You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Shutterstock

Huge stash of cannabis found in Offaly

Two men have been arrested.

GARDAÍ HAVE SEIZED a large amount of cannabis in Offaly.

As part of an ongoing operation into the illegal sale and supply of controlled drugs in the county, gardaí from Edenderry carried out a planned search of a premises in Clonmore on Wednesday at about 10.30pm.

They seized cannabis plants with an estimated value of €250,000, pending analysis.

Meanwhile, another quantity of cannabis plants was found by Tullamore gardaí when they searched a vehicle in the area.

A further €160,000 worth of cannabis was seized in a subsequent search of a property in Killeigh.

Two men, aged 26 and 30 years, were arrested and are currently detained at Tullamore Garda Station under Section 2 of the Drug Trafficking Act 1996.

Read: Major cannabis seizure in north Dublin suburb

Poll: Is it time to legalise cannabis in Ireland?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

39 Comments
    Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:37 AM

Tobacco, alcohol, cannabis. Which one has caused the least deaths? Which one is illegal? Funny old world.

Mute Pat O Brien
    Favourite Pat O Brien
    Apr 10th 2015, 6:33 PM

So by your logic, cannabis should be legalised and that would bring the death toll up….

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Apr 11th 2015, 12:13 AM

Eh Pat. No recorded deaths from cannabis use. Anywhere.. Ever.

Peanuts aren’t even that safe. Why not ban them?

Mute Egg Head
    Favourite Egg Head
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:45 AM

I’d say the guards involved are delighted with themselves, and why not after taking 250k worth of this drug off the street. I wonder will they consider their role in setting that market price though, and that while 250k sounds impressive, all they did was find some plants. Or will they see the irony as they go for their celebratory pints to toast their achievement, consuming a drug that causes far more deaths and social ills than the drug they will be celebrating removing from the market.
    Congrats lads, you’ve made the country a more dangerous place, and all to protect the interests of the drinks industry and exchequer returns from excise.

Mute Cormac Mc
    Favourite Cormac Mc
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:48 AM

Nail. Head.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:58 AM

Spot on, in fact the exchequer would even make more money if it was decriminalised and save money on Gardai and court resources and allow citizens to emigrate without having a criminal record . The headline should read: “Dopes find Dope”

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:15 AM

Well aren’t you remarkably well named , Egg Head.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:05 AM

Off to Colorado later this year. I look forward to relaxing and blazing a delicious bowl. All legal, regulated and providing tax to the state.

Mute Al ..
    Favourite Al ..
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:51 AM

Anyone sad reading this or is it just me . :(

Mute Elaine D.
    Favourite Elaine D.
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:35 AM

I’d rather they seized 250k worth of heroin which is destroying lives in so many ways in Offaly.

Mute Gonzo Doyle
    Favourite Gonzo Doyle
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:34 AM

Spliffo!

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:44 AM

..Tayto trucks are safer today

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

That’s an Offaly lot of schmoke.

Mute Paulie5waulie
    Favourite Paulie5waulie
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:48 AM

That’s an Offaly whaste of shmoke

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:04 AM

From the majority of comments I read on drug articles it can be seen that people want action taken on drug reform in this country. Why oh why do we have a political system that is not representative of the people who fund it?

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:17 PM

Because its not representative of the people no matter how much I wish it was. You will find that the vast majority of people in the country still believe hash will destroy your life and if the single ecstacy tablet you take on the weekend dosent cause you die violently there and then, next week you will be robbing old ladies and sucking off old men to get your next fix.

Mute Andi Garly
    Favourite Andi Garly
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:42 AM

Another sad day for weed….. More cannabis finds than actual class A drugs.

Mute Paul Raven
    Favourite Paul Raven
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:23 AM

Well thats it then. that must be all of it, the drug war is now over. The police won ??!!

Mute Etheric Projection
    Favourite Etheric Projection
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:31 AM

Some people use this natural occurring drug that
    Has
    Never killed
    Anyone – and it’s illegal.
    Now that’s an oxymoron

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:51 AM

They’re trying to make a part of nature illegal and wonder why when it emerges that it’s unenforceable… Idiots.

Mute Tom Doyle
    Favourite Tom Doyle
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:15 AM

Huge stash of cannabis? 250k worth. How is that huge?

Mute Paulie5waulie
    Favourite Paulie5waulie
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:18 AM

Glorified headline, huge me whole…

Mute Paulie5waulie
    Favourite Paulie5waulie
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:35 AM

:’(

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:46 AM

The immature use artificial intervention in order to avoid facing reality and evade responsibilities.

Mute Philip Walshe
    Favourite Philip Walshe
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:47 AM

Like alcohol?

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:00 AM

Including alcohol.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:01 AM

… just like Pat Lyons using the name Tap Solny. Escapism, eh Pat?

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:32 AM

Not just the immature Tap, the depressed, the downtrodden and the suffering all tend to turn to abuse of substances for escapism.

However for some reason we blame the substance instead of looking at the pain the abuser is seeking to mask by its use.

But Tap, an important distinction needs to be made between those abusing substances and the vast majority who use substances to add pleasure and enjoyment to their lives. They don’t need your pity or judgment, or persecution by the law. just to be left alone to do as they please without harming anyone.

If you can’t make that distinction you lack empathy and understanding of the reality of drug use.

Mute Peter Oll
    Favourite Peter Oll
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:37 AM

No surprises that its down the country where people resort to selling drugs. Maybe come to dublin and live in an actual house where there arent cows and horses etc.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:42 AM

Ah, that’s right, there’s no drugs sold in Dublin anymore. Dublin, where they have the houses.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:28 AM

I really hope you weren’t being serious there Peter.

If you were, you need help.

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan

That’s an OFFALY LOT OF cannabis… =D

Mute Philip Walshe
    Favourite Philip Walshe
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:42 AM

They smoked them out….

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:41 PM

Does peat soil make for better growing conditions of Cannabis? If it does, Offaly could be the countries way out of austerity?

Mute Declan Bowe
    Favourite Declan Bowe
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:56 AM

Offaly?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:06 PM

(Awful cannabis pun that I only think is funny because I know nothing about the stuff)

Mute Jane Ryan
    Favourite Jane Ryan
    Apr 10th 2015, 7:52 PM

According to which part of the country cannibis plants are seized in the price varies
    €400 in dublin and €800 in the outback counties you know them counties were the judge the inspector and the solicitor have cosy little coffee mornings before they hit the court duty ,and the bible once sworn on by the saint garda micky hickey is looked upon as the word of god himself ,

Mute David Fox
    Favourite David Fox
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:00 PM

Offaly nice..

Apr 16th 2015, 8:53 AM

Yes Peter and you neglected to mention sheep too!