You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Trump at Shannon Airport in 2014. Niall Carson/PA

Who do Irish people want to be elected US President?

In Monday night’s debate, the Democratic Party nominee Hillary Clinton, was adjudged to have won by most commentators.

THE FIRST OF three televised debates between the two US presidential nominees took place last night – but which candidate would Ireland elect as leader of the most powerful country on earth?

Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton are virtually tied in some polls, although others have the former US First Lady leading by over five percentage points.

In a poll conducted by Claire Byrne Live/Amárach for TheJournal.ie, just 6% of the 1,000 people polled would choose Trump as US president.

This includes one in every 10 men polled, and just 3% of women polled.

The poll also has Hillary Clinton winning 78% of the Irish vote – three out of every four men polled, and 81% of women.

A sizeable proportion – 16% said they don’t know, a segment split evenly enough between males (15%) and females (16%).

While the Irish at home are firmly supporting Hillary Clinton – whose husband Bill was instrumental in the Northern peace process during his presidency, clearly not all of the Irish diaspora agrees.

Trump in golf conservation deal Minister for Finance Michael Noonan greets Donald Trump on the runway of Shannon Airport in 2014. Niall Carson / PA Niall Carson / PA / PA

According to a poll run by Irish diaspora site Irish Central, 63% (2,225 voters) said Donald Trump won the first round of last night’s presidential debate, while 32% said Hillary Clinton had the upper hand.

Clinton was also adjudged to have won by the markets, which rallied following her strong showing.

In a snap CNN poll of 521 voters, 62% judged that Clinton had won the debate against 27% for Trump, with most mainstream political analysts agreeing Clinton was the stronger performer.

Yet 61% of voters in a CNBC poll thought that Trump had carried the debate, indicating the polarisation at the heart of the debate.

US Ireland Clinton at a meeting to discuss Libya with former Minister for Foreign Affairs Eamon Gilmore in 2011. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Read: Hillary won because Trump was either not prepared or he grew tired and bored

Read: Polling day: Who do American voters think won last night’s debate?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute Conor Mac Manus
    Favourite Conor Mac Manus
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:43 AM

Who do Irish people want to be elected US President? Neither I would imagine, Morgan Freeman would be good or Harrison Ford.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:23 AM

Get off my plane…

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:18 AM

@Conor Mac Manus:

How about Bill Pullman?!

Mute Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:58 AM

@Ciarán Masterson:

Bill Pullman has a lot of Trump like qualities, getting overly emotional and his main supporter was a clichéd ignorant redneck.

Mute Maurice Bourke
    Favourite Maurice Bourke
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:07 AM

That cnn poll took more votes from people that describe themselves as Democrats than those that describe as republican. Totally biased poll gets totally biased answer.

Mute Point Blank
    Favourite Point Blank
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:18 AM

As bad as a L’Oréal ad when they say… “78% of 99 women agreed”.

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:45 AM

And CNBC didn’t do the same with Republicans? Funny how you ignore that one.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:49 AM

Trump would run a country as a business so the citizens would be like employees.

Mute Maurice Bourke
    Favourite Maurice Bourke
    Sep 28th 2016, 8:12 AM

@point blank and king tut
    Well I have figures to show the CNN one was skewed
    Asking 41% of democrats and 26% of Republicans and Clinton done better.
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/sep/27/post-debate-poll-results-analysis-clinton-trump
    Do you have figures for the CNBC poll?

Mute Rand Al Thor
    Favourite Rand Al Thor
    Sep 28th 2016, 8:42 AM

It’s not my business how the US votes,we are great at telling other countries how to vote ,first the Brits on their referendum and we got that wrong now it’s the US.I think all those who vilified Trump and protested against him visiting Ireland Might get the opportunity to explain their position to the twenty thousand illegal Irish living in the US as they make their way home if Trump is elected .The Americans have a saying what goes round comes around.As a matter of interest Trump is not my cup of tea either but he won’t be my President.I accept that his election may have an impact because of the power of that office but that doesn’t give me the right to tell America how it should vote.

Mute throw9away
    Favourite throw9away
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:25 AM

Now Al Thor, illian was getting on fine until you came along

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:08 AM

It’s official, the American political system is a shambles and is deteriorating by the week
    Trumps “that makes me smart” ..homer simpsonesque reply to the accusation he paid no federal income tax was especially cringe worthy.
    Noonans obsequious toadying to Drumpf on the Shannon tarmac now seems all the more pathetic with the passage of time.
    A pity the lowlife didnt treat Bridget McCole with such reverence

Mute Rand Al Thor
    Favourite Rand Al Thor
    Sep 28th 2016, 9:25 AM

And our system and politicians are the standard other countries should aspire to achieve,something about stones in glasshouses comes to mind,but on the other hand we’re no longer a sovereign state so who we elect doesn’t matter.

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:51 AM

Trump wants to force US multinationals to return their jobs to the US. Clearly a lot of Irish people would not like to see that happen.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:59 AM

@James Xenophon: true but rabid right wingers flock to Trump because he presses the right buttons of fear and hate. Some people vote with the heart. Trump knows that. He is a superb manipulator.,

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:16 AM

James, that was a major plank of Obama’s first campaign too, yet he’s a hero to the liberals here.

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:18 AM

@Brian Lenehan: I get the feeling Trump means it. The thing about Obama and Hillary is they’re typical status quo politicians and you can believe they won’t do anything radical.

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:27 AM

So you’re saying Obama lied on one of the main tenets of his election campaign to gain power? You’re saying, like Pat Rabbitte, Obama would say anything to win?
    Par for the course in politics? That may be acceptable to the at-all-cost liberals, but it ain’t good enough.
    I’m not defending Trump though, to be clear. Like one box-pop interviewee said, this election is like choosing between a heart-attack or a stroke.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 28th 2016, 1:32 PM

When Trump was asked twice how he would bring those American companies back he did not answer the question. He talked about how he’d stop more companies leaving.

Mute David Vaughan
    Favourite David Vaughan
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:20 AM

Donald Trump supporters artificially manipulated the results of online polls to create a false narrative that the Republican nominee won the first presidential debate on Monday night. http://www.dailydot.com/layer8/trump-clinton-debate-online-polls-4chan-the-donald/

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:38 AM

Donald did a different type of debate prep.

Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:18 AM

No mention of reddit and 4chan users vote brigading the online polls to skew the polls in favour of Trump, rendering the polls irrelevant? Seriously, do we have to do your jobs for you?

Mute James Odin
    Favourite James Odin
    Sep 28th 2016, 8:01 AM

Prove it.

Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:25 AM
    Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Favourite Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:36 AM

Just 6% of Irish people would vote for Trump,and they all comment on The Journal,LOL! Great to see confirmation the far-right are a tragic and sad little minority in Ireland.

Mute Castalla Villas
    Favourite Castalla Villas
    Sep 28th 2016, 8:53 AM

Trump is a dangerous clown, he shouldn’t be anywhere near the Whitehouse.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:01 AM

When I went to the bookies with a small 500 euro bet on Trump the lady said she was afraid of Trump, he would start a war. But now as the campaign enters its final phase, the Irish are beginning to realise they are the victims of a massive media conspiracy to enforce global multi cultural green rule with no democratic mandate. There was an article in last Saturday’s Irish Times about how the American Irish will vote. These were business people. The heading was Irish Entrepreneurs will vote for Trump. So I think it’s about 50% / 50 % hear. but thank god that does not matter. The US voter is veering towards Trump. There is one problem with a Trump victory. If he wins, I will drink so much whiskey and beer as to have to be pumped out. The public realise they are being screwed by media and by the likes of Bono, John Brutal, Mary Robbinus, Bruce Springboard, Barbra Strident, Chair form Bonny and Clyde and RTE. They are finished.
    You can now watch American TV live on your lap top. No one is buying their papers. The times they are a changin. My side is winning. Come on Trump

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 28th 2016, 8:09 AM

Quoting the CNN poll is laughable considering its was skewed and biased. It polled more democrats than anyone so of course it was going to give a bias view . It’s a shambles for Americans that these Clinton and trump are the options . Both liars, both despicable people, both greedy and both not fit for president.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 28th 2016, 8:28 AM

CNBC poll got completely different result. Couldn’t trust any of them

CNBC #DebateNight poll
    Trump 61%
    Clinton 39%

Mute Tom Thumb
    Favourite Tom Thumb
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:44 AM

Personally, I don’t care.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:15 AM

@Tom Thumb: Since independence the Irish enjoyed security under the umbrella of NATO. So its easy not to care. You have to remember that Europe is starting up a European Army. In a war situation, (which Europe is good at bringing about.) You or your children will be conscripted. If the American’s are not there or too weak, or under a an alt left government, your children will have to fight. They know the Irish are good fighters and off they will go. Trump will keep NATO but will make the leftie commie governments contribute towards their own security. How will the greenie alt left like that?.

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    Sep 28th 2016, 3:39 PM

@Val Martin: Trump doesn’t call the shots.American big business calls the shots. Irish people living in Ireland will never be conscripted.

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:22 AM

Just as well most Irish people can’t vote in US elections…. Johnson 2016

Mute Maurice Bourke
    Favourite Maurice Bourke
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:29 AM

Harambe will get more votes than Johnson

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:49 AM

@Peter Buchanan: Gary Johnson when asked about how he would handle the situation in Aleppo:

“and what is Aleppo?”

Disqualified

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Sep 28th 2016, 9:42 AM

I would love to see” President Hillary Clinton” come back to Derry and stand at the new Peace Bridge in 2020 for the 25th anniversary of the visit of her Husband Bill to the city in 1995. And the signing of the peace process that followed the following year. The input of George Mitchell and the US team set up by Bill Clinton along with the Politicians North and South of the Border and the British Government into the peace process should never be forgotten. If Hillary is elected in November this invitation should proceed from our Taoiseach/President.

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:29 AM

Trump “won” the debate.. He works the same way as OLeary for Ryanair, any publicity is good publicity, negative publicity is FREE. After the debate Trumps name was used 70% more and Hillarys only 30% via social media. Don’t forget as in any democracy its the stupid people vote you need to win. To do that, tell them what they want to hear, which is what hes doing. The stupid vote is 60-70% of the population (as recently demonstrated in Ireland with the likes of the Healy-Raes, Lowry,anyone for labour,greens,etc being voted in) In the end though it doesn’t matter which one gets in, they are simply a mouthpiece for their parties big business interests (as it has been since the 1950s) They have no real power as such.

Mute Mumpsimus
    Favourite Mumpsimus
    Sep 28th 2016, 1:35 PM

Calling people stupid and racist is one reason Brexit succeeded.

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    Sep 28th 2016, 3:34 PM

@Mumpsimus: Brexit is another ball game, that’s a yes or no option. Youlld find that in almost any democracy the worst canditates than most logical people get voted in because of the power of stupid people in large numbers.

Mute Ludovico Manin
    Favourite Ludovico Manin
    Sep 28th 2016, 2:26 PM

Hillary Clinton won the debate on Monday. and while she was doing it, Trump won the election

Most people had heard so much negative coverage about Trump that they fully expected him to act like a moron, a thug and a monster. All Donald Trump had to do to ensure his election was to appear reasonable and talk about the issues in a normal way.
    Many potential voters were surprised that he wasn’t the ridiculous caricature of a man the media make him out to be.

The LA Times poll for today shows that Donald Trump has gained support in the aftermath of the debate. He has 46.7% support, compared to Clinton’s 42.6%.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:43 AM

To be honest in Ireland, chump would win hands down. He has all the merits to rise to the top in Irish politics. His lazyness in knowing anything about how politics works. waffles on for hours spouting populist slogans playing on people’s fears and promising an unrealistic future. Then denies he ever insulted anyone or promised anything. He will permote family’s members to well paid public positions of power so he can control democracy without worrying about any criticism better than Clinton would. He would use the justice system to silence any rivals and potect his own from the same laws. He is about the right age to hold office in Ireland. I am not saying no one would vote for Clinton but in Ireland it would be harder to use lookalikes and with so much blood on her hands she would be seen more as a monster than chump does.

Mute eoj
    Favourite eoj
    Sep 28th 2016, 2:25 PM

And the Irish voted for CrookedCharlie Haughey, Lyin’ Bertie, Biffo Cowen and Inda the gombeen. So no surprise that they love Hillary.

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:23 AM

Well said val can’t understand the obsession with the clintons in this country.hitchens had Hilary’s number she’s some gowl

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Sep 28th 2016, 9:48 AM

Neither…not that it really matters…Policy will remain the same at the decree of the people in real power who merely use the President and congress as their puppets

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:16 AM

@Nigel O’Neill: Can you imagine what would happen is western governments refused to meet lobbyists with fat cheques.

Mute Grand
    Favourite Grand
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:00 AM

1. Bernie Sanders (if he was still in the race) 2. Jill Stein 3. Gary Johnson 4 Hillary Clinton 5. Trump

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:09 AM

Whatever happened to Paul Ryan? Maybe a future candidate.

Mute Grand
    Favourite Grand
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:17 AM

Oh yeah forgot about him! He would have been high on the list for sure

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:40 AM

The fact that you forgot about him kinda says it all about the type of empty suit Ryan is.

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Sep 28th 2016, 12:28 PM

Anyone not named bush or clinton

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 28th 2016, 5:13 PM

You’d rather the guy that paid for both?

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Favourite Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:27 PM

The Muslim Brotherhood paid internet propagandists and those they have already duped into stupididty all despise Donald Trump because it’s game over for them and their influence in the The White House and the US when he becomes POTUS.
    I wanta see Donald Trump running US foreign policy not MB operative Huma Abedin -who has Hillary’s ears in all things related to the ME.Just look at the mess there now. The MB loves the chaos..

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    Sep 28th 2016, 9:39 AM

Clinton and trump are like Kang and kodos, two of the worst candidates ever.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:09 AM

@funkytown: Kang and Kodos means nothing. Its child’s bedroom talk out of a story book for kids. NAFTA was a disaster for the Americas, that is a fact. Tump will kill it off. Hillary calls it the gold standard. TTIP, will impose international rule on us all, the big conglomerates can sue a small business for some obscure patent infringement and it will cost 200,000 euros up front just to get a solicitor and you cannot represent yourself.

The Chinese dictatorship kills girl babies by starving them to death. Yer Hillary allows them to devalue their currency to under mine America’s trade. The women of Germany and Sweden are being raped by ISIS immigrants, Trump want to stop illegal immigration. All Trump is trying to do is restore fair play like it used to be before the green alt left grabbed control of our media

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:28 PM

@Val Martin: Guess you’ve no idea who Kang and Kodos are..
    Do you really think those big big conglomerates answer to either of these puppets?

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Sep 28th 2016, 1:50 PM

That’s funny because I saw 2 polls on Irish pages in the states, 1 of them on Ireland central and it had Trump winning the debate by close on 75%! There is a lot of spin going on- bit like having a choice between being shot in the head or the guillotine!

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Sep 28th 2016, 8:01 AM

Deez nutz

Mute Kevin Hayes
    Favourite Kevin Hayes
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:14 PM

CNN/ORC poll is the only statistically valid poll taken so far. HRC clearly won the debate. Everything else is spin. She’s winning going away.

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    Sep 28th 2016, 7:35 PM

@Kevin Hayes: She lost the “spin” Trump works on negative marketing, I’m surprised he didn’t call her a stupid cow during the debate. After the debate he had a 70% extra spike on social media compared to hillarys 30%.
    As Ryanair have demonstrated you just need to keep the media focused on you to win. You can promise to do all sorts of insane things that will never happen in reality, but it gets people talking. Even before the who thing kicked of the world knew only who Trump and Clinton were, some knew sanders.The best thing about this is its free, but people fail to understand how it works and gullibly fall for it each time. He can say we will build a city on mars by 2030 and a bridge across the atlantic. He can say that everyone both feb 29th will have their citizenship revoked..and the saps will print it I the editorials

Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Sep 28th 2016, 2:52 PM

Jill stein

Mute Shane Mc Grory
    Favourite Shane Mc Grory
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:31 AM

Two idiots, the only way it could have got more silly is that enda kenny was in it.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Sep 28th 2016, 11:18 AM

@Shane Mc Grory: Shane. Do you believe Obama was right to announce the date he was withdrawing troops from Iraq? To tell the enemy when you were leaving and how you would leave. Do you agree with that type of tactic. Yes or no?

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connor
    Sep 28th 2016, 10:31 AM

Where is Brewster and his millions when he’s needed? “None of the above”

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    Sep 28th 2016, 3:40 PM

@Diarmuid O’Connor: Hopefully hes on his way to Ireland for the next election instead :)

Mute Elaine Cooling
    Favourite Elaine Cooling
    Sep 28th 2016, 6:21 PM

Jed Bartlet!!!!