You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

The clocks went back last night (just in case you got up an hour early for something)

We hope you enjoyed that extra hour in bed.

IN CASE THERE was any doubt what time of year it is, the clocks are now at Winter Time.

When the time struck 2am this morning it went back an hour, marking the end of Daylight Savings Time for 2018.

It also meant an extra hour in bed for those of you who slept through it all. 

If you forgot to change your alarm clocks, wall clocks or your car’s time, maybe now is the time to do it so you’re not caught out tomorrow.

Of course, many phones and clocks make the change by themselves, but best to check.

The change means we should get about an hour more light in the morning and an hour less in the evening.

Timeanddate.com estimates that this morning’s sunrise was 7.15am compared to 8.14 am yesterday. 

We’ll be officially on winter time until 31 March 2019.

PastedImage-49426 Timeanddate.com Timeanddate.com

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:08 AM

You shouldn’t be allowed join Fianna Fail until you reach the age of 18 either. It might seem like a good idea at the time but it could lead to a lifetime of regrets.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:37 AM

@Fifty Shades of Sé: FFG know what’s good for everyone. No hospital beds, no confidence in the police, no austerity for politicians, no living wage, no hope of paying the national debt, no hope for anything really unless you’ve already got your nose in the tax trough and no tatoos or piercings. Ye boyye.

Mute Gazza Lazza
    Favourite Gazza Lazza
    Nov 16th 2018, 3:28 PM

@Fifty Shades of Sé: comment of day! Well played good sir, well played

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey
    Nov 16th 2018, 8:43 PM

@Fifty Shades of Sé: Or Fine Gael – ever!

Mute Karl Patchell
    Favourite Karl Patchell
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:04 AM

No option for simply no?

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:07 AM

@Karl Patchell: Seems they’ve already decided we agree already and they’re merely asking how right they are

Mute Paul Groome
    Favourite Paul Groome
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:11 AM

@Karl Patchell: I was thinking the same. “On a scale of 5 to 10. How shite are tattoos? And are piercings equally as shite?”

Mute Yvonne Colgan
    Favourite Yvonne Colgan
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:21 AM

Not a fan of tattoos and piercings and think maybe an under 18 may regret getting one. But its not my problem. Only my opinion. Each to their own. Parental consent a good idea but banning them seems over the top. Personally I’ve no children so will not be enforcing my views on other peoples children.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:26 AM

@Yvonne Colgan: This one gets it!

Mute Jordan Osullivan
    Favourite Jordan Osullivan
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:05 AM

Is there anything they aren’t planning to ban …we’re turning into a nanny state.

Mute Jack O’Meara
    Favourite Jack O’Meara
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:09 AM

@Jordan Osullivan: they should ban banning things

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:56 AM

@Jordan Osullivan: logical progression from benchmarking. Must show ‘productivity’. Nothing positive to offer, from any of them.
    Ta da … click the ratchet a little more. Necessary laws, unnecessary laws, doesn’t matter and it will never end as long as they think their job is to ‘produce’ legislation.
    Nonetheless, I agree with the idea behind this one.

Mute Jumanji
    Favourite Jumanji
    Nov 16th 2018, 12:22 PM

@Jordan Osullivan: yea people complain about a nanny state but like to blame the government for every one of their own bad decisions

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Nov 16th 2018, 12:56 PM

@Jordan Osullivan:
    In this case – No.
    Just trying to improve future employment and promotional prospects.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 16th 2018, 1:22 PM

@Jordan Osullivan: there should be some way we can force all politicians to have have to work at fixing all the major problems facing the country that affect our everyday lives ….every major govt dept is a shambles , permanent crisis for health waiting lists , trolleys and a costly inefficient HSE that doesnt deliver , criminal justice , housing /homless added to the usual mess in transport , education you name it…..and yet we have well paid politicians wasting airtime and energy and effort on ANYTHING else that just acts as a distraction , the country is grinding to a halt and needs a complete overhaul – honestly has there been ANY marches demonstrations or demonstrated examples of how tatoos and piercings are causing a major problem and need to waste money effort and energy distracting from fixing the real problems….do your fkkking job FFS.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:03 AM

Has this become such a problem that it warrants interference??

Mute Picture This
    Favourite Picture This
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:25 AM

@Joe Phillips: exactly.. we have mothers bringing up children at 18, not really a priority other than a unknown politician getting a few headlines to build up a persona before an election.

Mute Deborah O'Lorcain
    Favourite Deborah O'Lorcain
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:51 AM

Earpiercings should be banned for under 7s too.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Nov 16th 2018, 12:00 PM

@Deborah O’Lorcain: ahem, culture alert. May be deemed as toxic.

Mute Paddy O'Dea
    Favourite Paddy O'Dea
    Nov 16th 2018, 1:31 PM

@Deborah O’Lorcain: Have the travelling community not suffered enough?

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:20 AM

Lots of adults get tattoos they regret as well. People don’t magically become more responsible and rational on the stroke of midnight of their 18th birthday.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:13 AM

If my parents had let me get tattoos and piercings when I was 15 or so I dread to think what i would have had done. I would have also been mad with them for the rest of my life. Its lucky that it was only sailors and soldiers who had them done in those days and that was for a decent reason…as in dead body recognition.

Mute Al Madzer
    Favourite Al Madzer
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:19 AM

Old enough to vote politicians into life long pensions but can’t be trusted to get a tattoo?

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:25 AM

@Al Madzer: People under 18 can’t vote, last time I looked…

Mute Al Madzer
    Favourite Al Madzer
    Nov 16th 2018, 9:43 PM

@George Salter: my bad. I thought it said 18 year olds. In my defence I was having a quick flick through the articles while on the shiiter at work :)

Mute Chris Quinn
    Favourite Chris Quinn
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:12 AM

Really, who cares in a country with homelessness and mental health crises, a police force in disarray, a life expectancy gap between rich and poor that widened by a decade since the recession and schools shut due to possibly unsafe buildings?

Mute Karl Charlie
    Favourite Karl Charlie
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:46 AM

Their body their choice

Mute Breandán O Conchúir
    Favourite Breandán O Conchúir
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:03 AM

nearly all tattoo parlours have an over 18s rule anyway so what’s the problem? What’s the problem with a 16 or 17 year old getting their tongue pieced if they want to?

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:27 AM

@Breandán O Conchúir: I remember a girl telling me a tattoo shop in Waterford was very fussy about that. They won’t tattoo unless a parent is present.

Mute Conor Kleaver
    Favourite Conor Kleaver
    Nov 16th 2018, 10:59 AM

Ffs you can have an abortion at any age for any sex.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Nov 16th 2018, 12:34 PM

Who are we to decide what people can do with their body?

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Nov 16th 2018, 1:01 PM

@Peter:
    Their bodies might need employment and onward promotion within that employment – preferably uncompromised by youthful tat applications.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Nov 16th 2018, 2:17 PM

Parents: lock up your daughters until their 18th birthday.

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Nov 16th 2018, 12:23 PM

Of course yes, they’re a child.

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:30 AM

It will just make it cooler for kids to get one

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Nov 16th 2018, 5:34 PM

@Seamus Brady: and embarrassed when their 60 and the pouncing tiger tattoo looks like an grease stain

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Nov 16th 2018, 5:34 PM

@Seamus Brady: and embarrassed when theiyre 60 and the pouncing tiger tattoo looks like an grease stain

Mute Malachy
    Favourite Malachy
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:49 AM

No

Mute Redpill.ie
    Favourite Redpill.ie
    Nov 16th 2018, 3:21 PM

People under the age of 18 have parents. No need for government to get involved.

Furthermore, tattoos on women is a red flag for most men.

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Nov 16th 2018, 11:19 AM

I don’t think parents should have any say in the decision to get a tattoo. Peter Casey’s problems started when his parents has “ass” tattooed on his arm and “elbow” tattooed of his asscheeks.

Mute Weldoninhio
    Favourite Weldoninhio
    Nov 16th 2018, 12:53 PM

@Martello Mulligan: I bet that sounded so good in your head.

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Nov 16th 2018, 12:59 PM

@Weldoninhio: thanks Geldon! did you think that up yourself…

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Nov 16th 2018, 1:20 PM

Great to see so many commentators regurgitating clichés – it’s a sure sign they are morons as in the old “much” question: cliché much?

Mute Canny Jem
    Favourite Canny Jem
    Nov 17th 2018, 2:53 AM

@Martello Mulligan: Parents have absolute responsibility to all their children, teaching them to avoid all harm.

When eye-brow piercings were popular, my 17yr-old arrived home with one without my permission. I immediately verbally lashed him and told him to have it removed the next day before it left a permanent mark over his handsome face.
    I even paid for it to be removed the next day, and except for tiny scars, you’d hardly notice the damage left by the piercing and metal.

Just as well I did that as a Parent – he is now a successful salesman that needs to present himself well to customers in his professional career. That’s down to Parent Sense.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 18th 2018, 9:52 AM

@Canny Jem: I think you give yourself too much credit there, to be honest. If he’s a good salesman, it doesn’t matter what scars he has and to draw a connection between a scar over an eyebrow and trustworthiness is bizarre.

Mute Canny Jem
    Favourite Canny Jem
    Nov 17th 2018, 2:36 AM

Tattoos and piercings and make-up are just fashion stuff, like hairstyles, clothes and false eyebrows and eye-lashes that will eventually go out of fashion – except you can’t easily get rid of inked-in tattoos or the holes of piercings. It can be done – tattoos at enormous cost, over several painful obliteration sessions.

Anyone who falls for any kind of fashion stuff needs to be taught common sense.

I was born with a permanent “tattoo” – a red birthmark above my knee. People born with birthmarks are said to be “Special People” – in RCC jargon destined to be holy people; in Irish folklore jargon destined to be happy forever dancing around the Irish fairie glens, terrifying everyone in their dreams.
    I can assert I’m neither a holy person nor a terrifying presence in anyone’s dreams. Well, that is, so far…

Mute Colm Maguire
    Favourite Colm Maguire
    Nov 16th 2018, 1:29 PM

Where is the NO to both option, no parental approval required option?