You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Vandalism in south Dublin continues despite €20,000 investment in CCTV system

The council recently spent €20,000 on the security set-up.

VANDALISM AND ANTI-social behaviour is continuing in a south Dublin housing estate despite recent investment by the local council in a CCTV and speaker system to discourage this kind of behaviour.

Local Sinn Féin councillor Mark Ward told TheJournal.ie that there is “a whole host of issues” with the playground including vandalism, illegal dumping and drug dealing.

CCTV was first installed in the Balgaddy playground in 2011 but it was upgraded in the last month. The new set-up includes five high resolution cameras and four voiceover speakers.

Mark Ward Mark Ward

The footage is relayed to the County Hall in Tallaght where it is stored. South Dublin County Council said the equipment cost in the region of €20,000.

Just this week, the playground was again vandalised when a fire was lit under a climbing frame.

Mark Ward Mark Ward

Ward said he was “extremely angry that despite the investment by the council of the instillation of the CCTV that this vandalism continues”.

“This behaviour has no place in our communities. The people carrying out this destruction have a total disregard for the vast majority of the residents in Balgaddy,” he said.

Mark Ward Mark Ward

The playground is there for children to enjoy and for parents to go and chat with their neighbours, to get a bit of a community spirit. The vast majority of people in Balgaddy are good working class people who want to get on with their lives in a proper, reasonable way.

In a statement, South Dublin County Council said: “The council carries out inspections of the playground on a weekly basis and undertakes repairs to the equipment, where required. The council is aware of the recent vandalism.”

Read: Row breaks out in Dublin Bus over youths ‘scutting’ on the back of new buses>

Read: Overcrowding, severe mould, rotting wood: The issues with this Celtic Tiger council estate haven’t gone away>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

48 Comments
    Mute Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin
    Favourite Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin
    Sep 3rd 2017, 6:52 AM

Stop repairing the damage. Stop cleaning up after them. Let them live in their mess.

Mute Tommy Sea
    Favourite Tommy Sea
    Sep 3rd 2017, 6:56 AM

@Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin:

Then you’re punishing innocent folks, innocent kids. They have hd footage, surely they can trace them, unless that was more money blown on overpriced stuff that doesn’t work

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:11 AM

@Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin: oh be quiet. What actually needs to happen is a concerted effort to catch and punish the people doing this. That punishment should include paying for the damage, cleaning and repairing or a year in jail for each offence. If there are no consequences then there’s no reason to stop.

Mute Alice Simms
    Favourite Alice Simms
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:11 AM

@Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin: it doest just happen in §hi77y areas, it happens right across the country, Naas,Tymon Park, and other playgrounds have been vandalised recently. We need something else other than abandonment, communities should work with Gardai to stop this sort of anti social activity.

Mute Celtic_Horizon
    Favourite Celtic_Horizon
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:29 AM

Sterilization problem solved

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:32 AM

@Celtic_Horizon: sterilisation is the conversation we need to have

Mute Paul Tao
    Favourite Paul Tao
    Sep 3rd 2017, 12:16 PM

@Celtic_Horizon: If the sterilization problem is solved, does that mean they can reproduce more? I fail to see how this is a solution.

Mute Sisi R
    Favourite Sisi R
    Sep 3rd 2017, 1:40 PM

@Celtic_Horizon: The movie ‘The purge’ comes to my mind.. would be badly needed in Dublin given how the situation is worsening. I know it’d be inhuman etc.. but let’s face it these ones do no good to anything/anyone,only take away,endanger and harm. What to breed them for??!

Mute Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:31 AM

Same in Waterford , large stale dumping, cars trowing black bags from car doors at night on streets covered by Garda CCTV that cost millions to install. Apparently the Garda think dumping is not a criminal offence..

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:48 AM

Can’t blame the Gardai If they bring charges in most cases person charged will get legal aid and case will be dismissed…..Mighr be a fine which is never paid…

Sep 3rd 2017, 10:30 AM

@John003: then community service which would involve cleaning up the mess they made. .

Mute Eamonn Hand
    Favourite Eamonn Hand
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:00 AM

The dregs of society ruining it for everyone else.
    Harsher punishments for vandalism is needed.

Mute Dave Phelan
    Favourite Dave Phelan
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:30 AM

Nothing will change until the CCTV is used and followed up and the fullest and severe penalties are followed through on. Decent people in all areas need the full protection of the law. If those who create chaos are expected to fully pay for all costs and if they can’t then payment is taken over time from state payments. Is the will there to do this????

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:18 AM

@Dave Phelan: I agree, and most of these vandals are living in much needed free or almost free council housing so how about the council issue a warning to the parents of these vandals that there kids/adult children behaviour is not acceptable and if it continues that there housing will be removed from them and given to the next family on the housing list. I think the threat of homelessness is a good enough threat for these families to take action against there kids and get them to start parenting them for a change. Also there social welfare should be deducted to pay for any damage caused by there children.

Mute Dave Phelan
    Favourite Dave Phelan
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:02 AM

I agree with most of what you say but a major amount of the vandalism and littering and socially unacceptable behaviour is done by the ordinary members of society. It is not only nor exclusively those on benefits. Indeed in our area it is those who are not working or unemployed for whatever reason who contribute to society the most. I think that if CCTV were used properly, that the people who appeared in from of the courts would come from all backgrounds.

Mute mr pottor
    Favourite mr pottor
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:32 AM

@Gary: there in the pub and don’t give a fu…k

Mute An bhearna
    Favourite An bhearna
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:59 AM

@Dave Phelan: The states on either side of this road where the playground is located are exclusively “social” housing and largely populated by people who were relocated from a former inner city flat complex which they also destroyed over the years. Once they’re caught they should be evicted.

Mute birdseye
    Favourite birdseye
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:14 AM

This is what happens when people who contribute nothing to society get handed everything for free. They know the value of nothing. Just ask the lad up there with the eye brows

Mute James Nellie
    Favourite James Nellie
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:05 AM

Huge lack of respect in this country.

Litter, crime, vandalism.

I suppose it’s da bankers fault though.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:12 AM

Go after the parents . Of these thugs . Stop free legal aid again , again again

Mute Meekus
    Favourite Meekus
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:56 AM

@John Scott: …so that only people with money can get proper representation in court. Then next week you nutters will be banging in about some other hair-brained short term solution

Mute Pat Cbar
    Favourite Pat Cbar
    Sep 3rd 2017, 11:45 AM

@Meekus: or maybe limit free legal aid to 3 times per person. That should be sufficient for most humans!

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:20 AM

One play ground in one estate in one small part of south Dublin near Lucan … and it’s baffling the authorities on how to resolve. Sad!

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:45 AM

CCTV is as useful,as a Chrystal Ball if there is no one to act ,here’s my prediction,The State has given up on these no-go areas ,and nothing will be done .

Mute Celtic_Horizon
    Favourite Celtic_Horizon
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:25 AM

@Brian O Reilly: until it spills over into Joe public like what what happened in Limerick

Mute Michael Leahy
    Favourite Michael Leahy
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:56 AM

Would it not make sense to put a high fence around the playground and lock up every evening so these vandals can’t get in?

Mute Michael Leahy
    Favourite Michael Leahy
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:58 AM

@Michael Leahy: Although I am assuming that this is not happening during the day!…

Mute Borderline State
    Favourite Borderline State
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:51 AM

@Michael Leahy: All country is covered in fences…All it does is makes lives of normal people more complicated, countless times you go and hit the wall at the end, and yeah…you gotta walk back.
    Or getting locked inside the park while walking the dog, happened as well.
    Look at some schools, cameras encaged, bars on windows, looks jail not a school.

Mute Blah blah
    Favourite Blah blah
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:38 AM

Those found to be vandalising should be evicted from their housing by the council. Will send a message

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:43 AM

The filth doing this are more than likely underage and have been caught many many times. They will go on to be come part of the drugs gangs and progress to violent crimes.
    But as is this country you get a free pass to do whatever you like as long as you keep creating work and pay days for our legal system.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:22 AM

What exactly is the purpose of the €20K tax payer funded CCTV equipment? Why did they not just put a cardboard box on top of the poll and write CCTV on it. It would have served the same purpose, nothing, and saved them €20K which could have been used for a padlock to lock the playground every night.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:02 AM

This is replicated in pockets all around the country in fact.

The problems are,
    It’s illegal to name and shame.
    There is no shame for those with this behaviour anyway.
    No culture of self responsibility, it’s someone else’s fault.
    Enablement of all of the above by idiot apologists.

Maybe bring back consequences..

Mute mr pottor
    Favourite mr pottor
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:38 AM

Nothing will change until we challenge these lefties, and the PC Brigade that have destroyed this country.
    Its a kip.

Mute Euro is Dead
    Favourite Euro is Dead
    Sep 3rd 2017, 11:20 AM

Look quays the answer to vandalism lies in IT. When you catch a vandal you bring them to court. Judge claims they have done €5000 euro. Add €2500 admin charge. Then can they pay now, probably not. So you take it in instalments from social welfare, or deduct it from tax credits, or if the vandal is underage you deduct it from first social welfare or first tax credits….put it hast to be paid.

Soon a young vandal will realise that this is an expensive hobby. At the moment even if they are caught there is no deterrent and the taxpayer picks up the tab

Mute Mrs. Nugent
    Favourite Mrs. Nugent
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:33 AM

It wasn’t my fckingggg 16 year old yungelllaaa… he was in all night smoking a bit of blow in his room making his 6th baby with his scanger burrrddd ! Dregs and parasites !

Mute Robbie Patterson
    Favourite Robbie Patterson
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:01 AM

Imagine If the Garda patrolled the area instead of sitting on their holes with their Chinese in the station

Sep 3rd 2017, 10:36 AM

@Robbie Patterson: ye it’s disgraceful right ? Imagine eating food while on your break from working the night shift ?

Mute mr pottor
    Favourite mr pottor
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:39 AM

@Robbie Patterson: its shocking they have to eat food.

Mute mr pottor
    Favourite mr pottor
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:27 AM

This is a sad reflection on society as a hole, and its not just south Dublin, its in many communities.
    Cause by young thugs that are not afraid of anything or body…

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Sep 3rd 2017, 1:09 PM

They can set up as many cameras as they like, but as long as our eminent lordships allow these scrotes to roam the streets with impunity they will be wasting their time and our money.

Mute John O Connor
    Favourite John O Connor
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:36 AM

I’m waiting for the journals daily entry for North Korea. This time they actually have a story, NK have attached nuclear weapons to their missiles and will announce their statement at 15.30 Korean time, you’re welcome

Mute Tommy Sea
    Favourite Tommy Sea
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:45 AM

@John O Connor: this is a different topic bro, that north Korea stuff is over there :)

Mute mr pottor
    Favourite mr pottor
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:54 AM

Its not just the irish causing this problem.
    Thanks to he Mary Robinson ass kissers we have the peasants from all over involved.
    Why don’t we move them in beside these people and see how it feels.

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    Sep 3rd 2017, 2:03 PM

Did they really believe CCTV was going to solve the problem?

That would have been their first mistake.

Mute Rachael Ball
    Favourite Rachael Ball
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:32 AM

This is probably homeless people making a fire to keep themselves warm and cheer themselves up a bit. I have seen this kind of thing a lot, it is always on the tarmac because they think it is less dangerous, that the thing is not going to get out of control. I’m sure in their minds they think they’re being more responsible.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Sep 3rd 2017, 8:45 AM

@Rachael Ball: Not sure if being serious?

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:04 AM

@Rachael Ball: are you for real?

Mute Hi
    Favourite Hi
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:09 PM

It’s sad that these relatively newish apartments have brought down my area so much. I always find it amazing how rapidly downhill this estate went in such a short time