You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Consumer watchdog warns of potential dangers of baby nests and baby sleeping bags

Baby nests and sleep bags pose a number of possible safety risks, the CCPC said.

THE COMPETITION AND Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC) has warned people of the potential safety risks of two products for babies.

The CCPC has issued guidance around the use of baby nests and baby sleep bags and the risks to look out for if using these products. 

More than 4,500 baby nests and sleeping bags were recalled in Ireland between 2021 and 2022, the CCPC said. 

The commission has put together consumer guidance to highlight potential safety risks linked to these products. 

CCPC_Child Safety_Baby Sleep Bag 2 Baby sleeping bag. CCPC CCPC

The CCPC said baby sleep bags pose a number of potentially serious risks including suffocation, strangulation and choking. 

These are wearable blankets designed to keep babies at a comfortable and safe temperature. They are secured at the shoulders to ensure the baby’s head is left uncovered. 

The commission has produced guidance on baby sleep bags for people to consider before buying these products.

CCPC_Child Safety_Baby nest_1 Baby nest. CCPC CCPC

Baby nests are not suitable for unsupervised use, the watchdog said. 

These are a cocoon-like mattress with a soft base and padded sides that wrap around the outer edge of the product.

They can also be called baby pods or sleeping pods and are intended for supervised use only.

These products also have a number of potentially serious risks such as suffocation, strangulation and choking.

The CCPC also has consumer guidance on baby nests for consideration

Gráinne Griffin, director of communications with the CCPC, said: “The purpose of our guidance is to empower consumers with the knowledge of how to be product safety aware before they buy and avoid these risks.”

Anyone concerned that they may have an unsafe baby nest or sleeping bag is advised to visit the CCPC’s product recalls page to check if their product has been recalled. The recall notices include further details on further actions.

From 2020-2021, the CCPC took part in a European action to set standardised testing and sampling methods of specific infant products, including baby nests and sleep bags, to help identify and remove dangerous products from the EU market.

As a result of this project, more than 4,500 products in Ireland were found to be dangerous to consumer safety and were recalled. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

24 Comments
    Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:38 PM

Can’t say I was ever blown away by him, but Simon Harris has been very impressive in the past few weeks. I was definitely one of the people who doubted his credentials when he got the job but I think he has been convincing when talking to the public and this is a very good move for the country and I can’t imagine it was easily done. Fair play.

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:59 PM

@ihcalaM: If they got rid of the two tier healthcare system I’d vote FG

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:07 PM

@SC: Sadly I suspect that one this is all over we’ll be back to business as usual…

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:31 PM

@ihcalaM: the fact that so many countries are doing this shows that the profiteering middlemen and health insurance companies don’t do anything valuable…

Mute Jack Inman
    Favourite Jack Inman
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:46 PM

@ihcalaM: Talks a good game. Reality is it is still a shambles. 250 intensive care beds available before the couple of dozen private came into force.
    Healthcare workers contracting Covid 19 because of lack of essential equipment or guidance.
    2000 a day capacity for testing knowing full well this was coming for 2 months and a 40,000 back log already. People waiting a week+(unless you are a pplitician who gets tested and results within 48 hours) including my My partner who is a health worker.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Jack Inman: you knew this was coming 2 months ago? Good man.

Mute Jack Inman
    Favourite Jack Inman
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:02 PM

@John fitzpatrick: Anyone with half a brain cell could see this coming. If you didn’t then fair play.

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:03 PM

@SC: exactly !!!

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Mar 24th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Jack Inman: exactly the same as places like France that everyone looks up to in terms of healthcare!

Mute Michael Doyle
    Favourite Michael Doyle
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:33 PM

@Jack Inman: would you mind sending any social media link from before Jan 24th where you predicted this? Btw, this was the day that “The first confirmed incidence of human-to-human transmission outside of China was documented by the WHO”.

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 24th 2020, 9:01 PM

@Jack Inman: Nobody “knew full well this was coming for 2 months”, that’s just an absolute falsehood, sorry. Two months ago we were just getting news of early confirmed transmissions coming out of China. Check your dates. We’ve had about a month or so of widespread international concern, and in that time serious preparation has been underway.

Mute Roger Dawson
    Favourite Roger Dawson
    Mar 24th 2020, 10:21 PM

@ihcalaM: Don’t fool yourself
    Things will never be the same again
    Politics as we know it is coming to an end
    The Gombeen Man is dying

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien
    Mar 24th 2020, 11:00 PM

@ihcalaM: no fear he is helping/testing/treating patients. He is a face for all those putting themselves at risk who will no doubt be long forgotten about when this is all over.

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Apr 10th 2020, 10:27 PM

@SC: Of course they do something valuable. They allow people who can to pay for medical treatment, so those who can’t don’t have to.

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Apr 10th 2020, 10:33 PM

@Jack Inman: But China’s solving that problem, right?

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:36 PM

Fantastic, fair play for sorting this out lads.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:09 PM

@Lisa Saputo: Sorted this out ? He didn’t walk in all guns blazing and take over the private hospitals. We are basically renting their capacity and their staff. Negotiations over money have been going on for about 2 weeks. Sure, we need the capacity, but don’t kid yourself that Harris is some kind of hero. We, you and me, are paying through the nose for this.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:39 PM

Very good move, in fairness. Glad to see this

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:51 PM

@JusticeForJoe: add an emergency tax on all citizens worth over 5 million to assist the healthcare system

Tax credits returned over 10 years for those affected by the taxation

Mute El Poblo Escobar
    Favourite El Poblo Escobar
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:39 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: you must have loads of money to put away like that ha, think we are being taxed enough like the levies on our health insurance premiums the tax at source and all the other indirect taxes we pay so you want us all to just get out the KY.

Mute Louise Lennon
    Favourite Louise Lennon
    Mar 25th 2020, 12:03 AM

@JusticeForJoe: are you glad to see it for the medics who now have to work the front line? Easy for you all to talk about it but its us who have to expose ourselves to the virus

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Mar 25th 2020, 12:06 AM

@El Poblo Escobar: net worth over 5 million for emergency tax.
    Not Joe Bloggs

Mute Louise Lennon
    Favourite Louise Lennon
    Mar 25th 2020, 12:09 AM

@Louise Lennon: we all have families to go home to

Mute Ciarán Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Fallúin
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:47 PM

Simon’s sacrificing his youthful appearance for political gains by the looks of that photo. Doubted him before but I’m delighted with this outcome. Slow and steady interventions at the right times with the people obliging is hopefully going to pay dividends here and flatten the curve.

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:01 PM

@Ciarán Ó Fallúin: That must mean the health insurance companies will be handing back the premiums. Happy days indeed

Mute Siobhan McCarthy
    Favourite Siobhan McCarthy
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:49 PM

Private hospitals are private companies solely funded by private sources such as health insurance and self payers. The government doesn’t and never has paid for any of their running costs, staffing ect- the patients that use their services pay for it- I really don’t understand why people continue to bash the concept. Private hospitals are entirely separate to the hse. They’re rightly and thoughtfully providing their services during this crisis to the best of their ability- the age old debate of the one tier health system doesn’t have a place today.

Mute matthew o reilly
    Favourite matthew o reilly
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:15 PM

@Siobhan McCarthy: not exactly true most consultants are getting paid for working in the hse hospitals while having suites in private hospitals & many procedures are being paid for public patients in private hospitals

Mute Eoin Scanlon
    Favourite Eoin Scanlon
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:28 PM

@Siobhan McCarthy: so you are ok with the idea of the richer having a better health service than the poorer?

Mute Siobhan McCarthy
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:28 PM

@matthew o reilly: exactly- they’re private companies! The HSE outsource their waiting lists to private hospitals through the national treatment purchase fund at an agreed cost that covers the resources and services used by the patients. Consultant wise- there is a reducing amount still with public and private privileges- this has changed since 2015 but again instead of these consultants being paid by the hse they’re being paid by the patient themselves. Consultants are in themselves a registered company- they effectively rent out operating theatres and clinic space at a cost.

Mute Siobhan McCarthy
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:34 PM

@Eoin Scanlon: completely irrelevant. This is solely about private hospitals providing their services and resources to the public sector during this crisis. It’s nothing to do with the clear inefficiencies of the public system. Even in countries where a more expansive single tier exists such as the nhs in the uk- there is still a private healthcare model.

Mute Karl Alldritt
    Favourite Karl Alldritt
    Mar 24th 2020, 7:13 PM

@Siobhan McCarthy: I want to say I really want the best for my community, honestly, but I pay for 4 people to be covered by private insurance (one of whom I see high risk in this situation) and I am now being denied the benefit I pay for year after year when I actually want it the most. If this is the reality of having private cover in an emergency then what is the point? will the government refund all the BIK as they are removing the Benefit? Am I due some kind d of refund from Laya? People who pay for cover did not design the system but we are all being penalized here. I suppose that is not a popular sentiment here but makes it no less true.

Mar 24th 2020, 7:25 PM

@Siobhan McCarthy:

Well aren’t you a great patriot, glad to see you care about the really important things like private healthcare profits and the right to better healthcare than the filthy poors, instead of silly things like saving lives during a pandemic

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Mar 24th 2020, 7:55 PM

@Karl Alldritt: well said. It’s not popular but is a reality and makes you wonder what is the point of paying such high premiums

Mute Daniel Howard
    Favourite Daniel Howard
    Mar 24th 2020, 7:59 PM

@Siobhan McCarthy: Sure it works just great in the US where those who can’t afford private health insurance are denied help. Access to quality healthcare is a basic human right and from that position profiting from it is an immoral act. Private healthcare effectively creates a deep inequality between the haves and have-nots. Those private doctors received a public education, didn’t they? Ironically one of the best healthcare systems in the world is Cuba, a socialist state whose top-class doctors were met with a warm reception in Italy where they’re volunteering.

Mute Almight Joe
    Favourite Almight Joe
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:13 PM

@Eoin Scanlon: I am. You get what you pay for. There will always be a multi-tiered health system. Why do you think people pay for it. Ridiculous

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:15 PM

@Siobhan McCarthy: Thoughtfully, eh ? So why the 2 week negotiations over money ? Couldn’t they have “thoughtfully” said “It’s for the public good Simon. Take what you need and just pay cost of staff. We don’t want to profit from a public health emergency” ?

Mute Siobhan McCarthy
    Mar 24th 2020, 9:11 PM

@Karl Alldritt: what I figure will happen is that private hospitals will be taking acute patients from public hospitals in order to alleviate bed pressures and continuing on their treatment plans. This has happened before during extreme bed shortages in particular the flu season. The patients are treated for their acute issue and discharged. I’ll be scrutinised and shot down regardless of what I say here anyway but regarding health insurance- this opening up of private hospitals would be for the treatment of an acute overflow only. It won’t allow your gp to refer you to a private hospital consultant for example. Your health insurance would still work in the same way. I don’t have all the answers nor am I an anti public person!

Mute DK
    Favourite DK
    Mar 24th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Karl Alldritt: I have private health insurance too but I think you’re out of order here. You’re making it sound like this a normal recurring occurance, this is once in a lifetime (hopefully) stuff. I think it’s absolutely appropriate the government take over the private hospitals. I also think we should not be charged for our private health insurance coverage over this period as we won’t be getting a service in this period. I’m actually going tk email vhi and say as much to them now.

Mute Shayne O'Donoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Donoghue
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:43 PM

That is impressive..
    Fair play and well done to all involved. Hats off..

Mute Yggr of Asgard
    Favourite Yggr of Asgard
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:20 PM

Yet I am still expected to continue to pay for private health insurance even if the benefit does not exist anymore.

Mute Jennie
    Favourite Jennie
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:02 PM

@Yggr of Asgard: my thoughts exactly

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:43 PM

@Yggr of Asgard: Take it up with your insurer. Private hospitals are open to everyone at all times, you don’t have to have insurance. You can pay them directly if you have the money.

Mute Gavin Conran
    Favourite Gavin Conran
    Mar 25th 2020, 6:47 AM

@Yggr of Asgard: Is that what your insurance company said?

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:38 PM

Great.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:41 PM

Some good news

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:08 PM

Socialism working where capitalism can’t.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:13 PM

@Johnny 5: Luckily our capitalist system has given us the resources and technology to be able to tackle this crisis. Before the industrial revolution it was a given that masses of people would die from infectious disease, malnutrition and famine etc.

Mute milton friedman
    Favourite milton friedman
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:19 PM

@Johnny 5: how do you work that out from this simple measure that hasn’t even been implemented?

We have a public system and a private system, so this is a failure of the public system to cope and “capitalism” is stepping in to help. This hospital wouldn’t be there if it wasn’t for the private demand.

Or do I have it wrong?

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:36 PM

@Damon16: Yep. According to classical Marxism, socialism comes after capitalism. They take the good stuff from the capitalist era and leave the rest behind. I’d like a socialist economic system with traditional Irish values- not Soviet or Chinese values.

Mute Lapsy Pa
    Favourite Lapsy Pa
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:03 PM

@Johnny 5: Thats because you’re in a socialist democracy as opposed to a socialist state . If you were in a socialist state the Irish government wouldn’t be able to borrow money .

Mar 24th 2020, 7:23 PM

@milton friedman:

The private hospitals turned corona patients away, referred them to public hospitals. The public sector “fails” because the private sector only takes the nice juicy bits

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Mar 24th 2020, 7:46 PM

@milton friedman: No need for private if public services were properly funded and governed.

Mute Aaron Cullen
    Favourite Aaron Cullen
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:42 PM

Seize the means comrade

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:43 PM

How much compo to Dinny I wonder? Correct move though.

Mute matthew o reilly
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:50 PM

so will nurses in larry Goodman’s hospitals who are on less wages than the hse be put on hse wage.I dont think so

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Mar 24th 2020, 4:59 PM

@matthew o reilly: Larry Goodmans hospital, please explain, thanks

Mute matthew o reilly
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:09 PM

@Michael Byrne: hermitage,clinic,galway clinic & blackrock clinic over 50% charge holder

Mute matthew o reilly
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:09 PM

@matthew o reilly: share holder

Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:12 PM

@matthew o reilly:
    They’re paid the same as public hospital nurses. Check your facts.

Mute matthew o reilly
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:35 PM

@Doug: there not hermitage clinic took 7% off nurses during the recession never returned it fact.

Mute GraYES O'Neill
    Favourite GraYES O'Neill
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:39 PM

@Doug: we’re not actually, work in a private hospital that has recently balloted (Pre COVID) for industrial action in order to receive the pay restoration being paid to HSE nurses and not in said private hospital even though we allegedly follow the HSE scales of pay

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Mar 24th 2020, 6:57 PM

Are VHI going to adjust their fees now they cant supply a service

Mar 24th 2020, 7:18 PM

@DeWitt:

Not a chance. And funny uou should bring it up, private hospitals were turning corona patients away. VHI, laya, Irish life, all were useless if you had them.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:11 PM

Headline should read ‘FFG Neo-Liberal Mantra reverses as reality bites’

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:04 PM

Its a given in most countries

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:10 PM

@MickN: Such as?

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 24th 2020, 5:53 PM

@Damon16:A quick google will show you, il give you 2 to get you started, France and Spain… Like I said done and dusted in other countries yet we should all give praise to our great leader lord Harris for catching on late

Mar 24th 2020, 7:17 PM

Credit where credit is due, never thought I’d see the day when a blueshirt did something like this. Should have been sooner but better late than never.

Mute Dan Uram
    Favourite Dan Uram
    Mar 24th 2020, 7:37 PM

Can we keep it this way after that? Please? Pretty please!?

Mute Brian Moore
    Favourite Brian Moore
    Mar 24th 2020, 10:15 PM

People need to think about the cost of this. The private hospitals won’t be turning over their facilities for free.

It’s great, but not something we could afford on an long term basis.

We need private hospitals where those who can afford to pay can go, then keep the public hospitals free of private patients and stop consultants in public hospitals seeing private patients there.

Mute Caroline Quirke
    Favourite Caroline Quirke
    Mar 24th 2020, 7:39 PM

Excellent care for all ppl of Ireland. But what about existing staff working in the private hospitals. Will they be put out of work??

Mute Peter Leonard
    Favourite Peter Leonard
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:08 PM

Private Hospital’s are going to love this

Mute Almight Joe
    Favourite Almight Joe
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:17 PM

More money and services taken from taxpayer and handed to the people who give nothing. Should just go on the dole, medical card, hasp etc….this country would sicken your hole

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:26 PM

@Almight Joe: only about a third of our revenue is income tax and most income tax comes from the very wealthy. Also our state barely balances the books. So unless you are extremely well off, you get far more from the state in services than you pay in income tax.

Mute Almight Joe
    Favourite Almight Joe
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:50 PM

@SC: Most income tax comes from the €40-€70k mark, they represent the overwhelming majority of taxpayers. Our state barely balances the books because there are too many incentives to not work and too many people on handouts like I mention above

Mute Thomas McGrath
    Favourite Thomas McGrath
    Mar 24th 2020, 8:43 PM

I am waiting to hear some good news, like all the useless members of the royal oireachtas have gone on a one way trip to a hot place.

Mute Fernando Ramires
    Favourite Fernando Ramires
    Apr 6th 2020, 5:15 PM

He means that the same government that was never able to manage public hospitals are going to manage public AND private hospitals for the benefit of everyone? Sounds like a plan.

Mute Angela Godfrey Maher
    Favourite Angela Godfrey Maher
    Mar 24th 2020, 11:27 PM

Did any one hear the guy on Ivor Gates radio programme mannn he went ballistic on this .

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Apr 10th 2020, 10:12 PM

@Angela Godfrey Maher: No. Details please.

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Apr 10th 2020, 10:09 PM

Does that mean they will also be working through the long waiting list for things like the HSE pediatric pain and ENT consultants’ lists? No letter should ever have to be sent asking if your child still requires an appointment with a pediatric pain consultant after a year of waiting on a list. I’m still waiting a year and a half after being referred to see a consultant for something that may now be irreversible. If you are paying into a service, there is an expectation of actually getting a service. Starting to feel like ”you get what you pay for” is the phrase that fits. (DISCLAIMER: This is in no way an attack on individual medical professionals. It is an attack on the system those people are professionals in.)

Mute Zennk
    Favourite Zennk
    Mar 24th 2020, 11:30 PM

Great news. Showing some balls against big business for once

Mute Thomas McGrath
    Favourite Thomas McGrath
    Mar 25th 2020, 9:29 AM

Health minister did i hear the mob chanting his name again and again, barabas, barabas, barabas.