You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This wonderful 'Christmas in Dublin' video will give every Dubliner the feels

<3 the capital of Christmas.

IF YOU HAVE a moment to stop and appreciate it, Christmas in Dublin can be rather lovely.

The Christmas lights, the shoppers, the drinkers, the barmen… it’s tempting to say that there’s nothing quite like it.

Filmmaker Garreth Caulfield has made this 90-second video that sums it all up. Sometimes we feel lucky to live here.

GarrethFilms / YouTube

<3 Dublin.

via Reddit Ireland

Written by Michael Freeman and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2015/12/img2-thejournal-167.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2514340" class="alignnone" /end]

More: 14 things that would happen if Love Actually was set in Dublin>

More: These lads from Tallaght just nailed their 12 Pubs costume>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:36 PM

Didn’t see much of Dublin in it? Could have been any town or city in Ireland, very generic really. For me it was disappointing, others might disagree,but as a native Dub it didn’t show me much of the city I love TBH.

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Dec 21st 2015, 3:36 PM

Journal forgot to put ibrahim halawa in the video. He’s in every other article………

Mute Sam Brody
    Favourite Sam Brody
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:40 PM

Happy Holidays ? This isn’t America

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:51 PM

“Happy Holidays” drives me crazy too.

Mute Leadóg Hackett
    Favourite Leadóg Hackett
    Dec 21st 2015, 2:23 PM

@Sam. Plonker? This isn’t England

Dec 21st 2015, 3:05 PM

+ 1 , hate hearing it ..

Dec 21st 2015, 3:07 PM

I was talking about ” Happy Holidays”

Mute Marta Miklinska
    Favourite Marta Miklinska
    Dec 21st 2015, 2:07 PM

I usually don’t comment but this video was a total waste of my time, and what a terrible song choice!
    Such a shame that the author didn’t capture the beauty of our city which looks absolutely magical this year!

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:41 PM

I didn’t think much of the video – pretty tedious actually, even though it was just a minute or 2. The singing was irritating too. …and I love both Dublin and Christmas.

Mute sportsmad
    Favourite sportsmad
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:48 PM

Happy Holidays, really ?

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:51 PM

what a waste of time.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:33 PM

Meh!

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Dec 21st 2015, 2:34 PM

Wouldn’t have mentioned clearys.

Mute Ste Quinn
    Favourite Ste Quinn
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:43 PM

Lovely video but still the most depressing time of the year. Mostly for those that don’t have families around.

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:52 PM

Well that went down well

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:37 PM

When you eventually change the name to thedublinjournal.ie, can I buy thejournal.ie domain from you?

It’s getting a bit like The Herald here these days. National newspaper, Dublin news

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:38 PM

+100..

Mute W1K
    Favourite W1K
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:40 PM

I always thought the Herald was a Dublin newspaper.

Mute Sam Brody
    Favourite Sam Brody
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:41 PM

The Herald is Dublin newspaper

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:43 PM

Except for the big National stamp on the front

Mute Joe MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Joe MacCarthaigh
    Dec 21st 2015, 2:19 PM

Totally agree the journal seem to forget about the other 25 counties.

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Dec 21st 2015, 2:20 PM

Tweety it is a Dublin newspaper

Mute Karl Haycock
    Favourite Karl Haycock
    Dec 21st 2015, 4:47 PM

Pretty..damn…dire!

Mute Patrick Mooney
    Favourite Patrick Mooney
    Dec 21st 2015, 5:23 PM

Nollaig Shona even – Happy Holidays – felt like a wasted 90 seconds when this popped up.

Mute Sam Brody
    Favourite Sam Brody
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:47 PM

looks like and ad for M&S

Mute Daphne
    Favourite Daphne
    Dec 21st 2015, 5:48 PM

Jesus Christ, what a bunch of fupping moaners in this comments section! Waste of your lives watching it, what the hell are you doing commenting on it then?? Video shows O’Connell St, the Mansion House, and the Cleary’s clock, and it’s just not enough Dublin? I swear people are just looking for stuff to moan about on this site, nothing but nitpickers.

To Garreth who made the video, well done man. I realise you’re no James Horner, but not everyone has the budget and time to create Titanic. Don’t let this bunch of eejits put you off your creative efforts, keep doing what makes you happy and acknowledge that it’s pretty cool that a national news website featured your Christmas video. I thought it was sweet and loved the shot of O’Connell Street. Merry Christmas right back to you :)

To the rest of ye, get a bleedin life and find some heart, did your mammies never teach ye that if you can’t say anything nice then say nothing at all? Ye seem to have forgotten the spirit of goodwill and just being decent human beings at this time of year.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 21st 2015, 6:05 PM

Daphne,
    Anyone who puts “Happy Holidays” at the end of a video celebrating Dublin at Christmas deserves to get a bit of a roasting, don’t you think?
    It’s Christmas (There, I said “Christmas” …and nobody got offended!)
    It probably didn’t help that the Journal guy hyped the video up to the Nth degree in the Clickbait headline…

Mute Daphne
    Favourite Daphne
    Dec 21st 2015, 6:15 PM

No I don’t think, it’s just a generic greeting with a good intent behind it. I’m not the social justice warrior type to get annoyed easily by a minor choice in phrasing and pick apart things that are meant in goodwill.

Maybe Garreth is atheist and doesn’t like the Christian association with Christmas? Maybe he’s pagan and he resents the history of their holidays being used to make conversion to Christianity more convenient? Maybe he’s Jewish and doesn’t celebrate Christmas?

The lad did something nice and apparently it’s just not perfect nor highbrow enough for The Journal commenters.

Mute Irish Politico
    Favourite Irish Politico
    Dec 21st 2015, 1:42 PM

Did he get release forms from the people featured and licence for the music? I’d be sending a letter from my solicitor if I ended up on something like that which is making money for the journal.ie

Mute Daphne
    Favourite Daphne
    Dec 21st 2015, 5:49 PM

If they’re in a public place, and he’s not using the video for profit, then no release forms are necessary.

Dec 21st 2015, 5:53 PM

Looks like Amsterdam’s red light district lol.

Mute David Fitzgerald
    Favourite David Fitzgerald
    Dec 22nd 2015, 3:39 AM

Ahhhh. Mmmmmggggghhhhhh