You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Members of the public in St Stephen's Green in Dublin last month. LEAH FARRELL; RollingNews.ie

Groups of up to six people allowed to meet indoors or outdoors from Monday

Up to 15 people can also meet for outdoor sporting activities, including summer camps for children.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has announced that up to six people will be able to meet indoors or outdoors while maintaining a physical distance of at least two metres from next Monday. 

Groups of up to 15 people will also be allowed to meet for sports, including summer camps for children, from Monday.

A physical distance of at least two metres must be maintained when meeting with people outside your own household.

This is a change from the original government roadmap where just four people were allowed to meet, while maintaining a physical distance.

These measures will take effect on Monday as the country enters Phase Two. There will now be four phases rather than five, and Varadkar today described this next phase as a “Phase Two plus”.

“Summer is not lost, and this can be a summer of hope if we keep the virus at bay,” Varadkar said today.

The Taoiseach said personal responsibility will become “more important than ever” as we continue through phases. 

The Minister for Health Simon Harris said it’s important to use these new rules in a “common sense way” by still limiting the number of close contacts as much as possible while still seeing some friends and family.  

In terms of future large gatherings, bans on mass gatherings may need to stay in place until autumn this year. 

People are still advised to avoid unnecessary travel, with a new slogan to ‘stay local’ rather than ‘stay at home’.

People will be allowed to travel anywhere within their own county from Monday as part of this.

Earlier today, Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe confirmed the government’s wage subsidy scheme has been extended until the end of August. 

The pandemic unemployment payment (PUP) has also been extended into August, but it will be a two-tier payment from 29 June, Minister for Social Protection Regina Doherty said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:17 PM

Rich Boy Barrett is down with the young people. Word.

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:35 PM

Ah I wish they showed enda having a go at it!

Mute Richard Cronin
    Favourite Richard Cronin
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:40 PM

Enda prefers DOB

Mute Luke Victory
    Favourite Luke Victory
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:50 PM

That’s dope!

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:12 PM

I wonder could he twerk his arse

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:21 PM

If I was young again and saw him do that I’d quite rightly think he was a tosser. Talk about patronising the shit out of young people.

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:22 PM

…enda knows how to werk it…

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:50 PM

The way some TD’s dress in the Dail is extremely disrespectful to there constituents. You should always dress for the job you want not the one you’re in…ah I geddit now, they expect to be on the scratcher after the next election.

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Jul 8th 2016, 12:16 AM

Thats not that important Boganity.
    If you’re impressed by a silk tie then off with ya, but I just think it signifies somebody trying to sell me something.

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Jul 8th 2016, 1:23 AM

Next time someone canvases my door they’ll be a good feckin twirk session or they’ll be no vote.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Jul 8th 2016, 1:55 AM

..Says the guy wearing the T-Shirt. holding a can and a fag in his mouth,.well done Boganity, The epitome of class!
    No wonder i am holding my hand to my forehead

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Jul 8th 2016, 7:34 AM

Did he just reach for a firearm officer?

Mute Ron Spaghettini
    Favourite Ron Spaghettini
    Jul 8th 2016, 1:18 PM

Malvolio32
    16 hours ago # 28 174
    Ah I wish they showed enda having a go at it!

@Malvolio:

Kenny can’t even manage Air Guitar! May as well ask Enda to break dance.

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Jul 8th 2016, 1:49 PM

Enda only twerks his little arse when Angela tells him to twerks his little arse.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:53 PM

Straight outta Dalkey

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:47 PM

It’s tough on the streets of dun Laoighre Rathdown area , you live magnum to magnum never knowing where the next bottle of bubbles is coming from.

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32

Da hood

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Jul 8th 2016, 12:18 AM

…of one’s Aston Martin….

Mute Pt pat
    Favourite Pt pat
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:19 PM

Embarrassing.

Mute Paddy Byrne
    Favourite Paddy Byrne
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:18 PM

His dab technique needs a bit of tuning.

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:57 PM

Dad Dab

Mute Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Favourite Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Jul 7th 2016, 10:04 PM

Bit dark there Dario

Mute Noel Barnes
    Favourite Noel Barnes
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:21 PM

Don’t like him. But my 11yr old thinks his cool now.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:49 PM

Boyd-Barrett is just showing the whole country what a clown he is. Can the ordinary man and women on the street not see that he is just a spoofer and a pri.k that is trying to fool people. It is time that decent people shoved this yoke and his friends out of Leinster House.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:59 PM

You’re taking all this a little too seriously.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:01 PM

How did you feel about the passion shown by Michael earlier? He fl**kin loved those cows…

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:20 PM

If he wants credibility with “young people” then sounding less like a social worker might be a start.

Mute Bernard Cantillon
    Favourite Bernard Cantillon
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:24 PM

Social workers don’t dab

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:52 PM

Why would he seek credibility with young people ? They don’t vote so they’re irrelevant.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Jul 8th 2016, 1:45 AM

What is a “young person”? What were ” young people” formerly known as?

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:32 PM

Is that derived from the Usan Bolt celebration? What does dab mean?

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:48 PM

I always thought it was just a way of imbibing cannabis.

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:26 PM

This is one of our legislators. … heaven help us all..

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty

Wait till you see the rest..

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:44 PM

And so ends the dab. Not in a blaze of glory. But with a TD trying to make a serious point about social change and how infective the laws on drug supply and abuse actual are.

Mute Enda Rochford
    Favourite Enda Rochford
    Jul 8th 2016, 4:20 PM

Its like “Bants”. As soon as Paddy Power used it in an ad Bants was dead.

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:25 PM

He’s not even doing it right , the face has to turn into the folded arm

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:35 PM

Am I the only one think it’s a bit of a nazi salute??

Jul 7th 2016, 9:15 PM

Yes

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Jul 8th 2016, 12:44 AM

Yes , yes you are

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:27 PM

Gobsh**te

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:29 PM

Dabs also means something else too lol.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:45 PM

Jesus, if ever there was an article designed to try and distract us from asking “where’s the article on Enda being asked to get his retirement plans in order? “, it’s this one.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:54 PM

I don’t like RBB but he is completely spot on about young people being affected by policies drafted by rich older people who haven’t a clue about their daily lives.

listening is not enough though. involving and being informed by young people is more important.

Mute Jomer Himpson
    Favourite Jomer Himpson
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:17 PM

I couldn’t agree more, joking aside RBB has made a very valid point .
    Politicians amending bills when they have no clue about the people effected most by them.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Jul 8th 2016, 1:46 AM

Muppet…define “young people”.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:56 PM

Gets paid a ton of money to goof off when he’s not claiming his expenses

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:19 PM

C’mon Enda do the Dab. .not the Dob..

Mute rewop
    Favourite rewop

Clown

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:11 PM

Can he naynay

Mute Brendan Boyce
    Favourite Brendan Boyce
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:30 PM

Think he just gave usain bolt a shout out.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:58 PM

What a tw@t

Mute Dermot Keogh
    Favourite Dermot Keogh
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:22 PM

That fella is an idiot some village somewhere is missing him

Mute Stephen Cullen
    Favourite Stephen Cullen
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:42 PM

He is Bang on.

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Jul 7th 2016, 10:43 PM

Ahh dib dabs, who remembers them.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:11 PM

I’m not sure which is more embassing O sullivan wanting to talk about seagulls or Barrett doing the dab in the dail. This is what my tax is going on,

Mute Paul Harrison
    Favourite Paul Harrison
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:38 PM

Maybe he can tell them about his trip to Florence a few weeks ago, before the Dail holiday even starts! I suppose theyre not ling enough for this man of the people!

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:05 PM

At a time whenCharity organisations are being robbed by their managers this idiot is clowning about. Preventing suicide is more important than gaining popularity. Shame on him.

Mind .. it was about listening to the youth and the drugs act .. two important issues .. both of which could be linked to suicides too ..

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:28 PM

Young people are to be seen, not heard.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:34 PM

Oh……..sweet……..Jesus

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 7th 2016, 8:58 PM

Digotal Audio Broadcasting? Cool. Big fan of BBC Radio Four Extra.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:28 PM

Support for Independents drops in latest poll. Do we need to look any further than this display for the reasons?

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:57 PM

Isn’t Boyd Barrett a Dab hand at doing the Dab, maybe he should now progress to the Dabba Dabba Do, and bloody well dabble in some other place like Abu Dabbi or Daboi.

Mute Tomboktu
    Favourite Tomboktu
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:42 PM

That’s all well and good, but can deputy Boyd Barrett do the jitterbug? #GenerationGapsWorkBothWays

Mute Derek Carney
    Favourite Derek Carney
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:00 PM

Hero. Do we have the playback of the deputies following his moves?

Mute Alex Brennan
    Favourite Alex Brennan

Not the same Dabs I was thinking of!! I expected to see him dabbing some BHO or shatter.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:05 PM

PBP are certainly more hip to the groove than their AAA “colleagues”. Couldn’t see that drip Watery Murphy bustin’ killer moves like that.

Mute Gary Stewart
    Favourite Gary Stewart
    Jul 7th 2016, 10:57 PM

Proud moment for those who voted him in. Would be less cringe worthy if he actually got it right. Well maybe not.

Mute Dominick Lodola
    Favourite Dominick Lodola
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:54 PM

The guy is such an idiot never seen the like.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jul 7th 2016, 10:33 PM

I thought he was protesting about the woes of Dabenhams !

Mute Devlin
    Favourite Devlin
    Jul 8th 2016, 12:01 AM

irish politics is just one big party for these clowns

Mute John O Neill
    Favourite John O Neill
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:17 PM

Now dab is goooood

Mute Devlin
    Favourite Devlin
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:59 PM

if people are doing that in the streets then i have lost faith in the world what joke has become facebook brainwashed by zuckerberg zuckerbergs army of zombies

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:41 PM

They only listen to pensioners and farmers

Mute Mick Mccomiskey
    Favourite Mick Mccomiskey
    Jul 7th 2016, 9:18 PM

My friend is a dab hand at the plastering! !!

Mute Oowo Odeh Paiko
    Favourite Oowo Odeh Paiko
    Jul 7th 2016, 10:43 PM

To dab also means to smoke hemp! I bet he knows that already

Mute Phil Hegarty
    Favourite Phil Hegarty
    Jul 8th 2016, 12:00 AM

That dabbing is all the rage now 420

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jul 7th 2016, 10:48 PM

What a spliffin display Ritchie!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 8th 2016, 4:33 AM

Today Mathew I will be Superman…

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:21 PM

Oh heavens!!!! I thought i read dobed?? Time to go specsavers

Mute Rain-Shower
    Favourite Rain-Shower
    Jul 7th 2016, 11:51 PM

Look at Dab in the mirror and it’ll tell you what that really was Richie Boy Barrett.

Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    Jul 8th 2016, 7:12 AM

Isn’t that what enda was doing at the Bruce concert. There’s videos of him dabbing. Had he dropped a few Rd as well

Mute Josh Nolan
    Favourite Josh Nolan
    Jul 9th 2016, 6:14 AM

While I appreciate the attempt to court “the young people” or whatever was going on there, I think RBB is approaching this from a fundamentally incorrect place. We should be teaching young people how they could see themselves in the Dail, not how the Dail should go to them. There’s something vaguely patronizing about the display, as if young and student voters don’t know or care about budgets, policy or how the Dail affects us and whoever can superficially display the “coolest” attributes is the winner.

Instead, why not talk to us like adults? In fact that applies for all politicians to everybody. Talk to us like adults and humans with at an intellectual level and refrain from dancing.

Mute Adam Hynes
    Favourite Adam Hynes
    Jul 8th 2016, 5:57 PM

Laughing all the way to the bank, what an idiot.

Mute Lukey
    Favourite Lukey
    Jul 8th 2016, 11:08 AM

that’s not dabbing If you’re involved with cannabis at all, whether recreationally, medically, or from a business standpoint, then you either know about or have probably heard of “dabbing.” This method of consumption has been around for at least a decade, but the advent of more advanced extraction methods have led to a flood of cannabis concentrates that have boosted dabbing’s popularity.

A dab usually refers to a dose of concentrate that is heated on a hot surface, usually a nail, and then inhaled through a dab rig. It doesn’t sound so controversial in those terms, but “blasting dabs” has become a dividing point within the community both because of the intense high that it produces and for the image that it presents to outsiders