You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

One arrest as €215k worth of drugs seized in Kildare

Cocaine, cannabis, and drug paraphernalia was seized.

GARDAÍ ARRESTED ONE man following a seizure of cannabis with an estimated street value of €200,000.

A search of a premises was carried out in Kildare at around 5.30pm yesterday as part of an ongoing investigation into the sale and supply of drugs in the area.

Cocaine with an estimated street value of €15,000 was also found during the search, as well as a quantity of drug paraphernalia.

The man arrested is aged in his 20s and is currently being detained at Naas Garda Station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

68 Comments
    Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:27 PM

Was just reading that cannabis is going to be legalised for recreational use in New York. Meanwhile we continue to waste tax payers money enforcing an unjust and illogical law and creating perfect conditions for a thriving black market.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:44 PM

@Declan Doherty: Yeah. Twill be grand watching our young and not so young people out of their heads on dope with the blessing of our authorities!

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:56 PM

@John Mc Donagh: do you miss going to mass john?

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Ian Kerrigan.
    Favourite Ian Kerrigan.
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:57 PM

@John Mc Donagh: sure there would be madness with the reefer John.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 28th 2021, 4:01 PM

@Declan Doherty: whilst I do believe it would make use safer by legalising it, the devastation it is having currently while its not legalised is bad enough I can’t imagine it if it were. Personally experiencing its devastation currently first hand and long term consequences are not good if things go wrong in the country. With this pandemic ppl are using it to cope more than ever and it is addictive. I don’t know to do but very stressful times.

Mute Keith Mcs
    Favourite Keith Mcs
    Mar 28th 2021, 4:25 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: it’s not addictive. I would rather people smoke weed than get out of their heads and violent on booze. Alcohol is a far more destructive drug than cannabis.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Mar 28th 2021, 4:27 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: This is exactly why it should be legalised and regulated. What John above doesn’t seem to realise is that kids are consuming it anyway and they have easy access to it because of the law. Prohibition drives it underground into an unregulated market where kids have easy access and no-one knows the strength or quality of what they buy and consume.

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:13 PM

@Declan Doherty: yep. Everyone’s a druggie nowadays

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:50 PM

@Mattress Dick: Well yes. Most people consume drugs of one sort or another. Alcohol is the most popular drug of choice and cannabis is a close second. I don’t touch alcohol myself but I bet you do. Druggie indeed.

Mute Máirtín Ó Conghaile
    Favourite Máirtín Ó Conghaile
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:15 PM

@paddy: a rather inane comment

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:32 PM

@Keith Mcs: lets hope you don’t ever have to witness anyone who does get addicted to it ….everything is addictive!

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:34 PM

@Declan Doherty: there will always be illegal access to drugs anyway though, a lot more education alongside the legalisation should also be compulsory, pros, cons etc. Some more prone to long term issues than others.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:02 PM

@John Mc Donagh: another one muted. Good man John, how is that holy communion tasting?

Mute Jimmy Cahill
    Favourite Jimmy Cahill
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:02 PM

@John Mc Donagh: You know kids get high with or without the governments permission.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:03 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: Lydia, inform yourself. Cannabis isn’t and never will be addictive.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:43 PM

@JustBEERbarry: I have and it is!!!!

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:44 PM

@JustBEERbarry: I have and it is!!!! Another stoner no doubt trying to justify it

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 8:39 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: you have no idea. You also have no proof because there is NO PROOF MARIJUANA IS ADDICTIVE.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:04 PM

@JustBEERbarry: you stay in your parallel world there good boy

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:07 PM

@JustBEERbarry: hint is in the title … spin it how you want. Enough time wasted …. https://www.addictioncenter.com/drugs/marijuana/

Mute merely ed
    Favourite merely ed
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:08 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: reading you comments Lynda, you start off sounding like a concerned mother and end up sounding like a troll spreading misinformation. No, it is not addictive. Its nice and nobody ‘likes’ giving up but you have not known addiction if you think this is it. Educate yourself before preaching misinformation.

Mute Stephen Boland
    Favourite Stephen Boland
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:30 PM

@Keith Mcs: I’m a drinker and I also don’t smoke seed… but I completely agree… weed being illegal is absolute nonsense

Mute Asid
    Favourite Asid
    Mar 29th 2021, 12:48 AM

@Lydia McLoughlin: what absolute tripe, educate yourself before making wildly false statements.

Mute Asid
    Favourite Asid
    Mar 29th 2021, 12:50 AM

@Declan Doherty: cannabis is not a drug it’s a herb.. it’s grows pretty easily, no big mystery

Mute Daniel Andrews
    Favourite Daniel Andrews
    Mar 29th 2021, 7:15 AM

@John Mc Donagh: lol, you h
    havnt got a clue.

Mute Daniel Andrews
    Favourite Daniel Andrews
    Mar 29th 2021, 7:16 AM

@Lydia McLoughlin: you need to stop smoking that haze, that’s your problem.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Mar 29th 2021, 6:19 PM

@John Mc Donagh: “out of their heads on dope…” coming from the person who hasnt a morsel of common sense and never smoked a bit of weed in their lives. The cringe of your comment .

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:28 PM

Good work by the Gardai

Mute merely ed
    Favourite merely ed
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:54 PM

@John Mulligan: Trolling as usual John…

Mute merely ed
    Favourite merely ed
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:57 PM

@John Mulligan: Trolling as usual John?

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Mar 29th 2021, 12:02 PM

@John Mulligan: Left work in D8 last Friday (on a main road) to see a middle aged man, squatting on the pavement defecting and urinating at the same time, quite the spectacle in a first world country, Lol! But yea, well done gardai,

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:31 PM

215k street value…… I don’t know what street the guards are buying their drugs on but it’s certainly not the same me!

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:12 PM

@T Dawg: I think the drugs are affecting your grammar.

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:11 PM

@Mattress Dick: they say it happens in the autumn years.

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Mar 29th 2021, 11:02 AM

@T Dawg: Gardai get their drugs for free at the station.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:09 PM

Cocaine and cannabis found together = prohibition at its finest. Well done.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:00 PM

@JustBEERbarry: illegal drugs found together shock horror. Well done gardai more criminals caught.

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:11 PM

@JustBEERbarry: some of their customers would take both drugs?

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:54 PM

@JustBEERbarry: sorry lads, your comments dont show up, the joys of the mute button. Have a great evening.

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:11 PM

@JustBEERbarry: maybe you’re stoned? You replied to comments you can’t see. Good trip?

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:21 PM

@JustBEERbarry: sorry mattressdick, I can’t hear you. Have a pleasant and blessed evening and enjoy spouting all your prohibitionist comments defending drug gangs, death and violence that you support so much.

Mute merely ed
    Favourite merely ed
    Mar 28th 2021, 11:03 PM

@john s: there you are John. Trolling with your mammy level of worry and misinformed nonsense. Unless you actually educate yourself on the facts around this plant you will always be the ‘town drunk’ of the journals weed articles.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Mar 28th 2021, 4:07 PM

Beautiful plant in the picture.

Mute Brian Tierney
    Favourite Brian Tierney
    Mar 28th 2021, 4:20 PM

200k at a VAT rate of 21% is another 42k that could have gone toward national debt. Logically a lot more due to Excise duty.
    Legalise, Regulate and Educate the youth as to the positives and negs. of not just weed but also alcohol.
    If people want to smoke they will, offer safe options making sure it isn’t laced in chemicals or even other drugs(rare but it happens).
    Many different strains, different potencies w/ different balances of THC:CBD which all give you a different high. Allow people to choose what is right for their lifestyle instead of just taking what the dealer has.
    I have smoked some that has put my a** on the couch for hours, I don’t enjoy that at all, much prefer a mellow high offered from Sativa strains. If Indica must remain illegal fair enough, that stuff can make you dopey

Mute Brian Tierney
    Favourite Brian Tierney
    Mar 28th 2021, 4:23 PM

@Brian Tierney: *preferred (past tense)

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:02 PM

@Brian Tierney: let’s legalise heroine crack ketemine also sure if its legal it won’t cause any harm. That’s a great approach.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Ian Kerrigan.
    Favourite Ian Kerrigan.
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:12 PM

@john s: there is no prohibition on commas.

Mute Cormac Moore
    Favourite Cormac Moore
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:09 PM

@john s: seems to be people’s attitude toward alcohol. Prohibition of any substance does not work, the last 100 years have proved that. Education & regulation should be the way forward for all substances but unfortunately won’t happen in our lifetime due to the majority of the populace being brainwashed by the “War On Drugs”.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:57 PM

@Brian Tierney: ah hang on a second, how can you make sativa legal and not indicia? The plant is either illegal or its not. Just because you don’t enjoy indica doesn’t mean the rest of us don’t. What you meant to say is how about varying certified strengths of indica sold by a professional so you can choose the level of high you want?

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:06 PM

@Cormac Moore: majority brainwashed ? While the drug users brains are crystal clear, you should take to the stage you are really funny.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:08 PM

@JustBEERbarry: atleast you are consistent. Now you are fighting with someone who want it legalised also with controls. But again they have a different view to you so they are wrong. Thankfully in a democracy majority rule. Lets have a referendum on legalisation watch it lose

Mute Cormac Moore
    Favourite Cormac Moore
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:20 PM

@john s: absolutely brain washed. If you think Prohibition is the best approach you are incorrect. Honestly, it does more harm than good. Even your opinion of “drug users” is completely tainted by the results of Prohibition. But as I say, it won’t happen in our lifetime as you are not alone in your ignorance on the topic. I don’t mean that as an insult, we are all shaped by our life experiences & the information we expose ourselves to.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:26 PM

@Cormac Moore: John loves all the gang warfare, death, violence and misery through prohibition, he’s the best PR man drugs ever had.
    He espouses his flawed and failed mantra of just say no every single day. He’s to be pitied really. Zero education on the matter and even less willingness to be educated.

Mute Cormac Moore
    Favourite Cormac Moore
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:37 PM

@JustBEERbarry: that’s the thing that gets to me sometimes, don’t like the current situation but not open to a different approach.

Mute Mark Dit
    Favourite Mark Dit
    Mar 28th 2021, 8:24 PM

@john s: how ya John. Missed ya

Mute Stephen Boland
    Favourite Stephen Boland
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:33 PM

@john s: no, let’s not… but as a non marijuana user, it’s not in the same ballpark… don’t be so feckin naive as to bring crack and heroin into this debate

Mute Stephen Boland
    Favourite Stephen Boland
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:34 PM

@Ian Kerrigan.: lol

Mute Mike Looney 88
    Favourite Mike Looney 88
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:37 PM

@john s: seemed to work very well with Portugal so maybe we should follow suit.

Mute Charlie Hunt
    Favourite Charlie Hunt
    Mar 29th 2021, 1:27 AM

@john s: nobody is asking for Synthetic drugs to be legalised !!! Why are many countries legalising weed ? all of USA soon ! Because the profit’s are huge and it’s harmless if controlled and grown properly .. now go to mass you dinosaur

Mute Tomaldo
    Favourite Tomaldo
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:12 PM

John S Heroin is almost legal anyway via methadone, needle exchange, injection centres. The HSE have given crack pipes to addicts. That process has already started. Ketamine is legal.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:00 PM

@Tomaldo: ketamine is legal in medical settings, not recreationally, same as codeine.

Mute Aunties
    Favourite Aunties
    Mar 28th 2021, 4:32 PM

People love the drugs

Mute Tomaldo
    Favourite Tomaldo
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:14 PM

@John S a lot of drug users are/were very talented people such as William Shakespeare, The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Maradona, Kate Moss, Nigella Lawson and many more.

Mute Stephen Boland
    Favourite Stephen Boland
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:35 PM

@Tomaldo: don’t forget JFK… mad for the speed so he was

Mute Charlie Hunt
    Favourite Charlie Hunt
    Mar 29th 2021, 1:24 AM

us Tax payers pay for Free legal aid to guys caught with Weed they get a slap on the wrist or a short term in the pokey . Solicitors get rich ..Weed will never just disappear. ! Legalise like NYC just did and reap the profit’s . ! Hemp CBD medical . Clothing . Plastic bag replacement..endless possibilities with this natural herb

Mute Tomaldo
    Favourite Tomaldo
    Mar 28th 2021, 10:39 PM

@John S, I would put a lot of money on the legalization of marijuana being passed in a referendum. Any opinion poll on the topic backs me up

Mute Tomaldo
    Favourite Tomaldo
    Mar 28th 2021, 11:17 PM

@Stephen Boland, I didn’t know that, cheers. I also forgot Steve Jobs, Richard Branson, Adam Clayton and Ronnie O’Sullivan.

Mute Tomaldo
    Favourite Tomaldo
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:17 PM

@JustBEERbarry yes I know but a lot of people use it for recreational purposes like a lot of other legal drugs.