You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Satellite images appear to show China has built mock-ups of US Navy aircraft carriers and destroyers in its north-western desert Maxar Technologies via PA Images

Images show Chinese military has built mock-ups of US warships

China has upgraded its military massively in recent years.

SATELLITE IMAGES HAVE revealed China has built mock-ups of a US navy aircraft carrier and a destroyer in its north-western desert, possibly as practice for a future naval clash.

China has upgraded its military massively in recent years, and its capability and intentions are concerning for the United States as tensions rise over the South China Sea, Taiwan and military supremacy in the Indo-Pacific.

The images captured by Colorado-based satellite imagery company Maxar Technologies dated yesterday show the outlines of a US aircraft carrier and at least one destroyer that sits on a railway track.

Maxar identified the location of the features as Ruoqiang, a Taklamakan Desert county in the north-western Xinjiang region.

The independent US Naval Institute (USNI) said on its website that the mock-ups of US ships were part of a new target range developed by the People’s Liberation Army.

It was not clear from the images how many details had been included in the apparent targets, although USNI said it had identified features on the destroyer including its funnels and weapons systems.

China’s massive military upgrade has emphasised countering the US and other countries’ naval forces.

That includes the development of land, sea and air-launched missiles to deny access and possibly sink opposing vessels, expressed most emphatically by the land-based DF-21D ballistic missile known as the “carrier killer”.

Recent months have also seen a substantial increase in Chinese military flights just south-west of Taiwan, the self-governing island republic claimed by Beijing as its own territory and which it threatens to annexe by force.

Washington provides Taiwan with much of its weaponry and US law requires that it ensures the island can defend itself and to treat threats to it as matters of “grave concern”.

embedded6165325 A mock rail terminal and target storage building in Ruoqiang county Maxar Technologies Maxar Technologies

The images released by Maxar come amid growing concerns over the possibility of military conflict between the world’s two biggest economies, who are at odds over a litany of political and economic issues.

Most recently, the Pentagon this month issued a report saying China is expanding its nuclear force much faster than US officials predicted just a year ago.

That appears designed to enable Beijing to match or surpass US global power by mid-century, the report said.

US defence officials have said they are increasingly wary of China’s intentions, largely with regard to the status of Taiwan.

China’s navy and coast guard are also boosting their numbers of vessels at a record pace, concentrating them in the South China Sea, the strategic waterway that China claims virtually in its entirety.

While the US navy remains predominant, its resources are divided between the Indo-Pacific, the Persian Gulf, the Mediterranean and other regions where American interests lie.

China’s test of a hypersonic weapon capable of partially orbiting Earth before re-entering the atmosphere and gliding on a manoeuvrable path to its target also surprised top US military leaders.

Beijing insisted it was testing a reusable space vehicle, not a missile, but the weapon system’s design is meant to evade US missile defences.

Gen Mark Milley, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, said the test was “very close” to being a Sputnik moment, akin to the 1957 launching by the Soviet Union of the world’s first space satellite, which fed fears the United States had fallen behind technologically.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 16 comments
16 Comments
    Mute Jen
    Favourite Jen
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:08 PM

What a sensible young chap. Keep doing what your doing but don’t forget to have some fun!!

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:23 PM

@Jen:
    I can see the abuse starting up here soon.
    Being sensible isn’t very popular around here.

Mute Jen
    Favourite Jen
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:24 PM

@Patrick Nolan: Have you a better alternative? :)

Mute Maurice Mulcahy
    Favourite Maurice Mulcahy
    Feb 10th 2019, 10:55 PM

@Jen: correct

Mute Blah blah
    Favourite Blah blah
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:13 PM

This depresses the life out of me! 24 year old lad working and only out for a few drinks on a Thursday night. Giving up a life of fun and travel to save for a mortgage the minute he left college…missinf out on life at a young age when he will he will he staying in and skint enough when he has a mortgage and a family.

Mute Alan Flannery
    Favourite Alan Flannery
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:49 PM

@Blah blah: he’ll Coast nicely through life imo

Mute Blah blah
    Favourite Blah blah
    Feb 11th 2019, 7:06 AM

@Alan Flannery: yes but he is sensible and old before his time! I have kids a mortgage and I’m constantly saving and budgeting and worrying, like this lad….but I had fun in my 20s so i dont feel like im missing out now. He begrudged going out to a gaa night with his peers, he should be heading out a few nights a week with friends, having a laugh!

Mute Vic's Burd
    Favourite Vic's Burd
    Feb 11th 2019, 7:36 AM

@Blah blah: he only earns €2100 net pm, between savings, rent and bills – he doesn’t have much left to spurge…
    He has clear set goals, being sensible now is going to pay off well long term.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Feb 11th 2019, 7:59 AM

@Blah blah: agreed. He’s not living at all. Just warming up to be a slave to a bank till he’s 55. If his salary is going to double by the time he’s 30 then he’s nuts not to be travelling and exploring, going to gigs, or whatever.

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Feb 11th 2019, 8:53 AM

@Jack: I think you missed the bit in his budget where he’s set aside a decent monthly amount for travel. He does have travel plans but is being sensible enough to save for it first, rather than go blindly spending a holiday loan, getting into debt and then not achieving his long term goals.
    I traveled most of Europe when I was younger on cheap Ryanair flights, it doesn’t need to cost much. You don’t have to go to Australia for 6 weeks on your first excursion. If you’re flexible with dates and destinations and book well in advance, flights within Europe these days are an almost negligible cost.

Mute Ciaran Whyte
    Favourite Ciaran Whyte
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:46 PM

Don’t mind the haters in this thread.. fair dues man, keep it up. But don’t forget to splash out every now and again

Mute Alan Flannery
    Favourite Alan Flannery
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:48 PM

Kudoz to this sensible young man! Hits the nail on the head and speaks the truth,
    Liking the grocerie break down, need to change my supermarket

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:51 PM

Fair play young man and you play best game ever Gaelic Football

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:08 PM

I feel sorry for this person.life is tough

Mute Lucy Legacy
    Favourite Lucy Legacy
    Feb 10th 2019, 9:26 PM

Yikes! Respect. I was a million miles away from that and his age and to be honest still now. It’s unusual in someone so young but you gotta take your hat off to him. Still.. hope it’s not too late to have fun once he gets his house. Guess we shouldn’t presume fun= going out and getting thrashed and being hungover for most of your 20’s

Mute chris c
    Favourite chris c
    Feb 10th 2019, 9:05 PM

Good lad. Your good with money. Fair play. Wish when I was your age I done that.

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Feb 11th 2019, 3:09 AM

@chris c: You’re good with money. I did that, not I done that.

Mute Charmaine Walker
    Favourite Charmaine Walker
    Feb 11th 2019, 5:57 PM

@Desmond Lyons: dick

Mute Charmaine Walker
    Favourite Charmaine Walker
    Feb 11th 2019, 5:57 PM

@Desmond Lyons: di ck

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Feb 10th 2019, 11:19 PM

My time travelling after my masters and great times spent with friends are some of most cherished memories from mid to late 20s. Didn’t save much until I was almost 30 but fast forward 5 years and I’m married with anew born after buying our new build last year.

If you work hard hard and put the effort in saving you don’t need to sacrifice enjoying life like this poster at the age of 24. He doesn’t know what he’s missing out on. Actually feel sorry for the guy that the obsession buying a house means he’s missing on our those great years.

Mute Blah blah
    Favourite Blah blah
    Feb 11th 2019, 7:09 AM

@Brian: I agree! Doesn’t have to travel the world, but maybe a few weekends away with friends, out to a gig during the week, a few drinks with mates, etc. There is enough worrying and stress when you have a mortgage and a family!

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Feb 10th 2019, 8:56 PM

Start up the SSIA again, that would help a lot of people out.

Mute Jaci Black
    Favourite Jaci Black
    Feb 10th 2019, 10:41 PM

He is only 24 years old. The world is his oyster, but no fulfilment. Do these contributors ever have good old fashioned joy or happiness in their lives? friends, family, after work courses? You are only 24. Give yourself some time to discover the world and come back when you are ready. Above all, make the most of your young life. You only have the one.

Mute CryptoWilf
    Favourite CryptoWilf

Fair play to the young man for being so organised but as others have said please be sure to have some fun while you’re young (it passes by so fast).

Reading this article does remind me though of the looming future of automation (be it a good thing or bad, I honestly don’t know). What’s in the cards for people in the next few years when more and more jobs will become automated? I know it may seem off topic but it’s really not.

An artificial intelligence expert who previously worked with Google recently said that 40% of all jobs would be lost within 15 years due to automation. That’s both incredible and terrifying.

I know there is talk of what’s called universal basic income where each citizen is given a certain amount of money each month but I don’t really understand how it would work, where does the money come from? I think there was talk of testing it in a couple of places in the US and Switzerland but I need to read up on it more.

One way or the other it will be interesting to see how it all pans out.

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Feb 10th 2019, 9:02 PM

Gets a dishwasher, more time in bed and less piles of washing! I wasn’t overly enamoured with the last comment, while some of it is correct, I don’t think the next generation will be any different really, if not worse.

Mute Liam Kehoe
    Favourite Liam Kehoe
    Feb 11th 2019, 12:18 AM

His monthly outgoings are 1890 on a net of 2100, leaving 210 euro spare for the month, and he has just spent 113 euro of that in one week. Leaving 97 euro spare for the month.
    Stop these senseless articles

Mute Brian Feeney
    Favourite Brian Feeney
    Feb 11th 2019, 12:06 PM

@Liam Kehoe: If you took the care to read thoroughly before commenting you’d see his groceries are included in the monthly breakdown of €1890 and included again in the sunday spend (probably to give readers an idea of diet). Presumably doesn’t go grocery shopping once a month. Would have spent €46 for the week and have been well on track if not for pints at his table quiz (€113-€(31-€36))

Mute Σ ΛΛ ΛΛ Θ
    Favourite Σ ΛΛ ΛΛ Θ
    Feb 11th 2019, 1:09 PM

You can still travel and see the world when you are older and are stuck with a mortgage. Some people seem to think you have to fit everything into your 20′s before you settle down and then can’t do anything after that. I did lots of travelling and then saved for a few years to get a mortgage in my early 30′s. Now I’m able to travel as my wages have grown and the mortgage is cheaper than when I was renting.

Mute Padraic Forde
    Favourite Padraic Forde
    Feb 11th 2019, 2:18 PM

I can understand all the saving for a house and that rent is dead money but not going to Coppers after 6pints is unforgivable.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne

Fair play to him, and he plays the best game ever, Gaelic Football

Mute John Murt
    Favourite John Murt
    Feb 10th 2019, 9:24 PM

Can someone please explain to me(I’m a bit thick) what is the point of these stories bout spending there money

Mute Lucy Legacy
    Favourite Lucy Legacy
    Feb 10th 2019, 9:27 PM

@John Murt: to make you feel bad clearly

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Feb 11th 2019, 1:33 PM

@John Murt: It’s almost like propaganda, showing you how little people earn and hey look they’re doing grand, so there is no problem with housing or anything, the government is a great job..

Mute Cian Geary
    Favourite Cian Geary
    Feb 11th 2019, 10:34 AM

Alternate reality. This guy pursues his dreams of travelling the world. He gains both life and work experience in different cities of the world. He meets the love of his life and they decide to buy a house together, both contributing to the mortgage. Not implausible

Mute Gil Thelander
    Favourite Gil Thelander
    Feb 11th 2019, 10:36 AM

Fair play to this lad. I know a lot of 30 somethings who don’t have the same resolve or will-power to save up. Don’t heed the begrudgers. If you’re happy with your achievements and goals, you owe nobody anything.

I sense a little jealousy from some people on this comments thread. You’re highlighting their sense of insecurity in themselves, so ignore the negative comments. Keep it going

Mute Nelse
    Favourite Nelse
    Feb 11th 2019, 12:05 AM

Does this person go to work naked, or just wear hand me down clothes?

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Feb 11th 2019, 1:57 PM

It just shows you how far we have come this young man with a good job does everything by the book fair play to him and he has to wait until his 30 to take out a mortgage.In the 80 you took out a mortgage when you were 20 and definitely owned your own home by the age of 40 . So I really think it is backwards we are going .

Mute Elizabeth Sheehan O'Reilly
    Favourite Elizabeth Sheehan O'Reilly
    Feb 11th 2019, 8:15 AM

I couldn’t live like that. It reeks of stingy. What about if he gets sick on his omelette diet? Or falls off his bike and ends up in hospital. Has he health insurance or should the taxpayer foot the bill?

Mute Sue
    Favourite Sue
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:11 AM

@Elizabeth Sheehan O’Reilly: If you read it correctly it says his work provide health insurance as a BIK. And he’s employed, so he is a taxpayer?

Mute Cian Geary
    Favourite Cian Geary
    Feb 11th 2019, 10:29 AM

This g

Mute Turas
    Favourite Turas
    Feb 13th 2019, 11:21 PM

There is more to life than a house. Yes there are advantage to owning your own house and pay the mortgage off as quickly as possible and set yourself up for a more comfortable retirement, but not at the cost of a life. Go travelling, experience other cultures, do a season at a ski resort, scuba dive the great barrier reef. When you are old and grey do you want to tell your grand-kids about the time you did a bungy jump in New Zealand or about how you slaved for 30 years and now own your own house mortgage free and wish you had have made the most out your youth.

Mute Ciaran Cronin
    Favourite Ciaran Cronin
    Feb 13th 2019, 2:21 PM

24? Christ have a bit of fun lad, mortgage saving when you’re 24?? Not worth the sacrifice of spending your 20s like a cycling hermit, if you want to make some big money to add to a savings fund you should work abroad somewhere for a couple years cause the money ain’t in ireland with high tax, high cost of living etc no matter how good you are at saving.

Mute Paul O Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O Mahoney
    Feb 11th 2019, 3:07 AM

This is bullshit…..even the net wage is wrong on the figures given….and the salary is a makey uppy.
    Total ruse

Mute Brian Feeney
    Favourite Brian Feeney
    Feb 11th 2019, 12:14 PM

@Paul O Mahoney: The net wage looks relatively correct, if you’re struggling use a wage calculator online from Pwc/Deloitte, you’ll find monthly wage to be €2238 less €125 (pension included in gross to net as stated above) less health insurance BIK charge