You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

tahitianlime via Flickr/Creative Commons

Children's Hospital to be built on St James's site by end of 2017, early 2018

The decision was made at a Cabinet meeting earlier today and has been announced by the government this afternoon.

THE NATIONAL CHILDREN’S Hospital will be built on a site in and around St James’s Hospital in Dublin the government has confirmed.

The hospital will be built on a 6.3 hectare site on the campus of the south inner city hospital and will be finished by the end of 2017 or early 2018, the Health Minister James Reilly confirmed today.

The announcement followed a decision by the Cabinet which only considered the issue of a National Paediatric Hospital.

A total of €400 million of government money will be made available for the construction of the hospital. The balance will be made up of Lotto funding, with this figure determined by Cabinet at a later point.

Reilly would not be drawn on the exact amount the hospital will cost saying that this could only be determined after the tendering process. However estimates put it at around €500 million.

Reilly said that the hospital, which will form the largest capital expenditure project of this government’s tenure, will advance the “economic and social development of Dublin city”.

“In the end it is about putting the children first,” Reilly said. “In these very difficult times the new children’s hospital can become a beacon for all of us.”

The announcement was made today at a press conference where Reilly, Children’s Minister Frances Fitzgerald and junior health minister Alex White were in attendance.

Mater site

Also in attendance was the author of a report into potential sites, Dr Frank Dolphin, who spearheaded a review of sites in the wake of An Bord Pleanála refusing planning permission for the site originally earmarked for the Mater Hospital earlier this year.

Reilly said that €39 million had been spent on the Mater site but said he was advised that €13 million of this can be “reused in the St James’s location” meaning that €26 million would be lost.

He said that “given that the significant risk that remains about planning at Mater site” the government was happy to proceed with the site at St James’s.

Responding to the announcement today, the Fianna Fáil health spokesperson, Bill Kelleher, called on the government to expedite the process of design, planning and development of the hospital.

He said: “While I welcome today’s decision it is important now that the Government brings about clarity in relation to the funding that will be needed for the new site and the timeline by which the hospital will be delivered.

“Children have waited long enough for a world-class healthcare facility and it should be delivered a matter of the utmost priority for Government.”

Read: Plans for nine storey children’s hospital on St. James’s site revealed

Read: More details emerge on Coombe National Children’s Hospital proposal

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:44 PM

I don’t care where it’s built, once there is easy access for everyone and the children get the services needed when finished. I am sick of hearing about, so many millions spent on an EU presidency and no health services for kids!

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 6th 2012, 5:25 PM

Hey Coco. You looked like a real clown there, didn’t ya? Nice attempting at reversing out. Bit obvious, though….

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Nov 6th 2012, 6:11 PM

play a different tune vincent, why not try and contribute to a discussion for once?

Mute Stacey Redmond
    Favourite Stacey Redmond
    Nov 6th 2012, 9:15 PM

Jesus Vincent ok disagree with the guy, no need to get so nasty

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 6th 2012, 9:31 PM

Hi Stacy. He knows how to give it too. Besides. I absolutely guarantee you he’s sitting there in front of his PC with a green wig on, comedy size 20 shoes, wearing a flower on his lapel that squirts water…

Mute Darren Swan
    Favourite Darren Swan
    Nov 6th 2012, 9:40 PM

Stacey, not Stacy ;-)

Mute Laura Marie Purcell
    Favourite Laura Marie Purcell

I was hoping to see it built on the outskirts of Dublin so that it would be easily accessible to the whole of the country. I would have much preferred a more centralised part of Ireland for the hospital Dublin already has Crumlin!!!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:47 PM

I think you’ll find Laura that the idea of new National Children’s Hospital is to consolidate all the children’s hospitals to one location.

Mute Laura Marie Purcell
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:53 PM

Children’s University Hospital, Temple Street, Dublin
    Our Lady’s Hospital for Sick Children, Crumlin, Dublin
    Tallaght Children’s Hospital, Tallaght

All of which are in Dublin Reg

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:57 PM

Well Dublin is the capital Laura with more than a quarter of the population of the country living within 50km of the city center. Where did you expect them to put it exactly? Do you also expect all the staff from the existing hospitals to move elsewhere in the country?

Mute Damien O'Connell
    Favourite Damien O'Connell
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:02 PM

@laura the idea is to amalgamate all the children’s hospitals into one super centre, and international best practice would dictate collocation with a tertiary adult hospital. Plus the Coombe will b there too. It should be some campus when completed. A location such as one off the M50 would be logistically nice but standards should take precedence..

Mute Laura Marie Purcell
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:04 PM

I expect to have a hospital that is easily accessible to all the people living in Ireland, ok so a quarter of the population lives in Dublin or surrounding it, but the other three quarters deserve to have a hospital that is easily enough accessible… Athlone would be the most central part of the country

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:10 PM

Yes Athlone would be geographically the centre of the country but all the transport infrastructure that was built in the country over the last 15 years means that Dublin is pretty accessible from most places now. You don’t address my point about all the staff, many who are specialists in paediatric medicine having to move to Athlone though.

Mute Laura Marie Purcell
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:14 PM

Reg I would be happier having 2 smaller ‘superhospitals’ for kids one in perhaps cork and the other in dublin. Anyway a more suitable position would have been somewhere along the m50 perhap 20 or 30 kms outside of Dublin city to make it more accessible to everybody

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:23 PM

Having another children’s hospital in Cork would be a “nice to have” alright. Given the state of the country’s finances though I wouldn’t hold my breath. Unfortunately when we had some money Bertie was more interested in building a vanity sports stadium as a legacy to himself.

Mute James Connolly
    Favourite James Connolly
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:32 PM

Laura, the hospital must be located on the grounds of teaching and maternity hospitals, therefore – Dublin. Two hospitals would be nice, but there will be difficulty filling positions in the one hospital, never mind 2.
    Athlone is a perfect location – if you live in Galway or Dublin – otherwise you have to take roads that are not hospital ready – and make them hospital. Given all this James hospital really was the only option available – the rest was a waste of time.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:35 PM

Laura, it would be easy to get to athlone from Galway but difficult from Wexford. Dublin has the population base and is central.

Mute Damien O'Connell
    Favourite Damien O'Connell
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:36 PM

“2 smaller super hospitals” this in itself is contradictory. I live in Donegal, as the crow flies Dublin is further away than Athlone, but it’s a hell of a lot easier to get to. A lot of the medical and surgical experts work between the main Dublin hospitals and Crumlin/Temple St. eg cardiothoracic,neuro,opthalmic surgeons, and intensive care specialists. So moving away from where the experts are is not a great idea..

Mute 180228
    Favourite 180228
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:35 PM

Oh for God’s sake. Suppose it’s better than the Mater, but not by much.

Mute jumpthecat
    Favourite jumpthecat
    Nov 6th 2012, 8:59 PM

I love the ’80s ward picture.

Mute marie turk
    Favourite marie turk
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:22 PM

i def agree that it’s the best location. a lot of people travel by train and James is so accessible to both train stations. the luas stops in the grounds. its only a ten minute drive from m50 and you could also park at park and ride at red cow and get luas in. at last a good decision by government

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 6th 2012, 6:00 PM

It’s far from 10 minutes during heavy traffic and hopping from train to luas is not realistic if you have your sick or injured child with you. City is a disasterous location, it’s a nightmare when you need to get to a hospital.

Mute piohmy
    Favourite piohmy
    Nov 6th 2012, 6:36 PM

Marie the last thing the Rialto area needs is another couple of thousand vehicles a day coming into the area, factor in the extra hospital staff, caterers, cleaners, maintenence, deliveries, & that’s before patients & visitors. Your not going to travel from far away with a sick child to wait at a luas stop in the cold to park n ride to a hospital that should have been on outskirts of Dublin

Mute John McG
    Favourite John McG
    Nov 6th 2012, 7:49 PM

Public transport is ok for staff & some visitors but the increase in traffic will have a kock on effect all over the southside. There are a lot of bottle necks where traffic has to come down to one lane, imagine an ambulance trying to get past them. A greenfield site where all the hospitals that are needed could be built to the best standards and are right next door to each other is surely the best option. It might take ten years to complete but we would have the best.

Mute Ben Thomas
    Favourite Ben Thomas
    Nov 6th 2012, 8:50 PM

Most people will avoid bringing a sick child on public transport like the Luas or bus if they can. I have to bring my daughter to Crumlin regularly and as she’s having chemo has to avoid crowded enclosed spaces like these, and last week even with the schools off it still took 30-45 mins to get to Newlands cross in the late afternoon from Crumlin. St James will take longer still. just outside M50 would have been a more suitable location. Still close to Dublin and more accessible to the rest of the country.

Mute Aaron Daly
    Favourite Aaron Daly
    Mar 17th 2015, 11:20 PM

m50 – james 10 min?? maybe at 4 in the morning. The reality is that this is the wrong location for the thousands of families that are using the facility and don’t live in the dublin area. Try driving from Donegal with a sick child to get to an appointment for 930am at James. Add in your suggestion that we park at red cow and get the luas…. give us a break, wheelchair, bags, meds.. donst work. never mind the additional costs and disruptions that building in a city centre location is costing plus delays and they have already made a world class mistake in the choosing of the wrong site. We are using the existing services for years, countless trips to crumlin and believe me that we have rarely met a parent that agrees that James is the right site. It couldn’t be anymore wrong for the future generations of Irelands sick children…

Mute Neil McAuley
    Favourite Neil McAuley
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:34 PM

‘Children have waited long enough for a world class healthcare facility’ says Kelleher. The sheer audacity and brazenness of FF is beyond words. Ye were in govt for 14 of the last 15 yrs Billy !!! I’d say around 40% rather than a quarter of the population live within 50km of Dublin city centre.A site on the periphery of Dublin would have been ideal.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:53 PM

A lousy decision by a lousy government via a totally discredited minister for health.

Fianna fail in cheap suits aided and abetted by a sold out labour party.

Mute paul mc
    Favourite paul mc
    Nov 6th 2012, 4:11 PM

Why is it a lousy decision, then?

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 6th 2012, 5:26 PM

Another lousy, lazy, I’ll conceived anti-Government crap comment by you, you mean….

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 6th 2012, 5:27 PM

ill conceived

Mute Garry Fitzgerald
    Favourite Garry Fitzgerald
    Nov 6th 2012, 7:53 PM

Werejammin
    Take something for that upset stomach . Your infecting everyone around you!

Mute Kevin Cooney
    Favourite Kevin Cooney
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:18 PM

End of 2017, early of 2018 translation 2221/2.

Mute Irish Mule
    Favourite Irish Mule
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:43 PM

Have to disagree with this site, as a dub it suits me grand but it’s terrible for D rest of population. A site with easier access wud hav made more sense and included d maternity hospital. No one has mentioned d cost and hassle of d materials and construction traffic that will hav to access the site via gridlocked roads

Mute paul mc
    Favourite paul mc
    Nov 6th 2012, 4:13 PM

Where is more accessible to the majority of this country than Dublin?

Mute Ben Thomas
    Favourite Ben Thomas
    Nov 6th 2012, 8:56 PM

Paul…. just outside the M50. This would still be convenient for Dublin. Ask anyone travelling into Dublin from around the country with sick kids. Its the slowest part of the journey.

Mute Aaron Broughill
    Favourite Aaron Broughill
    Nov 6th 2012, 11:16 PM

Blanchardstown – where there is acres of land available in the grounds of the Hospital already there

Mute Gus Lynch
    Favourite Gus Lynch
    Nov 7th 2012, 12:39 AM

@Aaron spot on. There’s space within the hospital grounds to build the required ancillary departments. There’s space to build dedicated exits from both the M50 & N3. There’s space for a helipad to be built for serious injury victims to be flown in. There are rail links that are nearby – Castleknock, Clonsilla & M3 Parkway that could be designated ‘Park& Ride’ for transport to the hospital. Typical lack of foresight in this country, saving money in the short term, but yet diminishing future service for the future.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 6th 2012, 6:14 PM

James Connolly is just off the M50 at the Blanchardstown exit, on the M3, less than a minutes drive from the M50 in fact. There are several bus routes and an Irish rail stop not far either. Not to mention the Travel lodge less than 5 minutes away. How this site wasn’t snapped up is beyond me, or even the Phoenix Park racecourse. Having had to drive to Temple St with an injured child, I can asdure you, it’s no picnic being stuck in traffic listening to your child scream. I know there are ambulances but when it’s not life threatening, it’s not really right to stretch that service even more than it is. James Hospital is far from 10 minutes from the M50 during morning, lunch or rush hour traffic.

Mute Ben Thomas
    Favourite Ben Thomas
    Nov 6th 2012, 9:12 PM

Andrea, I cant understand why you are getting red thumbs for that comment. You are completely correct.

Mute Kieran Crosbie Staunton
    Favourite Kieran Crosbie Staunton
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:55 PM

Can anyone provide a location within the grounds of St James Hospital for the proposed site? I know that our car parking area is a potential site for the building.

Mute Eoin Moynihan
    Favourite Eoin Moynihan
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:41 PM
    Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:38 PM

How much is all this costing, will the services be there when it’s built and why not a central location?

Mute Conor Carroll
    Favourite Conor Carroll
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:39 PM

How much more central do you want than James’ ?

Mute James Connolly
    Favourite James Connolly
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:43 PM

How much more central can one get than St James’ Hospital?!

Mute Revolting Peasant

central dublin is the worst place for it, central ireland maybe, or at least near the m50

Mute Gary Sommerville
    Favourite Gary Sommerville
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:47 PM

It’s 5, 10 mins max away from the m50

Mute Conor Carroll
    Favourite Conor Carroll
    Nov 6th 2012, 2:51 PM

Its 10 minutes from the M50 and on the Luas line which connects James’ to Heuston, Connolly, Bus Áras within 10 minutes. And it’s going to cost roughly the same no matter where in the country they put it. I think its a pretty good choice of location

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:20 PM

hahahaha 10 minutes from the m50, not at 5 in the evening its not

Mute James Connolly
    Favourite James Connolly
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:27 PM

If it needs to be 10 minutes from the m50, call an ambulance.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:30 PM

Center of what? Would you like it in the center of O’Connell street?!
    Would that be central enough for you?!

Mute Jeroen Bos
    Favourite Jeroen Bos
    Nov 7th 2012, 12:15 AM

Is this children’s hospital only for children from Dublin? I think with Stephen meant more a central location in the middle of the country.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:05 PM

€26m just like that.

Would have kept a few wards open elsewhere.

Nov 6th 2012, 3:29 PM

Was just about to ask can anyone explain where the €26m went? On planning for the Mater site?

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:46 PM

Architects fees, engineering fees, urban planers fees, m&e fees, staff inside the mater (see below), government reports, lawyers fees, some construction work, PR events, public consultation events

Consultants, doctors, nurses, managers and more managers who worked on the project over the last 15 years

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Nov 6th 2012, 6:11 PM

Could someone explain to me what is wrong with placing it at Tallaght hospital. Its just off the m50, luas goes by it and good amount of land around it for expansion. Also as far as L’m aware it was designed to be increased upwards if required. I am open to correction. Saying that St James is a better choice than the Maher.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Nov 6th 2012, 7:04 PM

it doesn’t have the specialist facilities james, beaumount or the matter have in reality only these three were ever in the running

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Nov 6th 2012, 7:33 PM

thanks baz. man i get thumbed down for asking a question. tough crowd

Mute Bernie Osgood
    Favourite Bernie Osgood
    Nov 6th 2012, 6:08 PM

It’s disgusting to say that 30 people were queuing in temple st yesterday morning, 8 children that have their blood taken exactly and 9.30 to measure antirejection levels only 2 phlebitomists available at least 4 of the children had to be woken at 5.00 am or earlier in order to travel to temple st for this service . Can I say we are happy about location in Dublin no I can’t. M50 location is the only fair and free option

Mute Bernie Osgood
    Favourite Bernie Osgood
    Nov 6th 2012, 10:11 PM

Any red thumbs ever had to frequent one of the children’s hospitals in Dublin ?

Mute finbar m
    Favourite finbar m
    Nov 6th 2012, 3:53 PM

No matter were it is , just get it built quicker or will this go on and on ,,, did they not look for it here a few years ago and got turned down for planning ,it’s not a bad place for it plenty of park and ride with the Luas for ppl conning for other county’s

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Nov 6th 2012, 5:51 PM

They can waste €26 million on the Mater site, yet I might end up in court for not paying the Household Charge.
    F&@k your household charge

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Nov 6th 2012, 5:14 PM

Im amazed that there are 6.3 hectare available at the rialto corner of James ‘ I would love to see an aerial photo of this ..anyone got any links to aerial photo s

Mute Charlie Carlisle
    Favourite Charlie Carlisle
    Nov 6th 2012, 5:21 PM

Google has

Mute Richard Coady
    Favourite Richard Coady
    Nov 6th 2012, 4:29 PM

People seem to forget the sky rocking cost of petrol. By the time the hospital is built and operational, how many people will have given up on cars for public transport? St James is a great location, hospital ALREADY there which makes huge sense. Heuston station going to all major population centres south of Dublin, and the Luas outside the door. Bus Eireann at Bus Aras, straight on the Luas. When petrol hits 2 and 3 euro a litre, what good is a huge hospital on the M50 – with no supplementary facilities nearby?

And aside from people on the M6 and people in Athlone, getting to a National Children’s Hospital in the midlands would be a disaster.

Mute Mike Thomas
    Favourite Mike Thomas
    Nov 6th 2012, 5:55 PM

When it’s finished will they rename it St James’s Reilly Hospital ?

Mute John Rice
    Favourite John Rice
    Nov 6th 2012, 8:18 PM

26 million down the toilet and very few people annoyed about it.

All the sites had their good points & bad points. I’d have been happy with any one of them initially but since such a huge sum has been spent on Mater so far it would have been smarter to proceed with it. This is where the petty narrow minded party politics comes into it. FG/Labour were happy to see the 26 million wasted as they were worried about perceptions of Bertie’s fingerprints being on Mater site. A lot of money wasted just to make a cheap party political point.

Remember this when they’re cutting home help hours next month. My mother certainly will.

Mute Bob groover
    Favourite Bob groover
    Nov 6th 2012, 9:22 PM

Was there any announcement as to what James Reillys cut out of the 500m will be? Or which of his friends will win the “open” tendering process?

Mute Ruth Brannick
    Favourite Ruth Brannick
    Nov 6th 2012, 9:39 PM

I work in James and the traffic is so bad getting there and now they are taking another car park in a hospital that is impossible for even the staff to get parking in…

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Nov 6th 2012, 5:15 PM

Just get on with it, cut out the long planning process that’s going to happen.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Nov 6th 2012, 6:21 PM

St. James’s Hospital has good links via the Luas to both Dublin’s two main train stations and it main bus terminal and while its not directly on the M50 its is accessible from it in a reasonable time frame. Not every case going to the hospital will be an emergency case and so for normal day-to-day appointments it will give people a possible alternative to having to drive.

Best medical practice says that a Children’s Hospital should be co-located with a major adult hospital and given that most of our major hospitals are in central locations, James’s was probably the best option. All I can say is lets get on with building it now. If only there was some way of shortening the planning process with this it could be built earlier.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 8th 2012, 10:33 PM

Best medical practise says that this hospital should be built beside a maternity hospital Jim. Children are not little adults. Their illnesses are very different and staff are very specialised. You really should talk to the people in Crumlin who know what they are talking about.

Mute Annette Kelly
    Favourite Annette Kelly
    Nov 6th 2012, 11:35 PM

The staff are marvelous in Crumlin but parts of the hospital is so out dated that i’d welcome the hospital anywhere and now that we are attending clinics in St James its not as difficult to get to as Crumlin, while the staff were marvelous, the hospital facilities were so out dated in 2006, that i just want to see a hospital built, particularly for teenagers who fall between the adult treatment centers and the children’s ones for cancer……also if i remember correctly the Mater site wasn’t going to have a parents facility for them to stay……….which is vital for parents with critically ill children regardless where they have to travel from……when the Mater site was 1st considered

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Nov 6th 2012, 9:20 PM

Dublin City Manager oversaw all this planning shambles – does it mea he looses his job. It has cost €35million and lost years of care for kids. Will anybody in the planning department get fired?
    I bet they get increases in salaries no matter how incompetent. Why are the unions not looking for the people responsible for this cock-up.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 8th 2012, 10:30 PM

It really is a pity the government didnt take into account what the paeds specialists in Crumlin Hospital suggested. They wanted the hospital built beside the Coombe. St James’s merely wanted it at their site because it reflected well on them and had nothing to do with what was best for the care of sick children. This is a disgrace. There is NO space in SJH for this hospital. The site at the Coombe is 20 acres with ample bus routes, the luas route but more importantly, plenty of space for parking and for expansion potential. I bet down the line we find out that bribes were taken for this. What a sad day for children and their care. No one listened to those who actually do the caring and who know what these children need. This country really is a sham.

Mute Paul Whelan
    Favourite Paul Whelan
    Nov 7th 2012, 1:25 PM

When they bring in the bulldozers at James, hopefully they will also attend to the adjacent site to the Coombe hospital that was touted as the new hospital location but is now earmarked for “possible future development”. By flattening the Player Wills factory and the flats at Teresas Gardens, it can at least be used, at the very minimum, as a parking facility while the powers that be decide what to do with this currently derelict city council land.