You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A NEW TOOL which helps emergency physicians identify patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) who are at high risk of serious complications, including death, performs better than current practice, researchers have said.
More commonly known as bronchitis or emphysema, COPD is a chronic lung condition whose primary symptoms are breathlessness, persistent cough and regular chest infections.
About 500,000 people in Ireland have COPD, but half of them likely do not know they have the condition.
COPD is primarily caused by smoking, but can also be the result of inhalation of dust or chemicals, or exposure to indoor or outdoor pollution, including fumes in the workplace, over an extended period of time.
The study was conducted at six hospitals in Ontario and Alberta with 1,415 patients aged 50 years and older who presented at emergency departments with COPD flare-ups.
Using the 10-point Ottawa COPD Risk Scale, researchers tested whether they could accurately predict short-term serious complications in these patients.
The tool correctly predicted that 135 patients (9.5%) would have serious complications, although 65 (8.3%) of serious outcomes occurred in the 779 participants who were not admitted to hospital.
“Before this tool, there was no way to know if a patient who came to the emergency department with a COPD flare-up was going to have dangerous complications,” Dr Ian Stiell, a professor of emergency medicine at the University of Ottawa, said.
This new information can help doctors decide whether to admit a patient or send them home.
“This should help decrease unnecessary admissions as well as unsafe discharges of patients with COPD who should be admitted,” Stiell added.
The risk scale can be used by respirologists, general internists and family doctors who care for patients with COPD, in addition to emergency physicians.
17,500 hospital admissions
There were more than 17,500 hospital admissions for COPD in Ireland in 2017 and it is the most common cause of disease-specific emergency admission to hospital among adults in this country.
Professor JJ Gilmartin, Consultant Respiratory Physician and Chair of COPD Support Ireland, previously said the 500,000 figure is based on the 2011 Census and “likely to be an understatement, given that our population has gotten larger and older since then”.
Based on the most recent statistics available, Ireland has the highest hospitalisation rates for COPD of all the OECD countries.
Advice
COPD Support Ireland, the umbrella body for 20 local COPD support groups, has issued the following advice for people living with COPD:
Give up smoking
Do breathing exercises and chest clearance techniques to help get rid of phlegm
Get active: You may feel that exercise will make you even more breathless, however, the less exercise you do, the less you are able to do
Eat well: Try to have a balanced diet and maintain a healthy weight; eat little and often rather than having big meals
Know your medications: Talk with your health professional about your medications and how they work; make sure you are using the correct inhaler technique
Avoid flare-ups: Keep away from smoky environments, pollutants like dusts, smog or foggy weather, and try to minimise your risk of colds and flus, including making sure to get the flu jab every year
Look after your mind: Living with a long-term illness is not easy and can give rise to feeling low or anxious
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
16 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Conor Mac Manus: This is all in response to Hillary losing, several scandals and their proxy army losing in Syria. It’s desperation mode. They have lost credibility, no one believes them, hence the “fake news” push. Resist censorship of independent media and delete your Facebook accounts.
“To combat fake news, Facebook has teamed up with a shortlist of media organizations, including Snopes and ABC News, that are part of an international fact-checking network led by Poynter”
Interesting read, for those who think that this will be fair and balanced you should look at a few of these:
“To combat fake news, Facebook has teamed up with a shortlist of media organizations, including Snopes and ABC News, that are part of an international fact-checking network led by Poynter, a nonprofit school for journalism in St. Petersburg, Florida.”
And
“Once third-party fact-checkers have confirmed that the story is fake, it will be labeled as such and demoted in the News Feed.”
And
“The Associated Press will also be a fact-checking partner.”
So what happens then if I report an ABC, Associated Press or Snopes article for fake news? Considering the fact that all three of the aforementioned networks are running with this claim that the Russians hacked the US election without providing evidence, surely those should be labeled as untrustworthy and fake right?
@Conor Mac Manus: The sooner Trump gets in the better. He’s is looking substantially more sane at this point. Obama talking about retaliation against Russia?Are the Democrats hell-bent on WW3?
@West Cork Lad: Yah, let’s stop reporting the truth when it goes against us. Kill the messenger. And, oh, yeah, let’s do nothing about a foreign enemy interfering in the election because my carnival barker won. Don’t look at the man behind the curtain. LOL. Putin will be dealt with, just like Bin Laden, don’t worry about that. You Trumpsters are the most gullible people on planet Earth. Deplorable conspiracy theory kooks, climate deniers, and flat-earthers, all of you. Like Bob Geldof once wrote, it’s a rat trap, and you’ve been conned, or “Don”-ed in this case. No one in their right mind is buying the bulls h!t posted by people like you on this thread.
He’s remembering his oath of office to protect and defend the constitution of the United States, I never agreed with Obama on anything but this time I do
I very rarely find myself in agreement with the Russians, however in this case they’re right. There’s no proof that the Russians had any involvement in the US elections and these ‘fighting words’ from Obama are unnecessary and dangerous. The hypocrisy from the Democrats on this is outstanding.
@Jason Culligan: I would be very anti Putin as I have done the research and he has a very shady past and indeed present but you are correct. If there was proof they would release it to the world just like they did when the Russians moved missiles into Cuba.
@John Reese: Seems to me there’s only two possibilities, either the Russians did it, or they didn’t. If they did it, then Obama’s response would appear to be measured and reasonable haven taken the time to acertain just who was behind the hack.
However if they didn’t do it then the question has to be asked why would the outgoing President of the United States of America make shuch a provocative statement against the world’s only other Superpower, knowing Putin’s reputation. It seems to be inviting further repercussions, is foolhardy, increadibly provocative and outright dangerous.
Should Putin take Obama’s bait and react to this and Trump be unable to cope in a ‘statesmanlike manner’ we may find ourselves in uncharted waters in the near future, if this happens the fault will lie not at Trumps feet but at Obama’s for iniating this.
In all honesty, I don’t think Putin will react to this beyond a diplomatic form of ‘go fudge yourself’.
Putin will likely be aware of the fact that Obama is toothless at this point. He doesn’t control all of the houses of government. He’s only in power for another month so he can’t do much damage anymore anyway. He also doesn’t have the support of the American people given how bad his party lost.
If Putin is smart, he’ll simply ignore Obama and engage with Trump from this point on.
@Jason Culligan: “He also doesn’t have support of the American people” – As you are a lad that loves putting up polls,Jason,you will find that Obama is always polling in and around the 58-60% in the approval ratings .
Hope this helps!
Just as the Labour Party seem intent on ripping themselves apart in the UK rather than learning from their defeat, the Democratic Party are on the same path. They lost because they picked a candidate with far too much baggage and their campaign was run with an unhealthy mix of incompetence and arrogance.
But learning from one’s mistakes appears to be overrated these days. It’s always someone else’s fault apparently.
The only statements on the subject from named individuals in both the CIA and FBI have been dismissive of reports that Russia was involved in rigging the US elections. It’s only unnamed sources with “conclusive evidence” which has yet to be provided that are saying that the Russians were involved. At this point it’s not unreasonable to demand that the evidence be provided and to dismiss the reports until it is.
This is by far one of the best examples of ‘fake news’ from the mainstream media.
It’s very obvious what’s going on here. The US political establishment are trying to kick up such a fuss about Russia, real or not to make it impossible for Trump to have a good relationship with Russia.
If it’s so conclusive Obama then show us the evidence and silence your critics. Until then I don’t believe a word of it. Whoever did hack and leak the emails surely did the US electorate a favour by exposing some truth behind the Hillary campaign? The emails were genuine and if they were damaging the the DNC then they only have themselves to blame
@Peter Gavin: that I find really crazy that it’s seems to Obama and the rest of the democrats. The contents of the emails are no big deal. Shafting one of your own like sanders, getting debate questions from media, having private dinners with certain reporters, completely ignoring the contents of them shows the mindset of these people. That rigging an election like the primaries is ok , that’s fine because it was Clinton. No big deal but because she list the big one. Let’s invent the Russians.
With all the fun and games hitting our airwaves about non-existent Russian hacking of the US election, I thought it would be perfect to highlight a great gift idea, America’s Deadliest Export by William Blum. https://goo.gl/GxastO
The secret to understanding US foreign policy is that there is no secret. Principally, one must come to the realisation that the United States strives to dominate the world, for which end it is prepared to use any means necessary. Once one understands that much of the apparent confusion, contradiction, and ambiguity surrounding Washington’s policies fades away. To express this striving for dominance numerically, one can consider that since the end of World War II the United States has
• endeavoured to overthrow more than 50 foreign governments, most of which were democratically elected
• grossly interfered in democratic elections in at least 30 countries
• attempted to assassinate more than 50 foreign leaders
• dropped bombs on the people of more than 30 countries
• attempted to suppress a populist or nationalist movement in 20 countries.
The impact on world consciousness in recent decades of tragedies such as in Rwanda and Darfur has been more conspicuous than the American-caused tragedies because the first two each took place in one area and within a relatively short period of time.
@Pádraig Ó Raghaill
You are right, the U.S has been the most destructive force on the planet for well over a half century. And it’s because of these facts that a foolish, malleable , thin skinned , reactionary president like Trump is going to be even more poisonous for the planet.
Highly debatable, the biggest issue is the military machine complex, and it is the one that has encircled China, destroyed the Middle East and agitated the borderlands of Russia, All of that if he held his word, Trump wants to pull back. He is a business person, values relationships of profit, over aggregation, hence some of his appointments. However, he also wants to press Iran and carry on supporting Israel, so there are two sides, always. As was the case with Obama, you are appointed President, not God, so what you wish to do, is often far removed from what you can do. Despite the fact, if Hillary had won, it would be full steam ahead of aggression and undoubtedly far more destructive than Trump, just by her history alone. The world was presented with two of the worst candidates, in history; it was never going to end well, regardless of the winner.
@Padraig o
You think Clinton would be a more dangerous president than Trump?
I don’t remember Hillary saying she wanted to ” bomb the shit out of them, folks” on the campaign trail.
A vote for Clinton was a vote for the status quo, that’s true, but the Trump election was a vote for chaos. He’s more than just a business man, he’s someone who has used racism and xenophobia to manipulate an electorate. He is obviously dangerous. Please don’t be an apologist for this racist, climate change denier. Do you really want to be on the same side of the argument as a man like Trump?
Assange gave interview yesterday saying wikileaks didn’t get them from Russia. Craig Murray, Britain’s former ambassador to Russia and a close friend of Julian Assange, has now confirmed that he knows the identity of the person who leaked the DNC and Podesta leaks to Wikileaks, and that this person is not Russian and has no connection to the Russian government.
On the contrary, he is a Washington insider. Who he met in a Washington park. It was confirmed at least 5 foreign nations hacked clinton’s server but its the Russians.
The AFP article makes it seem like both the CIA and FBI are certain that hacking took place. This is not the case. In fact, both agencies have said publicly that they have no evidence to suggest any Russian involvement. The only word that we have suggesting that there was any Russian involvement comes from anonymous sources and “conclusive evidence” which has yet to be released. In short, fake news.
@Jason Culligan: I saw that myself. You would think that they would be bit more invested into Seth rich the dnc staffer murder that took place in Washington shortly after the dnc emails. Considering he was shot twice with what police now say was a revolver, and no bullet casings were left at the scene.. highest reward for a murder in Washington yet unsolved and very suspicious
@littleone
Ya, I heard Hillary shot big foot too. While still finding the time to run a child sex ring/pizzeria and running for president. Lock her up. LOL
@Peedur Dante: why not? They have 100 % reccord? Never been disputed. You do realise wikileaks don’t write the emails, memo , cables etc. They only release them. They have been dkim verified. The fact you wrote that is comical. Wikileaks can hardly be considered unbiased and verifiable place to get information considering its not wikileaks information but the people that actually send the information. You know like podesta etc.
@LITTLEONE: Peedur show an example of anyone taking wikileaks to court for what they released. They haven’t? No one disputes the contents only how wikileaks got them.
@little one
Wiki leaks are being drip fed their information from whoever hacked the accounts. And whoever hacked the accounts has an anti Clinton pro Trump agenda. They are hardly impartial and their actions during the last election betray the original and commendable purpose that the organisation first set out to achieve. The exposing of war crimes by the illegal and republican lead war in Iraq.
Now it is the email hacks again (Zzz), all the while US journalists name and shame each other over “Fake” news it is incredible as careers are been ripped asunder. We have had Election Fraud, Election Hacking (even in places that use pen and paper!). This man actually believes the Sun, Moon and Stars shines out of his arse when the reality is he is a complete foreign policy basket case and all he and his like can do is blame Putin. They have tried the recounts, the college votes it is everyone else’s fault but his and his parties. Maybe if he tried telling the truth himself for a change his party and the world wouldn’t be facing 5 years of Donald Trump.
@ Austin rock
Emails again zzzzzzzzzzz, I know so boring. International espionage and illegal hacking is so dull. We should just all forget about it and move on eh?
This type of interference in the democratic processes sets an extremely dangerous precedent, if events like hacking to sway elections are going to feature in our future then the we should tackle this subject head on and at the first hurdle rather than bury our heads in the sand and move on
@Peedur Dante: ah your gas. Do you really think people in Ireland care about swaying elections in America now or in the future, when America has been interfering in the democratic process in so many countries for years now. God your naive.
@littleone
They might not about hacking in the U.S elections. But unless this type of interference is delt with now then this practice is likely to spread to Europe. And they and you should damn well care about it then.
” god your naive” LOL LOL
@Peedur Dante: yep hilarious because America has been doing it for years in other countries. So interference America is very good at. Yes your very naive.
@little one
Actually this type of hacking is a relatively new phenomenon. From the late 90′s onwards I would think. And I do feel the world is woefully unprepared to combat these types of attacks on the democratic process. As I’ve said many times now. Let’s not just ignore this.
@Peedur Dante: who hacked Hillary Clinton? During the election process it was the dnc… which showed Hillary herself was great at attacking the democratic process. Bernie sanders ring any bells. Wikileaks was John podesta not Hillary Clinton.. he left his phone in a taxi… gave his password to many people… got done on phishing scam… so you know no hack was needed… a leak more likely.. but sure you make sure look under your bed for them damn pesky Russians.
Everyone worked up about who did the hacking ….. nobody seems to mention that if the campaign wasn’t up to no good the hackers wouldn’t have anything to find.
@ian
Well done Ian, you’ve spotted the crucial bit of info that everyone’s missed. Good for you lad. The point is that only Clinton was hacked and not Trump, oh and that maybe nobody should have been hacked at all, because that’s like ,illegal don’t you know
@ Jason culligan and little one
So because Clinton was the victim of this hacking she’s to blame????
How do you know Trump didn’t leave vital info on unprotected servers or his phone in a taxi. In all likelihood the hackers probably do have info on Trump. But they won’t release it because he’s their pick for president
@Peedur Dante: yes she opened herself up to hacking with an unsecured private server. That’s her fault. No one else’s. If you were not so trump crazy you would have seen that wikileaks said they had nothing more controversial to leak about trump than the media already done. How do you know it’s wasn’t leak from within the dnc? A lot of unhappy people. Pick for president. That’s hilarious.
“But they won’t release it because he’s their pick for president”
You have no proof to back up anything that you’re saying. You’re just speculating.
The truth is named sources in the FBI and CIA are countering the claim that there’s evidence of Russian hacking. All that has been released so far is anecdotal claims from anonymous sources.
@jason culligan
” the truth is named sources etc”
Oh that’s the truth is it? Why because you and all the other breitbartbrains insist that it is. When the president of the worlds most powerful country public states that that their intelligence agencies have evidence leading towards a Russian hack, you just dismiss it as a fallacy because why? Because breitbart? LOL
@littleone
Because wiki leaks says they have nothing on Trump that means he’s clean? Because wiki leaks ?LOL, anyway you seem to be consistently missing the point. Hacking did indeed take place.
Hacking to sway elections is bad.
Hacking = bad
Are you getting it yet?
@Peedur Dante: how come America don’t mind doing in in other countries? Swaying elections? Do you not get it? Hacking what America doesn’t hack? CIA don’t hack ? NSA don’t do anything? Really?
“Oh that’s the truth is it? Why because you and all the other breitbartbrains insist that it is.”
No, it’s generally accepted that claims require proof to back them up and without proof they can be dismissed. Obama and the media have not provided any proof. It really is that simple.
“When the president of the worlds most powerful country public states that that their intelligence agencies have evidence leading towards a Russian hack, you just dismiss it as a fallacy because why? ”
Because lack of evidence, that’s why. If they have the evidence, make it public. It doesn’t hurt to have your intelligence agencies agreeing with each other on the subject either:
@little one
I’m Irish, not that it matters. And yes I’m concerned when the U.S elects and dangerous man like Trump. I know I shouldn’t care but I do, mostly because I really enjoy breathing clean air. And having a climate change denier in the most powerful position is the world is worrying to say the least. Not to mention his racism and misogyny and other loathsome traits. Are you proud to find yourself on the same side of the argument like a man like Trump?
@jason culligan
Your opinion on my level of maturity means less than nothing to me. I am however interested in your( and others like you) side of the argument and world view because it is so different from my own and seems counterintuitive to me.
@little one
You’ve told me Good bye or move along and other versions of shut up several times. It doesn’t feel good to on the losing side of an argument does it. Much easier to tell anyone who disagrees with you to shut up. Then you can go back to your comfy little echo chamber to be reassured and coddled by those of a similar mind as your own
@Peedur Dante: where did I tell you to shut up? Are you a liar as well ? You need help mate.
Dear lord people are able to read comments so stop making nonsense up.
@Peedur Dante: your delusional. Go out get some fresh air. So you just make things up . Ok so. If your seeing THINGS not there. Then what can I say. It’s breathtaking.
@littleone
As I’ve said above, I’m sure it’s easier for you to dismiss me as incapable of argument rather than the much harder and intellectually brave act of actually debating with someone with different beliefs as your own. I’m a firm believer in the old adage that your beliefs are never fully formed unless they’ve been tested. But go ahead little one , opt for the safe life of the echo chamber if you must
No peedur. Just don’t like pop up accounts that just appear talking nonsense pretending to be someone they are not. Fooling no one . Especially those that seem American in origin . Because people just randomly don’t mention bigfoot on an Irish site like the journal. Why would they? But hey you did so that told me all I needed to know. So you go ahead back wherever u popped up from and try fool some one else.
I seen a video of a reporter two days ago in the U.S stopping random people on the street, all colours and creeds, old and young, asking the question, “do you think russia hacked the election” 99% said NO, and then most blamed the government and the Media for lies… the damage is unreal.. the mainstream media is a dead donkey..
Just 14% of Republican voters and 30% of independent voters have a high or fair level of trust in the media in the US. Among Democratic voters, that figure stands at about 51%. It just goes to show really that the major media outlets have drifted so far to the left that it’s obvious to those of other political persuasions that they cannot be trusted.
I think the key point here is that everything Russia hacked into and revealed was true. It was factual information that simply hadn’t been revealed until then. I don’t have a problem with that. Why would anyone want less truth? Certainly there was enough true information revealed about Donald Trump, and voters made their choice regardless.
The Russians are being accused of leaking Hillarys emails not fabricating emails if I am not mistaken. I appreciate that influenced the election result however the fact remains Hillary sent those emails. I am no Trump supporter, however the American people were given truthful information from the Russians (if they leaked it), perhaps it was not all the truth (i.e. no dirt on Trump) but if anyone should be sanctioned it should be Hillary
@noel mcgivern
The fact that the leaked emails were “true” is not really the point. It was only her emails that were hacked and not his. And the real point is that no feckin emails should have been hacked in the first place, because the idea of a foreign government trying to change the outcome of and election is extremely dangerous
So you’ll believe rumours from an ‘anonymous source’ within the CIA that has ‘concrete evidence’ that won’t be released over rumours from other sources?
@jason culligan
Not rumours, they have evidence.
And you can’t deny that a hack against Clinton and for Trump has taken place.
Or can you? Is reality that malleable for you?
I can say that I have evidence that the world is really flat and that we’ve been lied to for years, that doesn’t change the fact that it’s unsubstantiated until said evidence is released and open to public scrutiny.
@jason culligan
There are a multitude of reasons why they’ve chosen not to release what information they have to the public. Without knowing too many of the details I would suggest that presently the U.S intelligence agency’s have strong evidence pointing towards the Russians ( hence the public statements) But they have no smoking gun as of yet, and they might never have the final smoking gun piece of evidence. Because as most commentators have said such finalities are difficult to come by when dealing with hacking. All I’m really saying is that hacking of any kind to sway elections is dangerous and should not be ignored or fibbed off as sour grapes from the left. As I’ve said before, Trump won fair and square, but let’s investigate this.
@liam o
Spineless turd. Ha says the big brave man over the Internet. SAD
Obama did manage to kill bin laden. What have you ever done Liam o. Besides spread your bile while hiding behind your keyboard screen.
@ Liam O
Ha, nothing more pathetic then a threat of physical violence over the Internet. Well done to you for helping homeless people, I respect you for that. But let’s get real here, Obama has done more good and helped more people then you could in a thousand lifetimes. Try to think, before you casually insult someone who has achieved so much more than you have, or could ever hope to do. Try to imagine your achievements stacked up against someone like Obama’s?
You are a waster insulting people on the internet and he’s the guy who got 20,000,000 uninsured people health insurance. Show some respect. Stop acting like a spineless turd.
@Peedur Dante: Don’t bother with these tw@s. Anti-Trump stories bring out nazi trolls and bots like nothing else. Anyone who supports Trump and Putin needs to be locked up in a mental institution. Any news that goes against their thinking is fake news, despite the fact it’s from professional journalists with contacts at the highest levels of government whose livelihoods depend on solid reporting, unlike the crap they get on conspiracy sites like Breitbart, youtube videos, and 4chan. Fact is, Russia interfered in the election with the purpose of swaying it to a friendlier leader so that economic sanctions against them will be lifted. It’s so plain to see. Occam’s razor and all that. Russia will get theirs. Obama has always played it cool. Ask Bin Laden’s corpse. Trump will get his too for slamming the CIA and the other 16 agencies that have come to the conclusion the Putin is responsible for this.
@ Philip Gerard
I agree with you, these stories do bring out the darker side of some people’s personalities. But I feel it’s worth engaging with them not only to learn more about a rapidly growing element of the far right which is spreading round the world as we speak, but also because I feel that too many sensible people stayed quiet during brexit and Trumps nomination and they let the crack pot right run riot talking fanciful rubbish without reproach. If the left is going to in the minority from now on then I hope it’s a vocal one
@Philip Gerard: Ever hear of the word propaganda? Why would the government and media spread lies to its own people right? Hahaha these people are clearly insane right? If you were literate you would be very well aware that this “Russia Hacked The Election” narrative is simply just an allegation and there’s absolutely no evidence whatsoever. Unlike you I READ these journalists very professional writings that are written for idiots like you. They play with words. Not one media outlet has said Russia hacked the election. They are questioning it because doing otherwise would be outright lying and illegal. Go back to primary school English. Learn to read pleb
@ jimmy rustle
During your ridiculous rant you resorted to calling someone an idiot and a pleb for voicing their opinions. I put it to you that your childish behaviour is similar to petulant school yard bully. Why don’t you go back to being brainwashed by breitbart or whatever silly alt right site you get your so called information from.
This dirty little worm has dome nerve. America has supported more dictators and tyrants who have murdered their people so American interests were served. He and Clinton destroyed Libya and ran away. He was a total failure. Eight years of nothing. A waste of space.
Checkmate. A clear case of ‘sour grapes’ from president Obama. Blaming his Russian counterpart Putin, for just about everything except himself for his failed US government/CIA subterfuge, has finally exposed the hypocrisy of American foreign policy. Putin’s greatest victory over Obama was in making this clear for anyone willing to listen,
This is getting ridiculous now….I have the flu withe last week, beginning to think Russian Agents under direction putin somehow injected me with the Flu virus…..If Russia rigged the US elections then they rigged them so since time began. The level of journalism is really gone below the belt…
Everybody hacks and snoops the living daylights out of everybody else. US=RUS=China=EU. Same Same same All around. Only thing is that Russia is currently slightly better at this hacking & snooping game and is more effective in terms of reaping the rewards of this disinformation strategy and tactic. But they all play the same game and very effective as well. You only have to look at and read this forum to see the effects. Left vs right, Putin vs Obama libtard vs fascist etc etc. And people actually actively choose sides for one or the other. Like picking between lungcancer and Hodgkin’s and defending your pick with foam on the mouth.
Complete and utter Shite.
When asked HOW did these cyber hacks sway the election in Trumps favour, they have no answer. That’s because there is no answer, just the narrative of Russia interfering. The disgusting thing about all this is the stone face lies, Obama and his Admin peddle to push a narrative of their making and the MSM are quite happy to run with. Horrible people willing to do anything rather than admit they lost.
Good riddance to you Obama and your admin.,
I got this from the Guardian this morning, so it must be true. If so, it is astounding. The first time in history for an outgoing president to take issue with the will of the people in an election and actually threaten to act. He has 5 weeks left in office and there is very strict protocol on the transition. He would have to leave office even if Hillary won, but this shows that a lot of his handlers were counting of her continuing his government. This is why she had no new policies to offer voters.
If he can start some kind of war in the next 5 weeks he will. It is true that the Russians are no angles and Putin is not a decent statesman or a democrat. However the democrats were offering corruption, favoritism, greenism and rule by the elites as part of their programme for government. They can’t have their view of Putin and their corruption in one package. Obama was and is a very dangerous president. The sooner he is gone the better.
Wikileaks said it wasn’t Russia who did it… An US government spokes person stated it was China before he corrected himself. All this does is transfer the attention from what the emails say to the action of them being hacked?
Whats the point in saying this, when Trump will quickly and happily smooth this all over in little under a month? Fighting talk if hes depending on Trump to do something about all of this
More people, about 2 million, voted for Hillary Clinton than Trump. Yet, Trump wins! So, the Russians are blamed ! That’s it in a nutshell. Americans are a crazy people and now they may want to start a war with Russia. Why not ? Wars make billionaires multi billionaires. Ordinary people don’t count and provide the cannon fodder. Treat Americans with caution. They have invaded 45 countries since the 1940′s. That’s not a missprint. I’ll name them if you want!
In all fairness to Obama, when he raised his right hand and put his left on the bible, it’s these sort of things he has to defend the United States from, he can’t allow Russian aggression influence democratic elections by the people of the United States
Justice Minister to repeal State's counter-terrorism laws and replace Special Criminal Court
4 hrs ago
The Morning Lead
Delay to plans to have pharmacies prescribe for UTIs, thrush, and coldsores in Ireland
Eimer McAuley
5 hrs ago
Courts
Worker at Lough Derg who duped unsuspecting women into sexual assaults to be sentenced next week
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 197 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 137 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 177 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 139 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 101 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 102 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 47 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 43 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 161 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 73 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 96 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 102 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 45 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 60 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 112 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 115 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 84 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 63 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 107 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say