You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Simon Zebo celebrates scoring a try for Munster with team-mates. Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Munster save their Champions Cup season with brilliant bonus-point win in Toulon

Connacht’s Champions Cup hopes disappeared in frustrating loss in France as Leinster progressed with a hammering of Stade Francais.

LAST UPDATE | 13 Jan 2024

MUNSTER FANS HAVE witnessed many special away days in Europe and now they’ve another one to add to the collection.

Those in red jerseys enjoying the January sunshine around Toulon’s bustling pier and busy streets this morning weren’t feeling optimistic about their chances in France today but Graham Rowntree’s side took their opportunites when they came at the Stade Felix Mayol to record a superb bonus-point win – Alex Nankivell, Simon Zebo, Tom Ahern and Calvin Nash supplying the tries in a 29-18 win.

After a home draw with Bayonne and late collapse at Exeter, this result has saved Munster’s Champions Cup season heading into next week’s home meeting with Northampton Saints.

Connacht’s faint Champion Cup hopes disappeared in Lyon as they fell to their third loss of the campaign, defeated 34-20 after another frustrating display.

connacht-players-applaud-their-fans Connacht players applaud their fans. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

They recovered well from a poor opening half and had a window in the third quarter to take control of this encounter, but they failed to push on and left France empty-handed. 

It effectively means that next Friday’s much heralded return by Pat Lam and his Bristol Bears to the Sportsground is really a dead rubber as far as this competition is concerned.

Seán Jansen, Cian Prendergast and Tadhg McElroy bagged tries but Connacht have now just netted a single point from their opening three games.

Leinster delivered much to to warm the cockles on a cold, crisp night in Dublin in a resounding 43-7 win against Stade Francais. 

This bonus-point win secures Leinster’s place in the round of 16 but they’ll be gunning for another victory in Leicester next weekend to make it four wins from four in Pool 4 and strengthen their position for home advantage throughout the knock-out stages.

Among the only other real blots was an injury for starting out-half Ciarán Frawley early in the second half. The 26-year-old walked off the field in clear discomfort and the timing is bad with Ireland’s Six Nations squad to be named on Wednesday.

Ulster felt the full force of Toulouse’s galaxy of stars in Belfast, falling to a heavy 48-24 defeat. 

The crowd came to see Antione Dupont and he did not disappoint, going over for two tries, while hooker Peato Mauvaka also accounted for a brace. Ulster fell one try short of a bonus point.

View 51 comments
51 Comments
    Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 13th 2024, 12:57 PM

Go well Munster!

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Jan 13th 2024, 5:24 PM

@John Doe: that worked eh!!

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 13th 2024, 5:27 PM

@John Doe: John Spartan?

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jan 13th 2024, 5:58 PM

@Thomas Meaney: it sure did.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 13th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Thomas Meaney: it sure did. No point in doing anything the easy way

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Jan 13th 2024, 8:21 PM

@John Doe: well Munster are hardly known for going hey there’s a nice easy way to qualify and progress. I swear they have a meeting pre season and decide the most difficult and exciting way to go through a competition in turn dragging their followers through the mill on the journey. Every year the same!!

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 13th 2024, 8:54 PM

@Thomas Meaney: and we wouldn’t have it any other way

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Jan 13th 2024, 10:12 PM

@John Doe: ahhhhh jaysus maybe someday they’ll say no joking around this season. Let the fans actually enjoy the team and not go around fretting and stressing they have no hope then ride in and beat a stronger team away in their own back yard.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 13th 2024, 5:25 PM

Great game, with all the negativity being spewed on here, that’s the perfect ‘shhhhh’ to the haters… for now. Some craic down in Toulon tonight! Few players putting their hands up for 6n selection.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Jan 13th 2024, 5:55 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: true words!!

Mute Tyrone Williams
    Favourite Tyrone Williams
    Jan 13th 2024, 6:47 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Leinster fan
    Really delighted for Munster.
    Brilliant game for Zebo, so glad to see him back. He is a great advertisement for the game!

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 13th 2024, 7:43 PM

@Tyrone Williams: Fair play, I mean that. Zebo is a breath of fresh air. I love seeing players play with a smile on their face

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Jan 13th 2024, 8:23 PM

@John Doe: James Lowe and Simon Zebo

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Jan 13th 2024, 6:58 PM

Zebo Zebo Zebo!!

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 13th 2024, 9:45 PM

@Rochelle Hart: Z’s dead baby, Z’s dead.

Mute TC Murphy
    Favourite TC Murphy
    Jan 13th 2024, 12:56 PM

A big yawn.

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Jan 13th 2024, 1:15 PM

@TC Murphy: Aw diddums …

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Jan 13th 2024, 3:05 PM

@TC Murphy: I’d say you’re bored senseless since the darts finished

Mute Science
    Favourite Science
    Jan 13th 2024, 1:15 PM

As a spectacle rugby is pretty boring at the moment. It’s rare to get a great game with plenty tries. Surely with all the brain power the powers that be could make it better. Have they ever trialled less players on the pitch or waist high tackling only?

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Jan 13th 2024, 2:01 PM

@Science: fewer players on the pitch, it’s called rugby league (13 players per team, but it’s not so popular in Ireland). Sevens is also in that category.
    Waist-high tackles, WR is thinking about something similar. But how that will be implemented at professional level, if at all, that’s another story

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jan 13th 2024, 4:03 PM

@Jerry LeFrog: 13 players on the pitch would improve things hugely, but keep lineouts, rucks, mauls and competitive scrums, all of which are missing from Rugby League

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jan 13th 2024, 4:05 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: And reduce the subs to 3. Allowing 7 subs is killing the game and unfair to smaller/weaker clubs or nations.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 13th 2024, 5:23 PM

@Science: If you don’t like it. Dont watch. We don’t need you fair-weather fans.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jan 13th 2024, 6:31 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: If you go to your local club to watchba fixture such as Mallow V Bandon how many will be there? Unfortunately the vast majority in the Aviva tonight are genuine ‘fair – weather’ fans.

Mute Science
    Favourite Science
    Jan 13th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: well I won’t watch but i would if it was more of a spectacle in general. More often than not it isn”t for both proper fans and us fair weather ones. I’m not anti rugby whatsoever think many of facets of the game are fantastic just think there should be a focus on making it better for the fans with more flair/beating players on display etc.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Jan 13th 2024, 10:28 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: You could say the same for any club GAA game then the supporters role out at Croke Park for the all Ireland series. Thats how sport works.

Mute Cpchurch87
    Favourite Cpchurch87
    Jan 13th 2024, 10:33 PM

@Science: I find it amusing you commented this on a HC weekend that has seen 71 tries in 9 games so far, and some absolute cracking matches

Mute Sean Ahearne
    Favourite Sean Ahearne
    Jan 13th 2024, 10:45 PM

@Science: God bless you narrow mindedness. In every invasion game there is a concept known as defense. Sometimes defence is better than the attack.
    In darts there is no defence, maybe this is the game for you.

Mute Science
    Favourite Science
    Jan 14th 2024, 9:17 AM

@Cpchurch87: yeah most weekends so far have been dull affairs. It’s not often that happens. Clearly touched a nerve, what is it the say about the truth

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 14th 2024, 11:11 AM

@Science: This is the problem in the age of information. People take a glancing interest and assume the role of restructuring it to suit their own tatse/agenda. It’s a problem all over our current society, look at Simon Harris, never been to college but is somehow running 3rd level education! baffling. Perhaps we should ask a tennis player to try and improve premiership football?… Wonder how well that would go down.

Mute Science
    Favourite Science
    Jan 14th 2024, 11:12 AM

@Sean Ahearne: god bless your narrowmindedness that you can’t entertain the option that the game could be improved! Darts is actually a great example of a game/sport that was boring and they changed things up to make it more of a spectacle.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 14th 2024, 11:12 AM

@Science: Lol… Science and the Truth. Nice book title in fairness

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 14th 2024, 1:08 PM

@Science: yes , girly dancers are a huge improvement.

Mute Cpchurch87
    Favourite Cpchurch87
    Jan 14th 2024, 3:00 PM

@Science: no nerve touched here. I’m just struggling to see your point about low scoring and boring games. Are you watching all the games, or just a handful? Premiership, Top 14 and URC have had some crackers. Yeah, Leinster Munster was a game for the purists, but I think it’s been a great start to each competition and league. If the pros are boring you, head down to your local club or AIL. Some excellent rugby on show there too

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 14th 2024, 5:20 PM

@Science: stick to soccer lad rugby clearly isn’t for you

Mute Science
    Favourite Science
    Jan 14th 2024, 7:57 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: it’s a comments section. For opinions .. and seems relatively valid given some replies. Outside opinions can offer insights. Basketball In America focused on making the game more of a spectacle and it has been good for the game over there. I am not a basketball fan before some juvenile says stick to the basketball or stick to the soccer or stick to the bog ball. Anyway I’ve made my point and thanks to those who engaged like adults

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 15th 2024, 8:11 AM

@Science: You’re welcome.

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Jan 13th 2024, 8:17 PM

Yo! Joe Vlogs !

Mute Peter Brown
    Favourite Peter Brown
    Jan 13th 2024, 6:47 PM

Yawn

Mute WFVedF99
    Favourite WFVedF99
    Jan 13th 2024, 8:46 PM

4th choice sport

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 13th 2024, 8:54 PM

@WFVedF99: hey Gary, you forgot to add the “er” to your surname

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Jan 13th 2024, 9:37 PM

@WFVedF99: International Sport where you can represent your country like all sports except of course GAA sports which really isn’t popular anywhere except only in Ireland.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 14th 2024, 11:14 AM

@WFVedF99: 6n has the largest sporting Audience.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Jan 14th 2024, 11:16 AM

@WFVedF99: 4th choice where children and refs are safe unlike other sports. Parents bo not attack refs and players.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Jan 14th 2024, 11:17 AM

@Joe Kelly: do

Mute WFVedF99
    Favourite WFVedF99
    Jan 13th 2024, 9:18 PM

Always one who bites

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 14th 2024, 3:13 AM

@WFVedF99: ah bite me bollocks

Mute WFVedF99
    Favourite WFVedF99
    Jan 14th 2024, 9:12 AM

2-0

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 14th 2024, 10:25 AM

@WFVedF99: haven’t you crayons to be eating?

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Jan 14th 2024, 11:18 AM

@WFVedF99: dope

Mute WFVedF99
    Favourite WFVedF99
    Jan 13th 2024, 10:36 PM

Niche one would say