAP,AIN’T THEY JUST GREAT….MUPPETS

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jul 28th 2020, 12:09 AM

After the next General Election
    1 SF
    2 FG
    And the smaller parties led by SD, Lab & FF

And no Greens Elected

SF need an extra 10 to make an overall majority and FF oblige with their 15 TD’s

Mute Irene Kealy
    Favourite Irene Kealy
    Jul 28th 2020, 6:07 AM

Our politicians are grossly overpaid even with this 10% pay cut. Why not pay them a similar amount to the British politicians?.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jul 28th 2020, 12:35 AM

What’s the total amount if all the 10% amounts are added up?