You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pics: A lot of brave souls braved the elements for a Christmas swim (or run) today

Fair play to them.

THE ANNUAL CHRISTMAS swim is a tradition for many people across the country and today was no different.

It’s been a very changeable day with some strong winds and rain in some parts, but relatively mild temperatures of between 10 to 14 degrees meant today perhaps wasn’t as cold as other years.

As well as swimming, some committed runners were out for a mile long jog in aid of Goal in Killiney.

Christmas Day swim in Killaloe, Co. Clare

Christmas Day Swim Killaloe Co Clare Mikey Breen, David Gough, Stephen O’Brien and Michael Kelly from. Ballina Co Tipperary. Arthur Ellis Arthur Ellis

Christmas Day Swim Killaloe Co Clare Arthur Ellis Arthur Ellis

Christmas Day Swim Killaloe Co Clare Geraldine Raddie from Birdhill Co Tipperary and Andrea Lynch from Ballina Co Tipperary. Arthur Ellis Arthur Ellis

Christmas Day Swim Killaloe Co Clare Anna Conway, Anna Ryan, Ellen Lane, Sinead Dwyer and Nicole Casey. Arthur Ellis Arthur Ellis

Christmas Day Swim Killaloe Co Clare Edel Bane from Scariff Co Clare. Arthur Ellis Arthur Ellis

Christmas Day Swim Killaloe Co Clare Many brave souls. Arthur Ellis Arthur Ellis

Christmas Day Goal Mile in Kilbogget Park , Co. Dublin

Christmas Day GOAL Mile i Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Christmas Day GOAL Mile i Many hats on display. graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Christmas Day GOAL Mile i Some went for the two-wheels jog. graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Christmas Day GOAL Mile i Dean Zambra and Stephanie Roche were among those to take part. Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Read: Meet the two men behind Santa empires on either side of the Atlantic >

Read: Queen Elizabeth to miss Christmas church service for first time in nearly 30 years >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Timberdog
    Favourite Timberdog
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:06 PM

Two completely different issues. Aggressive begging is intimidating, and mostly organised, run by a cartel of Roma. Huge difference to homelessness. Anybody who can’t tell the difference is ignorant of the facts. I work in the hospitality industry in the city centre, and our hearts are broken keeping professional beggars from annoying and intimidating our customers. These, believe me, are professional beggars. They are dropped off en-masse and then spread out. In my area they arrive at 6.15pm every Thursday, Friday & Saturday. They co-ordinate their efforts to a T. They usually finish at 11.30pm and then all walk back to their car together. They also have a guy who walks up and down the street collect their money and bring it back to the ‘minder’ who sits in a car on Baggot Street. Monday to Friday another group works from 8am to 5pm, they again are all dropped off, and they take their positions at the parking metres and bank machines along the street. I have been physically threatened by these people when I tried to stop them harassing our customers. I had to call the guards another night to get walked to my own car, as the “money collecting guy” threatened to slit my throat for running them from outside the restaurant. Nasty nasty people. These are not homeless. Please be aware of the difference.

Mute George Orwell
    Favourite George Orwell
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:22 PM

That’s racist. It is part their culture. You must tolerate. Resistance is futile.

Mute Lastpost
    Favourite Lastpost
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:55 PM

Part of your culture to beg ? I would call it just to bloody lazy to work they came over here for two reasons one for the dole and another to peg we should chuck them out if that’s racists fine I can live with that tag

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Dec 3rd 2014, 2:02 PM

Spot on Timberdog. It’s organised Roma criminal begging gangs. Have seen how they set up on Baggott St and surrounding area. Can’t have a smoke in peace outside a bar in town without a gypsy coming up with their hands out. Parasites.

Mute Lastpost
    Favourite Lastpost
    Dec 3rd 2014, 2:18 PM

Just an interesting point here, gypsies from Central Europe, are for some reason terrified of rabbits ! So a rabbits foot dangling in front of there face will quickly get rid of them pestering you

Mute Lastpost
    Favourite Lastpost
    Dec 3rd 2014, 12:49 PM

Think you missed the point Marco, I’d say fair play to the restaurant owners, and aggressive begging has become a business for some needs to stop

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:59 PM

I just ask them for money before they ask me. Just tell them I need money for beer. Keep on and on at them. Bit of their own medicine is good enough for them.

Mute Anne Gyna
    Favourite Anne Gyna
    Dec 3rd 2014, 3:08 PM

There should be big, un-missable neon signs warning people NOT to give to beggars. It’s an industry, run by Roma criminal predators. Plenty of charities out there to donate legit to, no need to pay the already State mollycoddled, PAYE funded, scroungers any more free, un-earned loot!!

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Dec 3rd 2014, 12:36 PM

Why not save all their time and money on stupid surveys and put it into a soup kitchen instead- I’m sure there is plenty of food waste among them all that could be put to practical use.

Mute I LOVE MY COUNTY
    Favourite I LOVE MY COUNTY
    Dec 3rd 2014, 12:38 PM

Do you own or run a restaurant Marko?

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Dec 3rd 2014, 12:46 PM

Not a regular restaurant runner these days. I find the spandex chaffs something awful.

Mute I LOVE MY COUNTY
    Favourite I LOVE MY COUNTY
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:01 PM

Picture a tumbleweed Marko… seems I can’t send you a picture of one.

Mute Twink's Teddy
    Favourite Twink's Teddy
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:38 PM

Don’t you all know, the homeless are the new gays, anything negative said about them will be met with a barrage of red thumbs.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Dec 3rd 2014, 2:20 PM

I don’t know. I think it’s very possible to criticise the gays. Can’t think of anything right now but if I do think of one, I’ll be right back here. *~*

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:15 PM

So now homeless people are meant to be polite and social at all times. As an experiment try sleeping rough for a week and deal with the HSE and see if your full of the joys of spring.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr

Some people just want to be outraged.

Mute Ah Here
    Favourite Ah Here
    Dec 3rd 2014, 3:58 PM

Why all the comments on Roma beggars? I work in the city centre and most of the aggressive begging I see is from Irish people.

Mute Niall Keaveney
    Favourite Niall Keaveney
    Dec 3rd 2014, 7:49 PM

I also work in the city. All the aggressive begging is from the Irish. The Roma just sit quietly

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:09 PM

Homelessness and begging are two separate issues on planet moron and planet liars.

Mute Leviathan
    Favourite Leviathan
    Dec 3rd 2014, 1:31 PM

Stupid crusty.

Read the article properly before jumping on the SJW bandwagon.

The vast majority of homeless people in Ireland are Irish. Aggressive beggars on the other hand…..its their culture, they get state provided housing and such. Homeless people would be lucky to even get a sniff of that kind of government help.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr

Nicky, Nicky, nicky. The article, and the details provided today, explicitly make the difference between aggressive begging (what this action is about) and ‘regular’ begging (what this article is not about).
    No harm done.

Mute Stephen Grainger
    Favourite Stephen Grainger
    Dec 3rd 2014, 2:38 PM

The original press release mentions “the interrelated areas of begging, homelessness and addiction”. It is obvious why people are making the connection between the topics and the press release is insensitive and poorly timed.

“Dublin accounts for 47% of national GDP and attracts almost four million visitors a year, that amount of visitors is at risk if this issue continues to be ignored.”

There are surely bigger issues that should be dealt with first “as a matter of urgency”, to use the words of the press release. Like people dying on the streets.

“Let them eat cake”

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Dec 3rd 2014, 3:01 PM

There’s a fair bit to be irked by in this report. One thing is the fact that it’s only when something affects tourism that the powers that be seem to pay attention. It seems if you’re a taxpayer you’re supposed to put up with it.
    There may be merit in constructing a temporary block of container houses (prob in the Phoenix park) to get homeless people off the streets during the harsher weather. There’s obviously a cost, as well as insurance and staffing costs to that too.
    Long term, addiction clinics need to be decentralized. How addiction is treated needs to be re-thought. Some people are on methadone for 10+ years. What sort of a system is that.
    Controversially, IMO, a large % of social housing in Dublin cc should be sold and used to buy more social homes further out of the city for those who cannot / will not work.