You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
TODAY IS THE day for Leaving Cert students progressing to third level courses around the country.
The Round One offers have now been released by the CAO, and you can check them all using the button below – or browse the individual links to compare by institution.
It’s a huge day for thousands of households – from students waiting to see if they got their first preference course, to parents wondering where to start the hunt for accommodation.
Round One offers must be accepted by 5.15pm next Friday, 23 August. Round Two offers will then be released at 10am on Wednesday, 28 August – and again, we’ll have all the points right here on TheJournal.ie.
Get €50 when you open a KBC Student Current Account, and free day to day banking. So there’s no need to live like a student!
Terms & Conditions and eligibility criteria apply. Other fees and charges, including non-euro fees and charges, will apply. For full Terms & Conditions, eligibility criteria and fees & charges see kbc.ie/students. KBC Bank Ireland plc is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland.
Embed this post
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
3 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
How many other families have enquiries, headed by an international expert, into the death of their loved ones in hospital? The three Galway Consultants have been removed from the board and now the husband won’t even have a meeting with the head of the enquiry? As much as I feel sympathy for his loss I think he is being very unreasonable at this stage…
Unreasonable …a desire for clarity and a desire not to speak to someone you possibly do not trust unreasonable? I believe he aims to do the very best for his wife and I feel he is doing so.
@Andy, do you realize the legal consequences of a public enquiry? It’s take years and potentially cost millions. Is that in the interest of justice and who will pay for it? Will this set a precedent for future deaths in hospitals?
It’s all very well asking for a public enquiry but such an enquiry permits for legal representation of ALL parties involved and can be adversarial. The report could be dragged out to years not weeks.
Praveen has my utmost respect. Public enquiries should be carried out in this country, the culture of ‘behind closed doors’ serves nothing but the accused blushes…if they have nothing to hide then why worry.
If it transpires that a consultant actually said the words “this is a catholic country” then I would expect they should lose their job, that is a heinous thing to say.
This issue has embarrassed the country, made us look backward and this investigation further compounds the fact that we are investigating without full transparency.
Why prejudge the investigation before it even happens? It has an independent chairman and one of note in Sabaratnam Arulkumaran. I’m sure if he felt that the investigation was not being done in an open and proper way he would be the first to say so.
It’s still under the stewardship of the HSE. But regardless of that, why not have it conducted in public, the only reason you wouldn’t if the family involved didn’t want it, the husband of the dead woman is advocating it be conducted in public…it beggars belief that the government are pandering to the echelons of the medical profession.
Removing the 3 consultant from UCG hospital was a limp wristed gesture.
‘Why prejudge the investigation before it even happens? It has an independent chairman and one of note in Sabaratnam Arulkumaran. I’m sure if he felt that the investigation was not being done in an open and proper way he would be the first to say so.’
Jim, he wasn’t the one who lost his wife. Praveen Halappanavar has made it clear what kind of an inquiry he wants and is prepared to work with. As usual, the gombeens in Leinster House are doing their utmost to avoid the subject and delay any action being taken whilst placing the blame on someone else. In this case they are attempting to place the blame for the delay on a man who has lost his wife because of the laws in this country. For shame.
The investgation should already be started. In the case of a death under care a Local Risk Review group is enpanaled this report would have been compleat within days of Savitas death. I have heard no mention of it from anyone. This review is in my opinion the only input the HSE should have into the inquiry. Look what hapened for years when we let the Garda Investigate themselves.
Sorry but as much as I have sympathy for the man and the appalling tragedy that has happened here there is an inquiry under way and he should talk to them. If he’s not happy with the meeting and the results then he can still call for a public inquiry.
A public inquiry will take longer, cost more (great for the solicitors in this case!) and who can say whether it will do anything different to the one already being undertaken. The fact that it is under the stewardship of the HSE is irrelevant. It has an independent chairman who has credentials of the highest order.
It’s not importent whether a public inquiry would have the same or different results. What is importent is that there is an inquiry we can have confidence in.
The fact that it is under the stewardship of the HSE has EVERYTHING to do with this case! The hospital where Savita was left to die is under the umbrella of the HSE! Would you trust them if, god forbid, you were in that position?
I’m not calling you out and saying you’re wrong, Jim – you have a valid point. But I think in this case the express wishes of the husband should be adhered to.
If it was a member of my family I would be screaming for a public enquiry!!! No one knows the facts surrounding this lady’s death, it needs to be known!
Do you dispute the credibility of the board as constituted? Although there is a public interest in the outcome of the investigation this isn’t a public matter… It is a matter between the family and the HSE/Galway Hospital… Each party will be privy to the facts and those facts can be challenged by either side… If civil or criminal liability derives from the facts established a public case will then be heard but until then let’s not go on a witch hunt. Until the facts ARE established those professionals involved maintain a right to a good name.
@Winston Firstly, this case is much bigger than just the HSE/Galway hospital and family, and you know it. It’s extremely important to get the facts of this case through a trustworthy, transparent inquiry. The current inquiry is loaded with problems given it’s being commissioned by the HSE and had to already remove 3 members who were staff at Galway Hospital due to concerns. Whatever the outcome, there is going to be questions about it. Mr Halappanavar clearly does not trust the HSE, why would he? Would you if you had the experience he had with them?
A balance needs to be struck between independence and practicalities (and I’d add costs). A public enquiry is of a quasi-judicial nature and will drag the publication of a report into years not months. That’s a fact as the precedents show.
I think the government are beyond irritated that Praveen Halappanavar isn’t playing ball. Calling him a “decent man” is just so patronising. FG want him to roll over, accept an investigation that will come to the conclusion the government want it to come to and be done with it.
Maybe it’s time for another referendum on abortion? The world and the irish people have changed a lot in outlook since the last one was held. The government seem to be able to organise one at the drop of a hat these days, at least when it’s to please their EU masters so why not hold one on this? Of course, the pro-life lobby don’t want one, or any kind of legislation because the grey areas leave them a big stick to hold over doctors who are worried that any action on their part to perform one to save the mothers life would be met by legal action by these groups. If it was all put down in law what a doctor can & can’t do, their stick might not be quite so big. It’s also an international disgrace that in the 21st century this kind of thing could happen in an Irish hospital.
No need to waste money on another referendum, just put in place the legislation that should have been in place a long time ago already. At the very least abortions should be carried out when the mothers life is at risk due to the pregnancy. It’s a no brain-er really.
@ Donal, the problem with legislating just for the X case is that in many circumstances it is difficult to ascertain at what point the woman’s life is at risk. Her health may be clearly at risk, but the line between ‘ill-health’ and ‘risk to life’ is one that can be crossed too quickly for treatment to take place in time to save the woman (as may have been the case in Galway last month). If a woman is miscarrying over the course of a few days, her life is not necessarily in immediate danger (the agony and pain she is in apparently doesn’t matter) and nothing can be done until the foetal heartbeat stops. Her health may deteriorate over this time which could lead to her life being at risk, but at what point, and by whom is the decision made that her life is now at risk? How big a risk one is willing to take in order to maintain a pregnancy is a decision that can ONLY BE MADE BY THE WOMAN INVOLVED.
Personally I think it inhuman and cruel to make a women suffer through days of physical and emotional agony to protect the life of an inviable foetus. A woman in this situation should be entitled to have whatever medical procedure SHE CHOOSES to maintain HER HEALTH, not just her life.
It is too grey an area unfortunately. My Mam went into hospital at 15 weeks, she was miscarrying my brother. Although she was technically miscarrying, my brother was still alive. She lost so much blood that her b/p dropped to 40/28 which can prove fatal. The doctors and midwives worked so hard to save both my brother and my Mam and eventually they did. She was in hospital for 4 months and he was then born prematurely but he’s perfectly fine and you’d never know. She was in agony and thought she would lose the baby but sometimes they manage to save the baby. This was 35 years ago by the way, there are better chances for the baby today. I have an older brother who contracted Septicaemia in hospital here 8 years ago, he didn’t die thank God. The death of this poor woman is more to do with the state of our hospitals these days, the places are filthy compared to even 10 years ago. Abortion should just be legal full stop, gets rid of the whole “grey area” issue. Savita may well have survived if she’d received an abortion or she have contracted Septicaemia regardless. She’s not the first woman to die due to a pregnancy related issue and she won’t be the last unfortunately.
Seems perfectly standard legal proceedings not to meet directly with a protaganist in a legal issue but only through your legal advisers.
I get a a growing hint of a FG tarnishing of this man – the ‘decent man’ bit smacks of Leo Varadkars ‘women of a certain age’ slight. This kind of thing should not be said in the Dail but left to the independent inquiry. It is far too likely Enda will put his foot in it again and embarrass us all further.
The man has just lost his wife and child. Leave it out Enda.
Hasn’t this husband been through enough ! He has already said he will not co operate with this enquiry as he feels it is biased ! Leave him alone Kenny !
Praveen Halappanavar has stated from the very beginning that he wanted a public enquiry, not a HSE conducted affair. He rightly stated that no one from Galway should be involved in this enquiry, something that most people believe is logical and obvious and due to public backlash this has occurred.
This man has lost everything and is fighting to ensure this will never happen again by demanding an open, transparent process untarnished by bias which in light of international scrutiny and condemnation is something our government should be instigating themselves and not insinuating that he is not doing the decent thing by not co-operating.
This issue is divisive and polarises our country but it should not be swept under the carpet behind closed doors. We need to have an open debate about abortion and the facts relating to what happened to Savita should be disclosed publicly. It is the least Praveen Halappanavar deserves.
Enda wants all of this over as quickly as possible it would appear…… Not to find the truth but to push it aside and out of the public as fast as he can!
Is it just me or does Enda seem absolutely clueless in this situation? Its like he’s grasping at straws at the simplest idea, to try and make this go away. If anything this highlights what i have always thought of him. The man has zero leadership capabilities. In a crisis he bumbles on and on.
Mr. Halapanavar is within his rights not to meet the head of the enquiry. As he stated why should he those behind his wife’s shambolic treatment.
The Taoiseach needs to be very careful that he does not create the perception that Mr.Praveen Halappanavar is being discredited in this process. Praveen is a grieving man who has been robbed of his wife and child. Understandably, he is very angry as is Savita’s parents. Quite simply, what happened should not have happened. An inquiry is necessary, but we need to listen respectfuly to Mr.Halappanavar. He cannot be sidelined in this debate.
In the very best of Policitical terms, he’s ‘decent man’. Where were you Enda when there should have been legislation provided to prevent this scenario ever occurring. Grow a pair and start doing your job as leader of this country and start leading. Stop hiding behind 20yr arguments and get on with it. Public enquiries were set up to deal with other public interest topis, such as Moriarty, Smithwick, etc. He has said himself that this issue is dividing the country, therefore it is obviously a matter of grave public interest and as such this should be held in a fully public forum. However, limit the amount that can be charged for legal fees.
This is getting stupid now. An internal inquiry will have to be held regardless of any independent one also been conducted. If the guy doesn’t want to cooperate then that’s his choice. I hope others don’t treat an independent inquiry with the same disdain as he has shown.
It’s been said countless times already that an independent inquiry would not be prejudiced or affected by the outcome of this internal one. Deciding that the report is going to be biased before it has even begun is grossly unfair.
Forget about the investigation and inquiry for a moment.Enda Kenny should have made it a priority to meet Praveen Halappanavar on personal level as the leader of the country.That would have been the decent thing to do.Kenny has no decency,and proves that this is an exercise in arse covering.Disgraceful!!!
I’m no fan of Kenny but that’s a silly comment to make. A letter from the Taoiseach should be enough considering he has a country to run and more important transnational issues to deal with as well as an upcoming domestic budget. A bit of perspective would be nice.
Obama runs an even bigger country with a larger population,with much bigger problems than we have and still had the time to meet the parents of the two young boys that were swept away during Hurricane Sandy.It would have been the decent thing to do,a bit of a personal touch,instead of a letter.It’s called doing the right thing,and going above and beyond,sorry you don’t seem to understand that Séan.Seemingly Kenny doesn’t understand this either!!!
Oh for God’s sake. If Enda Kenny had met with him and expressed sympathy, this place would be screaming with comments about his hypocrisy. There are already people upthread telling him to stay out of the issue.
At this point the major concern of the family seems to be not jeopardising the lawsuit. You know that millions will be settled on the poor man, and his legal team.
Other have been “urging” the Taoiseach to finally do something about the legislation. I guess the urge was not so great then but to urge the husband is of utmost importance, even though he has the right to feel betrayed by HSE and cooperates with the gardai. Do your own job Taoiseach, don’t bully victim’s families.
What is a public enquiry going to bring that a proper medical enquiry won’t bring faster?
This woman died of septic shock, it’s a relatively simple COD, there are limited ways it can be contracted, this investigation has (a) been blown out of proportion and (b) a fairly simple remit.
Mr Praveen should meet with the chair of this enquiry, but I’m not sure if the legal advice is portraying this.
@James a public inquiry will bring transparency, it will allow for the cross examination of witnesses. But the Irish Medical Council don’t like transparency , these senior consultants believe they have the sole right to investigate their own and it’s been that way for a long time
The chair of inquiry has nothing to do with IMC first of all. Second of all, the IMC is transparent, it has to be. Thirdly, I’m not entirely sure that the IMC has a standing in this (I could be wrong, but as they would be obliged to host any fitness to practice trials that might arise they wouldn’t be allowed hold this enquiry, my impression is its HSE hosting).
@Derek Have you heard of HIQA? They are completely independent and the enquiry should be passed to them. They do a fantastic job in ivestigating deaths and other health queries in hospitals in Ireland.
Because of “The Bias of the Interpreter, Not the Facts of the Case” factor in Irish/Anglo Irish media nobody can believe anything anymore Not a very healthy state to be in.
Praveen Hallapannavar is perfectly right and justified . I respect his decision to defend his wife and to find out excatly what happened .
Kenny on the other hand is being so wrong , and clueless and his comments show him to be patronising and insensitive to Praveen’s loss.
I support Praveen in this .
I find the husband behavior unreasonable, while this is understandable because of grief it should not be allowed cloud the issue. the behavior of this couple has been strange from the outset as far as I can see. rather than let the doctors do their job, they seem to have been obsessed with demanding an abortion and trying to decide what treatment should be administered to the sick woman. I think if I was in the same position I would let the doctors decide what the best course of action is instead of trying to impose a solution on them. This point seems to have been totally missed.
Now we come to the inquiry, we have the same attempt by the husband to impose the solution, decide the panel and likely outcome himself rather than letting the experts investigate without interference.
The doctors did decide what the best course of action was……..and they got it wrong. I fully agree with the husband. There should be a public inquiry with all witnesses under oath.
“The behaviour of this couple has been strange from the outset” – how is that exactly? They asked for medical treatment to end her suffering, this was refused and she then died.
Why should she have a treatment imposed on her by doctors, when with all other medical situations patients are offered a choice of treatment? In no other medical cases are treatments withheld or imposed without the consent of the patient – pregnancy should be no different.
They seem to have gone to the hospital with a fixed view on what treatment she needed. If I was ill in hospital, I would let the doctor decide and not be annoying them with my non professional medical views.
The doctors may well have got it wrong but of course there will be human error in medicine, it is a complex business. At this stage we don’t know if they made an error or would it have made a difference.
‘They seem to have gone to the hospital with a fixed view on what treatment she needed’
Way to read the facts there mate. Savita Halappanavar went into the hospital with back pain. She was then told she was miscarrying. She then waited in agony for hours, at which point she asked for a D&C – standard procedure in this sort of case. She was refused. This carried on for a couple more days. She had no choice but to ‘let the doctors decide what the best course of action is’ and – it appears – she died as a result of their decision.
As you would have, had you been in the same situation in Ireland.
Think about the past mistakes, the current shambles and Enda Kenny’s risible performance in the dail today. Then remember that this is the person in charge negotiating Ireland’s perilous financial position now and for a generation to come. http://www.ottosbunker.com
there often inquiries into deaths at hospitals. is it only because it may be abortion related that special public inquiry is being demanded. wouldn’t have been fair to the other deceased people then
enda should be ashamed of himself, on tv, telling her husband to comply,, his sicker than i thought no leadership skills what so ever, and yes i voted him in, thinking he would make changes,, fat chance, another leech lining his pockets, hiqua should have been bought in for investigation def not hse,, think they thought they may get away with it, fare plays to your man for sticking to his guns, either truth or nothing, a fair investigation is not alot to ask for,,
This man has made very serious allegations. If his legal team have decided that he will not coperate with an enquiry he will lose all credibility.
I can see why legal teams like full public enquiries they last forever and there is no stop to the costs .
Public sympathy will start fading for him fairly quickly If he now decides to play a different ball .
Excuse me? How will HE lose credibility??? His experience with the HSE has meant that he has lost confidence in them. Why would he cooperate with an enquiry lead by them? If it were a member of your family who died, would you be happy to have the same authorities investigate?
His legal team have there eye on compensation down the line and thats why he wont cooperate wih this enquiry. Surely if he wanted to find truth and justice he would assist in an independant enquiry but no
Mr Halappanavar will be a multimillionaire after all his. His legal team are shrewd by not playin ball. If he wanted truth and justice he would assist with an investigation
A young woman has died in circumstances that must be clarified. Despite the emotion of the issue the central characters should cooperate. This inquiry should be led by the Gardai and put an end to the unseemly exploitation of a young woman’s tragic death.
This man has made very serious allegations. If his legal team have decided that he will not coperate with an enquiry he will lose all credibility.
I can see why legal teams like full public enquiries they last forever and there is no stop to the costs .
Public sympathy will start fading for him fairly quickly If he now decides to play a different ball .
In what way, Sarah? I’m no fan of our dear leader, but he’s pressing for a expeditious inquiry into what happened. That’s as much as he can do. If you’re talking about an independent inquiry then you need to look elsewhere for someone to blame for not demanding one… because it ain’t gonna be independent if the government are the ones commissioning it.
@lauramaeve first of all nothing remotely racist by what I said and secondly I was speculating on a possible scenario. Similar to what you and everyone else is doing. But the way you are pontificating on here you would think you knew all. Lets just see what conclusionsthe enquiry in whatever form it takes reaches. Until then speculation and opinion will continue by people like us. Oh and trust me I am far from thick..
Russell Brand pleads not guilty to rape and sexual assault charges
Updated
4 mins ago
mountshannon
First male white-tailed eagle to breed in Ireland in over a century found dead in Co Clare
Updated
17 mins ago
United Arab Emirates
Kinahan gang figure Sean McGovern lands in Dublin ahead of court appearance
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 197 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 137 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 177 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 139 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 101 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 102 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 47 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 43 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 161 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 73 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 96 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 102 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 45 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 60 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 112 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 115 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 84 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 63 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 107 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say