You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

James Atoa/UPI

Conor McGregor's plan to release a Notorious whiskey brand has been iced

The MMA superstar dropped a trademark bid after running into opposition from an Irish beer brand.

MMA SUPERSTAR CONOR McGregor has withdrawn his application to register his ‘Notorious’ moniker as a trademark for selling whiskey and other alcoholic drinks across Europe.

Last year, the mixed martial arts fighter’s company, McGregor Sports and Entertainment Ltd, filed the application.

He later boasted after his boxing match with Floyd Mayweather that the Notorious brand of Irish whiskey would be “coming soon”.

However, McGregor’s firm has withdrawn the trademark application at the European Union Intellectual Property Office in Spain in the face of opposition from a Carlow brewer.

The founder of the Carlow Brewing Company, Seamus O’Hara, had formally objected to McGregor’s firm registering the trademark.

The businessman, whose firm is behind the O’Hara’s craft beer brand, had already registered the Notorious brand for selling alcohol in 2016.

His representatives told the EU intellectual property office that the identical nature of the trademark was “expressing prohibited by trademark law” and the two brands “cannot coexist peacefully in the market”.

McGregor’s firm was ordered to pay €620 in costs to O’Hara.

Working hard

However, the move to withdraw the application is not expected to impact on McGregor’s plans to launch a whiskey label.

In a recent Instagram post – just days after the trademark application was withdrawn – the fighter said: “Working hard at my whiskey distillery. It is in my opinion, the finest distillery we have on this great island.

“We have the purest soil, with the freshest Irish spring water, and our golden Irish grain and malt is so golden … I respect Jameson, the current number one. But I am coming in strong. I am coming in passionate. I am coming to take over!”

The MMA fighter has not revealed where the whiskey will be produced, however McGregor will need to partner with one of the country’s existing distilleries in the short- to medium-term to bring his brand on the market.

To be sold as Irish whiskey, the drink has to be produced on the island of Ireland and aged for more than three years.

McGregor, whose net worth was estimated at €85 millions in the latest Sunday Times rich list, last year brandished a bottle of whiskey with the brand Notorious on the label.

However, in his Instagram post, the word was conspicuous by its absence.

A spokesman for Carlow Brewery did not wish to comment.

Additional reporting Peter Bodkin.

View 59 comments
59 Comments
    Mute CryptoSteve
    Favourite CryptoSteve
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:31 PM

New “brand of whiskey coming soon”. That’s it Conor, absolutely no clue about how it’s brewed or aged. Sure give it 2 weeks be grand. Sooner the better you run out of money.

Mute Féach News
    Favourite Féach News
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:52 PM

@CryptoSteve: Whiskey isn’t brewed, it’s distilled.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:02 PM

@CryptoSteve: you sound a bitter man, he’ll never run out of money. It’s called the law of attraction

Mute Glenn O'hAilpín
    Favourite Glenn O'hAilpín
    Sep 13th 2018, 7:44 AM

@CryptoSteve: it’s being contract distilled – with either Midleton , West Cork or Bushmills. He won’t have to worry about the spirit and I imagine distribution on world market will take care of itself. It’s a very smart move in fairness. Irish whiskey sales up 10% year on year. The trick is getting quality distribution and I imagine he’ll have no problem there.

Mute Herbert
    Favourite Herbert
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:32 PM

Talk about a sellout. This guy was always a knob

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:09 PM

@Herbert: one man’s sellout is another’s opportunist

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:05 PM

Why is everyone so bitter in their comments. Fairplay to the man. He knows how to make money. This whiskey venture will work and he’s gonna make millions. Legend

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Sep 12th 2018, 11:41 PM

@John O’Neill: Probably marketed at the same Irish-American demographic who like to call themselves ‘CrazyIrishDrunk94′ online, etc.

Mute Darragh Kelly
    Favourite Darragh Kelly
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:38 PM

I will obliterate this Whiskey if I get a hold of it. This Whiskey will do Nuttin!!

Mute Everett Gold
    Favourite Everett Gold
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:26 PM

Good. Might see less of the stuttering fool so

Mute The Bull McCabe
    Favourite The Bull McCabe
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:12 PM

@Everett Gold: He’s neither stuttering or a fool, but nonetheless, continue with your hateful begrudgery.

Sep 13th 2018, 12:39 AM

@The Bull McCabe: He is a eejit tho

Mute Everett Gold
    Favourite Everett Gold
    Sep 13th 2018, 9:58 AM

@the druid: good call

Mute Everett Gold
    Favourite Everett Gold
    Sep 13th 2018, 9:59 AM

@The Bull McCabe: he is both. And also he is a thug a d convicted criminal.. How’s that for you now

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:50 PM

“We hate McGregor! We hate Bono! We hate anything wealthy and Irish!”
    All together now….We hate McGregor! We hate Bono! We hate anything wealthy and Irish!”

Mute Jonathan Murray
    Favourite Jonathan Murray
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:55 PM

@Don Juan: get a grip princess

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:58 PM

@Don Juan: do not take slogan writing.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:59 PM

@filthypete: take up. Fml

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:00 PM

@Don Juan: It’s so cringe. These people obviously have NOTHING going on in their life’s. Let’s just all constantly mock a working class hero who made it big through hard work.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:05 PM

@Don Juan: Funny isn’t it that musicians like Enya or sportspeople like Ken Doherty don’t seem to garner half the animosity…I wonder why that might be ?

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:31 PM

@the druid: Ones worth more than McGregor and the other is actually a world champion in a real sport and not something knocked together by guys who think three years training while on the dole makes them worthy of some kind of title…so yeah I think I’ll reserve judgment on Conor boy…

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:32 PM

@John Ryan: imagine if Enya spoke and acted like McGregor, that would be fantastic.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:54 PM

@O Swetenham: Know that I’d pay to see..

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Sep 12th 2018, 11:43 PM

@Jonathan Murray: I have a grip alright.. a grip on the anti success attitude that your like have to wealthy Irish people that don’t keep their mouth shut. You want to see them put back in their box.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Sep 13th 2018, 1:49 AM

@Don Juan: No, it’s just loudmouth, obnoxious clowns we don’t like.

Mute MickNev
    Favourite MickNev
    Sep 13th 2018, 4:25 PM

@Don Juan: Truth…

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:56 PM

I can’t understand why. Having a load of whiskey and throwing a bin at a bus is the perfect honest marketing match!! He should put that on label.

Mute Bhiniáimin Ó Beith
    Favourite Bhiniáimin Ó Beith
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:35 PM

Here’s an idea call it McGregors…

Mute FrustratedASDMum
    Favourite FrustratedASDMum
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:14 PM

@Bhiniáimin Ó Beith: McGregor’s sounds a bit too Scottish for an Irish whiskey.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:44 PM

He could hardly call it ball-locks, could he?

Mute Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:29 PM

@John Considine: short and curly gold label

Mute Graham Light
    Favourite Graham Light
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:27 PM

Does this man pay his taxes YES, is he entertaining YES, is he a bad role model- only if you allow your little kids listen to MMA conferences, has he put Ireland on the map especially in Asia YES. Has he made wearing good fashionable clothes again a reality….ie. not made in a sweatshop YES. Will the lads that make the whiskey be any good only time will tell. But to be honest none of you are actually whiskey drinkers so who cares.

Mute Peter Brophy
    Favourite Peter Brophy
    Sep 13th 2018, 2:13 AM

@Graham Light: god love you son

Mute Don Kravallo
    Favourite Don Kravallo
    Sep 13th 2018, 10:09 AM

@Graham Light: Is he a bad role model? YES.

Mute Graham Light
    Favourite Graham Light
    Sep 13th 2018, 10:58 AM

@Don Kravallo: Listen the man’s job is to knock people out, he isnt a childrens TV presenter.

Mute Noel James Doherty
    Favourite Noel James Doherty
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:12 PM

The photo like, as if he’d be distilling away. Fair play to o hara he’s at it a while now great news this

Mute Matt F
    Favourite Matt F
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:09 PM

To bea honest I’m non too plussed about this.

Mute Gasher
    Favourite Gasher
    Sep 13th 2018, 5:59 AM

There’s a scotch whisky called Bells. Maybe Mc Gregor can call his “Bellend”

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Sep 13th 2018, 7:43 PM

@Gasher: or even ‘Boxer’s Shorts’ ?

Mute Jaci Black
    Favourite Jaci Black
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:38 PM

I admire him for his steadfast commitment to his sporting career. I would hope that someone who has his best interests at heart would give him a reality check. It’s obvious he doesn’t have that personal support.

Mute Graham Light
    Favourite Graham Light
    Sep 12th 2018, 11:06 PM

@John Ryan: Yeah and whats your proof of that allegation? I am going with none

Mute Headtheball
    Favourite Headtheball
    Sep 12th 2018, 11:16 PM

@John Ryan: The latter yes, but where are you getting the steroids from? One of the most tested athletes in the most rigorous testing regime under USADA, you seem bitter?

Mute Graham Light
    Favourite Graham Light
    Sep 13th 2018, 12:05 AM

@Headtheball: I am going with you both are talking out of your “you know whats” cant curse on the journal.

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Sep 12th 2018, 11:43 PM

Wonder what inspired O’Haras to brand their beer “Notorious”? Big fans of gangsta’ rap down in Carlow

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Sep 13th 2018, 12:02 PM

Notorious: Famous or well known, typically for some bad quality or deed

He really does take the “Notorious” persona to heart. I’ll give him that.

Mute David Quigley
    Favourite David Quigley
    Sep 13th 2018, 6:59 AM

That working hard at the distillery picture is hilarious.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Sep 12th 2018, 9:56 PM

He should stick to the coder in the field.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:03 PM

@tommytukamomo:
    *Cider*

Mute thatsGarrywith2r's
    Favourite thatsGarrywith2r's
    Sep 13th 2018, 6:49 AM

@Don Juan you’re dead right boy. Irish begrudgery alive and well.
    Your friend up the road has two amazing thoroughbred horses.
    You would like to be like your friend.
    You don’t hope he gives you one of his horses nor do you try to breed two thoroughbreds.
    You pray that both his horses die.
    I’m happy for the bloke. Don’t like the language and a lot of the swagger shite but he’s a great fighter and self promoter. Hell be retired in the next 5 years and we’ll all still be struggling to pay bills and commenting here with our pointless begrudgery while he chills out on a bed made of gold.

Mute Peadar O'Comain
    Favourite Peadar O'Comain
    Sep 12th 2018, 10:15 PM

Put me down for 10 bottles

Mute Annette Stacey
    Favourite Annette Stacey
    Sep 13th 2018, 12:03 AM

Your pose is menacing and you look like a gangster from Peaky Blinders.. not a good marketing ploy for your Whiskey brand…

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Sep 13th 2018, 12:50 PM

Fair play to him – and his post above and the photo is brilliant.

Notorious is not a great name anyway – too confrontational and generic – Whiskeys with people sounding names or location names rather than statements seem to do much better.

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Sep 13th 2018, 7:27 AM

I came across this type of business in work before. There are generic breweries and people buy the whiskey and buy trademarks that sound cool and sell the generic whiskey under their own trademark. It’s a similar model to a lot of make up brands. I’m surprised it works because most people who drink whiskey like whiskey.

Mute Graham Light
    Favourite Graham Light
    Sep 13th 2018, 12:31 AM

CONOR DOES WHAT HE WANTS

Mute Michael Wynne
    Favourite Michael Wynne
    Sep 13th 2018, 6:32 PM

Moron