You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The scene at Strathroy. CBC

Canadian police kill 'terror suspect' who was allegedly planning suicide attack

The man, in his mid-20s, was under a court order not to associate with Islamic State.

A SUSPECT BANNED from associating with the Islamic State group is dead after Canada’s national police force thwarted what an official said was a suicide bomb plot.

A senior police official said late yesterday that the suspect allegedly planned to use a bomb to carry out a suicide bombing mission in a public area but was killed in a police operation.

The official, who spoke on condition of anonymity because he was not authorised to speak about details ahead of a news conference today, identified the suspect as Aaron Driver.

Driver, originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba, and in his mid-20s, was under a court order from earlier this year to not associate with any terrorist organisation, including the Islamic State group.

In February, Driver’s lawyer and the prosecutor agreed to a peace bond stating there are “reasonable grounds to fear that he may participate, contribute directly or indirectly in the activity of a terrorist group”.

Winnipeg-based lawyer Leonard Tailleur, who handled Driver’s peace bond, said he was “shocked” to hear what had happened.

“Saddened to hear that it had to end this way for him,” Tailleur said in an email to The Canadian Press.

Operation 

A police operation continued well into last night in the southern Ontario town of Strathroy, about 225 km southwest of Toronto.

In Strathroy, resident Irene Lee said late yesterday that police had been camped out near her parents’ convenience store since about 4.15pm.

At about that time, she said she was at her home close by when she heard a loud noise. She said shortly afterward, a police officer came by to tell residents to stay inside their homes.

Lee said there were up to 25 marked and unmarked cruisers outside a home on a street right behind her parents’ store.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police earlier said it halted a possible attack after receiving credible information of a potential terrorist threat.

They said a suspect was identified and the “proper course of action has been taken” to ensure there was no danger to public safety.

Canadian Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale said he had spoken to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau about the events “to confirm that public safety has been and continues to be properly protected.”

“The RCMP, the Canadian Security Intelligence Service and other police and security agencies were involved in the operations, he added.

“These agencies conducted themselves effectively in the circumstances that developed today,” Goodale said in statement.

Taking all relevant information into account, the national terrorism threat level for Canada remains at “medium” where it has stood since late 2014, Goodale said.

Read: Man attempts to scale New York’s Trump Tower with suction cups >

Read: Germany to propose burka ban as part of anti-terrorism measures >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Aug 11th 2016, 7:33 AM

I’m shocked that the court order didn’t deter this man.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 11th 2016, 7:43 AM

it may have worked very successfully, no evidence there he associated with those lads any further. it only takes one to tango, in certain instances.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 11th 2016, 8:42 AM

It obviously didn’t work successfully. The aim of the court order was to deter the man from extremism. He quite clearly wasn’t deterred.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Aug 11th 2016, 10:20 AM

The Court order was to prevent contact with Islamic extremists.,

Mute Seaghán Corcoran
    Favourite Seaghán Corcoran
    Aug 11th 2016, 11:16 AM

It’s like getting a note home from teacher in school. “LAUGHED AT!!!!”

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 11th 2016, 12:40 PM

probably should have read the aul story there Jayo

Mute Enda Reynolds
    Favourite Enda Reynolds
    Aug 11th 2016, 7:33 AM

The Mounties always get their man

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 11th 2016, 7:40 AM

yer man from True North would have taken him alive

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Aug 11th 2016, 8:41 AM

That’s right Fester. to kill again. I’m very glad it ended this way. One less murdering jihadist makes Canada a better place. I can see you’re gutted that your fellow traveller got it in the neck. Got a tell you, one small victory for the forces against murdering jihadists s€um makes me very glad indeed…..don’t let it out you off your breakfast though.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Aug 11th 2016, 9:09 AM

Margie just so we are all aware, as a member of a modern society you’re not meant to revel in the death of another human being or favour it over taking him alive.

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Aug 11th 2016, 9:16 AM

@james. Let me put it another way. I take much delight in all the lives saved by the expedient measure taken by the Canadian mounted police. The CMP take “public safety” a little more seriously than do the Europeans.

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Favourite Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Aug 11th 2016, 11:43 AM

@Margie Murph………..I fully agree Margie. They are at war with us so the rules of war apply.It’s also a relief to myself who live here half the year in that there’s one less to worry about.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Aug 11th 2016, 12:36 PM

@charlottemargie and patrick o’rubbish
    Listen to yourselves: all happy to see reports of death.

As far as I can see in this article, a young man was killed based on suspicions…

I add: what could bring a young man to be interested in a terrorist group?

I add that the article does not provide many details on anything: what’s a direct or “indirect” contribution? what “grounds” are they talking about?

Mute Hoofedup Bravo
    Favourite Hoofedup Bravo
    Aug 11th 2016, 1:06 PM

Get of with yourself. This satan worshipper would have killed and maimed many others, children too. Treat these people like the savage animals they are, with brutality. I live above Toronto, use public transit to get around downtown TO. I like to know it is being protected… Well done Mounties!

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Aug 11th 2016, 1:10 PM

Copying the ugly makes you ugly. In other words, you become “satan worshipper”…

Mute Hoofedup Bravo
    Favourite Hoofedup Bravo
    Aug 11th 2016, 1:11 PM

Sorry, I guess they should have handcuffed him, so he can use the system to get to do it again someday…..he lives by the sword…….

Mute Seamus Hanratty
    Favourite Seamus Hanratty
    Aug 11th 2016, 8:43 AM

So they genuinely thought a court order telling an ISIS supporter not to associate with ISIS would be effective?? Seriously, how dumb are the people in authority.

This is like telling a stalking lion not to eat the injured antelope who is hobbling along out in Africa.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Aug 11th 2016, 9:08 AM

I can well believe this poor chap was bullied at school as well as the usual emotional problems associated with being a member of the religion of peace

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Aug 11th 2016, 9:49 AM

Damm Canadians invading the middle east and causing radical Muslims to rise up against them…..oh wait…

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Aug 11th 2016, 10:13 AM

What the Canadians have done is allowed hordes of Muslims into Canada under the usual heading of ‘cultural enrichment ‘ well we reap what we sow and Canada can expect a torrid time ahead , at least we haven’t made the same mistake in Ireland or have we ?

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Aug 11th 2016, 10:57 AM

My pint is people seem to think it’s as simple as its all the USA fault. These people just want to kill everyone who does not subscribe to their views

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Aug 11th 2016, 11:08 AM

They are simply cancerous filth and need to be exterminated. There is no reasoning with this vermin, they have no actual point to make, other than obliterate everyone.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Aug 11th 2016, 12:39 PM

@John
    Well Canada joined both Gulf wars, intervened in Lybia, etc.

Still, to me, that does not explain how a young man can find something interesting in terrorist groups.

Mute Hoofedup Bravo
    Favourite Hoofedup Bravo
    Aug 11th 2016, 1:10 PM

Prosse, your always really into defending these people…… This guy already had a proven history with this, yet, there you are, defend defend defend….

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Aug 11th 2016, 8:09 PM

I don’t defend. I attack some ideas.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Aug 11th 2016, 9:01 AM

There seems to be a trend of one of these nutters on every street corner in the civilised world , we’re along way from the 70s when there was boot boys on the corner with their ma’s shouting down the street ” come in for your tea or I’ll box the ears off you”

Mute Aidan Duggan
    Favourite Aidan Duggan
    Aug 11th 2016, 8:03 AM

The Mounties always get their man.

Mute Anne Marie Dowdall
    Favourite Anne Marie Dowdall
    Aug 11th 2016, 11:25 AM

These people who like to take full advantage of all the refuge & compassion shown to them, all seem to have the same poignant, cultural way of expressing their gratitude to the host country. As in, Paris, Nice, Belgium, Rouen, Germany etc etc. Then, Australia gets slated by their apologists for not wanting more of them & Ireland is supposed to lay out the red carpet for some little jailed Egyptian skanger!!! Oh the irony!!! Strangely, the old “lone-wolf / mentally ill” blah -de-blah will now do nothing to appease a Western mindset that so views everything & all associated with this cult as totally toxic. But sure, that must be our fault too, because it’s never their fault.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Aug 11th 2016, 12:32 PM

Its time to close the door on Islamic immigration if we don’t do it soon there will be hell to pay in a generation think Rotherham , Molenbeek , Malmo , virtually every French city has no go areas we need to wake up and fast

Mute John Hunt
    Favourite John Hunt
    Aug 11th 2016, 9:30 AM

darcy has sympathy for these murderers

Mute David Mac Shite
    Favourite David Mac Shite
    Aug 11th 2016, 9:03 AM

Very scant detail in the article all the same.
    Its quite long with lots of words but says very little. Considering it supposedly came from an anonymous unauthorized police source I would have expected more detail and less of a PR type media statement.

Mute Seaghán Corcoran
    Favourite Seaghán Corcoran
    Aug 11th 2016, 9:21 AM

At least we know Strathroy is about 225km southwest of Toronto.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Aug 11th 2016, 11:57 AM

Best terrorist is a dead one

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Aug 11th 2016, 10:45 AM

Young, impressionable, alienated and disillusioned men, soured by hate, can fall under the spell of the sick and evil ideology of Jihadism and ISIS. In a sense, these individuals are also victims of Isis.

Regardless of original cause, it may be sadly and regrettably necessary to kill such individuals in the course of prevention in the interests of public protection. It is not a cause for bloodthirsty celebration. It is a consequence of the suicudal nihilism of these individuals. It is important that we don’t lose our sense of compassion, empathy, respect fir human life and the value of the rule of law. We should not allow terrorists to deprive us of or weaken these qualities. These qualities are our strength, including liberal outlook, non-authoritarianism, rationality, proportionality and moderation.

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Favourite Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Aug 11th 2016, 11:54 AM

@Micheal OLainn……In other words ‘act like gentlemen while fighting savages’; this is the thrust of all your posts in regards to ISIS and and Islamic terrorism. One wonders if Micheal OLainn is perhaps on their side!

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Aug 11th 2016, 12:27 PM

@patrick o’rubbish We don’t need a thought police. The situation is tense enough.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Aug 11th 2016, 2:40 PM

Chill chill Liam getting very worked up today

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Aug 11th 2016, 6:03 PM

Correct Patrick….These headhackers use our democratic/legal systems against us. When we then bring in “new” laws to combat them, they and the libby left cry foul. Point to illustrate that was when the British forces started their shoot to kill policy in NI,there was a terrible howl heard from the PIRA and other Nationalist factions. So it was ok for them to (PIRA) to carry out their own shoot/bomb to kill policy but not their enemy the Crown Forces! I would ask the question as to how many prisoners did the IRA take? Answer..None as they killed all their prisoners…eg the 2 soldiers caught up in a Nationalist funeral. The British took hundreds of prisoners and shoved them into places like Long Kesh!
    The same is now been carried out by Islamist and we definitely need a European wide shoot to kill policy of Islamist terrorists!

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Aug 11th 2016, 1:30 PM

Mike, we have an open border with the UK though. Their problems are our problems.