You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The seized cocaine. Garda Press Office

Gardaí seize €2.5 million worth of cocaine in Dublin operation

Three men, aged 44, 48 and 59 years, were arrested at the scene.

GARDAÍ HAVE SEIZED €2.5 million worth cocaine in an operation targeting organised criminals in the capital. 

Officers attached to the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau stopped and searched three vehicles in the Blakes Cross area of Dublin yesterday afternoon and discovered the drugs.

Three men, aged 44, 48 and 59 years, were arrested at the scene and are currently detained at two Dublin Garda stations.

Speaking today Detective Chief Superintendent Angela Willis, who is head of Bureau at GNDOCB, said: “The Garda Síochána is committed to disrupting the activities of organised criminals supplying drugs to our communities. This seizure of a substantial quantity of cocaine is significant in disrupting this supply and enabling us to keep people safe.”

Assistant Commissioner John O’Driscoll who heads Special Crime Operations within the Garda Síochána said: “We continue to pursue those who engage in serious and organised crime with a view to dismantling the organised crime groups they are associated with. This seizure of what is believed to be cocaine and the subsequent arrest of three suspects will assist in achieving that objective.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    Apr 26th 2020, 10:13 AM

The guards are giving it a fair disruption this weather. Fair play to them. Over to you judiciary.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:14 AM

@Thewestisbest: This has given the Gardaí a great opportunity to get a jump on the criminals, and credit to them for taking it.

Mute Forest Hump
    Favourite Forest Hump
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:48 AM

@Thewestisbest: unfortunately that’s where the ball will be dropped. Lenient sentences for all because, you know, they were only having a bit of fun sure

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Apr 26th 2020, 1:11 PM

@Thewestisbest: a little slap on the wrist. Cant lock up the money go round

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Apr 26th 2020, 10:16 AM

Gárda 10
    Drug importers 0
    Well done Gárda.
    Now just keep a certain few judges away from these cases

Mute Martin Scaldbag
    Favourite Martin Scaldbag
    Apr 26th 2020, 5:54 PM

@Justice Mickey: cold turkey for the north county.

Mute pomerleau
    Favourite pomerleau
    Apr 26th 2020, 10:17 AM

Well done !!!
    I love these stories, brilliant !!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Apr 26th 2020, 10:16 AM

Nice one!

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:06 AM

Dealers seem to be coming under serious pressure this past few weeks. Loads of videos turning up of house raids across Dublin. Maybe it’s a bit easier now to spot the junkies and the addresses they are going to. Curtain twitchers reporting multiple people calling to neighbours homes is probably helping as well.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Apr 26th 2020, 10:36 AM

They’re in real trouble if they were more than 2km from home.

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    Apr 26th 2020, 10:10 AM

We were only going to the shops your honour…

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:40 AM

——And of course Free Legal Aid despite the massive value of the drugs they were peddling .

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:35 AM

Clean up the streets

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:58 AM

@Peter Murphy: somehow I don’t think so the only way you’ll clean the streets is with a power-hose:-/

Mute Colin Mcgahon
    Favourite Colin Mcgahon
    Apr 26th 2020, 1:21 PM

@Aaron Jones: I really think the council are missing a golden opportunity to power wash all the side streets of Dublin.

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Apr 26th 2020, 2:02 PM

@Colin Mcgahon: yeah ya would think they would be out cleaning now that’s it’s quiet,but due lack of funds from the government it’ll still look like a tramps arse!

Mute Steve Hehir
    Favourite Steve Hehir
    Apr 26th 2020, 12:11 PM

In fairness, the lockdown situation is playing right into Garda hands!…

Mute Stee Lynto
    Favourite Stee Lynto
    Apr 26th 2020, 10:22 AM

Was it 2.5 million or 2.5 kilometres

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:45 AM
    Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 26th 2020, 12:23 PM

@Aaron Jones: :-)

Mute Mr Jerry Curtin (gurrier)
    Favourite Mr Jerry Curtin (gurrier)
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:26 AM

3 lackeys arrested who were probably doing jobs to ease their children’s drug debt.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Apr 26th 2020, 12:37 PM

@Mr Jerry Curtin (gurrier): sob story . I doubt it more than likely hardened drug dealers

Mute Liam Ó hAodha
    Favourite Liam Ó hAodha
    Apr 26th 2020, 12:55 PM

@Mr Jerry Curtin (gurrier): Is that the story you’ll be telling the Judge?

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Apr 26th 2020, 1:13 PM

@Mr Jerry Curtin (gurrier): Well all they have to do to give the information to the guards.

Mute Mr Jerry Curtin (gurrier)
    Favourite Mr Jerry Curtin (gurrier)
    Apr 26th 2020, 11:25 AM

A drop in the ocean in fairness.

Mute Tom Joe Ryan
    Favourite Tom Joe Ryan
    Apr 26th 2020, 1:10 PM

Where is Blake’s Cross in Dublin?????

Mute Will Thompson
    Favourite Will Thompson
    Apr 26th 2020, 1:17 PM

@Tom Joe Ryan: back of airport I think

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Apr 26th 2020, 1:20 PM

@Tom Joe Ryan: Out beyond Swords if your heading towards Lusk.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Apr 26th 2020, 2:35 PM

@Tom Joe Ryan: Blake’s Cross?? I’d say he’s absolutely Livid.

Mute Ann Harman
    Favourite Ann Harman
    Apr 26th 2020, 4:03 PM

@Tom Joe Ryan: County Dublin old Belfast Rd between Swords and Balbriggan

Mute Liam Ó hAodha
    Favourite Liam Ó hAodha
    Apr 26th 2020, 5:34 PM

@Tom Joe Ryan: The old N1 on the junction with the Rush/Lusk turn

Mute Mark Gough
    Favourite Mark Gough
    Apr 26th 2020, 6:01 PM

Delighted

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Apr 26th 2020, 6:46 PM

….and a gun

Mute Will Thompson
    Favourite Will Thompson
    Apr 26th 2020, 1:17 PM

Back of airport I think