You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Top comments of the week

Did you make the cut?

EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.

This week there was a lot of talk about Mairia Cahill, grief and wearing poppies.

The 5 most popular comments this week

1. Eugene Walsh got 1,474 likes for this advice:

Turn on your dipped headlights all day every day, any weather There’s a good chance they’ll save you a crash or two in your lifetime of driving

2. Ben Dawkins had this to say after an Irish pub in England refused entry to people wearing poppies for Remembrance Sunday:

If they are anti British then trading in Luton is slightly hypocritical.

Some 1,268 of you approved.

3. JIMINYJELIKERS got 1,251 green thumbs for this comment under a story about a man who was shot in Dublin while walking his dog:

Is the dog ok.

4. Some 1,095 of you liked Kevin Mc Garry‘s comment under a story about a woman who tricked another woman into believing she was a man by making her wear a blindfold when they spent time together:

Watching tv while wearing a blindfold. How does that work?

5. John Fergus got 975 likes for this comment, after it emerged the DPP decided to not take action against journalist Brenda Power over an article which she wrote about violence in the Traveller community:

pavee point would be well advised to shut the f### up on the matter. if people are not allowed to openly discuss problem in society for fear of offending some people then those issues will never get addressed.
they are right its a victory for free speech and common sense

The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week

file-photo-a-review-into-how-northern-irelands-public-prosecution-services-handled-the-complaints-of-mairia-cahill-and-two-others-has-concluded-they-were-let-down-the-person-with-overall-responsibil-4-390x285 RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

1. Mairia Cahill ‘deeply regrets and is deeply sorry’ for dissident involvement (278 comments)

2. Joan Burton lashes ‘online warriors’ as Mairia Cahill becomes a Labour senator (273 comments)

3. Watch ‘a bunch of whimpering babies’ shout and roar in the Dáil (259 comments)

4. Poll: Would you wear a poppy? (247 comments)

5. Church needs to ditch discredited Old Testament views – McAleese (227 comments)

Standout comments

Our Last Rites series on death and bereavement struck a chord with a lot of readers – with many of you telling your own experiences of loss.

shutterstock_138319112 Shutterstock / Kzenon Shutterstock / Kzenon / Kzenon

Here’s a selection of your stories:

Jean McGrath:

I lost my beautiful twin sister to cancer in April of this year and I totally understand how you are feeling. Cancer sucks no doubt about it, she was only 53 and left a husband and two daughters 14 and 18 years old. When I think of her I totally lose my breath and cry.

Catherine Mc:

Over 16 months later it doesn’t get better but reading this article I know now I’m not alone. Thank you for sharing.

Shane Mc Quillan:

Having had a similar experience in life over 15 months starting in March 2011 I can identify with a lot of what this author writes. Death is something nobody wants to have experience of dealing with, and grief never goes away. Some days are better than most,and days that aren’t birthdays/anniversary dates can hit harder than the ones that are expected to. In about 5 months time I’ll be getting married and I have moments almost every day where I don’t know how I’m going to cope with 3 hugely important people being there that would make the day more enjoyable than words could describe. Really hope the author can keep on dealing with their losses in a strong positive way going forward. Fair play for writing this and it was worth the read from start to finish

Maria Hickey-Fagan:

My mother died suddenly in 1989 when I was 12. Upon hearing the news, I made myself cry because that’s what I thought I should do. In reality, I was in shock and the tears didn’t come naturally for that very reason. If you’ve been lucky enough never to have experienced a close bereavement, you would be forgiven for thinking that when the time comes, that’s what you’ll do. Because we all have a pre-conceived idea of how it will affect us. The truth is, there is no right or wrong way to grieve. And every death affects you differently, as I found out when dad died from cancer in 2003. Even though it was expected, it hit me like a brick and I ran out of the room as my brother whispered the Our Father in his ear as he left us. I sobbed like a baby in the hospital corridor and those tears came naturally. And just 11 months later, that same brother went to sleep one night and never woke up. Apart from the tears I felt angry. Angry at random people on the Dart who got to carry on living while my brother’s life had ended at the age of 37. Three close deaths, three very different grieving processes. When it happens, be kind to yourself, don’t expect to feel a certain way, let it happen. And if it gets too much, share it.

Mary Walshe:

I lost my Mam in March 2014, after a long illness. She and I didn’t always get along when I was much younger and I did many things that disappointed her. However we always loved each other and became quite close over the past couple of decades.
I’m still trying to come to terms with her death and miss her terribly. I have not been the same since she died and I don’t think I ever will be again

Under a story about things that happen at an Irish funeral Sharon Kelly noted:

My brother passed away last year and we had his wake at home. I have never experienced anything like it. Even though it was the worst time it was overwhelming how many people from the local community arrived and brought food etc they were so good to us….around 20 of his friends stayed with him the night before the funeral telling stories and it really was a special night through all the tears we laughed at the antics my brother had got up to.

Thanks for sharing, and for your kind messages.

download (14) Facebook Facebook

A lot of people were touched by the story of a driver who stopped his bus to get a winter coat for a homeless man. The piece led Niall O’ Sullivan to tell this story:

I came across a tweet from a guy in Dublin 2 days ago saying he was coming home on the bus when the bus driver stopped the bus and walked an elderly male passenger up to his front door. Spontaneous round of applause when the bus driver goit back in the bus.

Faith in humanity restored.

elf-star-on-the-tree-o

On a post about when it’s okay to start celebrating Christmas, Sharon Reid wrote:

Life is doom and gloom enough without people begrudging those who enjoy the Christmas season – I love Christmas it’s my favourite time of year as it’s when we make time specifically to spend with family no excuses no rearranging all the kids get to enjoy things like ice staking Santa visits writing letters I just love it all and been due my second baby on the 22nd of December Christmas will come around in no time – I welcome the “early” decorations and shops displaying Christmas items I’ve got only one pay day before the Christmas break and I like to shop around for best prices it’s been practical.

During the week, Enda Kenny celebrated 40 years as a TD. To mark the Taoiseach’s milestone we compiled 40 photos of him pointing at things, as you do.

download (4) RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Richard Lippy Collins has this to say:

That was incredibly enjoyable but I have absolutely no idea why.

The images are a little bit hypnotic but, mainly, pointless.

See any good comments? Send them on to orla@thejournal.ie

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Nov 14th 2015, 11:45 AM

Mairia Cahill generated 278 Comments on her “apology” – Yet The Editor has blocked us reading them – Political Censorship – or on your orders from Enda and Joan , Hugh O’Connell ?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:05 PM

Not much comment from you or fellow shinners Eddie on the terror articles. Interesting considering you have an opinion on everything else here. Dunno what you lot will do in your spare time for next few days. Poor Jamming will have to find a new hobby – not a word out of him.

Mute Scarce 9 Jutro
    Favourite Scarce 9 Jutro
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:32 PM

Jamming has no sympathy for fellow humans, he wallows in tragedy and misery. These Shinner guys won’t comment on anything except water, defence of the ‘Ra and government bashing. Actual real life stories, Paris etc means SFA to them.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:40 PM

fair play to you two showing your absolute nasty side once again, using a tragedy such as this to try and score some sort of points on a comment forum
    by the very words you both have written you have proven that you are much lower than the people you are trying to attack

absolute moronic statements from the pair of ye, hang your heads in shame
    both are nothing but hypocrites

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:45 PM

Oh look another new keyboard warrior account just set up to have a cowardly cut and accuse others of being cowardly. My post was serious and not a bit hypocritic but quite a few Irish people having a go at Maria Cahill want to have a serious look at their ambiguous attitude to terrorism. Can’t have it both ways.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:53 PM

LOL you calling me a Keyboard warrior, now THATS Funny! – your post was Serious? your post did NOTHING but attack a person – and you have the audacity to call me a keyboard warrior?
    you can believe what you want about MC, same as others can, the fact that she refused to answer questions or debate, is ok by you, But it is not, to a lot of other people.
    The facts are SHE WAS A DISSIDENT REPUBLICAN, against the peace process and the GFA, where as SF actually got th epeace process over the line, but then again,that doesn`t suit your rhetoric.
    you need to have a long hard look in the mirror, and take a step out of that glasshouse before you throw any more stones.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:53 PM

James. Maria Cahill was the leader of and is quite possibly still a member of an active terrorist organisation.Namely the Real IRA.Whatever happened to her as a child she became a supporter of terrorism at a time when everyone else was moving away from it.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:55 PM

Ambiguous attitude to terrorism you say. You couldn’t make this sh*t up, FG and Labour just elected a known dissident who was the Secretary of the RNU, political wing to the dissident IRA terrorists. You need to start looking at your government who seemingly have no problem having a person in government with them who 5 years ago was part of an organization that was anti GFA, anti PSNI and anti an Garda Siochana. Your hypocrisy knows no bounds!

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:55 PM

for the record jim, i never used the word Cowardly,take a read back at my first post, no mention of it you keyboard warrior lol

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:00 PM

Ok nasty then Modj – how am I a keyboard warrior? You’re the one hiding.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:11 PM

@ EDDIE agree, the Journal is becoming more and more like the Independent, and Hugh O’Connell is using it for his, or his party’s agenda, if the rest of the Journalist working for the Journal that’s fine, but I can’t see them having to many more anniversary’s.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:15 PM

You’re hilarious Peadar. Look at all the red thumbs I get from the extreme left and shinners here. Majority of comments here are from that group so if it’s like the independent rag then why are you all obsessed with it?? Just stay off it if you don’t like it.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:16 PM

hiding? who says your real name is James Gorman? – am i supposed to believe a stranger on the internet? – I`m supposed to believe what you tell me?? HaHahaaaa..
    you are a keyboard warrior because you attack other people instead of contributing to a discussion, plain and simple – look up the definition of ” Keyboard warrior”
    LOL – get a substantial grip of yourself, you have already lost the argument – now away with you,
    have a nice life and don`t break you computer screen in anger now dear boy ;-)

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:18 PM

Jim – if you really have to rely on red and green thumbs, you lead a very sad existence – and what gives you the right to tell someone to stay off a particular website? – If you can`t take the heat, get out of the kitchen – go for a long walk pal – let the rain cool you down

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:26 PM

Modj – if I was bothered by red and green thumbs I wouldn’t stick the pace here. I’ve posted here long time under my real FB account and couple of my greatest critics here are FB friends. If you don’t believe me send me a request and you will see my full profile which is obviously real and you can delete the contact then. Just don’t troll me about my personal life. I actually think this site would be better if there were no red or green thumbs and you had to have a real verifiable profile. It would decimate the comments though because the trolls would be gone.

Nov 14th 2015, 1:30 PM

Here is my view on the matter…
    Her election will be the death nail for Labour at the next election. This government thinks it can do whatever it wants, whenever it wants. It has survived one scandal after another and one lie just follows another. Yet people just keeps on drinking the same ould devils poison again and again, when and why do people accept this???

I have seen something pointed out by the BBC, THAT THE 2 PEOPLE who accused Gerry Adams of the involvement of Jean McConville’s murder were the 2 that went crazy because Gerry Adams brought Sinn Fein into the Good Friday agreement. These two were against the Good Friday agreement and therefore tried to ruin Gerry Adams because of the hatred that the IRA would lay down it weapons and accept peace. Both are dead now but at the time of the Good Friday Agreement they went absolutely crazy at the idea odf peace and both blamed Gerry Adams for it. It is called poisoning the waters, a thing learned fron the Roman armies carrying arsenic to poison well in battles as they retreated in those they lost…
    Then we have… “MAIRIA CAHILL HAS said her involvement with an organisation opposed to the PSNI and the Good Friday Agreement was “the wrong thing to do” and a decision which she “deeply regrets’ and is “deeply sorry” for.” Another who was against the Good Friday Agreement and who now blames Gerry Adams over the rape but yet she was raped by her uncle…
    It seems the real point of anger is Gerry because he went the road of peace, I am not saying that these people do not matter but I am saying these victims should not be used because of people angry at Adams for choosing peace and helping to achieve it…

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:41 PM

Lwt’s judge her on her actions going forward Michael. Nothing wrong with being a dissident but if this includes terror then it’s not on. If she can use her profile positively then best luck to her. If she can’t I hope she falls quickly.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:47 PM

Richard Doherty, his comment on Maria Chill……generated 1,113 likes and no sign of it in the week in comments, …….WHY…..is the Journal becoming just another government orientated rag.

Nov 14th 2015, 5:29 PM

James Gorman, I really do not think any of it is positive, she was raped by her uncle. So why go to the IRA as it was her uncle unless everyone in the family was terrified of the uncle. You report rapes to the police?
    I think there is a vendetta in the making here?

Nov 14th 2015, 5:32 PM

Peadar, I think someone has to point it out to the journal by email, I think?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Nov 14th 2015, 5:36 PM

You doubt she was raped Michael?

Nov 15th 2015, 11:53 PM

Never James, just she needs to focus her anger rather that having a fallout. She is a victim but it was her uncle that raped her, no one else.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Nov 14th 2015, 11:46 AM

I find it a bit strange that there is a discrepancy between your most popular comments and 5 most commented on articles. The second most commented article, about Mairia Cahill becoming a Senator, has two comments that are more popular than your 4th and 5th most popular comments of the week.

They are “The first dissident Labour senator” and “I’m not a usual Labour mourner nor am I overly fond of them but this is a joke on their behalf”. I’m assuming that there was a deadline sometime yesterday for this story and that’s why they weren’t included…..

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 14th 2015, 12:33 PM

Shhh…….Dissent towards the government and it`s shady actions will not be tolerated on the journal, which after all, is the bastion of openness and transparency,
    you are not even supposed top notice discrepancies like this, nothing to see here, move along…………

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:15 PM

a secretary of a terrorist movement infiltrates the Irish government ( and given €60,000 plus expenses of the tax payers money) we are not allowed ask why?

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:32 PM

No Chris we are not. We are supposed to accept without question whatever this shambles of government tells us and get on with paying our way out of the mess we didn’t create.

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Nov 14th 2015, 11:15 AM

Kenny 40 years as a TD, So he has no idea what real life is like for the rest of us.

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    Nov 14th 2015, 11:08 AM

“pavee point would be well advised to shut the f### up on the matter. if people are not allowed to openly discuss problem in society for fear of offending some people then those issues will never get addressed.
    they are right its a victory for free speech and common sense”

Eh! that’s a total contradiction: oh shut up pavee point and yay free speech! Well done journal dopes for upvoting that nonsense. Irish thick or wha?

Mute Mark Byrne
    Favourite Mark Byrne
    Nov 14th 2015, 11:42 AM

You know what he meant ffs

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:08 PM

Good man Carmo from The USA! Coming on here to an Irish site and then making the statement “Irish thick or wha?”
    Nothing like a little bit of racism to get the day going.

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    Nov 14th 2015, 1:35 PM

Shut up you ignorant paddy!

Mute Frank's Cat
    Favourite Frank's Cat
    Nov 14th 2015, 11:05 AM

Pffff. It’s anti-feline discrimination.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 14th 2015, 3:49 PM

Hi Orla. Just wondering how top comments of the week works if you can answer? In the article about joan burton calling people Internet warriors on the more chill issue, there are three comments in a row, one by myself, which had 984, 1162 and 1141 thumbs up. Just wondering why these weren’t mentioned when comments with lower thumbs up were quoted as the top comments. As I said one of those comments was mine and no I am not looking for attention or praise, just wondering were here comments excluded because they were unsuitable? And if they were unsuitable then why are they still viewable on the article. Look forward to a response.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 14th 2015, 3:50 PM

Maire cahill* issue..my bad