You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Childcare crisis: 'I looked at my 14-year-old and asked 'Will you manage babysitting the others?''

Childcare providers won’t be returning until 29 June – and even when they do return, it isn’t clear how many children they can take in.

PARENTS AND ADVOCACY GROUPS have been critical of the government’s plan to announce Ireland’s “accelerated” roadmap to reopening businesses without having any childcare provision for working parents.

The National Women’s Council has said that “we’ve seen during the crisis what an essential public service childcare is”, but said that it’s also “one that’s being ignored”.

“There’s an expectation that women will be at home to do this,” the council said, adding “we’re absolutely in a childcare crisis, and the government has to step in”.

Richard Grogan, an employment law solicitor, said that “childcare is a massive issue, and is an elephant in the room”.

One nurse told TheJournal.ie that she and her husband, who is also a healthcare worker, one day tried leaving their teenager to babysit their three other children while they went to work, but she had to go back home from the stress of worrying what might happen.

• Our colleagues at Noteworthy are proposing to investigate how a new childcare system can be built in post-pandemic Ireland. See how you can support this project here>

She has suggested using some of the now-empty onsite facilities at hospitals as a daycare centre for the children of healthcare workers.

The failed strategy for childcare during Covid-19

Initially, the government had planned to provide childcare for healthcare workers, who were at the frontline in tackling the most seriously ill patients of the Covid-19 pandemic.

On 25 March, the government announced a deal that would mean parents wouldn’t need to keep paying their childcare fees to secure a place for their children.

A plan was announced to give annual leave to public servants who were the partners of healthcare workers, in order for them to mind the children at home. 

A month ago, a more detailed plan was announced where parents would pay €90 per week for a childcare worker to look after children in the home, but the majority of the cost will be paid by the State.

Both these plans were later abandoned, after insurers said childcare providers wouldn’t be covered for this work, and after just six providers applied to take part in the new scheme.

Now, the government has announced that childcare providers can open again on 29 June as part of Phase Three; but it’s not yet clear what capacity these childcare providers will have when social distancing rules still apply.

While there are 4,500 early learning and care and school-age childcare services in the country, fewer than 2,000 of these normally remain open in July and August.

Health Minister Simon Harris has asked people to rely on family and friends for a “dig out” until creches reopen.

And failing that, if workers are called back to work in one of the many businesses that have reopened as part of Phase Two, they may have to refuse to go to work if they don’t have someone to mind their children.

A nurse put out of work for 10 weeks

I looked at the 14 year old and asked ‘Will you manage with us ringing in?’ and by 12 o’clock, I had to come home because I was stressed out in case anything happened.

Nora, a respiratory nurse working in the Covid-19 unit has four children aged 14, 11, eight, and six. She says that she was “completely caught” over the childcare issue. 

An Italian student had been minding their children, but she had to go home as the Covid-19 pandemic crisis unfolded. Then Nora’s mother had to cocoon, meaning another child-minding option was gone.

She tried contacting a list of childcare workers, but none could provide care.

Other friends of hers said they had childcare at the start of the crisis, but later were told “they didn’t want to work for the nurses, they didn’t want to take that risk”.

Nora is back to work now, but only because her mother, a retired nurse, has stopped cocooning and is now living with them to provide childcare. But her mother can’t keep doing this forever, she stresses; Nora leaves at 6.40am and isn’t back home until 6pm.

In total, she was out of work for 10 weeks because of a lack of childcare options. Some of her colleagues are still not able to return to work because they need to look after their children. She says the problem is “huge”:

I [know] one person who’s paying over €100 a day in childcare for one child – that’s not sustainable. Even at that, she’s paying it when she should herself be cocooning, because she has a respiratory illness. But she took the loan out and now can’t stay home because she needs to pay back the loan.

Questions over the Wage Subsidy support

Speaking on RTÉ Radio One yesterday, Minister for Social Protection and Employment Affairs Regina Doherty said that “until your arrangements are back up and running the State will continue to support you financially until your income can be provided for by yourself or your employer”.

Until their informal or their formal childcare arrangements can resume on 29 June, the State will continue to support their income with the Pandemic Payment or the Wage Subsidy Scheme.

But employment law solicitor Richard Grogan told TheJournal.ie says that the TWSS “technically doesn’t apply” in this scenario. 

“It doesn’t say ‘Oh, by the way, if I can’t come back to work because I’ve got a childcare problem that I can continue on these’, or that the employer has to continue on them.”

“What the Minister did was fudge the question.”

“Because the answer is, ‘I’ve called you back to work’. If they were laid off and were on the Pandemic Unemployment Payment, they’re being called back to work [now].”

No longer relying on grandparents

“I don’t believe that we’re going to have anything like the childcare [capacity], on 29 June, that we had,” Grogan continues.

The traditional alternate Irish solution to an Irish problem – being the grandparents collecting the child from school or minding the child – is now very questionable. If we get a spike of any kind, the first ones going into lockdown will be the grandparents.

O’Connor makes a similar point: “The fallback position previously has been to rely on grandparents, who are not in this situation. So what it’s doing really is highlighting so clearly the failure of the government to have a proper public childcare system in place that’s accessible to all and that’s affordable.

The old provisions of using other members of the family to step in are not there, nor should they be. I’ve had women talking to me over the weekend asking me “What are we going to do? Do I go back and work in the shop?”
I think there is a real danger in terms of long-term unemployment for women, because the situation right now is almost saying to women: ‘Look, don’t come back’.

Future dismissals

Grogan says that it’s unlikely that employees will be dismissed between now and 29 June. But after that, and as time goes on, there will be more pressure on employers to say “either you’re coming back or you’re not coming back”.

He adds that if the primary schools don’t return in September, it could result in a lot of parents being made redundant or dismissed.

From 29 June, you’re going to have employers saying ‘Look, I need you back’, and they’re going to say ‘Well I can’t go back’. And that’s when an employer says, ‘Well, I’m now going into a redundancy situation’. 

“There’s going to be a lot of pressure points for people with children.”

To combat this, he says the government should help businesses to send office equipment to employees who can work from home, which is a major obstacle for businesses.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute SEAN LYNCH
    Favourite SEAN LYNCH
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:47 PM

Driver looks non too happy to be on that shift.

Mute Will Hourihan
    Favourite Will Hourihan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:58 PM

She is probably thinking that the mask she purchased from Woodies DIY isn’t going to be much good!

Mute bob®
    Favourite bob®
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:46 PM

One reason an island is a bonus, nasty thing to get!

Mute potatoman
    Favourite potatoman
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:01 PM

Unless they stopped in Shannon to refuel

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:08 PM

Britain is an island too, with an unprecedented number of direct air connections to the outbreak zones in West Africa. Given the number of people transiting to Ireland via the UK, Ireland’s geography as an island means nothing.

We are utterly dependent on the UK to put in place measures to prevent its spread to this part of the World.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:23 PM

Infection with Ebola requires direct contact with the boldly fluids (blood, semen, vomit etc) of an infected person, that’s how it spreads, it’s not airborne and you don’t breathe it in as droplets like the flu.

If we heard in the morning that there were 3 Ebola cases in St Vincents Hospital there would not be much cause for alarm, they’d just be moved to an isolation unit.
    The only danger is in it mutating into something that is more easily transmitted.
    Even in that worst case scenario, where the movie outbreak or the novel executive orders happened there would be a few simple measures we could take to shut it down:
    -Declare a state of national emergency
    -Close the ports and airports and get the UK govt to do the same to the ones in NI
    -Have the Taoiseach announce that 6 hours from the state of emergency’s beginning all places of assembly (schools, shopping centers etc) would be shut down, all intercity road and rail travel would be terminated, a curfew would be in place for all nonessentials, and all congregations of more than 2 persons will be unlawful.
    -Enforce the curfew and travel bans with the army, army reserve and Garda.
    That would give people enough time to grab some groceries and get home.

We would do ok. My only concern in this kinda scenario is the lack of adequate CBRN gear for our first responders, civil defense and military. We could get those quick enough though.
    We would not be alone either, we’d have help from WHO and even the CDC in the US if we asked.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:58 PM

Not when you have mass immigration or open borders. Defeats island defence.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:07 PM

What exactly do you define as ”MASS” immigration, I’ve been hearing that for years but I’ve never heard anyone define it.
    The immigration in the EU goes both ways, plenty of our citizens go to France, UK, Cyprus etc

The point remains however, it’s a simple matter to close down that flow of people in an emergency. Germany for example can officially ”’close” it’s borders but it will still be porus because even with patrols there won’t be a wall around it.
    However if we close our ports and airports on the island the only way for people to get in or out is by personal boats and thats easier said than done for the smaller craft, and the bigger ones are easily spotted and intercepted by the navy.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:24 PM

@Ryan

Tell me did we have the same amounts of immigrants before mass immigration?

No we had a very small trickle and had secure borders, the difference in type of influx and numbers we have now and what we had then is a defining characteristic of mass immigration, one where the island retains it’s ancestral, indigenous demographic, culture and heritage.

Western Europeans do not go to each others countries in vast quantities that change the identity of the country, also we are same/similar in ancestral and cultural make-up, this is incomparable to Africans and asians coming here.

Your idea that closing ports keeps people out is naive in the extreme, and thus dangerous. Illegals have been coming to Ireland via the north since mass immigration began.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:04 PM

You’re not explaining what mass immigration is, so I can’t say what it was like before or after it.

You’re not saying what ”then” was.

So unless you’re willing to define these things, I’m not responding to you. I don’t argue with vague emotional rhetoric, get specific

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:43 PM

@Ryan

I actually have given you a working definition of that word.

But with or without such a definition one can still describe what the situation was like before and after a time when there was ongoing immigration from the time it occurred to before the time it occurred sometime around the 90′s.

For example before this time, there were next to none Africans coming here. Yet you somehow are unable to include that in any description you might give as to how it was before such a time.

Hello troll.

Mute James Franco
    Favourite James Franco
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:47 PM

Not very Christian of Mr trump

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:10 PM

My thoughts exactly. But then, this is one of the few things that all his wealth wouldn’t protect him from…

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:40 PM

It’s harsh but he’s right. Why transport the virus back to the US or anywhere else. Keep it contained where it is.

Mute Ann Mc Loughlin-O'Connor
    Favourite Ann Mc Loughlin-O'Connor
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:08 PM

I hope both of these patients can fight this terrible virus and wish them well. They were doing a selfless job helping so many. They deserve to be home near their families.

Mute Ger Kelleher
    Favourite Ger Kelleher
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:15 PM

One word – ‘isolation’
    Might be near their families but still can’t see them!

Mute Ann Mc Loughlin-O'Connor
    Favourite Ann Mc Loughlin-O'Connor
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:39 PM

I know!

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:53 PM

I’m sure America has kept the Ebola virus in a high security laboratory for decades. Probably since the first know outbreak. You know to study it and maybe even see if it could be made into a biological weapon.

Mute darragh murphy
    Favourite darragh murphy
    Aug 3rd 2014, 1:38 AM

Don’t be ridiculous. It’s a horrific virus. You think a little more of Americans.

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:57 PM

SARS was 11 years ago ? Christ.

Mute cosmological
    Favourite cosmological
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:58 PM

This is panic inducing and rightly so. It shows how these dystopian fictions aren’t so far fetched. You don’t want to catch this one.

Mute Pat Lennon
    Favourite Pat Lennon
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:56 PM

Why the hell would you bring this virus into your country, surely they could of brought the best care to the 2 unfortunate people instead of them being brought back. Somethings not right.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:12 PM

Peopke are just not understanding ebola transmission. Its as hard to transmitt as hiv

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:13 PM

West Africa as a region lacks the critical clinical equipment and personnel to provide to best care. Why would you treat somebody with serious head injuries in a rural hospital, when the best services for treating head injuries are at Beaumont?

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:18 PM

It can be transmitted in sweat I don’t think you get HIV from sweat

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:20 PM

Cholly – maybe you should head to West Africa and tell them all there’s nothing to worry about because its really hard to spread the disease. And then go to the US and tell the two patients over there because they obviously didn’t realise how difficult it was.

Mute Hank Schrader
    Favourite Hank Schrader
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:14 PM

I haven’t ever subscribed to all the conspiracy theorists but on this occasion all is not right as to why the US are really taking these 2 unfortunate people back to US soil.

I expect they want them on their patch in order to be able see what they can find out about the Ebola virus now and, hopefully not be the case, when they die of it.

Maybe it’s the case that they seriously hope they can save the two people but me thinks they want to do a few experiments in the meantime.

Here’s hoping they survive and the US can indeed learn a little more about it but I’d rather they didn’t peddle this story about wanting to do all to save their citizens etc.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:28 PM

There have been several ebola outbreaks before, they know all about it they don’t need to do any new primary research.
    They took them back to the US because they don’t have the facilities to treat them where they were.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:02 PM

@Ryan

Naive apologia.

There is nothing stopping the most advanced nations on the planet in setting up state of the art facilities in these countries. Transporting this virus to jam-packed areas is asking for trouble. Nevermind disasters like airplane crashes.

One would think that governments want Ebola to spread.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:05 PM

Conspiracy theories.

Like our govt’s have done right by us up to this, like there really were WMD’s in Iraq, when are people going to realise govt’s lie.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:11 PM

There is indeed many things stopping them. Most of these countries still carry around a kind of childish nationalism and the idea of a foreign government coming in and it’s agencies taking over a section of their country to run as they please would not go over well, besides if it’s their people they will want them back on their own soil.
    The CDC facilities are in the US, it’s a logistical nightmare to move many of these halfway across the planet for 1-2 patents when you can just fly that patient home.

I’m not even going to bother with the conspiracy nonsense, my experience with that kind of mindset is that nothing you say, no logic or facts will change their mind, 600 people see a plane crashing into the pentagon ”no no it was a missile” , you could argue it all day and they won’t change their minds because it’s not about the facts it’s about their mindset.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:18 PM

@Ryan

Nationalism is the opposite of childish, no nationalist country with it’s own currency as espoused by Libya would have succumbed to the world recession. It is interesting to note that what you would espouse as mature, results in mass devastation of peoples lives and livelihood.

I did not say transport the facilities, it is obvious temporary bio-hazard clean-facility fabrications are capable of being erected in very short time and dotted around each country.

To play around with global health is what is immature and irresponsible in the extreme.

As for your conspiracy theory opinion, what people have seen a plane crash into the pentagon?

Why at the Pennsylvania crach site there is no debris yet at the Russian MH17 crash site there is ample debris, all perfectly reasonable, in your book.

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:37 PM

America has a bad reputation for turning Drills into “actual events” …It has happened with almost every false flag to date including 9/11, Sandy Hook, , Boston Bombing and I also believe UK’s 7/7.

When we hear of drills being carried out, they should be a sign of caution

http://www.myfoxny.com/story/26170612/drill-in-new-york-city

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:07 PM

Again, I don’t argue with conspiracy theories because they are not based in rational thought, you’re just arguing with someones psychosis.

I’ve learned that lesson too many times, I’m not gonna exhaust myself debating someone who will not change their mind no matter what facts are presented to them. I’ve talked to enough truthers to know nothing anyone says will change their mind, they are fundamentally irrational.

Mute Barry Cooper
    Favourite Barry Cooper
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:20 PM

When the facts r not really facts . 9-11 commission report never explain y building 7 fell. There is and has only been 3 tall rise buildings that have ever collapsed due to fire and they all fell on the one day. Does anyome know the odds on that. I just cant belive people belive governments cause they tell ya too. If my misses cheats I will never belive ir trust her again. Its human nature .

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:48 PM

@Ryan

A conspiracy is when 2 or more people make a plan. Yet you seem to think people in govt are above making plans.

You also decline to answer a very rational argument, a contrast and comparison argument.

Plane crash in pennsylvania of one of the hijacked 9/11 aircraft left no debris, yet every other plane crash site I have seen, leaves debris including the recent Malaysian MH17, explain that.

As an engagement in rationality one should ask that question on the simplest basis of contrasting results, yet your “rationality” prefers to ignore such pertinent questions. that sunshine smacks of irrationality.

Mute Shane O'Donnell
    Favourite Shane O'Donnell
    Aug 3rd 2014, 1:37 AM

So you’re saying the plane left no wreckage. That’s a new one. Are you the only person on the planet who has spotted that flaw in this master plan? Or did you read it off some whack job website?

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:59 PM

Anyone else thinking the driver of the van is hot?

Awful situation to be in, otherwise.

Mute Bon Jonham
    Favourite Bon Jonham
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:20 PM

She’s got green fingers and half a blue face ffs!!! That’s f**ked up man..seek help!

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:24 PM

Oh no! You think she’s been infected?

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Aug 3rd 2014, 2:57 AM

She’s employed.

Mute Dorothy Kavanagh
    Favourite Dorothy Kavanagh
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:45 PM

Did I not hear on the news last night that there was to be no people leaving from that area so to contain the disease? And now I see two medical personnel have left and flown to the US. Ok it was a private jet but mistakes can be made and it could spread into the population.
    There is no cure apparently.

Mute onewrongopinon
    Favourite onewrongopinon
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:19 PM

Nice to see my correction Of your headline was deleted

Mute Emmet Galvin
    Favourite Emmet Galvin
    Aug 3rd 2014, 10:51 AM

I never realised there were so many experts on the ebola virus reading TheJournal.ie.

Mute Barry Cooper
    Favourite Barry Cooper
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:42 PM

Agenda21 . Google it

Mute Barry Cooper
    Favourite Barry Cooper
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:14 PM
    Mute md
    Favourite md
    Aug 3rd 2014, 12:41 AM