You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Marcos Mesa Sam Wordley

This is what coffee does to your body

It’s the mostly widely used psychoactive drug in the world.

DRINKING COFFEE BEFORE bedtime disrupts the body’s internal clock, making it harder to get to sleep on time and more challenging to wake up in the morning.

The findings in the journal Science Translational Medicine not only explain why evening caffeine-drinkers may stay up — and wake up — late.

Coffee is not always disruptive though, researchers say travellers could also time their caffeine intake to limit the effects of jet lag,

The study involved five volunteers who were randomly assigned to consume as much caffeine as contained in a double espresso three hours before bed, or who were exposed to bright lights, or were given a placebo.

Over the course of 49 days, the volunteers were studied under various conditions, and their saliva was regularly tested for levels of the hormone melatonin, which naturally regulates sleep and waking cycles.

They found that those who took caffeine in low-light conditions experienced about a “40-minute phase delay of the circadian melatonin rhythm,” said the study.

Those who were exposed to bright overhead lights three hours before bed saw their circadian clocks bumped back by 85 minutes.

Those who took both the caffeine and sat under bright lights were disrupted by 105 minutes.

“This is the first study to show that caffeine, the mostly widely used psychoactive drug in the world, has an influence on the human circadian clock,” said professor Kenneth Wright of the University of Colorado, Boulder.

“It also provides new and exciting insights into the effects of caffeine on human physiology.”

While the findings reinforce the common advice to avoid caffeine before bed, the study said it also raises the “intriguing” possibility that proper use of caffeine could help reset the body’s clock in order to avoid jet lag.

However, more research is needed to determine how travelers crossing time zones should best use caffeine to stay alert.

“It will be important to monitor for caffeine-induced sleep disruption under such conditions, which could worsen jet lag,” said the study.

© – AFP 2015

Read: Really need a caffeine kick? Now you can get a monthly coffee subscription >

Read: Here’s what it’s like inside (and outside) the best café in Ireland >

View 34 comments
34 Comments
    Mute Sean Treacy
    Favourite Sean Treacy
    Feb 26th 2020, 9:49 PM

But if I didn’t put away my phone I wouldn’t know what the pope was telling me to do !!

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:51 AM

@Liam Armstrong: the message would reach your wallet tho

Mute Jackie Thomson
    Favourite Jackie Thomson
    Feb 27th 2020, 8:22 PM

@Sean Treacy: double negative

Mute Peter O Donnell
    Favourite Peter O Donnell
    Feb 26th 2020, 9:54 PM

If it wasn’t for phones(Internet) and TV maybe we would never have found out the pure devistation that the Catholic Church has caused around the world. Might give up going to mass this lent instead.

Mute Pat Coyne
    Favourite Pat Coyne
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:47 PM

@Peter O Donnell: Ah here we go!

Mute Dave Mullan
    Favourite Dave Mullan
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:50 PM

@Pat Coyne: ya poor you

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:16 PM

@Peter O Donnell: do just that, it’ll help you more clearly concentrate on what really matters.

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Feb 27th 2020, 6:06 AM

@Peter O Donnell: And don’t forget the Popes broadcast in April : ‘ Ubi eat Orbi’.!!

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 8:29 AM

@Peter O Donnell: you think the world is bad with the catholic church in it? I can assure you it would be far worse without it.

Mute Tara Catherine Challoner
    Favourite Tara Catherine Challoner
    Feb 27th 2020, 10:44 AM

@Peter O Donnell: I’m not sure a phone or even a tv was necessary to read the news. Giving up going to mass has nothing to do with speaking directly to God, they are not mutually exclusive.

Mute Shougeki
    Favourite Shougeki
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Seamus Mac: No. No it wouldnt.

Mute Paul F. White
    Favourite Paul F. White

And he should release all the secrets too.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:04 PM

@Paul F. White: I have the 3rd one if you want it. It’s a bit wordy though. Judgement day, preceded by fires, disease, obscure sporting victories etc.

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:06 PM

The irony of his twitter comment is just too much…
    He says all that while he has his servants serve him dinner on fancy plates.. and he fights tooth and nail to cover up the churches wrong doings.All to protect the massive wealth the Catholic Church has gained by the exploitation of some of the most vulnerable and Gullible in society.
    Hypocrisy at its finest right there.

Mute Patrick Wheeler
    Favourite Patrick Wheeler
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:11 PM

@Andy mc Laughlin:

Well said

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:20 PM

@Andy mc Laughlin: Don’t let bitterness destroy your heart, happy are the merciful for they shall have mercy shown them.

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy
    Feb 27th 2020, 3:05 AM

@Liam Mernagh: you talk some shite mate. I suggest you have a chat with some of the victims of abuse suffered at the hands of the church.

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Feb 27th 2020, 4:42 AM

@Liam Mernagh: I’m not bitter at all I’m happy out knowing my place in society and living everyday to its fullest potential and helping others along the way. And I can do all of this without the crutch of religion to dictate to me how I should live. I do it because I want to do it not to please a god.

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:36 AM

@paul mccoy: I’m pretty sure he’s being sarcastic

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:31 AM

@Sirius: are all catholics paedophiles now? What a joke of a comment.

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Feb 26th 2020, 9:50 PM

He’s right, been ages since I read a good fiction novel

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:12 PM

@Tony Gordon: Rebus.

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:18 PM

@Tony Gordon: you’re going to find that out at some future date .

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:14 PM

Is it just me or does information seem to be the natural enemy of faith?

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:21 PM

@The Risen:
    Its Education. Religion feeds off ignorance (Just look at countries such as Indonesia etc)

That said, there seems to be a very basic human need to believe that there is life after death which is the cornerstone of all religions.

Mute Padraig Corcoran
    Favourite Padraig Corcoran
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:52 PM

@Moorooka Mick: That’s right education. Thank goodness the RC never did anything in this country or other countries around the world regards education.

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:22 PM

@The Risen: anybody claiming to be a Sinn Feiner needs all the help they can get. Your party is not great at assimilation.

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:24 PM

@Padraig Corcoran: a wee bit of irony, that will be lost on the commenters here.

Mute Jimmy Carroll
    Favourite Jimmy Carroll
    Feb 27th 2020, 6:46 AM

@The Risen: its just you, pray that you will rise.

Mute Jimmy Carroll
    Favourite Jimmy Carroll
    Feb 27th 2020, 6:50 AM

@Padraig Corcoran: without the RC,the Irish people wouldn’t have had an education,it was the church that cared for the poor people of Ireland,

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 27th 2020, 6:55 AM

@Jimmy Carroll: cared for. Are you serious? Get education!

Mute Padraig Corcoran
    Favourite Padraig Corcoran
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:01 AM

@Jimmy Carroll: Think you missed the point there

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 8:32 AM

@The Risen: where did you go to school?

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:32 AM

@Moorooka Mick: describing all religious people as ignorant is a bit silly.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:01 PM

He’s just being Frank

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 26th 2020, 9:57 PM

How would we keep up to date with the corona virus situation on the Journal? I need the shite scared out of me 10 times a day! Is that not penance enough for Lent

Mute Kieran Staunton
    Favourite Kieran Staunton
    Feb 26th 2020, 9:58 PM

That’s one sure way to increase the population

Mute Alan McArdle
    Favourite Alan McArdle
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:04 PM

@Kieran Staunton: Nice one!

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:25 PM

Let’s all talk to the invisible sky fairy that, apparently, lives in our heads… we would section people for less. Time to end the god delusion.

Mute Con Cunningham
    Favourite Con Cunningham
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:38 PM

@Ian Breathnach: Agreed, but we are very lucky to live in a locale where we can express this.
    Post anything about Aallah or Muhammad being a figment of someone’s imagination and you will be in trouble.

It’s disgusting . We will never grow up.

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:26 PM

@Ian Breathnach: is someone or thing stopping you?

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:39 AM

@Con Cunningham: Not true. I have said the very same thing about Allah and Muhammad, they are mere figments of peoples imagination, they’re deluded for following such nonsense.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:42 AM

@Ian Breathnach: ‘Sectioning’ people for their spiritual beliefs has thankfully disappeared with the Aztecs.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 8:34 AM

@Ian Breathnach: have you ever heard of the atheist delusion?

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:16 AM

@Ian Breathnach: must be great for you to have all the answers..

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Feb 27th 2020, 11:02 AM

@Ian Breathnach: Does faith anger you pet?

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:02 PM

@Ian Breathnach: If you don’t know the difference between Muhammad and Allah you really shouldn’t be making comments regarding the Pope and God.

Mute Dermattg
    Favourite Dermattg
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:51 PM

@Ian Breathnach: have a read of eric metaxas “miracles”. Thought provoking stuff.

Mute FlyingDogThing
    Favourite FlyingDogThing
    Feb 26th 2020, 9:48 PM

Well if Francis says to do it…

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh

Clever move Popey. The redress programme is on Monday night.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:07 PM

You know what Francie, maybe stop protecting priests who abuse children and maybe we would listen you absolute hypocrite

Mute Patrick Wheeler
    Favourite Patrick Wheeler
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:12 PM

@Chris:

Well said

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:25 PM

@Chris: where’s your evidence for your statement.

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy
    Feb 27th 2020, 3:09 AM

@Liam Mernagh: it’s locked up in the Vatican vaults where the Church won’t release them to the investigating authorities cos they are still covering up mass child abuse.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:23 AM

@paul mccoy: ah the famous vatican vaults, i believe shergar was also spotted there.

Mute Danny E
    Favourite Danny E

Right after I post this comment chief

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:32 PM

I’ll put away my mobile if he puts away his Pope mobile.

Mute Thomas Harrington
    Favourite Thomas Harrington

If anyone knows about verbal violence it’ll be the head of the RC church I suppose

Mute old man trucker
    Favourite old man trucker
    Feb 26th 2020, 9:50 PM

Feck off

Mute Ciaran Maher
    Favourite Ciaran Maher
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:54 PM

Maybe he should be suggesting that people stay away from mass, given the current spread of Corona virus.

Mute Jenny Stapleton
    Favourite Jenny Stapleton
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:34 PM

I’m not getting much of a response from “The lord”.

Mute Paul Riordan
    Favourite Paul Riordan
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:26 PM

God created tv and phones

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Feb 26th 2020, 10:44 PM

Is that pope no 1 or pope no 2

Mute Caroline Quirke
    Favourite Caroline Quirke
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:00 AM

The bible.. 1 of the most violent books ever published

Mute Jimmy Carroll
    Favourite Jimmy Carroll
    Feb 27th 2020, 6:53 AM

@Caroline Quirke: read it in full context Jesus Christ is the prince of peace, read the new testament

Mute old man trucker
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:26 AM

@Jimmy Carroll: and Santa Claus is the king of Christmas and the tooth fairy is the patron saint of dentists

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:19 AM

@old man trucker: does mocking other people’s beliefs make you feel clever and witty?

Mute old man trucker
    Feb 27th 2020, 10:11 AM

@FecklessBear: wasn’t mocking, those are my beliefs

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Feb 27th 2020, 8:19 PM

@Jimmy Carroll: I read it all the way through. By the end, my life was changed. Jesus breaks the chains that bind us!

Mute Rob67
    Favourite Rob67
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:03 AM

I don’t know, maybe he has a point? Nothing better than cutting out the chatter and settling down to reading a fairy story.

Mute Sirius
    Favourite Sirius
    Feb 27th 2020, 6:45 AM

I say stop denying the actions of your clergy, weed out the paedophiles and let them be prosecuted in court and pay sufficient amounts of compensation to the victims of your organisation.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:24 PM

@Sirius: when did he deny the actions of the clergy?

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:11 PM

Beats me why people who are not Catholic feel the need to respond to a message from the Pope that was not meant for them. It like a virus , they can’t stop themselves.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:13 PM

@Aine O Connor: PDS?

Mute Dervilla Regan
    Favourite Dervilla Regan
    Feb 26th 2020, 11:34 PM

Such nonsense no harm in TV or phones and the bible should be opened all year round not just for lent what makes me laugh is religion preaches what they want not the truth I’d rather believe in gods word we can all believe in wars we were not here for because there facts well jesus Been here is a fact and our calendar goes from when christ was on this earth yet the earth has been here millions of years praise God

Mute Marie-AnneC
    Favourite Marie-AnneC
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:32 AM

@Dervilla Regan: I love statements like that…full stop!

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:52 AM

@Dervilla Regan: Sweet and well said. The power is strong in this one.

Mute old man trucker
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:24 AM

@Dervilla Regan: as bearla mas e do thoil eh

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:14 AM

Completely out of touch ..no surprise there then.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:28 AM

@Chris OB: astounding ignorance. You disgrace the vast majority of clergy who have given their lives to make the world a better place. Do you describe the boy scouts if america as a p ring?

Mute Dervilla Regan
    Favourite Dervilla Regan
    Feb 28th 2020, 12:38 PM

@Seamus Mac: jesus gave his life and suffered an awful death for each and ever one of us your opinion my opinion or the popes opinion does not matter only gods the bible is there for us all

Mute El Poblo Escobar
    Favourite El Poblo Escobar
    Feb 27th 2020, 10:00 AM

Says your man posting to Twitter ….

Mute Pete Gilmartin
    Favourite Pete Gilmartin
    Feb 27th 2020, 11:19 AM

Pope Frankie can go f**k himself.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Feb 27th 2020, 2:22 PM

@Pete Gilmartin: Troll

Mute AnnaX
    Favourite AnnaX
    Feb 27th 2020, 5:39 PM

waiting here boys..

me.beep.ie/HNp

only 18+