You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Alexander Raths

Poll: What part of the Christmas dinner is the best?

We don’t want to start any rows – but we thought we’d ask.

WELL, HERE WE are now. It’s the big day. Hopefully by now the presents have been opened and the tin of Roses has well and truly been battered. 

But what about the main event? The big dinner. For years, brothers and sisters have rowed over the stuffing, the roasties, the mash, the turkey and ham. 

So, for the day that’s in it, we want to know: What part of the Christmas dinner is the best? 

Poll Results:

Stuffing (3051)
Roasties (1952)
Ham (1827)
Turkey (1710)
Sprouts (787)
Other - let us know!  (497)
Gravy (388)
Mash (219)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Jason Byrne
    Favourite Jason Byrne
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:38 PM

The bit where the inlaws go home is my personal favorite.

Mute Sean71
    Favourite Sean71
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:36 PM

@Jason Byrne: ha ha your not wrong there mate

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Dec 25th 2019, 8:02 PM

@Jason Byrne: Brilliant :-)

Mute Martin Harte
    Favourite Martin Harte
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:34 PM

The family around the table and the laugher is the best part of the Christmas Dinner

Mute Terry Cunningham
    Favourite Terry Cunningham
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:40 PM

The End of it.

Mute Veronica Conway
    Favourite Veronica Conway
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:41 PM

@Terry Cunningham: yes definitely

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:40 PM

Some people mentioned Croquettes. That is a big thumbs up from me. Turkey and Stuffing always wins

Mute Greg Ward
    Favourite Greg Ward
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:32 PM

Roses and after dinner coma.

Mute Clark Griswold
    Favourite Clark Griswold

I think a vegan option should have been included

Mute Clark Griswold
    Favourite Clark Griswold

@Clark Griswold: completely taking the piss obviously!

Mute Dow Dubrov
    Favourite Dow Dubrov
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:54 PM

@Clark Griswold: You couldn’t help yourself and ruined the joke

Mute Ole dan tucker
    Favourite Ole dan tucker
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:24 PM

@Clark Griswold: feck off with ur vegan humbug

Mute Sean71
    Favourite Sean71
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:37 PM

@Clark Griswold: jaysus there’s always one.. Enjoy your leaves

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:34 PM

Piggies in Blankets

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Dec 25th 2019, 4:50 PM

Everything I can’t just pick one thing my wife is an awesome cook nearly as good as my mother god rest her

Mute PolyglotPaul
    Favourite PolyglotPaul
    Dec 25th 2019, 4:53 PM

Has to be the sausage meat!

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Favourite Mirabelle Stonegate
    Dec 25th 2019, 6:09 PM

Spiced beef. Despite it being available year round, I really only eat it at Christmas, which makes it extra special.

Mute Eugene H. Krabbs
    Favourite Eugene H. Krabbs
    Dec 25th 2019, 3:38 PM

Krabby patty

Mute Jonny Chip
    Favourite Jonny Chip
    Dec 25th 2019, 4:16 PM

@Eugene H. Krabbs: I cant hear you

Mute Martin Harte
    Favourite Martin Harte
    Dec 25th 2019, 7:46 PM

@Jonny Chip: AYE AYE CAPTAIN

Mute Kieran
    Favourite Kieran
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:05 PM

Bread sauce.

Mute Kay English Curtin
    Favourite Kay English Curtin
    Dec 25th 2019, 7:29 PM

@Kieran: homemade only

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Dec 25th 2019, 8:04 PM

Brussels Sprouts, par boiled for a few minutes and fried with smoked streaky bacon!!!!

Mute Rb1kan
    Favourite Rb1kan
    Dec 25th 2019, 4:38 PM

Croquettes…..hands down

Mute Sean71
    Favourite Sean71
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:36 PM

Stuffing without doubt

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Dec 25th 2019, 4:21 PM

All of it, none of it is off limits at any time of the year to be honest. You can get Turkey and ham at any carvery on any given Sunday.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:06 PM

@Reuben Gray: You seem like good craic, do you write the jokes in the crackers

Mute Katie Wrest
    Favourite Katie Wrest
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:54 PM

@Reuben Gray: might be able to have it any time during the year, but christmas is the only time we do it with the all out extras!!!

Mute Jonathan James
    Favourite Jonathan James
    Dec 25th 2019, 4:23 PM

Cabbage

Mute Dialadogwash Gerald Barry
    Favourite Dialadogwash Gerald Barry
    Dec 25th 2019, 8:38 PM

Has to be sausage meat stiffing

Mute James Gaughan
    Favourite James Gaughan
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:39 PM

All good except the farts on a fork. Aka sprouts.

Mute Louise B
    Favourite Louise B
    Dec 25th 2019, 8:01 PM

Sprouts

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Dec 25th 2019, 5:24 PM

Just having the one meal a year where I turn on the cooker and cook a meal…

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Dec 25th 2019, 7:33 PM

Turkey curry. It means the whole thing was yesterday.

Mute Colm Curran
    Favourite Colm Curran
    Dec 25th 2019, 11:33 PM

8 hrs later visit to the loo wit the rte guide

Mute Kay English Curtin
    Favourite Kay English Curtin
    Dec 25th 2019, 7:30 PM

Croutons and cream in the soup

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Dec 25th 2019, 9:00 PM

The Goose

Mute Zmeevo Libe
    Favourite Zmeevo Libe
    Dec 26th 2019, 1:00 PM

@David Grey: With you there. Far superior to turkey.

Mute Beer Wolf
    Favourite Beer Wolf
    Dec 26th 2019, 4:11 AM

Spiced Beef with Horse Radish… gorgeous.