You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Poll: Have you been following the proceedings at Cop26?

Cop26 is a two-week long summit on climate change.

TODAY, PROTESTERS ARE set to take to the streets in Glasgow, London and other cities in the UK and around the world to demand action on climate change.

In Glasgow, where the crucial UN summit is taking place, about 50,000 people are expected to march through the city centre as part of the Cop26 Coalition’s global day of action for climate justice.

This morning, we want to know: Have you been following the proceedings at Cop26?

Poll Results:

No interest  (4746)
A little bit (4233)
Yes  (1275)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:08 AM

G20 rich club and their angry children on the the other side . The rest of us will pay as much carbon tax as they tell us and we will just have to like it.

Mute JK
    Favourite JK
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:01 AM

@Alan Kelly: Well got to agree with you the kiddies outside are belonging to those inside, otherwise there would be riot police present at the event so it just more Main Stream Media tom foolery which they expect us all to believe, I better stop the Journal is getting upset.

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:18 PM

@Alan Kelly: Nicely summed up, unfortunately this is all us peasants need to know.

Mute Darren Anthony Corr
    Favourite Darren Anthony Corr
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:45 AM

Climate change is a serious issue. I’m pretty sure we can all agree on that.
    But the way the Irish government and RTÉ especially is acting as if we are the biggest cause of it is completely wrong.
    Sure, we can do our bit as global citizens but absolutely nothing will change in the world until USA, China, Russia, India and the oil rich Middle East sign up to it and implement it too.
    Reducing our National cattle herd here will do nothing only increase the value of beef and dairy products, due to decreased supply.
    Meanwhile smoke stacks billow and coal is burning with huge populations throughout the countries I listed above.
    The sooner the media and general consensus here sees that, the better. Coming down heavy on the ordinary people yet again, is not a tactic that will sell well. Claire Byrne can have all the drama filled polls she wants.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:25 PM

@Darren Anthony Corr: Couldn’t agree more,the best comment so far.

Mute Mandy Seiler
    Favourite Mandy Seiler
    Nov 6th 2021, 1:03 PM

@Darren Anthony Corr: Well put. Absolutely correct.

Nov 6th 2021, 10:06 AM

What’s the point the big players causing most of the issues will do sweet f all .

Mute Gerry from the Block
    Favourite Gerry from the Block
    Nov 6th 2021, 9:36 AM

I have in me hoop

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Nov 6th 2021, 9:55 AM

@Gerry from the Block: Strange place to have a tv. What’s the picture like?

Mute Richard Twohig
    Favourite Richard Twohig
    Nov 6th 2021, 9:59 AM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: flat widescreen, a bit grainy

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:02 AM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: Shite I’d imagine…

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    Nov 6th 2021, 1:10 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: Mrs Brown’s Boys is his favourite

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Nov 6th 2021, 1:55 PM

@Tony Donoghue: Brilliant!

Mute Twitruser2021
    Favourite Twitruser2021
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:19 AM

Would they ever COP on and stop sending ice breaking ships to the arctic, how does ice break again oh yeah you take core samples to find out by driving a fricken big ship through it and then drill the fricken ice. Leave it alone and feck off. Invest more in wave technology and use the plastic waste to make some decent wave energy equipment seen as it lasts in the sea. Also hopefully ITER will help. Consume less and hopefully get manufacturers to make products that fricken last more than 10 years.

Mute Nathan Notusingfackebook
    Favourite Nathan Notusingfackebook
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:24 AM

The entire “climate change” topic is a scam. In a rare moment of honesty, an IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) official said that climate change policy is an illusion. Ottmar Edenhofer, a former IPCC official, was quoted as saying, “One has to free oneself from the illusion that international climate policy is environmental policy. Instead, climate change policy is about how we redistribute de facto the world’s wealth.”
    Now you know why your taxes and going up and where your money is going. Welcome to the new world order. For those who really want to know what the historic temperature record looks like, and the fraud associated with climate policies, just Google “Tony Heller” who has excellent videos on weather and climate.

Mute JK
    Favourite JK
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:38 AM

@Nathan Notusingfackebook: I cannot say your wrong but is short the Old World Order, renewing their position of wealth calling it the New World Order, in other words more of the same the world had known about waste and recycling, since the the late 60s, but they took no action until they found ways of making money from it, so anything mentioned today will take at least 30 years to be done.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Nov 6th 2021, 9:44 AM

The best way to save the planet is couples have only one child from here on ,it’s not going to happen so the the whole shanagans is flawed from the start ,sucking diesel this morning

Nov 6th 2021, 10:07 AM

@Gerard Heery: way over populated and way too greedy so only solution is to reduce greed won’t happen or cull the population in the world .

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    Nov 6th 2021, 1:15 PM

Slaughtering people seems just a little harsh I feel, please reconsider the cull

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:29 AM

China & Russia the 2 biggest polluters on the planet not present & will avoid sanctions at all cost
    Public exercise to extort more tax which they think will be the solution

Mute Darren Anthony Corr
    Favourite Darren Anthony Corr
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:13 PM

@Mark Walsh:
    USA also didn’t sign up to eliminating coal burn.
    The west is just as bad, actually worse because it’s hypocritical. The west knows China and Russia (but especially China) is reliant on coal and fossil fuels just now. (Funny how they’re tipped to overtake USA as the global hegemon sometime this decade)
    Hmm makes you wonder if it’s really about climate change….

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Nov 6th 2021, 9:53 AM

Flogging a dead horse quite frankly.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:49 AM

@Robert Clifford: Sounds a rather exhausting pastime but yet you still have the energy to write about it in the comments section. Impressive! A lot of people on here probably wouldn’t understand so kudos to you for being brave enough to share. No one these days should have to feel ashamed of their particular and to some peculiar paraphilia. Live and let live I say so long as it’s legal and doesn’t frighten the horses eh? Hardly likely to in this case though I expect! It is legal isn’t it? The only time I’ve ever felt remotely inclined to do something similar was after losing big at Cheltenham even though it seemed the jockey had already beaten me to it…

Mute Robert Clifford
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:08 AM

@William Tallon: What?

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:17 AM

@William Tallon: Ya wha?

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:25 AM

@Robert Clifford: Essentially my point is who am I or anyone for that matter to judge you for what you do in private! Must be difficult getting rid of the horse afterwards though unless of course you’ve come to an arrangement with some of the major burger producers? Put that whip down now and make yourself a nice cup of tea…

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:44 AM

@David Corrigan: Flogging a dead horse. S+m, necrophilia and beastiality all rolled into one.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:45 AM

@William Tallon: Oh I see William. You’re trying to be witty in suggesting I beat and/or get frisky with a horse. Or you don’t know the meaning of the aforementioned idiom.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:03 PM

@Robert Clifford: Gosh! It took you a while to capall on to that alright although judging by the snideness of your response it’s quite obvious you knew full well what I was getting at from the outset and that you simply didn’t appreciate being the butt of the joke…

Mute Robert Clifford
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:45 PM

@William Tallon: You ok hun?

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    Nov 6th 2021, 1:42 PM

@William Tallon: he never said that he was flogging a dead horse himself

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 6th 2021, 2:20 PM

@Robert Clifford: I’m feeling totally flogging fine! Why do you ask?

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 6th 2021, 2:33 PM

@Tony Donoghue: He wasn’t very specific regarding who was actually flogging the dead horse so it seemed reasonable to assume he was referring to something he was occupied with at the time of his commenting. Now if he’d given it some context as in saying ‘They’re flogging a dead horse quite frankly.’ that would be fairly unambiguous and thoughts of deviant equine exploits would never have entered my head…

Mute JK
    Favourite JK
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:05 AM

Well I put no interest as this is all just about how many new ways, they can find ways of extorting more money fro ordinary people, while at the same time giving the real culprits who are damaging more excuses to make more money, free from any type of legal challenges to the harm they might be causing.

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:09 AM

No point, just honey words for the little people and then they return to their individual countries and are told what to do by the permanent government.

Mute Marjory Proops-Tinklebottom
    Favourite Marjory Proops-Tinklebottom
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:09 AM

I have in my bollix.

Mute whitewater
    Favourite whitewater
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:49 AM

No because it’s an attention fest.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Nov 6th 2021, 10:30 AM

Blaaaa Blaaaa a Blaaaaa

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:24 AM

@Dave Barrett: celebrity activists, hectoring the rest of us. in neo liberal societies business uses the govt to create optimum conditions for profiteering (we are a really good example of this). so, change wont come until there is a fundamental change in economic/social policy. the blah blah thing is simply virtue signalling, an entertaining distraction. i’d say people are now more familiar with her than with the details of climate change or of govt policy response to it (carbon tax excluded). a media spectacle, a circus, blah on all sides. and no change.

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:32 PM

If people care and want to help,one of the best things we can do is boycott anything made in China.

Mute Anarch Eco
    Favourite Anarch Eco
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:00 PM

Why do you want to know if I have been following the proceedings at COP26?

Mute Denise Byrne
    Favourite Denise Byrne
    Nov 6th 2021, 11:09 AM

Another talking shop. We need these guys and gals to do more than make decisions. We need them to do something.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Nov 6th 2021, 9:47 AM

Beware of information overload. Un petit peu mieux.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Nov 6th 2021, 2:43 PM

“No interest” isn’t really the same as “No” for a poll like this

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Nov 6th 2021, 3:11 PM

@Peter: Most of these polls have slanted questions and omit shades-of-grey answers.

Mute UnitedPeople #StopCETA
    Favourite UnitedPeople #StopCETA
    Nov 6th 2021, 6:56 PM

You have to wonder in part, what’s the point?
    The USA, Russia and China will still do whatever the hell they want. Each of their military/army sections alone, are creating more pollution in one week than most of their people are separately in the same period. They are laughing at us as we continue to pay for their polluting.

Mute Jas
    Favourite Jas
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:35 PM

The only way to deal with it is a population cull there are simply too many humans. The rest it just window dressing.

Mute Anarch Eco
    Favourite Anarch Eco
    Nov 6th 2021, 12:52 PM

@Jas: you start!

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Nov 6th 2021, 9:33 PM

Delighted to see the no interest results lol. Welcome oh friends of mine

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Nov 6th 2021, 5:50 PM

I’m sitting here watching TV adverts for Christmas conspicuous unnecessary consumption. We really are f3cked as a species. I have to say I’m as bad as the next person.

Mute Local Ore
    Favourite Local Ore
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:19 AM

Russia and China didn’t attend. The Middle East aren’t signing up to the pledges. India says they will meet the targets in 50 years. That’s nearly half of the worlds emissions.
    But people are protesting against the countries that are attending and are trying…. What’s the point in that? Total nonsense.