You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A Glock 19 handgun, the same model used in the accidental shooting. Alamy Stock Photo

Two-year-old boy accidentally shoots and kills father in Florida

Such tragedies are not uncommon in the United States.

A TWO-YEAR-OLD boy accidentally shot and killed his father in Florida after his parents left a loaded gun unattended, local authorities have said.

When police officers, alerted by a 911 call, arrived at the victim’s home near Orlando on 26 May, they found the child’s mother Marie Ayala providing CPR to her husband, Reggie Mabry.

Law enforcement initially believed the 26-year-old, who died shortly afterward in hospital, had shot himself, but the eldest of the couple’s three children later told investigators that the trigger was pulled by his two-year-old brother, Orange County Sheriff John Mina said at a news conference.

The gun was in a bag that Mabry had left on the ground and the child came across it and shot his father in the back while he was playing a video game on a computer, court documents said.

The five family members, including a five-month-old girl, were in the same room at the time of the incident.

Both parents were on parole at the time after multiple offenses of child neglect and drug use, the sheriff said.

“Gun owners that do not properly secure their firearms are just one split second away from one of these tragedies happening in their homes,” Mina said.

“Now these young children have effectively lost both of their parents. Their father is dead. Their mother is in jail, and a young child has to live their life knowing that he shot his father,” the sheriff added.

Such tragedies are not uncommon in the United States.

In August 2021, another two-year-old child found a gun that had been left in a Paw Patrol backpack and fatally shot his mother in the head while she taking part in a video conference.

The latest accident also comes as the debate over gun regulations rages in the country, after several deadly mass shootings in a supermarket, hospital and primary school, among others.

© – AFP, 2022

View 56 comments
56 Comments
    Mute Jason O Flynn
    Favourite Jason O Flynn
    Jun 7th 2022, 9:55 AM

Anybody surprised anymore?

Mute Nora McElhinney
    Favourite Nora McElhinney
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:16 AM

@Jason O Flynn: New Yorkers ard clapping themselves on the back for introducing legislation to stop loons buying semi-automatics on their 18th birthday…. they now have to be 22 FFS WHEN WILL THEY EVER LEARN…..

Mute Lilly Passet-De Nais
    Favourite Lilly Passet-De Nais
    Jun 7th 2022, 1:34 PM

@Jason O Flynn: Nope… Sadly, very very sadly, not.
    But it really does not only depend on whether or not people are allowed to have fun licences and then go buy weapons, its also the culture the person or people grow up in. I.e. do they respect one another or do they just respect guns and the power it gives them. Look at Germany, people can get handguns etc. But guncrime is almost nonexistent.
    https://ourworldindata.org/homicides#the-global-distribution-of-homicides

Mute Jason O Flynn
    Favourite Jason O Flynn
    Jun 7th 2022, 2:08 PM

@Lilly Passet-De Nais: totally agree. Unfortunately I don’t think a 2 year old understands any thing about culture they grow up in or respect for people or guns.

Mute Derek Long
    Favourite Derek Long
    Jun 9th 2022, 8:06 AM

@Jason O Flynn: sad when you live in a society where there is a need to carry a concealed weapon (cwp) to go about your Daily life

Mute Connor Coady
    Favourite Connor Coady
    Jun 7th 2022, 9:55 AM

RIP. Poor child, life is ruined before it even starts.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:21 AM

@Connor Coady: not really. Hopefully he’ll not even remember it as he grows up. By the sounds of the parents past the kid is probably better off without him.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Jun 7th 2022, 12:31 PM

@Connor Coady: The Parents we’re solely responsible for the safe storage of that gun. Severe child neglect going on here.

Mute Connor Coady
    Favourite Connor Coady
    Jun 7th 2022, 5:16 PM

@Kevin: Until he wonders where his daddy is. He’ll hardly understand he wasn’t to blame.

Mute Brian Murray
    Favourite Brian Murray
    Jun 7th 2022, 9:58 AM

‘Multiple offense of child neglect’ says it all really.
    Would anyone be surprised if it was actually the mother who shot him and shes now saying the child did it.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:10 AM

@Brian Murray: the ma was in jail at the time and still is. Glad that yer man ate it rather than one of the kids.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:49 AM

@Rob Gale: If she was in jail at the time, how do you explain the fact she was doing CPR on her husband when the police arrived ?

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:57 AM

@Tommy Roche: Magic? Whoops, I mean, thoughts and prayers?

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Jun 7th 2022, 12:20 PM

@Tommy Roche: after he got shot he stumbled out the door and slumped up against the jailhouse wall which they lived beside. She reached out of her jail window and did chest compressions and leaned out between the bars to blow air in his mouth. But he died anyway.

Mute Shane Brigdale
    Favourite Shane Brigdale
    Jun 8th 2022, 12:48 AM

@Rob Gale: she was found giving her husband CPR

Mute Gerry from the Block
    Favourite Gerry from the Block
    Jun 7th 2022, 9:57 AM

What a messed up country it really is.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:22 AM

Put the price of ammunition up 10,000% . Americans won’t change gun laws so put the price of ammunition out of the reach !

Mute Michael Dowling
    Favourite Michael Dowling
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:41 AM

@Max Power: agree but I lived in America for a number of years and met a few that made there own bullets. Mad country the US is.

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Jun 7th 2022, 1:51 PM

@Max Power: Chris Rock has a brilliant sketch about that.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Jun 7th 2022, 9:59 AM

How could a 2 year old pull a trigger his little fingers wouldn’t even hold a gun

Jun 7th 2022, 10:03 AM

@Margaret Mcgarry: Exactly this. It takes a fair amount of pressure to pull a trigger on a handgun. Not a chance a 2 year old could manage it

Mute Wilton Technology - Cleaning & Hygiene Supplies
    Favourite Wilton Technology - Cleaning & Hygiene Supplies
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:11 AM

@Gerry from the Block: no it doesn’t. Hair trigger. You’ve obviously never shot/held a hand gun.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:11 AM

@Margaret Mcgarry: it depends on the model, some are designed with multiple points that your hand has to cover before it will fire, others have hair triggers.

Rule one is never had a loaded gun

Mute Dr. Emmett Lathrop Brown
    Favourite Dr. Emmett Lathrop Brown
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:21 AM

The gun is a Glock 9mm, which weighs three pounds when loaded and takes 4.5 to 5.5 pounds of pressure to pull the trigger, was a 2 yo really capable to handle and fire the gun? This is not a clear-cut case.

Jun 7th 2022, 10:23 AM

@Wilton Technology – Cleaning & Hygiene Supplies: I have only ever fired a Sig Sauer. But yes, i take your point about the hair triggers. Hadn’t thought of it. My experience wouldn’t be great

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Jun 7th 2022, 1:53 PM

@Gerry from the Block: most likely a hair trigger.. feckin look at those things and they go off!

Mute Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Jun 7th 2022, 7:19 PM

@Dr. Emmett Lathrop Brown: pretty sure they would have checked for gun residue. It’s not difficult to determine who pulled the trigger.

Mute Warren kennedy
    Favourite Warren kennedy
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:01 AM

Mhurrriccccaaaaa FK yeaahhhhhhhhh

Mute Colin O'Dwyer
    Favourite Colin O'Dwyer
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:20 AM

The only way to avoid this going forward is to ensure we arm domestic appliances…

Mute Ronan Barrett
    Favourite Ronan Barrett
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:30 AM

That place is a circus. Tragedy after tragedy

Mute David F. Dwyer
    Favourite David F. Dwyer
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:24 AM

If only a good guy had had a gun they could have stopped the bad toddler with a gun.

Mute Colin B
    Favourite Colin B
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:43 AM

In the US you say? I, for one am shocked that such a thing could happen there.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:10 AM

Considering the child neglect charges – was this a case of “good guy with gun stops bad guy”? Pretty sure some of the 2A thumpers will say it is

Mute Joseph Blocks
    Favourite Joseph Blocks
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:06 AM

And the Americans think that more “good guys” with guns could stop this sort of tragedy. More guns ONLY equals more deaths.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Jun 7th 2022, 1:32 PM

He was shot in the back!

Yet somehow law enforcement originally believed he committed suicide.

American Law Enforcement really isn’t the brightest.

Mute S
    Favourite S
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:59 AM

Was in a Walmart in Connecticut- couldn’t buy an apple or banana but guns and ammo where easily available

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jun 7th 2022, 1:06 PM

The Republicans are probably blaming the number of doors in the house.

Mute Ryan O'hUallachain
    Favourite Ryan O'hUallachain
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:25 AM

I wonder how badly “accidentally” is needed when writing a title referring to a 2 year old… I haven’t met that many kids aged 2 shooting people deliberately to be honest…

Mute John Elliott
    Favourite John Elliott
    Jun 7th 2022, 10:48 AM

Sounds like he should have bumped both parents

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:50 AM

Don’t be surprised to see a 2 year old being charged either…
    May he Rest in Peace

Mute Derek Moean
    Favourite Derek Moean
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:16 AM

What’s New. Guns all over the US.

Mute Keth Warsaw
    Favourite Keth Warsaw
    Jun 7th 2022, 1:25 PM

It could be argued the American constitution as it stands will be the downfall of America. As in many cases downfalls happen from within.

Mute Roger Bond
    Favourite Roger Bond
    Jun 7th 2022, 12:19 PM

Children in America learn all the important things in life at an early age.
    If a child is shown how to handle and use a gun at even 2 years old they can repeat this process on their own.

Mute Brax Braxton
    Favourite Brax Braxton
    Jun 7th 2022, 1:52 PM

Murica

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Jun 7th 2022, 3:11 PM

If the dad had a gun, he could have defended himself…

Mute S
    Favourite S
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:59 AM

Was in a Walmart in Connecticut- couldn’t buy an apple or banana but guns and ammo where handy enough

Mute Keth Warsaw
    Favourite Keth Warsaw
    Jun 7th 2022, 1:26 PM

@S: Bananas, lol

Mute Self Employed Anarchist
    Favourite Self Employed Anarchist
    Jun 7th 2022, 11:35 AM

I’m guessing trigger pull weight at probably a bit under 6 pounds – also the size of the grip for the 2 year old child’s hands to go around . I find this a very unlikely scenario .
    None the less tragic for all involved and abject stupidity leaving a gun accessible .

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 7th 2022, 4:32 PM

@Self Employed Anarchist: Guns can go off surprisingly easy. I was watching Barry one night and there were two characters, a mother and son, who were sitting in a parked car discussing how they were going to kill Barry because he assassinated their father/husband. She was just sitting their in the car with the shotgun telling him that she would do it herself, she didnt want her son involved, and the gun just went off and shot him in the abdomen

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 7th 2022, 4:34 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: Guns can go off surprisingly easy. I was watching Barry one night and there were two characters, a mother and son, who were sitting in a parked car discussing how they were going to kill Barry because he assassinated their father/husband. She was in the middle of telling her son that she would do it herself, she didn’t want him involved , and the gun just went off and shot him in the abdomen

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2022, 5:44 PM

@Self Employed Anarchist: Mind you, if you ever had long hair and a baby got a grip on it, you wouldn’t doubt the strength, it’s usually a survival instinct to hold on tightly. Tragic accident. I hope the children have a decent chance in a new home.

Mute Ronan
    Favourite Ronan
    Jun 7th 2022, 4:40 PM

This might not have been an accident.

Mute pkunzip doom2.zip
    Favourite pkunzip doom2.zip
    Jun 7th 2022, 5:54 PM

Maybe we should train 2year olds in safe gun use?

Mute B Collins
    Favourite B Collins
    Jun 7th 2022, 5:15 PM

Another senseless door death.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jun 7th 2022, 7:27 PM

I agree it won’t fix America but smart guns will allow you to lock your gun like you might lock your iPhone and could prevent some of these domestic tragedies.

https://www.reuters.com/technology/exclusive-smart-guns-finally-arriving-us-seeking-shake-up-firearms-market-2022-01-11/

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2022, 5:46 PM

I’ll bet the next US headlines will be about hackers triggering loaded guns regardless, much to everyone’s surprise.