You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This huge 50ft Christmas tree just went up in Dublin

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

CUSTOM HOUSE QUAY is setting up its own Christmas Village in Dublin this year – and its main attraction is a huge Christmas tree based on the one at the Rockefeller Centre in New York.

And despite Storm Barney, it just went up this morning in all its glory:

Look at it there. It’s Chrrriiissstmas in Dublin – Home Alone 2 style.

It was moved into place yesterday

grated2 Twitter Twitter

And it’s an absolute beast

The Christmas Village will feature food and crafts, a Christmas market, Santa himself and a host of other festive treats in the Custom House Quarter.

It all opens on Thursday 26 November – with the lights being turned on at 5pm.

It’s *definitely* beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Written by David Elkin and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2015/11/img2-thejournal-41.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2451909" class="alignnone" /end]

More 16 gas tweets that sum up Ireland during Storm Barney>

More 21 of the most Dublin things that ever happened>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:43 PM

Headline @ 5 PM will say “50 foot Christmas tree found in Wales”
    Any bets?

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:45 PM

That’s pretty funny, ha!!

Mute james
    Favourite james
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:57 PM

They’ll be hoovering up needles for weeks.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:45 PM

It’s untangling the bloody lights for the thing that will drive them nuts.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:39 PM

Custom House Quay ain’t no Rockerfeller Center.

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:58 PM

I was in NY last week. Its gone very expensive, it wasn’t worth it. From JFK to Manhattan the streets are filthy. I won’t be rushing back.

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:10 PM

Ok Al thanks

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:17 PM

Your welcome Rich.

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:41 PM

So? Should we make no effort to spruce the place up a bit just because it’s not as impressive as the Rockefeller Centre? We have an awful inferiority complex in this country and we’re obsessed with comparing ourselves with America and England. They’re vastly bigger economies than Ireland and comparing ourselves to them really makes no sense.

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Nov 18th 2015, 3:03 PM

@Fiachra29 thank god someone else is on the same page, i am forever saying this it feels like im talking to a brick wall. I blame the stupid irish blogs that have popped up over the last few years, that copy Buzzfeed articles and use american language and peddle american fads and eccentricities as though they remotely apply to ireland or irish people, now we all go nuts when 5GUYS opens or In-n-Out has a popup for a day. Embarrassing.
    A 50 ft tree, big deal, i think if you went to any city in the UK you would find a tree of that size, the rockerfeller was used as an example to get the people drooling as their delusions of grandeur are fed.

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Nov 18th 2015, 3:26 PM

Couldn’t of put it better myself @Fiachra29

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Nov 18th 2015, 4:40 PM

The euro won’t go as far in the states these days. You seem angry Al. Relax its a tree

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:55 PM

Angry? Don’t be silly! I said nothing about the tree. Maybe you got confused….

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:01 PM

How long before a residents’ group complains?

Mute fitzeo
    Favourite fitzeo
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:28 PM

Let’s see what barney has to say about it

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:32 PM

Unavailable for comment. he is filming Jurassic World 2

Mute Amy Gaffney
    Favourite Amy Gaffney
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:54 PM

I just walked right by this without noticing. Had no idea it was there til I read the journal. Stupid phone taking over my life!

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:25 PM

A big Christmas tree in a city? Amazing……

Mute Seb Bowyer
    Favourite Seb Bowyer
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:27 PM

UNHEARD OF!!!

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:34 PM

Barney may bring it down

Mute Clark Griswold
    Favourite Clark Griswold
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:27 PM

It’s not as big as the tree I erected in the Griswold family home last year!

Mute Unknown
    Favourite Unknown
    Nov 18th 2015, 3:21 PM

Are we still talking about a tree here?

Mute Clark Griswold
    Favourite Clark Griswold
    Nov 18th 2015, 3:57 PM

Ye it had two baubles hanging from it!

Mute • bekaah •
    Favourite • bekaah •
    Nov 18th 2015, 2:13 PM

Can’t wait to go and see it! Love Christmas time ✨

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:07 PM

The homeless sleeping on the steps of the custom house are getting an xmas tree this year. Thank you dublin city council

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:38 PM

Is to distract people from the overpriced beer and tat at the market

Mute Laura Reddy
    Favourite Laura Reddy
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:08 PM

Jesus Barney put that tree down :-)

Mute Brianog2
    Favourite Brianog2
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:20 PM

It’s always UP in Dublin

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:47 PM

Not if you live in Munster. Even in Limerick I heard of them going ‘up’ to Cork. Could never fathom that one.

Mute Al Delaney
    Favourite Al Delaney
    Nov 18th 2015, 10:14 PM

No bodger to them, sure I hear they have two lads from the job bridge scheme looking after the lights.

Mute r keane
    Favourite r keane
    Nov 19th 2015, 12:45 PM

Yer late