You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
SRI LANKAN AUTHORITIES have revised the toll from Easter bombings down to 253, from the previous figure of 359, explaining that some of the badly mutilated bodies had been double-counted.
The health ministry said medical examiners had completed all autopsies and had concluded that several victims killed in the series of attacks had been counted more than once.
The official toll released by the police was reduced by 106 after the reconciliation of autopsy and DNA reports, the ministry said in a statement.
“Many of the victims were badly mutilated… There was double counting,” the ministry said.
Sri Lanka’s Catholic church has suspended all public services over security fears, as thousands of troops joined the hunt for suspects.
The move came as the country’s top defence official quit his position with the government facing increasing pressure over its failure to act on Indian intelligence warnings.
Hemasiri Fernando, the most senior bureaucrat at the ministry, sent a letter of resignation to President Maithripala Sirisena’
Authorities made fresh arrests and stepped up security measures as the government faced pressure over its failure to act on Indian intelligence warnings before the suicide bombers blew themselves up in luxury hotels and churches packed with Easter Sunday worshippers.
A senior Catholic priest told AFP that all public services were being suspended and all churches closed “on the advice of security forces”.
There will be no public mass said until further notice.
Recriminations have flown since suicide bombers blew themselves up in luxury hotels and churches packed with worshippers on Easter Sunday.
Overnight, security forces using newly granted powers under the country’s state of emergency arrested 16 more suspects in connection with the attacks.
An elderly Sri Lankan woman weeps next to the grave of a family member. Eranga Jayawardena
Eranga Jayawardena
Police have so far arrested 75 people but tensions remain high with several suspects unaccounted for.
Brigadier Sumith Atapattu said the army had increased its deployment by 1,300 to 6,300 overnight, with the navy and airforce also deploying 2,000 more personnel.
Authorities also announced a ban on drone flights and suspended licences issued to commercial operators with immediate effect.
‘Major’ lapse
The government has been on the defensive over revelations that specific warnings about an attack went ignored.
Sri Lanka’s police chief warned on 11 April that suicide bombings against “prominent churches” by the local Islamist group National Thowheeth Jama’ath (NTJ) were possible, citing information from a foreign intelligence agency.
CNN reported that Indian intelligence services had passed on “unusually specific” information in the weeks before the attacks, some of it from an IS suspect in their custody.
But that information was not shared with the prime minister or other top ministers, the government has said.
“It was a major lapse in the sharing of information,” deputy defence minister Ruwan Wijewardene conceded at a press conference yesterday.
President Maithripala Sirisena, who is also defence and law and order minister, pledged to make “major changes in the leadership of the security forces in the next 24 hours”.
Today, he will meet with the country’s political parties to discuss the crisis, and later with religious leaders as concerns rise about a potential backlash against Sri Lanka’s Muslim minority.
Investigators are still piecing information together about the attack and those involved, with Wijewardene revealing yesterday that one attacker had studied in Britain and did post-graduate studies in Australia before returning to Sri Lanka.
“Most of them are well-educated and come from middle, upper-middle class families, so they are financially quite independent and their families are quite stable financially, that is a worrying factor in this,” the minister added.
Sri Lankan police sources have told AFP that two Muslim brothers, sons of a wealthy Colombo spice trader, blew themselves up at the Shangri-La and the Cinnamon Grand hotels.
An FBI team is now in Sri Lanka, Wijewardene said, and Britain, Australia and the United Arab Emirates have all offered intelligence help.
Experts say the bombings bear many of the hallmarks of IS attacks, and the government has suggested local militants could not have acted alone.
But it has not yet officially confirmed any IS role in the blasts.
A key suspect in the attacks also remains unaccounted for: NTJ leader Zahran Hashim.
He appears to be among eight people seen in a video released on Tuesday by IS after it claimed the attacks, seen leading a pledge of allegiance to IS chief Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi.
Officials said it was still unclear whether Hashim was among the suicide attackers or had escaped after the blasts.
Officials have said they cannot rule out further attacks while suspects remain at large.
In all, nine people are believed to have blown themselves up on Sunday, either during attacks or when police attempted to arrest them.
The Kingsbury hotel in the capital was the last one hit. A fourth planned attack on a hotel failed, authorities said. The would-be attacker was followed back to a Colombo lodge, where he blew himself up, killing two people.
Sources close to the investigation said two more people – a man and a woman – blew themselves up at another location as security forces launched a raid. Those blasts killed three police.
Dozens of foreigners were among the victims in the blasts, including three children of a Danish billionaire, eight Britons, 10 Indians and four Americans.
The United Nations said at least 45 children, Sri Lankans and foreigners, were among the dead.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
34 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
How naive are you? Revenue are corrupt to the core – they do NOT care about people or their jobs. They have to justify their existence like other government workers. They get bloated salaries, long holidays, golden handshakes and pensions. Someone pays for this.
The best thing is to starve Revenue of money. Then they will cut the fat.
Freezing their accounts nodoubt pit them out of business, but I agree there is something else here we haven’t heard yet. It can’t be as simple as owing 80k and the revenue shutting u down, or at least I bloody well hope not..
Tim,
They are not naive at all. Revenue are like a bank. When your bank account has been seized by Revenue, it’s comparable to when your house has been seized by the bank. Revenue did not wake up last Thursday morning and decide they wanted to close down Target.
The fact is that we can only hear about Targets side, Revenue are not allowed comment on specific cases, but if they were, you may be guaranteed they would have a very different story to tell.
I’m glad to see you are shilling Revenue’s stuff. You must be employed by the government. The truth is that Revenue have no right to freeze any businesses bank accounts. I hope businesses under-declare their earnings to sting the parasites in Revenue.
Tim,
If that’s what you think and hope, I hope to never meet you in business.
Revenue is what the nurses, doctors, teachers, SW get paid with. You need to realign your views, because they are plain wrong.
Tim people like you are scarier than Hitler with an atom bomb. The revenue is you, me, your parents, your family….would you ever cop onto yourself. Staggering levels if ignorance on the subject displayed.
I wouldn’t consider myself naive at all Tim. but would anyone.
So let me get your view straight, you support Mick Wallace, but you rant about corruption lies and fat pay checks. You want to support people and their jobs , your idea to do this is to ‘starve’ the revenue of money? The states only source of income. thus stopping all public payments whether it be to public servants or welfare recipients..
And I’m naive ….
It stinks to high heaven. How much would you bet it’s all been caused by some pedantic stubborn little power hungry twit in revenue after the owner stood up to them
This is an absolutely outrageous scenario. How can one arm of the State effectively close a company over a ?1ml tax debt, and leave another arm pick up the Social Welfare bill of ?4ml+ annually, besides the Statutory Redundancy money that will have to be paid. BEGGARS BELIEF!!!
Give it a rest Tim, this concerns real people, with real problems trying to put food on the table next week. Go back and try and finish An Phoblacht’s crossword.
Pierce you wanted a 100% reduction on the dole in a earlier article so i suggest your a hyprocrite of the highest order going on about people putting food on the table ..poser
Yes, you can ask. There is no such thing as free money, if somebody doesn’t want to follow the rules then that’s their choice, there is an appeals process if you think it’s unfair. if you want to discuss this any more the go back to that article, thanks.
Thought so..look i dont want to fall out with anyone it just sees where all going to get punished on welfare for the actions of a minority we should know all about that in this country ..good evening to you Pierce
I don’t know what to think about this situation. I think there could be more to this than meets the eye, however, I am annoyed to see yet another indigenous Irish company gone with the loss of 400 jobs because of high overheads, vis a vie, fuel and more importantly the tax on it. It seems you only matter to Irish politicians if you are a foreign company or in the tech sector – 12.5% corp amongst other knacks pulled to get them in, awarding of extra points to those good at maths as a direct result of lobbying from multinationals. I am all for foreign investment, but lets not forget, indigenous companies by their very nature are permanent, multinationals as we have experienced would leave us at the drop of a hat! We are forgetting all about many big Irish employers like Target and their concerns while we run around like headless chickens trying to keep the likes of Paypal and Google happy!
Heard a story about a man who owed about €100k to the revenue, but didn’t have the money.
He offered them €60k.
They said no, he was tried and sentenced to 3 months.
After a week, Revenue got in contact asking for €10k for an early release. The man said no, actually it’s not too bad here….
He finished his sentence and now owes Revenue nothing.
So, it seems paying tax isn’t exactly compulsory either….
It would take someone a long time to rack up that kind of a tax bill. Until target give full details on how the built up that bill and why it wasn’t paid on time like all of there customers have to pay them in time. I’ll be siding with the revenue here. We have long been complaining about people being allowed to have huge debts with out paying up. I wonder how many others they owe money to
Maybe that’s the very problem Target express faced, customers not paying them on time.
Every self employed person you speak to says they have an awful time getting people to pay up. You could easily see how they would dip into taxes owed to keep the show on the road.
They had a turnover of 50million vat alone on that would be 8-10million miss one months vat payment and u have 800k-1million. Prob not that simple but ye quite easy to clock up that bill.
There is no way that Revenue would enforce like this without months of tax going unpaid and months of effort to engage with the company to work out a payment schedule. No way. In this instance it looks like the company just decided either not to pay the tax or not to engage constructively with Revenue and are now reaping the reward. I feel sorry for the workers but it’s the owners who need to answer questions here.
Most of the posters on this site are intellect right-wing nut jobs. No point in trying to reason with them due to their low comprehension. However, the Irish people will decide in the next election whether they aspire a failed Fine Gael or vote f9or change like Sinn Fein.
This is only the first of many haulage companies that are about to close down. Government just don’t realise how much crippling fuel charges are affecting them. Or maybe they do, but just don’t give a toss. It seems their sole agenda is to keep Merkel and her gang happy. And of course they can’t do anything that might jeopardise the EU presidency gig, that’s coming up. God forbid that Enda had to forfeit his few months of world leader and statesman.
@Tim. Show me one scintilla of evidence to show that Revenue are a corrupt institution. Actually corrupt. Y’know, on the take, stealing, that kind of thing. Corrupt like……
I’ll be waiting. Cheers.
Debate debate until the cows come home and what comes of it nothing.What is evidently happening to this country is put on the backfoot until we have absolute actions by the Government the undeniable evidence of what is eating away at our country and then we will be out in force problem is there will be nothing let of the country to fight for.Apart from one dodgy Government to another nothing has changed in the minds of the people and if it has its at a slow reluctance.
If the announcement was about 398 jobs being created the three Ministers from which the owner sought help would not have been so silent in not commenting on this disaster for the unfortunate people who have lost their jobs.
I’m with you Mick.
On the surface it seems extremely unlikely that the math fits the reaction from Revenue. It seems something else is behind this. If it is what it seems on the surface then, yes, it’s a blatant overreaction but it would be very surprising if there isn’t more to this.
I run a business and I’ve noticed a very sudden change in the revenue commissioners in the last 6 months. They have gone from being really reasonable and easy to deal with, to being tough and impatient. I’m paying my tax in exactly the same way and timeframe that I have done for 8 years, but now it’s with demand and threats, rather than notices and reminders. It’s a shame, I always thought they were the kind of people you could talk to and come to reasonable repayment plans with, but now it’s like they are inflexible and uncaring. Small businesses are taking flak from all directions these day and this is just one more on the list. It makes you wonder whether it’s worth it at all.
I agree,there is a sense of cutting off the leg to save the foot here.the powers at be are cutting throats for some reason.but they wont comment on individual cases.Same words mary harney and other like minded people have used in the past.this is not a way to ease the public at all.
Mabye cos the whole country has been screwed over by people and company’s who couldn’t be bothered to pay their taxes that revenue has realised they have no choice but to put the foot down and stop letting non compliant ignorant people run this country into the ground altogether ?
Really bad news for the staff and it’s bloody awful to watch Irish companies failing at the rate they are , seems to me to be something odd around the circumstances of this that doesn’t look right on face value , I’ve had dealings with revenue before and found them firm but fair in the past , they usually engage to try accommodate difficult scenarios for business , also , I cannot understand why the option of examinership was not taken by the owner , must be some reason we haven’t heard , this would have given the business a period of protection from creditors including revenue to allow a more orderly solution to be worked out and giving the business the ability to continue paying staff etc would have been far far better than the current outcome.thought it disgraceful the owner did not communicate with his staff but was quick to run to the media for interviews today too.
“As Revenue Chairman Josephine Feehily, on previous occasions, has said “we want to help viable businesses and taxpayers who want to pay their taxes but can’t in the short term.
“We can, and do, put alternative payment arrangements in place to help such customers through difficult periods…But businesses and individuals must engage with us at the earliest possible opportunity and this engagement must be realistic
By the article they asked if they could pay friday but were closed down because the Revenue wanted the money by wednesday..something is not right here..if the Revenue closed them down for this reason and put 400 on the dole they should be hung!!
Yes – plus, today is Tuesday so why would they take action before the deadline has passed? Unless they’re talking about last week – either way, it doesn’t add up that such an extreme reaction from revenue is a result of being 2 days late.
A bank will never threaten to pull the plug until all avenues are explored. Revenue, however will work in reverse ie go for the jugular simply because they can. If target express created 390 jobs tomorrow can you imagine how fast Enda & co would be scrambling for the TV cameras.
All that aside I have huge sympathy for the owner and employees. Im sure he didnt start this company to end up in a situation like this.
Brend: how could people still elect FG and LAB after their calamity and lies? Why would the electorate be so silly to re-elect them? I made the mistake of voting FG and LAB in 2011. I will be voting for Sinn Fein in the next election. Screw the current government – they suck.
An outstanding tax bill of 300k. So dump 390 people on dole at minimum 188 a wk. so that is 73,320 pw or just over 4 wks to pay out another 300k. Am I over simplifying or is this a total no brainer??? Can anyone at revenue use a tad of common sense and a calculator?
If Revenue looked at it like that no company would pay tax because they would know Revenue would never chase them down for it out of fear of putting people on the dole. Revenue can’t let themselves be seen to accept ever excuse and the back of the hand ….. what would we run the country on with no taxes ? Having said that I’m nearly countering my own argument by mentioning the voluntary giving up of child benefit. Two kinda different messages out of our governors, no ?
Bottom line on this is there is no joined up thinking in this country. It is as simple as 400 dole payments out versus 80k in. Don’t forget the creditors who cannot be paid due to the accounts being frozen.
If someone has misbehaved in Target then the Revenue should set the Gardai/ODCE on them. Instead they have ensured that this company closes its doors and in doing so the Welfare tab falls to the Exchequer Social.
Heard Minister for transport today state that owner was in touch with his office but he did not deal with it.
Minister if 400 odd jobs are on the line in your sector you better damn well deal with it. Agree with the poster if this was google/dell or any other multinational same minister would be jumping through hoops to land/save 400 jobs. A sucessful/strugling indigenous company and we get waffle and rubbish. I like many other SME owners wonder is it really worth our while struggling through this recession trying to keep our heads above water, try to keep loyal employees in employment. Government/Revenue and welfare really need to stop grabing everything and take a long hard look at the bigger picture. There is very little wiggle room left for those of us that are still standing.
So in summary: the government have saved €1m and cost themselves €4m.
Would somebody mind subtracting one number from the other there. My calculator keeps resulting in a negative figure. Surely this isn’t correct as the government couldn’t have been this fupping thick….
It costs the state €20,000 for every worker moving from employment to the dole. 390 jobs lost will cost the taxpayer €8 million PER ANNUM in respect of a €1 million one off debt. No joined up thinking between Revenue and Dept of Social Welfare.
As far as revenue are concerned, this is one individual ‘client’ who was earning millions, and not giving it its cut – even if that individual entity is a company employing hundreds. No thought was given to the repercussions. Revenue’s job is to maximise revenue. Social welfare is to reduce welfare, if the overall bill is negative then the dept of finance who will instruct both revenue and welfare to play hardball more (again, sigh, to ensure bank debts, now almost all sovereign, are paid), resulting in more hardship and job losses.
There is no joined up thinking, each department is doing what they are told, and no credible alternative to the government, so we are in a hopeless situation until either the euro breaks or a new enlightened party is formed. Plan for more emigration those who have lost their jobs… It is easier to get jobs abroad being recently employed, than being one of 300 fighting for a diminishing pool of dole and jobs out there.
@Darragh I get what your saying about people owing them money but that should have no bearing in the revenues to wind them up. It’s not there job to chase targets debts. If target can’t call in there own debts then they are not a viable company. Whats upsetting most people is the job losses but again if there is no viable future for the company I’m sorry but they will end up on the dole like a lot of other people over the last five years in the same situation.
I understand they dont normally comment on individual cases but we really need clarity here. If its the case there are other factors as to why this company was closed down thats fair enough but if they closed it down for the reasons stated above we have reached a whole new level of incompetence in this country
Simple issue here is Revenue are judge and jury, and have limited evidence. If anyone else wanted to attach to a bank account they have to go to court and prove the case to a judges satisfaction. Who polices he police? Any other creditor would work with the company, even if problems were much bigger.
Yes, the revenue do seem to have been very heavy handed in this case. If there was a proper plan in place for Target to pay off their tax liability within a few weeks why wasn’t it taken? If there is more to this story then revenue should come out and defend themselves, instead of giving sweeping statements about revenue’s policies. There are 400 jobs gone and surely someone should be held accountable.
They put a guy in jail for misdeclaration of vat on garlic for christ sake even though he is paying it back 30 k per month….now they pull the trigger on 390 jobs. Will someone please answer me why Mick Wallace hasnt got touched for his vat misdemeanor or why revenue havent pursued Bertie Ahearn? Ray Burke is a convicted criminal but gets 120k from a state pension. Michael Lowry has questions to answer but revenue cant b bothered with these guys. they prefer the soft touch self employed any day.
@Darragh….Revenues actions have a knock on effect on these businesses also. It is not a typical case of tax dodging, and I think Revenue should be called to explain their actions on this case as the net result is that the country is financially worse off
In a nutshell Darragh…We should be asking our local TDs to press this matter it really needs to be explained and if Revenue are correct they need a good kick up the arse for not clarifying it sooner
Mr McBrien is listed on the website of the group known as Concerned Irish Business, which has offered support to the former head of the Quinn group, Seán Quinn.
got this from the Irish Times Website, conciedence????
A point that’s been missed here is that we have lost a major player in the express freight industry. This could potentially inflate the cost of doing business for the many thousands of businesses which rely on this sector. Whilst this is good news for the remaining players who already operate on a tight margin it will not help the overall economy. We also need to look at the knock on affects ie. Who maintained their fleet? Who supplied their fuel,insurance,tyres etc? There could be many more jobs lost as a result of this!
For anyone who thinks this is the whole story – send an email to your local tds expressing your outrage. Expect them to do something, they won’t be coming to thejournal.ie in order to see your anonymous outrage.
As a business owner, I couldn’t agree more that revenue are not a lender but since when did small businesses become lenders to the state? I know of one business, who at the moment had revenue on his back for money but yet the Hse owe him 130,000 that he can’t get off them.
what about all the creditors ?? where do they stand with this?? how many other lives are indirectly going to be affected by this move?? surely somone will see this and evert this crisis?? please somone up there has got to put a stay on this tragic situation ..
if Targets version of events is true then this is a disgrace!
but i guess you’d have to acknowledge that if the revenue had a penny for every time they were told that a cheque was in the post then i guess we’d have enough money already to be out of this mess!
How many people giving out about the revenue, govt..etc will still vote for a corrupt and false-hope giver of a candidate in the next election??? All candidates give all these assurances then when they get into office they realise they can’t uphold them due to the former corrupt leaders, it’s a vicious circle..and on Mick Wallace, how can anybody in his constituency have confidence in a man that is screwing his own country?? Should be turfed out and held accountable for his shocking shirts!!!
Chuck. Darragh was talking about the people who Target owed money to not the people that Target was owed money from. Can anyone confirm if the company was apart from the Revenue bill doing Ok???
To clarify my point, I’m guessing that Target have creditors in the same was that all businesses have a few creditors (i.e the person who may have filled the water coolers in their offices early this week, or a garage who filled one of their trucks on account yesterday morning). Target are probably willing to pay these people but can’t as their accounts are frozen by Revenue.
Revenues actions have a knock on effect on these businesses also. It is not a typical case of tax dodging, and I think Revenue should be called to explain their actions on this case as the net result is that the country is financially worse off.
OK,first , Revenue does not answer to any Minister , they are an independent organization that have a Board, of which Josephine Feehily is the Chairperson. If you are a taxpayer and are in difficulty and you decide to approach your T.D to make representations on your behalf to Revenue , they will totally disregard anything he says or writes . I know this because I used to work for them in the past , and that was one thing that was drummed into us in training . Bottom line is Revenue is a State Sponsored Debt Collection Agency
'I presume this is free?' Confusion over when women will get long-awaited free HRT from pharmacies
3 hrs ago
Heathrow
Heathrow closure: Limited flights resume this evening as fire thought to be 'non-suspicious'
Updated
4 hrs ago
tiktok
Who is Garron Noone and why are politicians claiming he was 'silenced'?
10 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say