You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Garda Press Office

Cannabis plants valued at €96,000 seized in Co Cavan

Seizure in wooded area was part of ongoing operation targeting the sale and supply of drugs around Cavan.

GARDAÍ HAVE SEIZED cannabis plants valued at €96,000 during a planned search of woodland in Drumgill, Cootehill, Co Cavan on Tuesday.

Paraphernalia for cultivating cannabis was also seized during the operation, which was part of a wider investigation into the illegal sale and supply of controlled drugs in the Cavan area.

No arrests have been made and investigations are continuing.

The operation involved advanced analytical and intelligence methods aimed at targeting criminal income and reducing the ability of criminals to carry out illegal activities, according to a garda spokesperson.

Cavan cannabis 2

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Favourite Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:11 PM

Garda spokesperson: “The operation involved advanced analytical and intelligence methods”.
    Translation : A hillwalker stumbled across it so.

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:08 PM

Sorry to the people of clones and Newtown butler, there will be a disruption in supply this weekend due to unforseen circumstances

Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:23 PM

It’s all gone to he’ll since Maurice McCabe left Cavan

Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:24 PM

*hell!

Mute Pinel G
    Favourite Pinel G
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:13 PM

Just Legalize and Tax it already.

Mute Dannster
    Favourite Dannster
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:18 AM

the police tax it pinel

Mute PAUL DOYLE
    Favourite PAUL DOYLE
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:14 PM

90k would buy you 12 key of top notch haze,that dirt there was an outdoor grow with no hydroponics wasn’t even worth 9k the garda and there pricing thank god it’s no legalised if there goin on what the garda say it’s worth

Mute Bella Gunning
    Favourite Bella Gunning
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:32 PM

Drugs burst! lets celebrate with vodka and wine. If I don’t see you all in Coppers I’ll catch you in A&E

Mute Sean Ronayne
    Favourite Sean Ronayne
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:06 PM

Think of all the lives that will be spared!

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:08 AM

Theres about 50 pots there and a garda estimate of 96,000. So that means each pot is worth 2,000 euro lol. Who do they think they are fooling.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:44 AM

the general public from the seventies – is my guess ..am I right , please let me be right, I love being right …
    dtuigeann …nudge, nudge !

Mute Bobo Delaney
    Favourite Bobo Delaney
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:20 PM

That’s street value. Each pot had about three ounces, that’s 84 grams! 2 grams in a 50 bag. 84/2 = 42 x 50 = 2100! Any who….

Mute PAUL DOYLE
    Favourite PAUL DOYLE
    Aug 1st 2014, 4:00 PM

Bobo your gettin ripped

Mute PAUL DOYLE
    Favourite PAUL DOYLE
    Aug 1st 2014, 4:05 PM

How can you say there’s 3 oz on each plant there’s not 1 bud on any one of them jus leaf can’t smoke that it’s hemp

Mute Rachel Boyers
    Favourite Rachel Boyers
    Aug 1st 2014, 7:24 PM

2 grams for 50 euro!Jesus your being ripped off

Mute art vandelay
    Favourite art vandelay
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:14 PM

I’m so stoned right now..

Mute Stephen Kavanagh
    Favourite Stephen Kavanagh
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:31 PM

You always have to rub it in, don’t you?

Mute Brianog2
    Favourite Brianog2
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:34 AM

No Stephen I think he smokes it instead.

Mute Gzeit
    Favourite Gzeit
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:17 PM

Such a waste of police time and tax payers money. Just grow up and make it legal!

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Favourite Cannabis Freedom
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:58 AM

Unlike countries like Spain, the Irish weather simply isn’t consistent enough to grow good quality cannabis, so It wouldn’t surprise me if that’s a personal grow, maybe set up between a few friends. It would be good if the Journal could inform us of the number of actual plants that were seized, because unless it was going being sold on, it has no real monetary value, it’s just a few (very light looking) outdoor plants.

It’s kind of ridiculous when you think about the valuations being put on non processed plants, in Bacelona you can legally grow plants on your terrace for personal use and adults share it all the time without looking for any money, I even know people who grow it just to give to friends, they don’t even smoke it themselves.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 2:39 AM

Ah now cannabis – you don’t mind if I call you cannabis…
    Will it not be a field of Dreams ..if you plant it the sun will come !

Mute Paul Farrell
    Favourite Paul Farrell
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:41 PM

Waste of time seizing the weed growhouses all over the place
    Legalise it then the country would be out of recession

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:46 AM

Rinse your mouth out with austeri-tea immediately young man !

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:07 PM

They don’t look very healthy…

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:16 PM

They’re about three weeks old

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 2:40 AM

I think it’s that disease ….. Hash Dieback !

Mute William Martin Murphy
    Favourite William Martin Murphy
    Aug 1st 2014, 9:58 AM

There never going to give much of a crop; too late in the year, no ventilation in the poly tunnel, 90k me hole

Mute Stephen Kavanagh
    Favourite Stephen Kavanagh
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:12 PM

Stupid careless people thrusting these plants into the hands of the killjoy law, makes me so mad

Mute Darrell Mc Cormack
    Favourite Darrell Mc Cormack
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:16 PM

Is this story not a wee bit old?! I live in this area and it’s at least a few days old news now

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:45 AM

Are you saying they re-HASHed it ?

Mute Robert Elworthy
    Favourite Robert Elworthy
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:09 PM

Who got away with the other €4000 I’d like to know. ..

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Favourite Cannabis Freedom
    Aug 1st 2014, 9:45 AM

The sad part of all this is the fact that if it was a personal grow, the end resilt will be that the harmless gardener will now likely buy from a criminal source, busting personal grows ends up indirectly supporting organised crime.

Mute Mary Dundee
    Favourite Mary Dundee
    Aug 1st 2014, 6:36 AM

there aren’t even buds on it yet so technically no canabis grown…only leaves…hemp

Mute JAMESNANONAGLE
    Favourite JAMESNANONAGLE
    Aug 1st 2014, 6:46 AM

They should have a poll on whether it should be legalized. Didn’t ming put forward a bill for a referendum last year?

Mute john stewart
    Favourite john stewart
    Aug 1st 2014, 8:08 AM

The heavily voted against the bill last year, then went to the Dail bar and heavily drank some drugs

Mute iluvkief
    Favourite iluvkief
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:34 PM

james is right after luke lost the vote he put in another bill which Is due to be heard this november.
    Also there is two committees to meet, health is one and justice the other.These are because of a petition that 30,000 of us signed

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:23 PM

Is that why it’s called Pot …. ? All the pots !

Mute PAUL DOYLE
    Favourite PAUL DOYLE

The pots look like they’d have a higher the content

Mute PAUL DOYLE
    Favourite PAUL DOYLE

The pots look like they’d have a higher THC content

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:47 AM

schmokin’ the pots yeah !

Mute lorna
    Favourite lorna
    Aug 1st 2014, 7:34 AM

€96 grand,deluded as usual,i wouldnt give them €6 for them,how were they growing them,anyone know,doesnt seem to be any equipment there

Mute Bella Gunning
    Favourite Bella Gunning
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:35 PM

Drugs burst – yessss! gettt innnnn! Great start to the long weekend. If I don’t see ye in Coppers I’ll catch you in A&E

Mute PAUL DOYLE
    Favourite PAUL DOYLE
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:41 PM

Is that a warning to anyone thinkin of plugging before they go and start a sentence

Mute Bella Gunning
    Favourite Bella Gunning
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:43 PM

It is

Mute PAUL DOYLE
    Favourite PAUL DOYLE
    Jul 31st 2014, 11:48 PM

Goodman prisoners beware drugs burst

Mute Neoc Divid
    Favourite Neoc Divid
    Aug 1st 2014, 2:21 PM

Aka … The Garda fell into a nettle bush and did not get stung …. Took him two weeks to get out of the bush … And was found eating 67 bags of tayto and 56 cans of Dutch gold after loosing 9 stone 5 pounds With rizzla stuck over his thick country head ….., looking for box sets of fiends