You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Quiz: How much do you know about China?

Go on, test yourself.

This article is part of The Good Information Project, a new initiative from The Journal to help create greater understanding of big issues we face. This month we are focussing on the question ‘What is Ireland’s relationship like with China?’

CHINA IS ONE of the biggest countries in the world, with one of the biggest economies. 

Over the last month, as part of the Good Information Project, The Journal has been looking at China and Ireland’s relationship with one of the world’s superpowers. 

How much do you remember? And how much do you know about China? Take our quiz below to test your knowledge.

How many languages are spoken in China?
Shutterstock/Keitma

Can you actually see the Great Wall of China from space?
Shutterstock/aphotostory
Yes
No
With the recent gorgeous weather, takeaway pints have been all the rage. When did the Chinese first start drinking pints (or at least, when does the first evidence of alcoholic drinks date from)?
Shutterstock
1,054 AD
7,000 BC

~3,500 BC
120 AD
In 2019, there was a 25% reduction in passport fees in China, encouraging interest in international travel. How many people in China own a passport?
Imaginechina/SIPA USA/PA Images
1 in ten
1 in 20

Half of all people
9 out of ten people
If China was 100 people, 28 of them would smoke. But how many of these 28 would be women?
Shutterstock

How many people in China are overweight?
Shutterstock
Two-thirds of all people
No one is

One-quarter of all people
Over half of all people
What is the highest ranking university in China?
Shutterstock
Tsinghua University
Trinity College Shanghai

Beijing University of Technology
Tibet University
How many millionaires are there in China?
Shutterstock
5.21 million

1.58 million
Does China allow same-sex marriage?
Yes
No
And finally, how many Irish people are there living in Greater China?
Shutterstock

Answer all the questions to see your result!
You scored out of !
Turtley awful
Shell of a bad effort
Share your result:
You scored out of !
What are ewe doing?
Baaaad
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Fintastic
Flippin' good
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Clever cat
Almost purr-fect
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Top dog
Paws-itively perfect
Share your result:

45 Comments
    Mute Thomas Smyth
    Favourite Thomas Smyth
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:18 PM

You forgot to ask, “how many genocides are they committing right now?”. Or “how many deadly viruses did their negligence unleash upon the world?”. “How many cigarettes a day is Beijing air the equivalent of smoking”… I could go on.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:41 PM

@Thomas Smyth: I guess ye didn’t bother with the quiz Thomas.

Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies
    Jun 7th 2021, 11:55 PM

@Thomas Smyth: well, there’s the Tibetans, the uighurs, there Mongols and many other minority groups. I suppose when it comes to diseases ther’s sars, mers, bird flu, swine flu, man flu, covid 19. With regards to air pollution in Beijing it would depend on what we’re smoking, john player or major?

Mute Mark Twomey
    Favourite Mark Twomey
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:27 PM

Why is the journal obsessed over China?

Mute reginald
    Favourite reginald
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:38 PM

@Mark Twomey: they are going to buy our little island

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Jun 7th 2021, 1:43 AM

I know that they are still preventing Irish citizen Richard O’Halloran from returning home to Ireland and to his family.

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:15 PM

3/10 and I lived there for 2 years

Mute Pete Brady
    Favourite Pete Brady
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:04 PM

@Mattress Dick: 4/10 I lived there 3 years so dont feel upset!

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Jun 7th 2021, 12:50 AM

@Mattress Dick: 2/10. I order Chinese food once a week.

Mute The Kev in Kevlar
    Favourite The Kev in Kevlar
    Jun 7th 2021, 12:33 AM

Again I asked earlier in the week….why all the pro China articles?

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:01 PM

A great bunch of lads

Mute Paul Hedderman
    Favourite Paul Hedderman
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:32 PM

Overweight people question: two thirds is the same as over half…… Over half is too ambiguous

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jun 7th 2021, 2:29 PM

@Paul Hedderman: anything under 66.6% is above half but not two thirds. Just as 66.7% would be over two thirds

Mute Seosamh
    Favourite Seosamh
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:12 PM

9,000 Paddys doing us proud no doubt.

Mute pkunzip doom2.zip
    Favourite pkunzip doom2.zip
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:08 PM

Zero

Mute Ger Murray
    Favourite Ger Murray
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:16 PM

Small build of People with a Big Virus

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    Jun 7th 2021, 1:15 AM

I got 0. Guess I don’t know anything about China. Oh well, I’ll just go back to being awesome.

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Jun 7th 2021, 3:19 PM

@aidan mccormack: yes nothing fills me with more awe than ignorance of China.

Mute Bert Carolan
    Favourite Bert Carolan
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:25 PM

They’ve a lot of millionaires, I was surprised at that.

Mute Paul's TEFL adventures
    Favourite Paul's TEFL adventures
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:17 PM

@Bert Carolan: who do you think is buying all our new housing projects?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:57 PM

@Paul’s TEFL adventures: just a little step towards the super power they will eventually come.

Mute Contrary Mary
    Favourite Contrary Mary
    Jun 8th 2021, 11:24 AM

@Bert Carolan: considering the size of their population it’s a very small amount.

Mute Eoin Fitzgerald
    Favourite Eoin Fitzgerald
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:25 PM

@JustHereForTheComments: to be fair to the Irish government, I couldn’t see them starting a new disease and denying all claims about the source of the disease.

Mute Barry Evans
    Favourite Barry Evans
    Jun 7th 2021, 10:15 AM

@Sparky: the CCP obviously snapped up a few shares in the Journal and they’re just trying to keep on the right side of their overlords……..

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Jun 7th 2021, 7:27 AM

Quality child labour practices,…..

Mute JustHereForTheComments
    Favourite JustHereForTheComments
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:20 PM

@Eoin Fitzgerald: unlike the honest Irish government.

Mute Sandra Molloy
    Favourite Sandra Molloy
    Jun 7th 2021, 10:33 AM

Is Simon Coveney funding all this pro china journal propaganda while they imprison an Irish citizen?

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:29 PM

7/10. Greater China could mean all of the nations in the South China sea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, and more according to the CCP so thats a right puzzler. There is a decent amount of Irish folk in Taiwan having creamy pints though.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:38 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan are not countries
    Former British , Portuguese colonies.Taiwan taken from China by Japan until end of WW2, now occupied by desendents of defeated nationalists
    They are all part of China.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:59 PM

@Donal Desmond: Sure ask a Hong Konger or Taiwanese person that and you deserve to get your head knocked out like the lad in Jervis street.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jun 7th 2021, 1:35 AM

@Donal Desmond: Says your man with the Easter lily as his profile pic. By your reckoning we’re all British so are we but just occupied by Irish nationalists?

Mute Contrary Mary
    Favourite Contrary Mary
    Jun 8th 2021, 11:27 AM

@Donal Desmond: Found Coveney’s account.

Mute Liam Ó hAodha
    Favourite Liam Ó hAodha
    Jun 7th 2021, 12:20 AM

The Chinese ‘A great bunch of lads’

Mute Misty Eyed Mutton
    Favourite Misty Eyed Mutton
    Jun 7th 2021, 6:55 AM

Sure dey love de Irish and 94.7% of them love de hurlin and watch d’all Ireland. Chinese girls dream of marrying Sir Henry Shefflin and having kids that play for Tsingtao Kickhams,

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Jun 7th 2021, 11:06 AM

The wiggle woggle said
    When I’m standing on my head
    I can see the coast of China
    And it’s very very red..

” spike milligan”

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jun 7th 2021, 8:08 AM

Hou Hi is a Chinaman?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 7th 2021, 2:13 PM

4/10, still laughing at me innocently clicking on 4 languages as my first guess.

Mute Eoin Fitzgerald
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:58 PM

@#FreePalestine: Nobody will ever admit to how covid started. The Chinese know but they will never spit it out. Was it started in a lad, eating bats? Nobody will ever know.

Mute Kerrie Roche
    Favourite Kerrie Roche
    Jun 8th 2021, 2:53 AM

Ah lads ..not even a question on how many bicycles are in Beijing!!

Mute #FreePalestine
    Favourite #FreePalestine
    Jun 6th 2021, 10:55 PM

@Eoin Fitzgerald: Sorry what makes Chinese people liars?

Mute Eoin Fitzgerald
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:06 PM

@Paul Gorry: I would consider SF bullsh*ters. FF are cute hoors and FG a boring party. Yes they probably lie to a small extent but on the scale of the Chinese.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:32 PM

@Eoin Fitzgerald: spoken like a politician in the making there eion fair play.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Favourite Jonathan O'Riordan
    Jun 7th 2021, 9:00 AM

As much as I’d ever want to!!!

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:00 PM

@Eoin Fitzgerald: But the Irish government are probably liars!!! Agree or disagree?

Mute Eoin Fitzgerald
    Jun 6th 2021, 11:07 PM

****not to the scale of the chinese