You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Aidan Gillen on becoming Charlie: 'It's not a sensationalist hatchet-job'

“There’s something unknowable about him for sure. I wasn’t expecting to find a definitive answer.”

gillen charlie RTÉ RTÉ

AIDAN GILLEN HAS played many roles over the years – from John Boy Power in Love/Hate to Petyr ‘Littlefinger’ Baelish in Game of Thrones.

In January, audiences will see him in a new light once again when his portrayal of Charlie Haughey hits our screens.

‘Charlie’ marks the first time RTÉ has commissioned a drama about a political figure.

Gillen said he liked the script because it didn’t set out to sensationalise or judge the former Taoiseach’s life.

“If it was a sensationalist hatchet-job I wouldn’t have been interested,” he said, describing the drama as a “fair assessment of a particular time in our history”.

I grew up in Dublin in the 1980s with the background noise of Today Tonight and Hall’s Pictorial Weekly.

Gillen said he focused on nailing some of Haughey’s mannerisms – such as the twiddling of his thumbs – rather than attempting “a full-on impersonation”.

He said that when approaching “such a vast tapestry … it’s more important to hone in on very specific events and characters”.

‘Affairs aren’t interesting’

Gillen said he wasn’t interested in overly-exploring the relationship between Haughey and his mistress Terry Keane as it would have been largely based on speculation.

He was more drawn by what drove him, noting: “In politics, idealism and time and experience equal something else.”

“There’s something unknowable about him for sure. I wasn’t expecting to find a definitive answer [to what drove him],” Gillen stated.

The show’s writer Colin Teevan shared Gillen’s lack of interest in Haughey’s relationship with Keane.

An affair is not very interesting drama, we’ll leave that to the soap operas … Gossip doesn’t make him interesting, but what drives him. As a figure he was fascinating … I’m not sure he knew what drove him himself.

Teevan has been working on-and-off on the three 90-minute programmes since 2010. He said he could have easily penned six.

‘Charlie’ was directed by Kenny Glenaan and Charlie McCarthy. The cast includes two other Love/Hate alumni: Tom Vaughan-Lawlor (PJ Mara) and Peter O’Meara (Brian Lenihan), otherwise known as Nidge and Andrew. English actress Lucy Cohu plays Terry Keane.

Teevan stressed that while the show is a drama and not a biopic he’s confident it’s factually accurate. While refusing to name names, he said “everyone we thought would be relevant” was contacted for research purposes. Some responded and others didn’t.

The writer said he thought there was “something Shakespearean about Charlie’s vaulting ambition and lust for power”. He believes Haughey sacrificed those around him to retain power at any cost because of a void in his life, noting: “There’s something missing.”

Teevan said the deals that became public knowledge during McCracken and Moriarty Tribunals were “the tips of the iceberg”.

“I believe there were a hell of a lot more.”

Living beyond our means

One scene in ‘Charlie’ juxtaposes Haughey’s famous ‘Living Beyond Our Means‘ speech in 1980 with images of a lavish party thrown at his palatial home.

“The facts stack up,” Teevan said of this.

It’s not drama’s job to offer answers, it offers a journey – both emotional and intellectual.

Jane Gogan, Head of RTÉ Drama, said the show will appeal to young and old alike. “It will be insightful to people not familiar with the era and very, very easily absorbed by younger viewers,” she stated.

Gogan said she was amazed by the finished product, describing it as “an enormous intellectual exercise”.

Gillen said he was somewhat wary of playing a man who is still such a huge political and cultural figure in Irish life, but couldn’t turn down the role as Haughey was so “intriguing”.

He said there were less examples of Haughey speaking in the government’s archives than he’d expected to find while researching the part, noting: “There were reams of Garrett Fitzgerald.”

Charlie kept his cards close to himself.

‘Charlie’ will air on RTÉ One over three consecutive Sundays in January (4, 11, 18) at 9.30pm. It charts Haughey’s political career with Fianna Fáil from 1979-1992.

Check out the trailer for RTÉ’s new Charlie Haughey drama

Haughey family behind website to provide ‘factual information’ about Charlie’s career

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Andy Patton
    Favourite Andy Patton
    Dec 6th 2014, 5:54 PM

Corrupt as it gets.

Mute Paul Parsons
    Favourite Paul Parsons
    Dec 6th 2014, 6:08 PM

Little finger and Charlie. Not a vast difference in characters really.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 6th 2014, 6:48 PM

In the early eighties, my friend’s father died. He was well respected in FF as a former TD and his funeral in Rathgar was attended by many members of the FF party. As I entered the church I found myself in a queue for signing the attendance pages. Immediately in front of me was CJ and immediately behind me was Jack Lynch. This was the first time that I had seen either of them in the flesh and I couldn’t believe how short they both were. I am only 5’9″ but I seemed to tower over both of them!
    What is it with short men?
    Napoleon comes to mind!

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Dec 6th 2014, 6:44 PM

Hatchet job or not the man was a crook

Mute cosmological
    Favourite cosmological
    Dec 6th 2014, 5:48 PM

A hatchet job is the very least that is deserved.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Dec 6th 2014, 6:11 PM

If they sell the Haughey story to other TV channels, they’ll have to flash “Based on a True Story” intermittently. They’d find it too far fetched otherwise.

And the fact that his party is second only to terrorists in popularity is just as implausible.

Mute Joe McDonnell
    Favourite Joe McDonnell
    Dec 7th 2014, 1:25 AM

I’d consider FF every bit as terrorists as the FG/Labour Party to be honest. The terror they’ve unleashed on this country the last 6 years and continue to do so should have every cabinet member up before the SCC.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Dec 7th 2014, 8:45 AM

I was referring to the party that actually have a history of terrorism.

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Dec 6th 2014, 10:17 PM

Haughey was a criminal and they gave this s*&%head a state funeral… Only in Ireland

Mute Paul Easto
    Favourite Paul Easto
    Dec 6th 2014, 11:12 PM

I thought the picture was of Saul Goodman!

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Dec 6th 2014, 7:15 PM

Haughey should be written out of irish history. There should be no documentaries about people that fecked our nation. Some waste of licence money.

Mute peter
    Favourite peter
    Dec 7th 2014, 12:04 AM

Not much of a change from John boy really, Hes playing another gun runner with a lust for power and money

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Dec 6th 2014, 6:12 PM

If C.J. Haughey had not been such a mundane politician in the end, vainglorious and up his own arse- he probably could have been a memorable politician.
    Remember too that only 50% of the electorate vote and pork barrel politics is always paramount and corrupts.

Mute Steve Stevenson
    Favourite Steve Stevenson
    Dec 6th 2014, 8:57 PM

My favourite actor. Loved him in the latest batman movie.

Mute Finbarr Dowling
    Favourite Finbarr Dowling
    Dec 6th 2014, 11:21 PM

Don’t love his Bro

Mute Kathleen Kavanagh
    Favourite Kathleen Kavanagh
    Dec 6th 2014, 11:56 PM

Great actor ! Haughey not so much but look at him he still gets the fame even 6ft under go or bad.

Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    Dec 7th 2014, 8:31 AM

Of course he should not be written our.we should remember him an bertie every time a ff candidate knocks on our door asking for a vote. As the man said questionable pedigree

Mute Paul FitzGerald
    Favourite Paul FitzGerald
    Dec 7th 2014, 9:23 AM

Well, at least he won’t have issues portraying the ego …

Mute Louisa Hayes
    Favourite Louisa Hayes
    Dec 6th 2014, 6:29 PM

Perfect actor to play this part!