You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
PAUL (53)* STARTED SNORTING heroin when he was 18. He had been involved with drugs before, and had grown up in a family where stealing was commonplace.
“I come from a dysfunctional family – where thieving was the norm,” says Paul.
So before I took drugs I was thieving from a young age and when I was about 18 I got introduced to heroin – back then you snorted it.
But I had seen over the years my friends die from it because needles were introduced then and people were getting HIV – thankfully I wasn’t involved with it then.
This was about 1988. In 1990, Paul moved from heroin to a more expensive cocaine habit. He would steal to fund his habit and his life suffered as a result.
“About 1990 I started snorting cocaine and I developed a cocaine habit over a year of taking it,” he says.
My marriage broke up then due to my addiction.
I would take heroin, pills, anything to get stoned or feed the habit.
Eventually, he was sent to prison – but that didn’t help the problem.
I got charged – I don’t really want to say what I got charged with – I ended up in court, I ended up in custody for six months…
I had a 14-day detox that sent me into the most horrible withdrawals that I’ve ever had.
But still, when I got out of prison I still went back to heroin.
Paul’s life continued in a spiral of addiction and crime. In 2009, facing down a lengthy jail sentence for possession of firearms, and feeling suicidal, he finally realised that he needed proper help.
Coolmine Therapeutic Community
Paul first entered Coolmine Therapeutic Community on 10 March, 2009.
Coolmine Therapeutic Community is a drug and alcohol treatment service located in different parts of Dublin.
Established in 1973, it has an holistic approach to tackling addiction issues using the philosophy of the Therapeutic Community (TC).
This is primarily a self-help approach to tackling addiction, with staff/peers acting as facilitators of change – but the ultimate responsibility rests with the person themselves.
About half of Coolmine’s clients come from the prison service, with a significant amount of them living with long-term housing or mental health problems.
Social Protection Minister Joan Burton takes a tour through the poly tunnels at Coolmine Lodge Maxwell Photography / Coolmine Facebook
Maxwell Photography / Coolmine Facebook / Coolmine Facebook
They are funded by a number of organisations including the HSE, the Department of Justice and the Office of Social Inclusion.
“I went into Coolmine to be a stronger person going into prison – not to be doing drugs – and to get a reduced sentence. They were the two main reasons,” says Paul.
“So I got in there and I saw a whole different outlook on why I was using drugs.”
I learnt why I used drugs – there was a lot of stuff I had kept inside, stuff from my past that I hadn’t told anyone since I was kid, things that happened that I wouldn’t have even told my family.
I blamed everyone for my addiction bar myself.
Paul finished three months at Coolmine Lodge in Dublin 15 before he went to prison to start serving his sentence.
The three months at Coolmine had a profound effect on him, he says, and he managed to avoid taking drugs for the over two years he spent in prison.
“For the first six months in prison I was living in a four-man cell and they were taking pills and heroin,” he says
I ended up getting respect for not taking anything – but it was always my determination to get back to Coolmine to finish out my therapy.
Pathways through treatment
Earlier this week, a study was launched which showed that 72% of Coolmine’s clients are still drug-free two years after receiving treatment. That figure rose to 85% when the clients had completed and graduated from the programme.
The pathways through treatment study was launched by Health Minister Leo Varadkar. Other notable statistics include:
98% of clients were not engaged in criminal activity two years after finishing the programme.
Employment rates of clients went from 3% at intake to 25% after two years.
Criminal activity fell, and engagement in education rose in general in clients who had attended the centre.
Health Minister Leo Varadkar with Alan Connolly, chairman of Coolmine Maxwell photography
Maxwell photography
Treacy Cagney, an outreach and clinical nurse manager at Coolmine for the past five years, says that the holistic, considered approach to tackling addiction is what works best.
“No two people are going to be the same here – and it is a case that you will have people with more complex needs.”
If you have a significant mental health issue, or a housing issue or a learning difficulty – which we see a lot – you are going to progress slower through the programme.
Treacy also says that people “slipping” from the programme and using drugs while receiving treatment is a common occurrence – but that factors like this are all part of trying to help people.
This is part and parcel of working with addiction and the people that we’re dealing with here have been in addiction for 10 or 15 years – so there’s a lot of work to be done to reverse patterns.
It’s not a case of just treating someone in addiction – you have to look at the core issues that are there: around trauma, around poverty, around lack of education… and the really poor health that people present here with… So you’re addressing many issues.
Coolmine also offers the only treatment centre in the country where mothers can go with babies – Ashleigh House in Damastown in north Dublin.
Health Minister Leo Varadkar at the Creche in Ashleigh House in 2014 Coolmine Facebook
Coolmine Facebook
There are 10 beds at this centre for pre-school children to sleep while their mothers receive treatment, and there is also a full crèche service offered Monday through Friday, as well as facilities for older children to visit on weekends.
Treacy says that one of the main focuses of the Coolmine treatment is to break the cycle of addiction and drug use that blights entire families – to battle the revolving door system that people find themselves in: going from children’s homes to prisons, repeatedly throughout their lives.
“We need to get people out into education and out into employment – to start giving them another option.”
Another option
Paul stayed clean for the two years and four months he spent in prison.
When he was released, he returned to Coolmine to finish his treatment. He fully graduated the Coolmine programme on 5 September 2012 and has been clean since.
He now operates as a sole trader in construction and works nights at the Coolmine Lodge, working with others battling addiction like he once was.
He says that he owes his sobriety and life to the Coolmine programme.
“I help people out now. People would believe me if said to them I knew someone selling drugs – they know where I come from.
Well, now I tell them that this programme works, believe me – because I’ve done it all.
Coolmine Facebook
For Paul, stealing came before he used drugs, and much of his therapy was focused on coming to terms with things that had happened to him or that he had done in the past.
Now, he says his whole outlook on life has changed.
“I’d say it to lads every day I’d see working in the morning: ‘Just be grateful you can get out of bed.’”
They’d be moaning about the rain and I’d say that’s a bonus as well – that’s how precious life is.
For Paul, life is now about looking forward and appreciating the things that he has.
You can’t look back on your past, that’s what I’ve learnt, because if you live in your past you won’t move forward.
“I’ve asked for forgiveness for it, anything I’ve done. Today I don’t hurt anyone, I don’t harm anyone. I’m there for my children and I’m there for my grandchildren, and most of all, I don’t hurt myself.”
*Paul’s last name has been withheld to protect his identity.
Anyone with an interest in the Coolmine Therapeutic Community can visit their website at www.coolmine.ie
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is an addiction ! It’s very good for the charity but this mans health will suffer in the future. All these people running more & more races are damaging their bodies. It’s getting out of control. I hate being a kill joy but these athletes will suffer in the future.
@Martin Sinnott: Agree I ran two marathons. It’s all the training that’s the killer not just the race. I was out 4-5 times per week training for 9 months.
@Martin Sinnott: And whatevers ails these pioneers in the future will more than likely create a run to help them. I don’t know the man, I now know why he’s doing it, but to run 624 miles in a mere 24 days must justify something he REALLY STRONGLY believes in. All the best, and may GOD be with you..
Running marathon is an achievement. Putting ones life at risk to raise awareness and money for a charity is commendable.
But running 24 marathons in 24 days is simply self-harm and is possibly born out of an addiction.
Self-harm as a means of fund raising should not be endorsed or promoted by the media.
Some man, he’s running now as we speak from Balbriggan to Dublin. But for the record, there are even more mad people than Shane, let me mention Spanish man Ricardo Abat. He ran 500 marathons in 500 consecutive days. Yes no mistake here 5 hundred. To make it even more insane, the man did a part of it while having full time 8 hour a day job in the factory. Because he worked shifts on some days he completed two marathons in one day.
Absolute bonkers, but goes to show what human body is capable of. Now think about it when you’re too tired to walk the dog or play with kids after your 8 hours desk office job :)
@Tomasz Kuchnik: great comment. He’s obviously motivated by the suffering of his cousin who should be taken care better by our health services. The cuts have hit the least able to fight back. For shame.
Maybe the man knows the sacrifice he is making , and is willing to do it . However should he do a Forrest Gump , and keep on going , we’ll go with Mark Sinnotts’ comment .
People who don’t run putting up stupid comments if you take it easy it does no harm to body didn’t back fella called Stevie in the last 2 year’s run 100 marathons in 100 days and 60 ultras ( 40 miles ) in 60 day’s, but all the couch potatoes will sit on their holes telling people running is bad for you, Fair play to this fella
Wonderful effort. Glad to donate. But it’s such a pity that our government fails these people. That does not take away from his wonderful but painful endeavour. Best of luck.
There are too much of this on the roads with traffic backing up for ages especially on the ring of Kerry which sees runners doing it with their entourage. Cyclist are not too bad as going a bit faster and spread out. Tractors reversing around the 180km route is another one!
At least there hasn’t been a bed push in a while!
What’s stupid is the negative comments and the comments from non-runners etc. It isn’t harming you. It is his body his choice and if any of you even read the article properly you would have seen that he has successfully run 12 marathons 12 days already and that he is mentally strong as well as physically. It takes 60% mental strength and 40% physical strength. I personally know Shane. He has done a number of Ironman comps, marathons and he has prepared for this for over a year. He knows what he is doing. He is an absolute inspiration and legend. I am honoured to know him and run with him. He is so mentally strong and positive always. Best of luck with the rest of the challenge Shane
Thousands miss out on compensation from Irish Water complaints process
Mairead Maguire
7 hrs ago
Liverpool
Katie McCabe, Oasis and 'Guinness diplomacy': Martin and Starmer open first Ireland-UK summit
8 hrs ago
Pembrokeshire
Theme park in Wales popular with Irish tourists announces immediate closure
5 Mar
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 153 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 105 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 137 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 39 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 43 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 25 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 51 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 85 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 65 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say