You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.
This week there was a lot of talk about the general election, water charges and Electric Picnic.
The 5 most popular comments this week
Enda Kenny and Micheál Martin RollingNews.ie
RollingNews.ie
1. The most-liked comment (1,751 votes) this week comes from Kevin Carroll, who had this to say about our election coverage:
Great election coverage journal. Top notch. Less of the click baity stuff and more of this. Great stuff
2. In the aftermath of the election, Tom Buckley got 1,750 green thumbs for this comment:
Excuse me for the crude analogy
Irish politics is like possessing two pairs of underpants
You put up with the first pair until they become unbearable
You then switch to the second pair
Enduring them until they too become unbearable
So unbearable in fact the first and still unwashed pair are starting to look like an attractive alternative again
FF and FG
3. Taking third spot is trashbaby, who got 1,680 likes for this input under an article about striking Luas drivers:
Taking the piss at this stage. Haven’t met a single person who believes they deserve the pay hike they’re demanding.
Talks on averting Easter weekend strikes are expected to begin on Monday at the Workplace Relations Commission. Siptu has insisted the dispute is about more than pay rises.
4. Speaking on RTÉ’s Prime Time on Tuesday night, Agriculture and Defence Minister Simon Coveney said Fine Gael would be “willing to talk about water” in government negotiations.
Health Minister Leo Varadkar later said his colleague’s comments were taken out of context, and he never said water charges would be scrapped.
5. When an asylum seeker was jailed for five years for raping a woman after offering her a lift home, selfsustainable wrote:
5 years???? 5 bloody years???? shame on judicial system in this country. those poor women have a life sentence before them because of what this animal did.
Some 1,387 of you agreed.
The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week
During the week thousands of homes were left without power due to Storm Jake, leading Mandy Seiler to comment:
Haven’t we become so dependent on everything electric? When we had power outage in our old house we had at least an Aga. We had our own well, meaning no water. That was inconvenient but you could work around it as you were out of the house for most of the day anyway. We could still cook, wash and stay warm. Now most houses don’t have the solid fuel option anymore; it’s terrible for the elderly and families with small kids. All the oil in the tank is of no use then. One can only hope they have families to go to, or someone calling by till power is restored.
Associated Press
Under an article about virtual reality house viewings possibly becoming the norm in Ireland, An Observer had this, er, observation:
Virtual reality viewing of rental properties in Ireland right now. Close your eyes. There you are.
When LCD Soundsystem was announced as one of the Electric Picnic headline acts, Gareth Stewart wrote:
‘You spend the first 5 years trying to get with the plan and the next 5 years trying to be with your friends again.’ Sums up my twenties perfectly.
On foot of Donald Trump and Hilary Clinton’s success on Super Tuesday, Tweed Cap commented:
Rumour has it Putin now prefers to watch the American presidential campaign instead of the Simpsons
PA Images
PA Images
When news broke that Keith Duffy and Brian McFadden were forming a duo called ‘Boyzlife’ (Boyzone and Westlife, geddit?), you guys had some suggestions for what they should be called instead.
We can safely assume they’re rethinking the name on foot of these.
The Central Statistics Office released some fascinating stats during the week comparing modern-day Ireland to the country in and around 1916.
CSO
CSO
The figures – released to mark the centenary of the Easter Rising – look at topics such as population, marriages, death rates, emigration, and the most popular baby names of both eras.
You mean there were no little girls born in 1916 with the name Beyoncé or little lads with the name Maximillian?
Surprisingly, no.
Center Parcs
Meanwhile, a lot of you were happy with the news that a massive €223 million Center Parcs resort is on its way to Longford – pointing to the boost it will give the county. Although Alan Tormey asked a a valid question:
On foot of watching an incredible music instrument made from 2,000 marbles in action, john had this to say:
the human mind is truly amazing.
Finally, after his comment was the most liked on the site last week, Niall Duffy pondered:
Comment of the week! Made my day. Can I put on my CV
Yes you can, Niall – it’s one of the top ten pieces of information potential employers look for.
See any good comments? Email them to orla@thejournal.ie.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Not the point imo. Are you happy to have others decide for you what you can read?
If anything we need laws to protect us from government interference in our privacy and free speech in Ireland needs additional legal protections as a matter of urgency. Lorraine Higgins almost got elected in the last election. She very nearly made it. People like her should be kept as fare away from the legislature and democracy as is humanly possible.
It is the point. If you really want to read it, it’s very very easy to get it. It’s not like they are banning books every day. It’s extremely rare, and in this case warranted. Why should the sicko who write get financially rewarded for their sick work?
This is really a very serious infringement of civil liberties. No matter how distasteful the text is, it should not be banned. Almost all of society would be appalled by such a book and would presumably choose not to read it. If we allow others to decide what we may read, it diminishes our own autonomy and we become less by allowing others to decide for us!
Oh and the content of the book isn’t an infringement of the civil liberties of our most cherished citizens? – namely our young children and future of this country who will no doubt as adults commend the board for making what is as much a symbolic objection as it is a censorship to this depraved material that only child abusing perverts would want to read, and perhaps even act upon as it would be seen in their sick minds to legitimise the horrors and their warped fantasies contained between it’s sick covers.
Oh please, this children nonsense again. First of all, I have read many books where children are tortured, starved, burnt in a concentration camps or beaten. This does not make me want to do these sick things. Second, child rape is a huge issue in Ireland and so it is clearly something that happens, Third, the article mentions nothing about how the context of the rape in the book. Context is everything Mr. Pope. You haven’t read it and you assume its sick. Schindler’s list is sick, the boy in the striped pajamas is sick. Should I not read those either lest my simple brain be warped by the experience?
Hilarious how you took my comment out of context while at the same time lamenting me about context, you haven’t read it either but I’ll damn well take the word of once or twice in a career censors acting on their sense of ethics over your desire to have every pervert and paedophile in the country fapping off to this or possibly even worse, acting on it, seems your simple little brain is already warped.
I hate censorship and the fact someone else gets to ,or 5 other people in this case get, to decide for me what I can and can’t read. How infantilising. Almost infantilising as feminism would feel to me I suspect were I a woman.
I hate it too. If I wanted to read or watch something myself, I would. If I don’t want to then I wouldn’t. People know they’re own minds and you don’t need censorship to tell you what to do. If you want to ban something, ban censorship.
The author should be arrested. What kind of sick minds produce shite like this. If people think that this rubbishy should be free for children to read then they need to ask themselves very serious questions.
@Luke kelly. I’m with you there. How dare anyone! Tell me or anyone what they can or cannot read. The only good thing is the censorship board (Quango) has pretty much been an irrelevance sense the invention of the video player, and has been totally irrelevant sense 1992 with the invention of the Internet.
Child porn and heroin are readily available to anyone who wants them despite them being banned so banning anything is ridiculous when it can be gotten hold of anyway.
Banning books especially is the most backward of all and will now just make this book more popular as is the case with anything else that has been banned previously.
Ban censorship as in this day and age it’s pointless to try to ban anything.
Ron, banning child porn is a bit different from a banning a book wouldn’t you say? The reason it’s banned is because in videos & images, actual children are abused in almost every way imaginable. There’s a reason why that’s banned, but this is a book. I don’t think an actual child was abused for this book to be written.
So as long as it’s not an actual child it’s okay? You are, I take it, fine with cartoon child porn? Our legal system isn’t. if they were banning books left right and centre, I’d agree with you. But they don’t , it’s extremely rare and sometimes it should be done, if fot no other reason as to not financially reward this kind of tripe.
I agree Michael, You will probably get someone spouting on about freedom of speech etc as an excuse to get away with writing such trite. It is this sort of shite that really does make you question the mentality of some folk. However, censored or not, Folk will get their hands on it, and by censoring it, gives some the urge to want to read it just because someone has said they can’t.
@Thomas. I couldn’t care less what you or the rest of the perverts want to read but I do care what kind of filth is available for my children to read. Of course it’s pretty clear you don’t give a shite about the welfare of children.
You’re wrong Keith, people have been convicted of possessing child porn for having drawn images and animated videos.
This book is obviously child porn, you can deduce that from the title and the ban. As TheBull says above, they don’t ban books left right and center. This is a case of people who have read the book exercising common sense and idiots on the internet getting offended because they believe their “right” to read and publish ’50 shades of child rape’ is being infringed on.
I was typing my comment above before Keiths comment immediately before it was published so I was replying to his earlier comment before he adapted the exact opposite position to the one he expressed in his earlier comment. apologies to all if it seems a bit confusing.
How am I wrong? I just said it would still be illegal didn’t I? Though yes your right, maybe this book is child porn. So with that in mind, I don’t want to read it and I don’t need censorship guidelines to tell me that. The ban could be repealed and it could be made available everywhere and I still wouldn’t want to.
Please read my comment immediately above yours, the one that starts with the words “I was typing”.
So if you think that people should be allowed to decide from themselves whether or not they read the book then how can you square that with cartoon porn being banned when nobody gets hurt in its creation. You can grasp that the cartoon should be banned almost instinctively, what makes the book different? Why don’t you feel that the cartoon should be available and you can decide not to watch it yourself without needing censorship guidelines to tell you that?
Ron I realise what you said about the comments because yours came up while I was typing mine so I made the same mistake. But my original point is that censorship doesn’t work because whether it’s banned or not, anyone who wants to read it will read it. Same with the cartoons, banned or not, anyone who wants to watch them, will watch them. Either way, only a certain kind of person will do either one or the other.
Has anyone ever read The Kite Runner? The sodomy rape and molestation scenes were extremely graphic and this best selling book was made into a movie, how come it got past the censorship police in Ireland?
I read this book and completely agree with you! I saw a post recently on FB where a mum was looking for suggestions of books for her 12 year old son to read. Another person commented on it and suggested The Kite Runner. I pointed out that the book was hardly appropriate given the main character is gang raped and she told me she read the book when she was 13! Where was the parental supervision there! Imagine if that mother went and got that book for her 12 year old son based on that recommendation? It is an adult book! I know if I was her and had let the child read it I wouldn’t be one bit happy.
I’ve not read the book, but why ban it?
It does nothing to stop people buying it and reading it and if anything it now is a book that more people know about, they can buy it legally over the internet no doubt from any number of sources.
If you were on that board would you be so sure if yourself? – that’s not the point anyway, they are making a statement that this is not for for human consumption and should be avoided.
Re: “the first book banned in Ireland since 1998.” At least we won’t have to look at it being promoted or reviewed anywhere now that the Censorship Board has had the guts to do the right thing. I certainly don’t envy them their job. And hopefully other publishers and writers will be discouraged from producing such filth for public consumption. Of course any of you who REALLY wana read it will have no problem getting it online. So no need to be self-righteous about having your reading material censored. Even if you are someone with zero interest in this sorta dark matter, remember censorship in this case is well-deserved and intended to protect that which we hold dear – our children. And basic decency. Mary Power.
Re: “the first book banned in Ireland since 1998.” At least we won’t have to look at it being promoted or reviewed anywhere now that the Censorship Board has had the guts to do the right thing. I certainly don’t envy them their job. And hopefully other publishers and writers will be discouraged from producing such filth for public consumption. Of course any of you who REALLY wana read it will have no problem getting it online. So no need to be self-righteous about having your reading material censored. Even if you are someone with zero interest in this sorta dark matter, remember censorship in this case is well-deserved and intended to protect that which we hold dear – our children. And basic decency. Mary Power
I disagree in that I’m not telling people how to think. I’m simply saying that if we haven’t read the book then how can we say for sure that this was the right thing to do. Once I have read it, then I can decide for myself if it is sick or not. I don’t have the same faith in the censorship board as you do.
One argument against censorship is a personal one:- how dare they decide what is not suitable for me to read! But they are not aiming the banning of the book at you specifically. They are preventing the said book from going into bookshops generally where all and sundry can pick it up and buy. All and sundry means people of sophisticated intellect and taste, yes; however it also means people of immature taste, intellect and sexual proclivities – and these latter are the buyers most likely to derive motivation from a reading to go out and put the perverse dehumanising ‘idea’ of child rape into practice. If sophisticated selfstanding readers want to get their hands on a banned book they can fly to London or possibly New York and search out the banned book. Or search out a seller on the world wide web. Ireland is not being culturally deprived by the decision to ban the book in this case.
Rape and murder of adult women is degrading, antihuman and criminal. Rape of children is caused by a mental disorder called pedophilia, for which psychiatric treatment is available. Possibly censors distinguish between a book which might stimulate evil actions against children by criminally ill pedophiles, and books which highlight degrading crimes against the adult person by sane adults.
So we police everyone to ensure that a sick minority cant get their hands on something. Nonsense. That’s the society we used to live in, remember? That was not so nice for a lot of us.
Why isn’t #CENSORSHIP a tag for this article?
It is used as a tag on the Italian gay film ban story so when I clicked on it, I expected to see this article show up.
Don’t agree with censorship.
Would like some context re this book.
Is it fiction?
Non-fiction?
Or some oddball projecting?
To censor this book is to do yourself & others a disservice. “every time you silence somebody, you make yourself a prisoner of your own action, because you deny yourself the right to hear something”. Christopher Hitchens.
Ah, so because I don’t agree with you, I must have a closed mind? One thing people in general have forgotten how to do is to THINK for themselves. And to watch out for those who are too young/ too immature/ still learning how to say ‘NO’. I take your point about The Kite Runner (film) it is not fair for me to knock it as I never had the chance to even try watching it. But my point is: how often do ADULTS choose for themSELVES what to watch (or read) and how often do we choose NOT to partake of something? Must we consume EVERYTHING that’s thrown at us? No doubt the author of this banned book will make a mint out of the unexpected free publicity given it by websites such as this. And some people will feel compelled to read it – for fear of being branded “holy Mary’s” God forbid! People can be sooo mindless, sooo easily goaded into doing things they really would prefer not to. Nobody wants to stand up and be counted
But this action of censorship is removing our ability to think for ourselves on this issue. i.e to read it or not. By your logic you should be against this action. If you are turned off by some of the contents of a book then that’s cool, don’t read it, but to take away my choice to think for myself here and decide the merit of this book, by arguing that we don’t think for ourselves enough is just madness. Madness Mary, utter madness :).
I am disgusted by some of ye’er comments, I really am. Personally I would gladly do prison to protect my children (and grandchildren) from stuff like this. I don’t know why The Kite Runner wasn’t banned – maybe it should have been? In any case, I didn’t read it and would have great problems watching the film if it is as depraved as you describe. Am fussy about what I choose to feast my eyes on.
Mary, The Kite Runner was one of the best books I’ve ever read and the graphic sodomy rape scene was just a tiny part of the book and the movie didn’t depict the rape scene carried out by children on children as graphic as was detailed in the book.
Maybe you should open your mind and stop being such holy mary type.
How do you feel about books depicting the rape and murder of adults? They’re words on a page, nothing else. Nobody has actually been abused and as far as we know nobody is advocating abuse. Would you for example advocate the banning of Nabokov? Or books which actually carry instructions on child rape.. such as the Bible or the Koran ? Remember one persons filth and depravity is another’s satire or insight into the darkest recesses of the human mind… Nobody has actually been hurt here..
Suzie, don’t know bout you but this book had me in floods of tears so much so I had to stop taking it out with me when travelling on the tube cos I kept welling up at some of the harrowing scenes depicted in it.
Another great read by Khaled Hosseini is A Thousand Splendid Suns, if you haven’t read already give it a go.
Kool Tiger , there was sections in the book that got to me too but I had to see it through to the end , very well written , I read A Thousand Splendid Sun , enjoyed that one too . the other book got to me more though .
The tangible and historically significant nature of this medium makes it an easy target of state censorship even though they know and the public know the effectiveness of censorship in this age of communication is minimal and at worst encourages curiosity.
Just watch all the heads driving to Newry just to buy that book. The author of a book which would soon vanish without trace will be guaranteed some good sales in good old Ireland.
I can’t see this book searching on Google. Are they blocking it somehow? The only one with that title is be Sherry Murkin published in 1976. Is this a giant cock-up or North Korean style repression?
Lot of keyboard warriors on here trying to justify not banning this depraved piece of writing, wouldn’t like to be your children that’s for sure, anyone who buys this online from the likes of Amazon etc should be flagged to the police!
ehhr…did anyone noticed that the publishing company’s name is ” Star Distributions Ltd” ( short for PornStar)?..Their published material is mostly about adult sex..is there any doubt this book is out there to supply the paedophile niche market?….This book was rightfully censored to protect children…
I do not agree with censorship, I prefer to make my own mind up about things, as as no one seems to know what the context of this book is, I have just looked up other books published by Star Distributors and I have found a list of thirteen books which include “Lust Nympho”, “Tied Tight”, “Holding Wendy down”, “Health Spa Orgies” and “Holding Her Down” to name a few. So they basically publish porn, which leads me to believe that “The raped little runaway” is Child Pornography
I do not agree with censorship, I prefer to make my own mind up about things, as as no one seems to know what the context of this book is, I have just looked up other books published by Star Distributors and I have found a list of thirteen books which include “Lust Nympho”, “Tied Tight”, “Holding Wendy down”, “Health Spa Orgies” and “Holding Her Down” to name a few. So they basically publish porn, which leads me to believe that “The raped little runaway” is Child Pornography and pedophilia
Ireland already has some medical deserts - and it’s been getting worse
Maria Delaney
4 hrs ago
St Patrick's Day
Quiz: How much do you know about green things?
6 hrs ago
United States
Tánaiste says Conor McGregor 'doesn't speak for Ireland' as MMA fighter arrives at White House
Updated
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say