You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin in the Dáil this afternoon. OIreachtas.ie

Two errors identified in Leaving Cert Calculated Grades system, about 6,000 students affected

Education Minister Norma Foley will make a comprehensive statement on the matter later today.

LAST UPDATE | 30 Sep 2020

TAOISEACH MICHEÁl MARTIN has said that two errors have been identified in the Leaving Cert calculated grades system. 

Martin told the Dáil of the issue this afternoon and said Education Minister Norma Foley will make a comprehensive statement on the matter later today. 

“The Department of Education and Skills has found to my understanding two errors in the Leaving Cert 2020 Calculated Grades. My understanding is that the Minister for Education will be making a comprehensive statement today in relation to this,” the Taoiseach said.

“In terms of what has occurred, the measures taken to rectify that, the rechecking of that process, and bringing in independent external evaluation.”

The Taoiseach added that some students may have received higher results as a result of the errors. 

“The priority has to be the students themselves, in terms of how they received this information, the students who may have received grade upgrades in terms of some of their grades as a result of these errors, they have to be communicated with first,” he said.

It’s understood that about 6,000 students have been affected by the errors and some 800-900 students missed out on third level places as a result. 

The Taoiseach provided the details after Labour leader Alan Kelly had asked if any problems had been identified with the system. 

Kelly said it appeared to his colleague Aodhán Ó Riordáin TD that some education officials had “gone to ground” and he asked the Taoiseach was there a reason for this. 

“Our education spokesperson has been following up with quite an amount of students who were appealing Leaving Cert results. But the Department of Education seems to have gone to ground all of a sudden, so I’m just wondering if there’s some issue here, that we need to know about?,” Kelly asked the Taoiseach.

Providing further details of the issue, the Taoiseach said the department became aware of the issue last week but wanted to investigate the problem before making the issue public. 

“The company Polymetrica, who discovered the error in the code initially they informed the department about it. They’ve since been correcting the piece of code. It’s now operating as intended, the Department of Education and Skills found a secondary error while performing checks related to rectifying the first error, and the department were very anxious that they would get all of the issues resolved and to understand fully what was involved here before going public on it,” he said.

Speaking after the Taoiseach’s comments, Ó Riordáin accused the government of “another foul up” and said Foley should have been making an immediate statement on the matter. 

“Yet another foul up from the Department of Education in relation to the Leaving Cert. First we had the Leaving Cert postponed, we had the calculated grades system replacing the Leaving Cert. We then had the results date postponed. And now it’s reported that 10% of all students have had an error in their calculated grades,” Ó Riordáin said.

Both Kelly and Richard Boyd-Barrett TD said that it amounts to “cock-up” by the department. 

“It’s extraordinary. Any other government at any other time. This is bringing it down,” Kelly said. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:54 PM

Numerous unanswered messages and e mails to an Irish government body or politician? I don’t believe that for a second!!!

Mute The Hidden Revolt
    Favourite The Hidden Revolt
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:19 PM

typical irish government got its priorities completely arseways.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:21 PM

Ireland, a great country to do business, now who said that?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:51 PM

Google.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:02 PM

Apple.

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:30 PM

Good luck with your web summit!

Last time I was in Lisbon (circa 6 months ago) the hotels were astronomically priced (due to local football match!) and weren’t a touch on the standard of hotels here!

I don’t know what they’re talking about wifi – good luck in Lisbon, you have to pay for wifi EVERYWHERE! Hotels charge a separate rate, airports have a charge, half decent cafe’s do to and their internet is slower than anything I’ve ever experienced, more timeouts than the superbowl trying to login to gmail!

And I wouldn’t go around waving my laptop, cell phone, new technology out there, I know people who’ve had their faces slashed by pick pockets –

Frommer’s: “Lisbon used to be one of the safest capitals of Europe, but that hasn’t been true for a long time. It’s now quite dangerous to walk around at night. Many travelers report being held up at knifepoint. Some bandits operate in pairs or in trios. Not only do they take your money but they demand your ATM code. One of the robbers holds a victim captive while another withdraws money. (If the number proves to be fake, the robber might return and harm the victim.) During the day, pickpockets galore prey on tourists, aiming for wallets, purses, and cameras. Congested areas are particularly hazardous. Avoid walking at night, especially if you’re alone.”

Giving out about our traffic!! Wait until you experience Lisbons!
    Travel guide: Driving in Lisbon is challenging, as it is possibly one of Europe’s most difficult cities to drive in. The roads are narrow and old, drivers are inpatient and erratic, signage is almost non-existent and parking is notorious. Driving in Lisbon is not a fun or enjoyable experience and visitors should really consider if they want to drive in the capital.

Good luck with your Web summit!

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:39 PM

HP, Microsoft, Intel, Dell…….

Mute Igot Noname
    Favourite Igot Noname
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:09 PM

Everything you say is 100% true but maybe they replied to emails and came up with a plan as requested!

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:34 PM

Web Summit got €700,000 in government funding –

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/technology/web-summit-got-700-000-in-state-funds-over-three-years-1.2393205

Three of the four main demands PC had were for issues the government had no control over – Wifi, hotel prices and (short term) public transport. It beggars belief that he would look for the Gov to impose state controls on the hotel industry.

And how can he possible claim he “wasn’t looking for a penny” when everything he asked for cost money?

This was a private businessman trying to screw out the best deal for his company and fair play to him, he did.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:35 PM

….Cosgrave described Callinan’s response as “misleading”.

Any relation of Martin Callinan, I wonder?

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:39 AM

Typical clowns in irish govt. Simple as. He should have went on joe duffy…

Jesus its a joke of a country. Fkkkk you FG.

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Oct 16th 2015, 2:05 AM

RDS wanted 1 Million to use their wifi for a few days and would let them use their own – that’s just outrageous.

They wanted the same level of traffic management a football match would get – reasonable request – should have been easy to lay on a few more darts for the days of something.

They wanted some assurances the hotels couldn’t scalp visitors with a 600% premium – thats unfair but doubt any thing could be done on that.

Mute Vicko Aguilar
    Favourite Vicko Aguilar
    Oct 16th 2015, 2:54 AM

I agree with you! Lisbon no the best city in the world

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Oct 16th 2015, 5:25 AM

Are ppl just going to roll out the cliches here and not even look at his list of demands? I’m all for kicking the govt but they did the right thing here. He wanted free public transport for all the millionaires that would be at it. Meanwhile he’s employing people via job-bridge and charging extortionate ticket prices. He wanted Dublin shut down essentially and wanted govt to intervene and control things they simply couldn’t. As is the norm with these tech entrepreneurs he wanted to be treated like some sort of royalty. I say well done govt for not being taken for mugs. Enjoy Lisbon Paddy.

Mute Blathnaid1986
    Favourite Blathnaid1986
    Oct 16th 2015, 6:24 AM

On September 10 everyone in government was too busy claiming at least 5k refugees to deal with this business

Mute Deяek ツ
    Favourite Deяek ツ
    Oct 16th 2015, 7:58 AM

I didn’t see a list? Or anywhere asking for free transport..adding on..

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Oct 16th 2015, 8:10 AM

He wanted a Leap Card for all the attendees who were staying in Dublin. He wanted complimentary rental of Dublin City Hall and Wood Quay. Garda escorts for VIP’s. City centre branding for 2 week run up. Roads closed with parking permission suspended. And he wanted it all for free of course. This guy thinks he is Barack Obama or something. Off to Lisbon with his oversized ego.

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Oct 16th 2015, 9:46 AM

Get bent Paddy. You’re right Diarmaid, seems like Paddy threw a tantrum.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:26 AM

Went to the Web Summit last year, thankfully via work, it actually is one of the most overpriced load of pap going. It makes money via these extortionate ticket prices. I work in the web industry, and most of the people there were salespeople. They only wanted to know/speak to you if they could sell to you, or in some way make money from you.

Many of the exhibitors were offering the same stuff, Social Media analytics tools… great.

I like going to conferences where I actually take something positive away from it. Web Summit for me personally was not something I enjoyed.

Mute Linda Condon
    Favourite Linda Condon
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:31 AM

I’m in Portugal as we speak using unlimited FREE WiFi and there’s plenty of great public transport and private run companies that can easily manage to provide top class transport to and from the summit. well done Lisbon on securing the contract. at least you have an efficient public service that can provide a plan and get back to you in a timely manner.

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:54 AM

Linda, is the free wi-fi preventing you from reading? We have plenty public transport too, just not all that gone on giving it for FREE to people who can afford €5k for a platinum ticket.

Mute Jane Aelst
    Favourite Jane Aelst
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:58 AM

This is a little unfair. Yes, Lisbon has chronic traffic problems (mostly because the Portuguese are lunatic drivers rather than the quality of the roads) and a visiting tourist would be crazy to rent a car and drive in the city. However, it does have an infinitely better public transport system than Dublin. Its subway system is clean, efficient, and inexpensive. In addition, taxis are numerous and cost a fraction of what their counterparts charge in Dublin. I have visited Lisbon on numerous occasions and have never experienced the internet problems that you refer to. On the question of crime, it may be a problem and I certainly hear complaints that the police do not do enough to safeguard tourists in the city. Like all big cities, there are common-sense precautions that you need to take when you are out and about: certain areas to avoid, not have valuables on display, etc. I’m sure the same applies in Dublin. Pick-pocking on trams in Lisbon is notorious.

Mute Jodus
    Favourite Jodus
    Oct 16th 2015, 11:39 AM

He confirmed yesterday on the Last Word that he didn’t get any funding, all that spend was for stands at the events or for dinners/speakers to promote Ireland and the IDA itself.

But why shouldn’t he expect support? How much did we pay to attract College Football to Croke Park? How much do we subsidise pay for multinationals to set up business here?

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:27 PM

…….SUNSHINE….

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 16th 2015, 9:10 PM

This is absolutely pathetic by the govt. Complete swine. I pay you a lot to answer those emails.

Mute Joe Boyle
    Favourite Joe Boyle
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:56 PM

Absolute idiots … Shame we lost it…

The fact they couldn’t even respond to a few emails on (On serious event) says a lot about our “waste of oxygen” politicians …

Fools

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:54 PM

“Enda, I’m not looking for a penny, just need you to illegally put pressure on Dublin’s oldest philanthropic society, suspend free market economics for the hotel industry and provide a fleet of winged unicorns to fly me and my 50,000 friends home every night. WHY WON’T YOU JUST CAVE INTO MY DEMANDS IMMEDIATELY????”

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:48 PM

Some of the comment about Cardiff and the rugby below are rather ironic in light of this. The organiser is on with Mary Wilson now and one of the three major problems he says that they faced was price gouging by hotels!

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:01 PM

Nice they have an event though.

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:15 PM

He claims the hotels were gouging???? The ticket prices started at 675 and went up to 4500……. yeah the hotels were the only ones gouging. Also its not like hotels in every other city in the world don’t take part in this for large events. Just look at the price of a room in cardiff on a match night. The hotel thing is a white elephant and theres nothing the government could have done on it

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:17 PM

What about all of the suppliers that he gouged. And the attendees who felt scammed?
    http://tech.eu/features/6244/web-summit-scam-well-ask/

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:24 PM

He used the same high pressure sales techniques on the government as he did on attendees. Making limited time offers and threats.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:33 PM

Interesting article James.

We will have to see if it changes when it moves to Lisbon

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:59 PM

On the wifi issue, seemingly the RDS offered a number of packages and Paddy went for the cheapest and threw his toys out of pram when it went tits up.

Mute Mick Kirwan
    Favourite Mick Kirwan
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:16 PM

indeed …hotels are grabbing idiots at times like these

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:28 PM

This has all the hallmarks of a choreographed set-up by Cosgrove to mitigate the negative publicity of an intended move anyway. Good few commentators here seeing through it though and the usual whine bags buying it.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:44 PM

Oh com’on James…how did he choreograph the replies?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:50 PM

@Al Ka – do you really not know that? Ok if I must tell you – you make requests which elicit predictable responses.

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Favourite Protect Democracy!
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:18 PM

Is this another case of the taxpayers money been provided to get this off the ground in the early years, once established they then fly off to the highest bidder? Something not just right about this, we need to hear the other side of the story. How much money did the govt pump in over the years etc etc

Mute Linda Daly
    Favourite Linda Daly
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:56 PM

James I was listening to The Last Word with Matt Cooper today. Paddy was on. This was a question Matt asked and Paddy said they were offered just 1 package only.

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:01 PM

Is this “summit” like those phony ones in China and the Far East that keep spamming me with those “call for papers emails”

Do they claim to have the internet in a box thingy….

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTBsm0LzSP0

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:41 PM

Paddy Cosgrave’s sole purpose is to make a profit, he a businessman, an entrepreneur. In 3 years time he may well move the Web Summit to London or Paris if he’s offered favourable deals there, the thing is wherever it’s hosted and whatever deals are done they will be designed to be favourable to him and his company, not the start ups.
    Young and hopeful startups are sold a dream that they need, indeed they absolutely must attend the Web Summit, failing to attend will very likely sentence their company to a swift death before it’s even gotten off the ground. Those who do attend can expect to meet, mingle and mix with the people they could previously only dream of meeting, the rich, the famous the powerful. We’re talking CEO’s, VP’s, VIP’s, Presidents, Producers, Partners, Managers, Founders, Journalists, Directors, Editors, the rich, the famous and lots and lots of potential investors for their start up. All they need do is come up with the fee. What, a few grand for a golden ticket, this is business, you have a once in a lifetime opportunity to play with the big boys. Don’t forget the VAT on that, you wouldn’t want us to get in trouble with the government would you?

https://www.yellowschedule.com/blog/web-summit/an-irish-start-ups-experience-of-the-web-summit/

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 16th 2015, 11:24 AM

Firstly start-ups going through EI, Enterprise boards or SEEP programs received complementary tickets or heavily discounted tickets based on their business suitability to attend the web summit. Secondly, whilst you hear from disgruntled attendees and non attendees, there are many that benefited massively from attending. Anyone blabbering who did not attend should keep their opinion to themselves. a percentage that did attend redesigned their business models to increase their possibility of success. Setting up a profitable successful start-up is a difficult task and not something that can be easily achieved. The Web Summit assisted many who got the opportunity to talk with successful entrepreneurs. The event is what you make of it, if that means that there are sour grapes so be it.

Paddy did a tremendous job and wants to make it bigger and better, he is neither a politician nor a magician and cannot pull RABBIT from his arse. Credit where credit is due, he achieved allot for Ireland attracting multi-million dollar corporations into the country, showcasing some of the best from our country than any other event in Ireland.

Mute ReChew A.
    Favourite ReChew A.
    Oct 16th 2015, 6:57 PM

I was at the WS last year and when I heard the rip off prices Paddy the victim was charging these starry eyed young people for his chip board stand and sheds I came away so sorry for these kids and I wonder how many of them today can say they got benefit from Paddy and his circus .
    I am glad the govt stood up this little upstart and sent him packing to Lisbon where he can take his few super wealthy suckers to see the shanty town residents living on scraps on the edge of the city .Paddy is the one who F….ked up and now that he realises this he is trying damage limitation by mud slinging .

Mute Katie Does
    Favourite Katie Does
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:52 PM

‘not looking for a penny’

Huh?

They wanted:
    - Free use of venues including City Hall, Wood Quay venue, Herbert Park and others he didn’t name
    - Garda escorts for VIPS (with normal fees waived)
    - Shuttle buses to be provided by Dublin Bus, free of charge
    - Closure ot three city centre streets for a party
    - Leap cards for all attendees, to be provided free of charge

So no, no pennies, just a LOT of costs not borne by his company.

Think of the leap cards alone – free Leap Cards for at least four days for each attendee will run to many hundreds of thousands of value. So that he can add this boon that cost him nothing to his marketing of his very high ticket prices.

And the hotel gouging thing is a bit rich too. Bear in mind what the company Paddy runs is – a private, most definitely for profit, event management company whose ticket prices for this particular event start at almost €750. Or you can pay €625 for admission to the commercial exhibition ONLY, an exhibition where exhibitors have paid many thousands to have a presence. You have to admit that’s a kind of genius alright. Tickets then rise steeply to several thousand.

And he has the nerve to look for other private companies to have their prices controlled – and for what purpose? Why, to ensure he can sell more of those very high priced tickets.

Lisbon, frankly, is welcome to his over-priced, over-hyped event.

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:02 PM

At the same time he was ringing suppliers asking them to work for free in return for having a banner up in the RDS.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:37 PM

Bloody entrepreneurs! The Luddites were right..

Mute Rick James
    Favourite Rick James
    Oct 16th 2015, 2:39 AM

So happy someone of intelligence is talking here! Thank you!

Judging by the correspondence and the timeline, the deal was signed from the 21st of August.. All these replies he’s speaking about are from the 23rd on.. So why did he keep it going??
    I have no doubt in my mind that judging by his outrages entry prices, vendor fees that he may have not been looking for money but instead crazy demands.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:24 AM

also the first one was at 9 o’clock on a Friday night, and he pinged again on Monday that he didn’t get a reply… but then mentions that he has been having lots of meetings with state bodies prior to this email tantrum? seems like a cover up… I’ll ask him at the summit next month (oh, I forgot, those guys just zip in and out, while the investor guys just laughed at the pleb startups)

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:05 PM

I thought paddy cosgrave was awful on Mary Wilson. He sounded like a child having a tantrum.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:55 PM

At the time,I thought it was about the money..turns out it was government indifference /incompetence,take your pick..way to go Enda..knowledge economy my hole..

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:13 PM

That sums up the whole situation Kieran.

Mute insider.ie
    Favourite insider.ie
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:36 PM

It seems to me that Paddy and his team decided quite some time ago to leave Dublin and were preparing the ground for it, conscious that there would be negative reaction to their decision. The e-mails to the Taoiseach’s private secretary and John Callinan are too full of sound bites that could easily be lifted by the media. Yes, the Government probably should have acted with greater urgency, but when you read the table of actions proposed by the Government (Appendix 1) and the letter from Peter Finnegan of Dublin City Council to other stakeholders (Appendix 4), you see a credible plan and a sincere desire to assist Web Summit. And one of the four issues that Paddy keeps banging on about – WiFi – is clearly a matter between Web Summit and the RDS. How on earth did he think the Government should resolve a private contractual matter of that nature? Very good PR, though, I hand it to them!

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:38 PM

Good PR? He’s getting hammered on the radio, boards, broadsheet and twitter.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:22 PM

they’re not trying to impress the Irish IT crowd though, they think they’re bigger than any company in Ireland, and only want to impress the big guys in California who they think they are peers with. they’re in for a culture shock if they get all of that “mobile world congress” style services in Lisbon, and the big guys stop coming… the attraction of the founders event was the privacy of Dublin, not the thousands of startups or the WiFi for journalists in a hall.

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:53 PM

no such thing as bad publicity….

Mute Jake Behan
    Favourite Jake Behan
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:52 PM

No excuse for this, absolutely outrageous we lost the web summit.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:08 PM

Enda at the time acted as if it was a surprise.

Destroying our country by the day. Wasteful budget, now this

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:14 PM

It’s a shady scam and damaging to our reputation. Delighted to see it go.

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:34 PM

Of course they would have gone to Lisbon anyway, you don’t arrange a move like that in a month that passed between the first letter and the announcement to move. Thery were negotiating with other cities for years and kite flying for months, and now use the correspondence to shift the blame.

That’s not to say that the government did their bit, they didn’t. But the move was on regardless so it’s just spin. Perhaps as a result there will be better arrangements for other, smaller events. As for the Web Summit anyone could see that the event outgrew the RDS in previous years, I have no idea how they are going to squeeze even bigger crowds in this year, it’s going to end up in tears again. I suppose that you’re not turning people away if you’re charging several grand for a ticket and now they can try and promise that next year it will be different – until they overcrowd the venue again.

Mute Mark Monaghan
    Favourite Mark Monaghan
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:58 PM

Ye, well done James, a scam that generated huge interest at home and abroad, launched companies, drove millions into the economy and was attended by top businessmen and women including Elon Musk, a billionaire genius who is at the forefront of the tech business. Ye, he falls for scams all the time James. Why dont you take a few more steps to the ‘democratic’ left there James, preferably while standing at the end of a very short pier. Id much prefer to see you and your Democratic Left Alliance head off to Portugal than lose the Web Summit. They add to the economy. you lot do not.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:34 PM

gastrophase…of course he was working to find alternative venues just in case the Dublin one wasn’t going to improve, he be called a bad business person to place all his eggs in one basket and the thing was cancelled altogether or ended up again like last year. Sure he looked elsewhere but no contracts were signed and the Government reps stalled and flustered, if you read the emails, he really did want it to stay in Ireland. To show how it should be done you just have to look at the response from Lisbon….professional and it shows they see the value of it.
    https://files.websummit.net/correspondence.pdf

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:50 PM

Oh I agree that it was rational to look elsewhere, I just don’t believe that they would have stayed in Dublin even if they were handed the keys to the city. The venue they booked in Lisbon is ready for 80k audience, and this is how they need to grow to compete in the league they want to be at. There is no such venue in Dublin and the whole of Ireland, simple as that.

Out of last year’s experience they government could have helped with additional transport/traffic options, but they could not sort out the overcrowding, the wifi or the hotels – all private business arrangements between consenting parties. He could have blamed the Irish business culture but he won’t – this will not get him any sympathy, whereas blaming “the government” will.

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:02 PM

On reflection, the best way to express an Irish sentiment would be to leave a smaller quirkier spin-off of the original WebSummit here in a kind of “off-Broadway” way, which really would be back to their roots for them because this is how it worked at the beginning before they scaled it up so much. Audience 10k max. This would be easily handled while the main event would be off to Lisbon to conquer the world. So perhaps we lost that.
    But for their core business they were always aiming much higher so I call BS on them claiming to be forced out.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:15 PM

That would make sense gastrophase.

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:37 PM

Agreed, the services at their “new venue” aren’t a patch on ours!

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:52 PM

Why can’t we have a conference on the same day?

Let’s compete – I’ve never paid for tickets to Mediacast or any other seminar / conference!

We’ll get Virgin Media to Sponsor the Broadband, Intel to run the tech part, Microsoft, Apple etc etc..

We’ll give the tickets away free and bring in experienced investors!

Mute ReChew A.
    Favourite ReChew A.
    Oct 16th 2015, 7:11 PM

Paddy likes to know so now Paddy knows .GOOD LUCK PADDY .

Mute Graham O Fiach
    Favourite Graham O Fiach
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:23 PM

Just some selective snippets for Paddy’s PR. Let’s face facts, the reason he is going is because he got a good (probably cash) offer from a different city.
    Fair enough the man is out to make money, but don’t pretend like it’s other people’s fault your moving.

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:25 PM

He got 1 million from Lisbon.

Mute Joe P
    Favourite Joe P
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:32 PM

He is going to live in Portugal and pay very low tax.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:23 PM

Here Graham, he released all the correspondence not just select snippets….. https://files.websummit.net/correspondence.pdf

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:32 PM

Notice how he claims its not about money but at several points makes the point they want money either directly from the government or indirectly by asking for certain fees to be waived

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:38 PM

Notice how Lisbon see the value of having the leaders of the industry visit their country instead of sending the clueless pothole fillers on juckets.

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:37 PM

Facebook, Google, eBay, Dropbox, Linekdin, Paypal, Twitter, Apple to name a few all have their European headquarters here……… yes the industry leaders are nowhere to be seen…….

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:38 PM

Surely there’s room for more?

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:57 PM

This is garbage, just PR sping to make sure paddy keeps his good image. The summit was gonna leave dublin eventually maybe it happened a year or two earlybut it was simply up to when it became worth it for Paddy to do so ie when someone offered him enough.
    Also it was becoming a bloated mess compared to its original few years and just becoming s scramble for attention with very little business actually being done compared to the earlier years.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:17 PM

I believe the ‘garbage’ was in the replies he received from the Government.

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:24 PM

Don’t think those sunglasses are strong enough duffman, the spin still seems to be blinding you

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:33 PM

you make sense, Ian. The RDS can host other events apart from sports throughout the year and instigate traffic management plans with the city transport, AA, and other parties. this Cosgrave guy seems to want direct access to the top of government as he let the taoiseach use his event for publicity a few times. it seems like the event grew too big, and he wasn’t able to either organise, or share management with outside bodies, so he is blaming everyone else. if WiFi and transport were so bad, why not look at alternative options to the RDS like the convention centre, the point or other smaller places. if you want a place were internet founders can meet, you don’t have to keep growing for the same of it – now it just looks like a place were internet startups are gouged for a 1sq.m stand to presumably get the attention of a silicon valley capitalist.

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:38 PM

Precisely. Does anyone believe that rugby events or huge gigs sort this out by emailing the taoiseach’s assistant three months before the event takes place?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:05 PM

Actually gastrophase….the issues of transport, hotels and traffic were highlighted in 2013 with the Government but nothing was done.
    Also…
    “He also said that the Web Summit would be happy to give the IDA and Enterprise Ireland stands to the value of €1 million in 2016, expand its school and student summits to cater for 11,000 free places and give free tickets to 300 or more Irish start-ups.”

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/1015/735042-web-summit/

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:33 PM

Yes but why the government? Do One Direction gig promoters liaise with the government? And what would they like the government to do about the hotels exactly, legislate for a price cap – just for them or for all events?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:40 PM

Well…tell me why the Portuguese Government want to help with such issues and think it’s important enough to engage?

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:59 PM

It must be worth it for them and their taxpayer is happy to fund everything WebSummit is asking for in the appendixes, which is quite a read when you get there. I’m not sure if Irish taxpayers would be happy to allocate so much funding to a premium commercial event. I admit I have no knowledge of the Portuguese financial systems!
    It seems that the Irish government was indeed engaging in a number of areas but it was not enough.

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:13 PM

Paddy Cosgrave is a fraud and a bully.

Mute Jessica Doran
    Favourite Jessica Doran
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:52 PM

Foolish on the governments behalf

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:09 PM

Outdated, incompetent, obsolete, naive and completely unaware of it. An example of Dunning-kruger in action, led from the top.

Mute Muiris O'Daltuin
    Favourite Muiris O'Daltuin

This is actually good forward planning from the government. Now there will be more hotel rooms available for the families set to lose their homes in 2016 through eviction & extortionate rent rates.

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:54 PM

Fine Gael – The party that couldn’t throw a piss up in a brewery.

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz

Complete and utter incompetence by our government. What a surprise….

Mute Liam Brophy
    Favourite Liam Brophy
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:53 PM

Another story to highlight how shambolic this government has been. Amature hour, let’s see how Enda tries to spin this.

Mute Liam Brophy
    Favourite Liam Brophy

*Amateur, damn the no edit functionality

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:11 PM

I’m in 2 minds about this. Obviously the government did not act in an appropriate manner, but you can’t magic extra public transport out of thin air and having been to Lisbon, I doubt they’ll be able to do it either. From the RDS, you choices are the bus or the DART and to be honest, I can’t imagine anyone who can afford the huge price of the ticket waiting around for the 46a.

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:14 PM

Transport is perfectly adequate in that area for rugby games that 20-50K people all leaving at the same time.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:31 PM

It’s not a rugby game.
    It’s a business thing.

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston

Which has less transport issues as all 22K are not leaving in a 10 minute window.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:43 PM

James…….rugby supports are heading to the nearest pubs not the buses.

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:34 PM

Transport in Lisbon is worse!!!! What is Paddy gabbing about!

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:00 PM

They’re heading for the nearest pub as the web summit is just a piss up. That’s why he was pulling in the crowds to Dublin. Yanks liked the idea of a pub crawl and charging it to the business account. It’s a business model with a limited shelf life as people do the Dublin thing and then see through the con.

Mute ReChew A.
    Favourite ReChew A.
    Oct 16th 2015, 7:16 PM

I agree ,this circus has a limited shelf life and Paddy wants to milk it to the fullest extent .

A Bit Irish Paddy !!!!.

Mute Damien Kennedy
    Favourite Damien Kennedy

Typical Irish government. Get the heads in for photos and a Facebook opportunity but when people do need help or guidance they are one of the first to say it’s not an issue they are able to help with…

Mute Kevin Geraghty
    Favourite Kevin Geraghty
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:57 AM

The Web Summit: The ploughing championships for hipsters!

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:02 PM

This, and similar fiascos are the reason that Fine Gael have NEVER,EVER been re-elected by us.

Sooner or later their ineptitude shows through – - they can’t help it.

Mute Patrick Brennan
    Favourite Patrick Brennan
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:59 PM

Anyone ever do the maths on this gig? This guy Cosgrave seems like a charlatan. He has made a fortune out of cajoling people into giving FREE presenting slots while he charges a fortune for tickets.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:15 PM

Enda the eejit, made a crass statement in America a couple of years back stating, if anyone here wants to do business in Ireland you can call me personally. What a pile of bo!!0x. He doesn’t give 2 fux.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:21 PM

It’s nothing new. He only cares for large American multinationals setting up shop here (with some lovely tax breaks!), with absolutely no interest in Irish startups it seems.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:00 PM

Ok.
    So there’s space in the calendar for a web conference in Dublin next year.
    Somebody should do something about that…

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:28 PM

quick. Hurry.
    Reduce VAT in hotels to 5%

Mute Eric Keane
    Favourite Eric Keane
    Oct 16th 2015, 2:13 AM

This is just bizarre. Publishing emails is just a really childish move. What were they thinking it would achieve?

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Oct 16th 2015, 3:34 AM

It’s exposing this government for what it is. They have all the time in the world to turn up for job announcements and photo shoots but have no ability to actually get things done. They are far more interested in selling spin to the public who seem to lap it up. In this case their bluff has been called and Ireland has lost a very important event, regardless of what you may think about it.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:25 PM

WebSummit fecked off to make even more money after having gotten nearly a million of taxpayer cash already in Ireland.

Ultimately it is a love-in for the lucky monkeys whose startups have turned into goliaths. The other 9,999 monkeys will have their day, someday.

Ireland doesn’t need it.

Mute Con OL
    Favourite Con OL
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:04 PM
    Mute Con OL
    Favourite Con OL
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:10 PM

business has a short memory

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:07 PM

People should be fired for this……

Disgrace, especially with other counties throwing arm and leg to get it

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:05 PM

The Dáil is a clown car.

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:15 PM

What’s the Web summit?

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:25 AM

I think it a Halloween night out in howth.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:12 PM

Lisbon?
    He thought you were moving to Lisburn.

Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:36 PM

Our Knowledge Economy is just tax breaks for the corporations, photo ops for the politicians and according to this, not much else.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:42 PM

Also it’s event organisers who propose the traffic plans and DCC approve them not the other way round.

Mute Middle Class Cork
    Favourite Middle Class Cork
    Oct 16th 2015, 5:22 AM

So the next time I’m on business in Dublin and a hotel asks me for a small mortgage as the cost for their room for the night, I can email the government and they’ll sort it for me?? That’s nice to know.

Mute SillyBilly
    Favourite SillyBilly
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:07 PM

I read the correspondence and, however you feel about Paddy Cosgrave, there is no other use to describe the government communications as disgraceful! No wonder they left, I urge everyone to read them and discover for yourself the frustration the Web Summit staff felt.

Oct 15th 2015, 5:48 PM

This gov is so useless and incompetent, they’ll probably feck up their own election campaign.

Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:00 PM

The people here who are defending the government’s position are either gov stooges or part of that old begrudging class. Gobsh*tes

Mute Benny benson
    Favourite Benny benson
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:26 PM

It just goes to show that shower could nt organise a p*ss up in a brewery Disgracefull ,and the organisers weren’t even looking for funding,for gods sake. It’s a bit of an irish joke really, those responsible should hang their heads in shame, lessons need to be learnt to avoid a repeat

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston

They were looking for funding. Please don’t believe liar Cosgrave.
    “In his correspondence, Paddy frequently says that Web Summit “aren’t looking for a penny”. In Appendix 2 of the docs (Bid Document), the first section is all about Host Contributions (while not a direct payment to Web Summit, these are still a cost to the host city/local authority), but interestingly point 5 is “Financial Contribution” – “a contribution of €100 per foreign attendee from the city”. That sure looks to me like looking for money. He might want to have read that document before assuring everyone that he wasn’t looking for any money.

In the “Asks” document (Appendix 3), Web Summit are then looking for various fees from their Asks (requests/demands) to be waived. Again, that strictly speaking isn’t asking for money, but it’s the same outcome.

Some of the Asks they wanted are very demanding; complimentary use of City Hall & Wood Quay, Garda escorts for VIP guests, closure and removal of parking from Dame Court, Fade Street & South William Street & associated fees to be waived (retailers and rates payers on these streets can’t even get that having been campaigning for years, but Web Summit thinks that they can demand that? The arrogance…)

Web Summit has just gotten too big for Dublin. Rather than simply announce that they have outgrown Dublin and move on elsewhere to chase greater profits (and so lose goodwill), this is great spin to lay the fault at everyone else (not that Nick Reddy was blameless, he should have responded to emails sooner with proper replies; however, why is the Department of the Taoiseach even being involved?), and say that they have no choice but to leave Dublin.

But anyway, point is that it’s all lies about “Not looking for a penny”.”

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:46 PM

James the man is in business he is entitled to make a right few quid with such a successful event. Yourself and Ian sound like disgruntled ex employees? What’s with all the poison and the green eyed monster carry on?

Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:27 PM

I read all the emails today and heard Cosgrave on Matt Cooper this evening. I’m not a fan of him personally as I think he’s a smug little perrick. Regardless of that it’s worrying that the minions in Govt deem themselves too important to meet someone who brings so many influencers to the country.

Mute Brian Sheils
    Favourite Brian Sheils
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:06 AM

Agreed, publishing private government correspondence regardless of content or lack of content is the actions of a weasel though.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:01 PM

“Moreover, no Minister has ever attended a meeting yet they all show up for photos at Web Summit.”

Irish politics in a nutshell. The illusion of professionalism is all that matters.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:37 PM

Without taking sides as both could of did more it seem’s to me the Web Summit followed the money as I expect if the Goverment gave them the alleged four things on or before the deadline I bet it still would be in Lisbon.

They are to clever to disclose how much cash Lisbon are giving them as you don’t commit to a 3 year deal as you cannot predict any possible problems.

I think Hotels in Lisbon will be just as expensive also as they admit themselves that more people are attending every year and while Lisbon may have more hotels as soon as it reaches critical level like Dublin prices will sour.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:21 PM

Of course he doesn’t want a “Penny”. We haven’t had them for about 15 or 16 years when we joined the Euro.

Mute Castalla Villas
    Favourite Castalla Villas
    Oct 16th 2015, 8:31 AM

Paddy sounds like a 2 year old throwing a tantrum when he doesn’t get what he wants like more money or sweeteners

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Oct 16th 2015, 7:02 AM

Lets look at the pattern from the I.T article a couple of weeks ago. Paddy Cosgrave is extending his web summit activities. He has started COLLISION in New Orleans. SURGE in India and RISE in Hong Kong. Bar Hong Kong does anyone see the pattern? Low cost hi tech locations in Asia and the Americas. The plan appears to be obvious and so is the move to Lisbon. This guy is expanding his practice and is keeping his eye on the money .. That said the “i’ll get back to you” email transaction in the Taoiseachs office is not beyond reproach. .

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:18 PM

The Dublin city manager was probably out looking for streets to close down for bicycle lanes. Or no sign of an off white coloured envelope.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Oct 16th 2015, 3:39 AM

Surprised by all the comments against the event and organiser. The same people seem to have no issue with us rolling out the red carpet for snakes like Donald Trump or the shady practices of the large pharma/IT companies that our government and people seem to think are so important to us. Seems to be a classic case of disliking something because it’s Irish. A horrible national trait.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Oct 16th 2015, 8:06 AM

love the complaints about hotel prices. I was in Dublin The weekend after the Web summit. hotel was 350 euro for Fri sat,sun was 35. why ire sa rugby match . kylie was playing at the 3. and a lot of people had stayed after Web summit. its not gouging it’s supply and demand still less than the rack rate. you can’t get a room in Cardiff this weekend for example

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:02 PM

this government is an all round complete failure.

Mute Joan Moody
    Favourite Joan Moody
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:52 PM

Are you strictly committed to Europe after Lisbon’s three years? If not, look at San Antonio, Texas and the growing geekdom and rackspace sites developing there. If interested would be happy to help with contacts. Not everything has to be located at the Texas state capital in Austin. In addition a rapid growth in cybersecurity is taking place in San Antonio.

Mute lilolil
    Favourite lilolil
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:09 PM

watched UTV a little while ago and DCC boss says knew nothing about this going on…funny that since I heard about these problems last year!!

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:47 PM

Rip off Ireland is back with a vengeance. it won’t be long before tourism starts to drop again.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:52 PM

When you have 22,000+ people trying to stay in a city with not much more in the line of room’s what can you expect.

People go on holidays in June/July is much more than November in Europe.

Quiet simply supply and demand.

Book flights last minute pay a big price, book early don’t.

Mute Simon Conneely
    Favourite Simon Conneely
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:19 AM

havent we been on this road before with the garth brooks saga?? talk about de ja vu!

Mute The Dublin Cynic
    Favourite The Dublin Cynic
    Oct 16th 2015, 9:03 AM

Gombeen Ireland, nothing new. I wonder if Paddy was a donator to the political parties would it have helped

Mute Shane O.
    Favourite Shane O.
    Oct 16th 2015, 11:46 PM

It’s really strange that the emails show that the government weren’t bothering to address the 4 issues, or respond properly, and yet the vast majority of comments here are defending the government.

Mute Martin Conway
    Favourite Martin Conway
    Oct 16th 2015, 8:00 AM

Frustrating how we vote. Need more business acumen in government!

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 16th 2015, 11:50 AM

Paddy Cosgrave

Date: 3 September 2015 at 14:48
    Subject: Re: Web Summit Urgent
    To: “Nick.Reddy@taoiseach.gov.ie”
    Any sense of timing? This is the 3rd holding email? It’s been a full two weeks and still nothing. What does coming back actually mean? We need even a basic plan. We’re not looking for a penny.
    I’m sorry to appear pushy, but I’ve tried every other option over 3 years. Quietly working every
    avenue behind the scenes, never once publicly highlighting the situation, bar a single outburst
    on stage about wifi, which in a sense is unrelated to Government.
    I realise everyone across Government is very busy but we seem to be able to maintain daily
    calls with other governments at a ministerial level across Europe, both from large and small
    nations.

We’ve never succeeded in getting a single meeting with Dublin’s City Manager, nor been invited
    to one, yet we’re invited constantly to sit down with Prime Ministers across Europe. Over five
    years, we’ve been invited to more meetings in Number 10 Downing Street than to meetings in
    Leinster House.

I’m about to board another flight to Lisbon to meet once again with a number of ministers, and the PM’s right hand. I will then spend Friday and Saturday in the Netherlands finalising their plan for 2016, having previously met with the Prime Minster, Minster for Finance, Minster for Economic affairs, mayor of Amsterdam and all other relevant stakeholders.
    I cannot stress enough that we don’t want a penny to stay, just a plan. Far smaller cities than Dublin host far larger conferences than Web Summit. But it requires a coordinated plan for Dublin City that only Government can put in place. We know it’s possible. Even an indicative plan and we would stay. But after 3 years of asking and asking we still don’t have even one single page outlining even a basic committed plan for the city. What little is being done for this year is unfortunately disorganised, uncoordinated and in many instances not
    guided by evidence. Moreover, no Minister has ever attended a meeting yet they all show up for photos at Web
    Summit. Meetings for 2015 have been left to committed civil servants, who realistically without real political will are powerless to initiate significant change.

Last year, for example, the person appointed to coordinate the city, with whom I met numerous times, publicly denied he was coordinating anything a few days before Web Summit. It’s was a pretty unbelievable situation, but it clearly underlined that there was no real coordination, arguably because there was no real political buy in.
    At present for whatever reason there is clearly no appetite for real political engagement, no appetite to use Web Summit as a platform for Irish companies, as every other nation we work with sees it. As an example of the lack of real political engagement and coordination, last year due to a complete lack of any plan for public transport and traffic calming measures, congestion was so significant that Gardai had to be pulled in last minute from across Dublin to try and resolve the situation. Which they did a great job doing and should be commended for. We were left with the bill, which to be honest I was happy to pay as it was not their fault in the slightest and they did a great job ameliorating the situation in some way. But they could have been doing more
    important work in Dublin if there had just been even a basic traffic management plan similar football matches.
    Are you aware of Prince Charles’ involvement, or No. 10 Downing Street, or the Chairman of the Conservative Party? I’ve detailed it privately over and over again, but it seems not to resonate.If it isn’t clear already , I’m now piling on the pressure because I can’t understand why even a single page plan for 2016 isn’t possible.
    Without a plan for 2016, we will be forced to leave. Web Summit is larger than the RDS. It takes over the entire city. While we can control, to a point, what happens inside the RDS -bar the wifi it seems yet again this year
    What happens outside is down to the city and national Government. Finally, you’re on a trade mission to France. So here’s another way of thinking about Web Summit. Almost every other Government in Europe sends trade missions to Dublin for Web Summit. Why? Because significant business is being done. Somehow, and don’t ask me how, the British government are more active at Web Summit than the Irish.
    Last year a British cabin et minster, who was also chairman of the Conservative party, found two days in his busy schedule to quietly hold innumerable bilateral meetings in Dublin. In that time not a single Irish minister to our knowledge held a single bilateral meeting with a high level attendee. If that sounds a little unbelievable, it’s because it is a little unbelievable. We don’t even invite a British Minster to Web Summit. He just showed up. His team had figured out who they wanted to meet.

To make matters even more unbelievable, we organised the largest showcase of Irish food in the history of the state last year in partnership with Good Food Ireland and Darina Allen. We attracted a long list of leading companies and investors in this space from around the world. Did the Department of Agriculture engage a single person that flew to Dublin? No. Instead of the Irish Minster for Agriculture holding meetings it was left to Prince Charles to extend invitations to key delegates to fly from Dublin to Bristol to meet with him on his
    country estate, Highgrove, to discuss the future of British food and agriculture over an afternoon. Some of that group also visited No. 10. The group then flew back to Cork to be hosted by Darina Allen in Ballymaloe.
    In fact throughout the week of Web Summit, while no Irish minister held a single bilateral in Leinster House, the doors of No. 10 Downing Street were wide open to business. Delegations of key investors and business people flew from Dublin to London and back again.

In Dublin, while press secretaries constantly reached out to our team requesting photo and speaking opportunities for Ministers, the British government had a cabinet minister quietly getting on with business in Dublin. No photos required. He wasn’t looking for votes, he was drumming up business for British companies and the British economy at large. It all sounds a bit surreal. But it all happened, and will happen again this year and to a greater extent next year without a plan. I’ve never once knocked the Government, never once spoken out, never once committed a single word to paper. Not once. But you’re operating in a parallel universe where a jobs announcement or a photo opportunity at Web Summit is the biggest opportunity you see.
    Meanwhile other governments are cleaning up under your nose. How can you be outplayed by the British government in your own back yard? Or by the Dutch, the French, the Danes. It’s surreal. We need a plan for Dublin City. We don’t want a penny. We’ll give IDA and EI their stands for free up to €1,000,000, expand our school and student summits to give free access to 20,000 young people to Web Summit each evening, and give 300/400/500 free tickets to startups across Ireland. Did we do something wrong bringing all these people to Ireland? Is there a problem bringing more than 1,000 media from the worlds leading outlets to Dublin? Is there a problem organising the largest gathering of investors anywhere in the world in Dublin? Or the largest gathering of startups? Is there a problem bringing c – level execs from leading Fortune 500 companies to
    Dublin?

Why go on a trade mission to France at huge expense, when you’re not prepared to go on a trade mission down the street at no expense? Clearly, I’m despondent that we are literally being forced out of Ireland just for the lack of some very basic things like a plan for traffic management and public transport similar to sporting
    events.

Rattle out of the pram – OR words of annoyance and disbelief

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:05 PM

Summary:
    I don’t want a penny
    But I want a long list of expensive VIP things and services for free
    I want someone to do my traffic plans for me that every other event sorts out themselves
    And I want the government to sort out my wifi, even though it “in a sense is unrelated to Government”
    And I want businesses to freeze their prices while I keep raising my prices
    Also, Prince Charles
    AND IT’S ALL YOUR FAULT