You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

China to become top export destination for Ireland

It is expected the UK, USA and Germany will remain the top three destinations but countries

NEW TRADE FORECASTS show growth in exports to Asia will support an overall increased performance from Ireland with China overtaking France and Japan to become the country’s fourth largest export destination by 2030.

Although Ireland’s main export markets of the UK, USA and Germany will remain the top three destinations, the main growth areas for its exports lie in emerging Asia, according to HSBC’s latest Global Connections trade forecast. This is evidenced by forecasted growth in exports to China of 11 per cent per annum in the period 2016-2030.

Alongside China, the forecasts also show India and Vietnam as the fastest-growing export markets to 2030, with Malaysia and Indonesia also becoming increasingly important.

Managing Director and Ireland Head of HSBC Alan Duffy said emerging markets are “developing at a phenomenal pace and are set to reshape world trade patterns over the next 20 years”. He said understanding which sectors are growing allows businesses to plan ahead and capitalise on trends.

For example, a shift towards the production of higher-value goods, particularly evident in Asia, means that developed nations will also need to evolve the goods they export, operating increasingly at the higher-end of sectors. This means that Ireland’s export prospects depend to a large degree on the inward investment in pharmaceutical and chemical manufacturing and hi-tech sectors that have driven rapid growth in the past as well as increasing sophistication from Ireland’s home-grown exporters.

Ireland’s overall export performance is expected to be relatively favourable compared to its Western European peers. Growth in merchandise exports from Ireland is, for example is forecast to outstrip the UK, France and Germany in the period 2021-2030.

Exports to the main markets in Europe (excluding Russia) are forecast to grow by about 3 per cent per year in 2013-15, but should then pick up to about 4 per cent in 2016-20. Exports to Asia (excluding Japan) and North America are also expected to accelerate in 2016-20, reflecting the pace of demand in key emerging markets and a gradual strengthening in prospects for the US.

As well as the main emerging markets in Asia, export markets such as Turkey and some in the Middle East will also grow strongly in the period ahead, including the United Arab Emirates, to which Irish exports are forecast to grow 11 per cent per annum in 2013-15 and then some 7-8 per cent per year in 2016-30. Exports to Saudi Arabia and Egypt are seen growing by 8 per cent per annum in 2021-30.

Ireland’s main export strength in the coming years will be in chemicals, pharmaceuticals, scientific apparatus and ICT equipment. Chemical exports are forecast to contribute over 30 per cent to the increase in total exports throughout the entire forecast period, while the contribution from pharmaceuticals to the increase in exports will rise from 26 per cent in 2013-15 to 30 per cent in 2016-20 and then to 34 per cent in 2020-30, overtaking chemicals. Shipments of scientific apparatus will contribute around 6-7 per cent to the rise in total exports in the period 2013-30.

In China, export growth in Information & Communications Technology and Industrial Machinery gathers pace. This balances a declining rate of growth in sectors such as Textiles, giving rise to opportunities for companies in the smaller, faster growing countries around the region to win contracts to produce these more basic goods.

Other countries making the move up the supply chain are Malaysia and Argentina. Malaysia’s top exportable goods will shift from lower-value sectors such as Animals and Vegetable Oils to higher-end industrial machinery, which will make the largest contribution to Malaysia’s export growth by 2030. Argentina’s top export sectors will change from Animal Products to Transport Equipment and Industrial Machinery.

You can read the whole forecast here.

Read: Almost 3,000 live cattle to be exported to Libya tomorrow>
Read: Irish exports at highest levels since 2002>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

14 Comments
    Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jan 4th 2016, 7:37 PM

I hate the race card being played, ie even though the mother acknowledges that it is likely due to having the same name as someone else of importance, she blames it on being Muslim.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Jan 4th 2016, 7:41 PM

It is the race card! Surely they can differentiate between people of same name!

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jan 4th 2016, 7:56 PM

Islam isn’t a race.

Mute Pt pat
    Favourite Pt pat
    Jan 4th 2016, 7:58 PM

The problem is probably with the computers and I’d say the people working security have to check him if he comes up as a security risk even if they know he’s not a risk. It seems like an innocent mistake.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:04 PM

John for Christ sake you can use the term race for a variety of things now.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:10 PM

James, no, you can’t, unless, you are suggesting that Scientology is also a race? As the previous poster said, likely a computer glitch tagging the same name. I’m sure the parents could have just notified the relevant authorities and do it without a fuss, but hey, you can’t stir up some “racial” debate then.

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:20 PM

I believe this kind of thing (being unfortunate enough to share a name with a criminal and being flagged because of it) happens to white people and non-Muslims too. Racism my ass!

Jan 4th 2016, 9:39 PM

Eh John you mentioned the race card for being a Muslim! It’s in your first post. But you’re right being Muslim is not a race.

Jan 4th 2016, 9:45 PM

Bingo he’s six! We’re not talking about a grown man!! He is obviously not the person that could be a terrorist because he is six but is still checked the same because he is a Muslim. You would feel angry if you’re child happened to have the same name as a criminal/terrorist but was treated just as severely. Especially if he were six!!!

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jan 4th 2016, 10:07 PM

John B: “I hate the race card being played”
    John B: “Islam isn’t a race”

Pick one….

If there’s one thing worse than someone being pedantic about profiling it’s some donkey contradicting themselves by being pedantic about profiling.

The kid is 6 FFS.

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Jan 4th 2016, 10:21 PM

Deborah, I really wouldn’t – if it meant the safety of children and other people in general – I wouldn’t feel angry about it.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Jan 5th 2016, 6:25 AM

Bingo, so you say because you don’t have that problem at the moment, if you were affected you’d sing a different tune

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 5th 2016, 6:39 AM

Deborah, Islamic extremists are not above using children in their attacks or plots. Children can and have been purposely added to lists like this due to close association with known terrorists or terrorist sympathisers.

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Jan 5th 2016, 7:21 AM

Larissa, NO, I’m saying I would not sing a different tune.

Mute Ron Koeman
    Favourite Ron Koeman
    Jan 5th 2016, 8:05 AM

Anyone who defends this or thinks it’s OK to have a 6 year old on a list such as this is a half wit.

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Jan 4th 2016, 7:36 PM

Cus his name is same as the guy they’re actually looking for …perhaps?

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jan 7th 2016, 12:56 AM

The guy they’re looking for can hardly disguise himself as a child now can they?

Mute Leila Gregory
    Favourite Leila Gregory
    Jan 4th 2016, 10:19 PM

Oh for god sake. This is common practice now in counties and airlines. You provide Advance Passenger Information to airlines who give them to the airlines & immigration/homeland security. They check No Fly lists and flag anyone with the same name. The check is done at that airport and you can travel. If they are that bothered apply for a Redress Number and this is then given at the time of booking and bingo…no more issues. This could happen to any person of any skin colour or religion. Once someone with the same name as you does something dodgy, you get the fallout. It’s a robot somewhere checking, not a person!!!

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jan 7th 2016, 12:58 AM

Yeah, after forging the passport in a name that’s on a watch list, the potential terrorist jumped into a machine that did a “Vice versa” job on it and the only reason they got through is because Judge Reinhold came along and said “It’s been done”

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:43 PM

The amount of Muslim families that travel to/from North America whom we don’t hear about, would lead me to believe that there is more to this story than, as usual, the Journal has researched. Maybe he has a DHP because family may try to take him from the country (are they on the list?), and this will flag him up?

I have friends who own property in Canada/US, of Muslim faith, and they have not faced problems when travelling with their kids.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jan 4th 2016, 10:13 PM

About the author:
    Associated Press

The Journal buys in (which, admittedly, many news sites do – though the journal tends to let the price go down before DOB opens his wallet) stories so it’s not the journal’s research.

What you’re talking about isn’t so much journalism as investigation. Speculating on % of muslims versus world population on flight lists by suggesting “I wonder……” doesn’t say anything either.

What says something is that this is a SIX YEAR OLD.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:19 PM

Over dramatic. Clearly a glitch or guilty by association. Parents on a suspicious watch list maybe

Mute Ron Koeman
    Favourite Ron Koeman
    Jan 5th 2016, 8:08 AM

So you have no problem with such a glitch? Imagine it wasn’t spotted and he ended up on that list into adulthood?

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Favourite Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:35 PM

Did he have a clock? Or is this just another crock?

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Jan 4th 2016, 9:18 PM

You really hate that Muslim child, don’t you? Let it out, all that hatred.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Jan 4th 2016, 9:41 PM

And you proudly display the French flag, the flag of a murderous imperialist country that millions literally millions in Africa.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jan 4th 2016, 10:14 PM

No sign of PJOC when there are Israeli terrorists.

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:54 PM

@tony Canning……Still working with that charity fixin;up the injured ISIS guys Tony?

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Jan 5th 2016, 12:13 AM

@PeterTasasov……..Idiotic comment…..idiotic man/boy!

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jan 7th 2016, 12:54 AM

No Patrick – I went out there to try to help with people who had suffered due to warfare. I’ll be continuing trying to support but am DELIGHTED to report to you that the PEOPLE I worked with who had no interest in anything other than seeing a free and open Syria and who had nothing but hatred for daesh and what they see as the theft of a revolution by fundamentalist forces have arrived in Berlin a number of months ago.

But I know what you think – because you assume a lot of things. I have never once mentioned the religion of those involved – but you assume them to be muslim. But that’s the Pro-Israel-no-matter-what-the-criticism reaction you give……

So here’s the deal Patrick “don’t call me an islamaphobe because I’ll quote you a dissertation that suits my agenda” JOC.
    You keep presenting me as some kind of terrorist sympathiser and I will sign off every single comment I ever make on this site with:
    “Patrick J O’Connor often comments on this site. Keep your own scoresheet on how often he is not willing to comment on negative points in Israel that even the Israeli press are willing to be honest about. Every person and/or group deserves criticism when criticism is justified. PJOC simply despises Muslims – If you pay attention this bias will be obvious. This is a disgustingly biased man who tries to tar people who don’t agree with him as being “Jew-haters” or “terrorist sympathisers” in a habitual manner. None of this is to be in any way critical of what this foolish man believes in – however, the continuing biased narrative deserves criticism in the obviously aggressive and self-serving, fear induced trajectory that he doesn’t appear to be able to leave.”

Also – grow up.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 4th 2016, 7:50 PM

It’s 6 year old boys and 90 year old ladies who are most dangerous. I saw a 90 year old lady in a wheelchair in Atlanta Airport get the third degree.

The other obvious terrorist risks are young blonde Caucasian mothers with little crying babies. Typical terrorist profiles.

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:05 PM

Fiona, So you’re saying some sort of common sense profiling IS a good idea then? I agree!

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:14 PM

Aisha, Yes – married at 6! According to the Hadith she went to Mohammed’s house with her dolls at the age of 9! (shiver)

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:14 PM

I saw a video of a cute little 5 year old terrorist making threats earlier today, wonder where he’ll end up. It just goes to show that terrorism knows no boundaries, age or otherwise.

Jan 4th 2016, 10:33 PM

That’s a heartbreaking read , Vladimir .

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:35 PM

Vlad, It’s sickening!! Are her diaries in the Hadiths or did you read them somewhere else? I read roughly what you read (in the Hadith) – but as far as memory serves it suggested she first went to Mohammed’s house after her sickness at the age of 9 – but there are lots of passages and lots of authors and they can vary. Some truly horrible things in those books!

Mute HOTBank
    Favourite HOTBank
    Jan 5th 2016, 7:26 AM

Why are the Koran and Hadiths accurate history while the Torah is a fairy story?

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Favourite Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Jan 5th 2016, 7:04 PM

It seems that the sickening truth about Islam’s founder, Muhammad must not be spoken or written, – well, not in the Journal.ie anyway.
    I guess the Clonskeagh gang made a few phone calls/threats.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mtrtxW_64PU

Jan 5th 2016, 9:03 PM

Did that truthful comment you made get deleted Vladimir ?

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Jan 6th 2016, 1:04 AM

indeed it did Suzie.
    The truth is incompatible with Islam.
    - A criminal organization masquerading as a ‘religion of peace’
    I weep for our future generations of beautiful young girls, – sex-fodder for these amoral paedophile-worshippers.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/sexual-assaults-german-city-new-years-eve-2532129-Jan2016/
    -
    http://dailycaller.com/2015/10/23/sweden-opened-its-doors-to-muslim-immigration-today-its-the-rape-capital-of-the-west-japan-didnt/

Jan 4th 2016, 10:26 PM

How did she cone to the conclusion it’s because he’s Muslim ? Would it not be because he’s the same name as a suspected terrorist maybe ?

Jan 4th 2016, 10:33 PM

*come *

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Jan 4th 2016, 10:15 PM

Muslim fundamentalists seem to have no problem with using children to carry out atrocities.
    No other religion in the world advocated this obscene practice.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UKv2GGw7f4M

Mute wiklagirl
    Favourite wiklagirl
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:44 PM

Don’t know why they bothered to black out the flight info on the screen when it’s still showing on the top banner – Air Canada 17Dec flight from Toronto (YYZ) to Halifax (YHZ).

Mute wiklagirl
    Favourite wiklagirl
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:50 PM

Also the screenshot relates to a 17Dec internal Canadian flight not an 31Dec international flight to Boston. Something not adding up here …

Mute Sinéad
    Favourite Sinéad
    Jan 4th 2016, 7:36 PM

Mulsim, seriously?

Mute Nigel Davis
    Favourite Nigel Davis
    Jan 4th 2016, 11:40 PM

This is terrible, children are totally innocent, aren’t they?

‘Child in Islamic State execution video is my grandson, says London man’

http://www.thejournal.ie/grandson-islamic-state-2531023-Jan2016/

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:30 PM

Islamophobia, in all its ugliness.

Mute Mo A Hamhead
    Favourite Mo A Hamhead
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:34 PM

A word made up by some journo. Like baby spice. Ye loon

Mute Santa Claus
    Favourite Santa Claus
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:47 PM

Islamophobic hatred rears its ugly head again.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jan 4th 2016, 8:49 PM

A phobia is an irrational fear. With terrorist attacks and threats of the same by Muslim terrorists becoming more frequent, terrorists hiding among refugees like the Paris suicide bombers who travelled through Greece, trepidation or caution among Muslims not known to you is quite rational. Its not our fault the threat is constant

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Jan 4th 2016, 9:17 PM

Jimmy — BOO!

You sound like a frightened child.

Mute Marg murphy
    Favourite Marg murphy
    Jan 5th 2016, 1:01 PM

@petr Tarsov. Are you a grown up? Does your mom know you’re talking shite on the Internet.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 4th 2016, 9:21 PM

This is not new or uncommon. There are quite a number of people on so called no fly lists who state that they have no idea why they are on them. Some are cases of mistaken identity. Some are the consequence of idiots inputting data incorrectly. The problem is that it is extremely difficult once placed on a list to get off that list for any reason or even to have someone acknowledge that you are on a list. National security don’t you know.

This is actually a real problem. Many people in such circumstances are Muslim (for obvious reasons). The underlying problem is the lack of any accountability or appeals mechanism especially in the USA. Security is essential but so is some mechanism for accountability for decisions that impose such restrictions on individual liberty with no effective oversight or redress.

Mute Packie O'Sullivan
    Favourite Packie O'Sullivan
    Jan 5th 2016, 2:26 AM

Syed Ahmed (the adult terrorist) if you didn’t know before, you now know they’re onto you!