You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

[File Image] Qin Gang in March 2023, taking an oath during the National People's Congress. Alamy Stock Photo

Chinese foreign minister removed from office months after disappearing from the public eye

The minister’s absence sparked a storm of speculation that the confidant of President Xi Jinping had fallen from grace.

CHINA’S FOREIGN MINISTER Qin Gang was removed from office today, state media reported, after disappearing from the public eye for a month with little explanation from the ruling Communist Party.

Qin’s absence had sparked a storm of speculation that the 57-year-old, considered a confidant of President Xi Jinping, had fallen from grace or was subject to an official investigation.

China’s foreign ministry had previously said “health reasons” were to blame but more recently had refused to give any updates despite repeated questioning.

State media outlet Xinhua said on Tuesday evening that China’s top legislature had voted to remove Qin from office and replace him with his boss Wang Yi.

Xinhua did not give a reason for Qin’s removal but said Xi had signed a presidential order to enact the decision.

beijing-china-18th-june-2023-u-s-secretary-of-state-blinken-meets-with-chinese-foreign-minister-qin-gang-on-sunday-june-18-2023-in-beijing-blinken-whose-february-2023-trip-was-postponed-foll [File Image] Gang with his American counterpart, Antony Blinken last month on a US visit to China. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Asked repeatedly about Qin earlier today, foreign ministry spokeswoman Mao Ning told journalists that she had “no information” to offer and insisted that “China’s diplomatic activities are steadily moving forward”.

Rumour mill in overdrive

China has remained tight-lipped for weeks about the fate of Qin, who has not been seen in public since 25 June when he met Russia’s deputy foreign minister Andrey Rudenko in Beijing.

His absence from a high-level ASEAN summit in Indonesia two weeks later first raised eyebrows, with Qin’s health given then as the reason.

However, that did little to stem an explosion of rumours online, some of which claimed Qin was under official investigation for an alleged affair with a prominent television anchor.

“The CCP system is so opaque that it nurtured the rumours,” Moritz Rudolf from Yale’s Paul Tsai China Center told AFP.

Today, some analysts urged caution about jumping to conclusions.

“He keeps his more senior position as a state councillor,” tweeted Neil Thomas from the Asia Society Policy Institute, a US think tank.

“So not 100 percent sure this is a purge.”

Manoj Kewalramani, a China expert at the Takshashila Institution in Bengaluru in India, told AFP that Qin keeping the State Council role “could be a product of his proximity to Xi Jinping”.

“It could be also a sign that this was not a product of displeasure with his work or any disciplinary violation but rather a health issue which prevents him from carrying out the intense [foreign minister] role,” he said.

China’s lack of explanation was described as “ominous” by Victor Shih, an expert on Chinese politics at UC San Diego, who added that choosing Wang as a replacement was “extraordinary in that there are many other viable candidates”.

‘Temporary arrangement’?

Many of Qin’s duties over the past month had been taken on by Wang, China’s top diplomat who leads the ruling Communist Party’s foreign policy and outranks Qin in the government hierarchy.

Qin had only taken over from Wang as foreign minister in December last year.

“Rather than bring in someone new, you’ve got Wang Yi,” said Kewalramani. “So you have somebody who’s experienced… and can continue at least for the near future in that role.”

Thomas noted that, because Wang now had two jobs, the situation “could be a temporary arrangement”.

“Wang Yi is a veteran of China’s diplomacy, and he is greatly trusted by the whole country,” tweeted Hu Xijin, a prominent commentator with the Global Times state tabloid.

Both Qin’s removal and Wang’s appointment were trending on social media platform Weibo on this evening.

Qin’s absence over the past month had left a vacuum at the top of China’s foreign ministry. A visit to Beijing by the European Union’s foreign policy chief Josep Borrell was abruptly called off this month.

And Bloomberg reported on Friday that a visit by UK Foreign Secretary James Cleverly was also postponed due to Qin’s situation.

“The whole situation makes the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Beijing’s diplomatic efforts look weaker than Beijing would like it to do,” said Yale’s Rudolf.

Originally from the northeastern city of Tianjin, Qin frequently rubbed shoulders with Xi in an earlier role as chief of the foreign ministry’s protocol department.

His promotion over more experienced candidates, first to US ambassador and then China’s number 2 diplomat, was attributed to the trust placed in him by Xi directly.

“The quick rise of Qin Gang might have created some resentment among other senior people within the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs,” said Rudolf.

A fluent English speaker, Qin was a visible presence in Washington through public and media appearances in which he defended the Chinese geopolitical position.

He also previously served as a spokesperson for the Chinese foreign ministry, where he gained a reputation for caustic responses to difficult questions from journalists.

© AFP 2023

View 26 comments
26 Comments
    Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Jul 25th 2023, 7:11 PM

We have a number of ministers that could be removed from office

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Jul 25th 2023, 7:14 PM

@Paul Maguire: you’ll have to wait till the army council are in control……

Mute PAUL C
    Favourite PAUL C
    Jul 25th 2023, 7:51 PM

@Mike Finnegan: Green book out … Kangaroo Ct in session

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Jul 25th 2023, 8:12 PM

@Paul Maguire: could, change it to should be removed

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Jul 25th 2023, 7:19 PM

What’s the craic with the headline Muiris?
    Headline says “removed from office months after disappearing from public eye”

First paragraph says a month, then further on, you’re saying he was last seen meeting Russian officials on June 25th?

Mute Alfred Bastafield
    Favourite Alfred Bastafield
    Jul 25th 2023, 10:45 PM

@Noel Kelly: When you’re making stories up it’s hard to keep track

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Jul 25th 2023, 7:52 PM

Ah the totalitarian state whose human rights record our western leaders turn a blind eye to. Democracies should not deal with these states. They should be cast out. Only countries that are democratic should benefit from economics with the west.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jul 25th 2023, 8:07 PM

@AnthonyK: How long do you think the west will last without china or the middle east? No oil, no gas, and no cheap manufacturing, means no democracy

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Jul 25th 2023, 8:26 PM

@AnthonyK: Western Human rights record isn’t the land of eutopia you think it is …500,000 dead Iraqi children, the destroyed countries of Libya, Iraq, Syria,Yemen will testify to that.

Mute Chief Of police Retired - Truther MAGA Trump 2024
    Favourite Chief Of police Retired - Truther MAGA Trump 2024
    Jul 25th 2023, 8:23 PM

Its a known fact that the chinese have secret tunnels dug under the earth..There have been a number of cave ins at mines near pendleton Oregon here in the US.
    - system of tunnels dug all the way from China to USA, under the Pacific Ocean

The 1967 movie Battle Beneath the Earth was predictive programming

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Jul 25th 2023, 10:21 PM

Why are people so against the US ?
    They are our descendants and are doing what we (Europeans) did and still do. We would cease to exist without them, unless we create a EU army worthy of the name.
    Your lifestyle is what it is because of European conquest of half the world.
    Get used to the fact that the world is changing.
    We won’t disappear, don’t worry ! But things will change for sure..

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jul 25th 2023, 11:02 PM

@offside again: So we ignore that they have illegally invaded countries, leveled others from the, topple governments when it suits them just because they are our descendents?. The USA military is every bit as evil as Russia’s military but we turn a blind eye because it suits us

Mute mossy baluck
    Favourite mossy baluck
    Jul 25th 2023, 9:14 PM

Great bunch of lads

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Jul 25th 2023, 8:37 PM

China’s very own Boris Johnson.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Jul 25th 2023, 8:57 PM

It’s hard to know what to believe.
    I listen to music and watch the headlines on LCI/TF1 (msm ha!)
    1. Reports coming out that Germany think the Ukrainiens counter offensive is incompétent.
    2. Ukraine annonces stage 2 of their counter offensive.
    3. China is providing weapons to Russia. Secretely ..
    These 3 reports all in 1 hour !
    If there’s a proxy war going on it’s usa v China (they’ll leave Taiwan alone for the moment)
    Russia is becoming a vassal state of China.

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Jul 25th 2023, 9:49 PM

@offside again: Russia has become China’s most trusted friend, joint naval drills just finished, China importing massive amounts of fuel and gas, Russia importing massive amounts of Chinese goods,
    Meanwhile Europe stagnates and the biggest drivers like Germany and France are technically in recession due to high energy prices and industry moving to the US…
    US making massive amounts of money on LNG from Europe at 4 times the price we used to pay.
    Europe is the vassal of the US, and idiots are cheering it on.
    Give your head a wobble ffs mate

Mute grammar police
    Favourite grammar police
    Jul 25th 2023, 7:07 PM

傑蘇斯。中國小伙子有些瘋狂。

Mute Ní neart go cur le chéile.
    Favourite Ní neart go cur le chéile.
    Jul 25th 2023, 7:18 PM

@grammar police: are you trying to say: Jesus. The Chinese boy is crazy. In Chinese?

Mute grammar police
    Favourite grammar police
    Jul 25th 2023, 7:27 PM

@Ní neart go cur le chéile.: The direct translation is, “Jaysus, these Chinese lads are some craic”. Nach bhfuil sin fíor?

Mute Ní neart go cur le chéile.
    Favourite Ní neart go cur le chéile.
    Jul 25th 2023, 8:51 PM

@grammar police: lost in translation, m8. Don’t trust google translation. Specially when using slang or different cultures, we don’t really say that. We don’t use “Jesus” at all, we say “我的天啊” means “my god”, or commonly say “我操” means “i fk”, don’t ask me why, I don’t know. The rest “Chinese lads are some craic”, I understand what you mean and can translate it Chinese, but hard to translate it back to English.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Jul 25th 2023, 10:01 PM

@Noel Kelly : give your own head a wobble lad ..

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Jul 25th 2023, 11:32 PM

@offside again: not a fan of fact then mate huh ?

Mute Dan Dare
    Favourite Dan Dare
    Jul 25th 2023, 9:36 PM

Live in a building without windows.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jul 25th 2023, 9:53 PM

Wha the doh!!!

Mute Coc Caled
    Favourite Coc Caled
    Jul 25th 2023, 11:50 PM

小熊维尼很疯狂。