You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Jaromir Chalabala

Man in 'agitated' state arrested at Cork Airport

The man was detained by gardaí and has been taken to Togher Garda Station.

A MAN IN his 20s, described as being in an ‘agitated’ state, has been arrested after an incident at Cork Airport tonight.

It happened at around 7.15pm.

Airport police and local gardaí were called to the scene, and a forecourt area of the airport was closed for a time as officers responded.

An airport source said the incident was dealt with swiftly, and lasted around 15 minutes.

No flights, inbound or outbound, were affected.

A Garda spokesperson confirmed a man had been arrested and taken to Togher Garda Station.

It’s understood he was arrested under the Mental Health Act.

The Irish Times is reporting the man was a Libyan student and trainee pilot in his 20s – and that he became agitated after being told there was no flight to Mecca.

The man remains in custody tonight, gardaí said.

Read: Motorcyclist in his 20s killed in collision with van >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:50 AM

Ah yes of course, thats the problem, the location of the courthouse!… If the had more to be afraid of while going to the courthouse there wouldn’t be much brawling.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:59 AM

So has the Journal gotten to the point were we can not identify the ethnic (sic) group involved in this public disorder? I guess turning a blind eye will solve the problem

Mute HRH The Brummie
    Favourite HRH The Brummie
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:22 AM

Well it wasn’t a group of 16 year old water protesters that caused that disgraceful yet too frequent scene. And the itinerant group responsible will not give a hoot. The same happened last weekend at 2am in Galway A&E it never made the news such is the frequency of these animals anti social activities. But let’s do the Irish PC thing and hide from it……

Feb 13th 2015, 8:32 AM

Its me culture Boss!

Mute Eco Hubble
    Favourite Eco Hubble
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:55 AM

Love/Hate and the introduction of TVs to their culture could be part of the problem

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:32 PM

Or the solution Eco… its time they looked at the light their lifestyle is shone upon.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Feb 13th 2015, 2:03 PM

Are you sure it’s not whisky Eco?

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:11 AM

Ha my comment was deleted for saying the majority of travellers don’t contribute to this society and should get long jail stretches for these brawls. The media that fail to highlight these gurriers are travellers are pandering to paved point. Grow a pair.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:36 AM

Did you notice how Pavee Point failed the comment in relation the Fermanagh wedding shooting? Their silence was deafening actually. Can’t stand that hypocrisy, can’t abide that organisation.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:08 AM

Afaik pavee did speak on the last word. Though I’ve not listened as Matt would just give a soft interview anyway.
    My issue with them is that they never strongly and forth-rightly criticise those elements in their community. Their responses always seem to be cloaked in ambiguity, with a provision that it’s somehow the fault of the media / settled community / government / funding (change as you wish)

Mute Andrew Carroll
    Favourite Andrew Carroll
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:36 AM

Ahh..good ole pikies having a chat after there daily court appearance…

Mute Saul Goodman
    Favourite Saul Goodman
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:04 PM

I live in Portlaoise, why do they want to re-invent the wheel? I have the courthouse very convenient located right at the main street in from of my favourite Pub/Restaurant so I can go have a drink after cashing in after a long day defending “Mr. Allegedly thief” and “Mrs Air Miles Traveller”

Mute Swanky Joe
    Favourite Swanky Joe
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:35 AM

Jail the gurriers

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:23 AM

Gurriers? Very PC there Journal. Call them what they are. Members of the travelling community and they behave like knackurs.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:59 AM

2nd and 3rd generation s**bags. …

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:33 PM

and interbreeding.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:08 AM

Will ya stop, it’s their culture

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:24 AM

Wonder if these are the same people who attended a wedding in Fermanagh that ended in a shooting?

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:28 AM

Have not heard any comments or calls to move thet church to the out skirts of town.

Mute bandido
    Favourite bandido
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:26 AM

Nope, I think they were the same crowd that beat each other unconscious with iron bars in mountmellick a while back
    Ah sure it’s all a bit of craic

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:15 AM

What a load of s**t, most courthouses are in the centre of towns, what next move all pubs and fast food outlets outside our towns in case of any trouble outside these places?

Mute Kate Toomey
    Favourite Kate Toomey
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:15 AM

It’s the caliber of ‘clients’ not the location that’s the issue. It’s intimidating passing when the court is on. It’s a small Main Street and when the court is sitting, there is a mix of prison guards, gardai, solicitors and undesirables on the street. I’m not sure changing the location would help much, the issue would simply be moved not dealt with.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:00 AM

The report lacks much of the key detail – why was there a brawl? Who was involved? It’s disappointing that the journal, for whatever reason, has chosen to dodge this aspect, as it still strongly relates to the report even with their chosen angle. The background to the story can be found here: http://leinsterexpress.ie/news/local-news/ugly-row-sparked-in-court-1-6570978

Cliff notes: it was a brawl based on a previous brawl involving travellers (quelle surprise) who decided to literally crack heads with iron bars in the middle of the town.
    Just to add; this type of activity, according to pavee point rep on PT last night, is all an invention of the media it would seem. Shocking performance.

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:28 AM

Walk past the courthouse when it’s in session is an eye opener , prison vans parked up outside with inmates Locked in them , travellers loitering outside it along with other dirt from the town .. It’s very intimidating .. I feel sorry for anyone who has a business along Main Street , law abiding citizens going about their business shouldn’t have to look at this .

Mute Shannon✨
    Favourite Shannon✨
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:40 AM

I live in Portlaoise and yes, it’s very scary when there’s a court case on.

Mute potty o shea
    Favourite potty o shea
    Feb 13th 2015, 12:46 PM

I know Portlaoise well and teh courthouse is one of the few nice buildings on that street. So I hope they just move the courts to another venue and use the building foe something else.
    Maybe they could have the court sessions out on the bog!

Mute Shannon✨
    Favourite Shannon✨
    Feb 13th 2015, 2:27 PM

Haha maybe next time!

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:04 AM

What is he hoping to achieve by his ludicrous proposal that moving the courthouse will stop brawling outside it, other than getting his name in the papers? Well, folks, we voted not to abolish the Seanad so this is what you get.

Mute captain ireland
    Feb 13th 2015, 12:40 PM

But it will keep it off Main Street where people shop , if we build outside the town & keep the fools with their white socks pull over the tracksuit bottom out there

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:16 AM

I expect we’ll hear tearful stories over the coming days about gardai calling to the homes of those involved at 7am to question them.

And furious outrage on the Journal at Ireland turning into a police state of fascists.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:27 AM

Arresting protestors =/= arresting courthouse brawlers

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:20 AM

Anyone involved, and not dispersing when asked to by Gardai, in an unruly gathering that intimidates another citizen should expect to be questioned about it by gardai.

Being 16 is no excuse whatsoever.

Mute greg
    Favourite greg
    Feb 13th 2015, 3:52 PM

John your an ass hole no doubt!!!!

Mute captain ireland
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:32 AM

It’s always the same faces outside it .. The same group of people reoffending .. So much for prison rehabilitation .. When are we going to realise that the Irish prison service is taking the wrong approach on rehabilitation , they are a failing department !!

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connor
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:41 AM

3 strikes rule is needed.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:09 AM

More prisons with better outcomes are what’s actually needed.

Mute captain ireland
    Feb 13th 2015, 12:37 PM

Scarr I work in a prison , I witness first hand what goes on .. Prison governors are too soft , cable TV , 3 meals a day..punishment wings are being done away with so no incentive not to keep outta trouble , all prisoners get full remission even those who don’t participate in education etc, Irish prison service give the public the image this doesn’t happen but it does .

Mute Senator John Whelan
    Favourite Senator John Whelan
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:03 AM

This issue has been ongoing for years and has nothing to do with any one group or any one incident. The anti-social behavior, intimidation, loitering in large groups across the footpaths, hassling passers-by – many of them elderly or women with young children- is a daily occurrence due to the frequency of court sittings (since other smaller courts in the county were closed down over the years).
    There is no parking whatsoever for the Garda or prison vehicles and the growing brazenness of the protagonists is really undermining and damaging the local businesses and impeding people from going about their business.
    This is unfair and unacceptable.
    The courthouse is right beside our shops, cafes, arts centre and now the Council propose to relocate the library to Main Street.
    It would be like having a courthouse on Grafton Street and it is damaging the reputation of the town and the ability to attract families to the town centre and revive the Main Street and the heart of the Town.
    For people who are never up in court this is shocking and frightening carry-on and no laughing matter or something to sneer about.
    Moving the courthouse won’t solve all the problems involved, I agree, but it will solve many of them. Some of the other issues are more deep rooted, complex and harder to resolve.
    My view is that the Courthouse should be relocated and co-located on the site of the new Garda station which is also long overdue and this would present a number of benefits and advantages in terms of anti-social behavior, safety of shoppers and security.
    I am glad that the Department of Justice and the Courts Services agreed this week that the courthouse is in an unsuitable location and needs to be moved and they are seeking to source a suitable site.
    The sooner the better.

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Feb 13th 2015, 11:43 AM

I’m sure when the Gardai have finished their dawn arrests and their thorough investigation into the horrific crime of your dear Tanaiste been trapped in her car for two hours while she joked, made phone calls and read a newspaper. The Gardai may spare some of their precious resources and send a car around to have a look.
    How does next January suit?

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Feb 13th 2015, 2:08 PM

“Some of the other issues are more deep rooted, complex and harder to resolve.” If people with a string of serious convictions were defined as professional criminals and locked up for a few decades it would solve that “complex” problem overnight.

Mute captain ireland
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:40 PM

@john whelan .. Fair play for highlighting this .. As usual Brian Stanley goes quiet when it comes to these types of debates . The courthouse should be shut down now & temporary arrangements made to hold it somewhere else . I feel nothing will be done & we will all be having the same debate in 5 years time

Mute Katie Next
    Favourite Katie Next
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:44 AM

Bit rich from a labour supporter when labour have wasted so many resources and done so much damage to credibility of gardai arresting children and opposition politicians!

Mute Denis Byrne
    Favourite Denis Byrne
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:30 AM

Travellers, Ireland’s version of black crime.

Mute Luther Cooper
    Favourite Luther Cooper
    Feb 13th 2015, 11:30 AM

Gurriers?? eh no…its a bunch of cream crackers who think they can do what they like and pass it of as a cultural thing! Where is the silent majority of these people who c seemingly condemn this behaviour and why are they not doing anything about it. Innocent bystanders are constantly getting caught in the middle of these animals “feuds” and we are told “shur” its their culture and we have to be tolerant!!!!

Mute Luke D
    Favourite Luke D
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:44 AM

Yeah we should do what the Nazis did. Idiot

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:03 AM

Ahh Mr Godwin, you are never far away and you are very welcome. Your Law continues to prove itself time and time again.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:54 AM

Eeeerh……….would it not be cheaper to move the gurriers?
    Of course….just moving the gurriers or policing them properly would not involve developers, consultants, architects etc.

Mute greg
    Favourite greg
    Feb 13th 2015, 3:49 PM

Knackers the Garda don’t want to know. But if your a tax payer look out!!!

Mute Niall Kavanagh
    Favourite Niall Kavanagh
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:03 PM

I do not believe that anyone who lives in Portlaoise will be sorry to see the Courthouse move to a more suitable location. There is no doubt it has stunted the regeneration of the main street. Also , the Garda station is the old British Baracks and was built in a time in the 1800′s when Portlaoise had barely a few thousand people and plenty of horses and carriages !
    The population is closer to 16,000 now and both the Courthouse and the Garda baracks need relocating and upgrading to buildings more suitable to the age we live in .

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:53 PM

The population of Portlaoise is now north of 20,000 according to the last census.

Mute Joseph Caulfield
    Favourite Joseph Caulfield
    Feb 13th 2015, 2:45 PM

Simple, jail them, no parole or remission and have a referendum on the revolving door justice system that seems to be only supported by criminals and smoked salmon socialists on RTE.

Mute Jay J Murphy
    Favourite Jay J Murphy
    Feb 13th 2015, 11:01 AM

Ya better walk while ya still have the legs ta carry ya!

Mute paddy the plasterer
    Favourite paddy the plasterer
    Feb 14th 2015, 1:40 AM

Don’t need court house, just a nice big gas chamber! Our society don’t need pikeys! Will anyone miss them? I think not!!!

Mute Joseph Kavanagh
    Favourite Joseph Kavanagh
    Feb 15th 2015, 11:09 AM

So the fact I run a retail store just off the main street in Portlaoise I should move too? I have gardai in store almost every week with shoplifting and they are back the next day.