You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Barbara Ahern LinkedIn

'Gender havoc' in Cork East as daughter of ex-TD to fly home for election

Barbara Ahern, the daughter of ex-Fianna Fáil TD Michael Ahern, is set to be added to the party ticket in Cork East.

FIANNA FÁIL IS set to add a former TD’s daughter, who is currently working abroad, to its general election ticket in Cork East.

Barbara Ahern, an accountant and tax advisor who has been based in Gibraltar for the last two years, is coming back to Ireland and hopes to be added to the party ticket, according to her father.

Micheal Ahern, a TD for the constituency between 1982 to 2011, told TheJournal.ie that he was expecting a decision from the party’s national constituencies committee within the next two weeks.

“We just have to wait and see whether they will add her or not. I think they will because leaving the southern end of the constituency, with a population of 47,000, without a candidate wouldn’t be wise,” he said.

Another party source indicated it was almost certain that Barbara Ahern would be added.

Fianna Fáil members in the constituency have already selected councillor Kevin O’Keeffe, the son of former junior minister Ned O’Keeffe, to run in the four-seat constituency.

1399717_619971398078586_3676264846557166184_o Kevin O'Keeffe Facebook Facebook

Councillor O’Keeffe said that he was aware of the speculation about the daughter of Michael Ahern being added. He admitted he was at the mercy of party headquarters but expressed doubts about Fianna Fáil pursuing a two-candidate strategy.

I felt one candidate would be enough. I think I have the profile to cover the constituency.

Youghal-based councillor Aaron O’Sullivan had been touted as a possible addition to the ticket, but he is understood to no longer be interested. O’Sullivan did not return a request for comment.

O’Keeffe said that the “gender issue is playing havoc” with Fianna Fáil needing to ensure a third of all its Dáil election candidates are female in order to avoid a cut in state funding.

“That’s about money. Politics is being hindered by this because parties will be penalised if they don’t have a proper gender balance,” he said. 

michael-ahern-1 Michael Ahern unsuccessfully ran for Cork county council in last year's local elections Irish Election Literature Irish Election Literature

Michael Ahern said his daughter was coming home to Ireland irrespective of whether or not she is added to the ticket, having spent two years working with KPMG in Gibraltar. He continued:

That time is up anyhow so she is going back whether there is an election or no election. She has other jobs that’s she has been offered and she’s going to pick one of those in due course, if she’s not elected.

Ahern said that his daughter’s experience in politics dated all the way back to childhood, saying she was “born into it” and had worked in the constituency from an early age.

“She was listening to people on the phone and making representations as well. So, she knows exactly what it’s like. She spent nine months working in the Dáil… she’s very well immersed in it,” he added.

Read: Confusion as Conor Lenihan mistakenly believed he’d secured Fianna Fáil nomination

‘A complete joke’: People aren’t happy that Mary Hanafin has been added in Dún Laoghaire

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

91 Comments
    Mute Hung So Gud
    Favourite Hung So Gud
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:40 PM

nepotism alive and well in fianna fail.

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:52 PM

Some things don’t change in this country

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:54 PM

he fixshed the roads!

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:12 PM

well she was ‘born into it’ jmj they really do believe the cr@p they spew

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:59 PM

The same political dynastic politics that existed back in the dark ages…and FF want us to believe they’ve changed. Good luck k nob heads. Meholes thinking is if it’s good enough for Edna..it’s good enough for me.

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Oct 7th 2015, 4:46 PM

This lot will never learn, and they seriously think they’ll get elected again. Problem is some people will vote for them.

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Oct 7th 2015, 6:13 PM

Stand up and take a bow womenforelection.ie and all of the other feminist lobby groups who succeeded in reintroducing discrimination into the electoral system after it had been abolished in the early part of the 20th century.

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Oct 7th 2015, 6:23 PM

A tax advisor, Fianna Fail and Nepotism.

What a brilliant combo.

Mute Tertullian
    Favourite Tertullian
    Oct 7th 2015, 6:29 PM

It is not nepotism. Nepotism is defined as “the practice among those with power or influence of favouring relatives or friends, especially by giving them jobs.” Michael Ahern’s daughter can only get the job if the electorate vote for her. There is in fact a lot to be said for the sons or daughters of former TDs being put forward as candidates – they will have been brought up knowing exactly what is involved in the job and will therefore have a head start over other new candidates in that regard. Also, in this instance, she is clearly a well-educated woman and for a party badly in need of good female candidates she may well be a wise choice.

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Oct 7th 2015, 6:31 PM

These TD’s (tax dodgers!!!) just don’t get it…we don’t want anyone who can be in any way influenced by former TD’s – particularly not any kind of family influence. For God sake it sounds as though she’s going to be a puppet TD for her father! Sick of all this nonsense….

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Oct 7th 2015, 6:54 PM

Tertullian, Maybe not nepotism by the strict definition – but you can’t say that the whole shower don’t favour each other…they’re like the mafia! And favouritism can exist in the selection process – If they have the choice between putting forward either the son/daughter of a former minister or Joe/Jane Soap – who do you really thing they’ll pick!?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 7th 2015, 7:55 PM

Tertullian…who put her on the ticket?

“I don’t care who does the electing, so long as I get to do the nominating.” William Marcy Tweed(1823-1878)

Oct 7th 2015, 9:15 PM

Wow they are so out of touch from our citizens they might as well be on Mars.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:40 PM

Keep it in the Family. That’s it Fianna Fail. Well done. Change nothing.

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:55 PM

It would take a lot more that the destruction of the Irish economy and selling of our futures to Germany to make FF change.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:04 PM

She’s a tax advisor in Gibraltar.. I wonder how many offshore accounts she manages for her Fathers mates back home..

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:41 PM

I thought we were finished with this type of nepotism politics

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:49 PM

Cough…cough….Helen McEntee….cough….

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:51 PM

What ever gave you that idea?

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:23 PM

nrpotism croynism look at the current crowd and all the guff they spewed. hardly in a week when they were at it.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:43 PM

WTF is wrong with these people!! Why do they think its acceptable to bring back a former ministers daughter, who by all accounts, has no experience of politics whatsoever to run in an election, to potentially hold a seat in government and to get a fantastic salary and pension?

Nepatism at its finest. FF haven’t changed one iota

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:41 PM

true but then again the ‘experienced’ ones haven’t done us any favours (experienced at what other than nepotism cronyism )

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:41 PM

Ww removed a monarchy only to be cursed with other hereditary fiefdoms. Somethings will never change.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:11 PM

Pretty much only the flag…

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:36 PM

Is she had an ounce of self respect she wouldn’t do it. She’s being handed a ticket simply because she has a vagina. I fully expect her to do it.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:44 PM

We’re talking about FF here Sgt Pepper, respect doesn’t even begin to factor in with them.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Oct 7th 2015, 4:41 PM

Nonsense. We have a vote, we can vote for someone else. That’s not a feature of hereditary monarchies.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:12 PM

On the contrary, with her tax experience and two years working in Gibraltar with KPMG under her belt, Barbara, if elected, could make a valuable contribution in the Dáil, especially in the formulation and development of “Knowledge Box” policy designed to attract fresh investment into research and development in Ireland, and reward promoters securing any new patents.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:45 PM

Rory – there are lots of people with similar and indeed better experience than her, but they do not have daddy ensuring nepotism rules. Sorry, but this stinks and is just the same old shyte from the same old party.

Mute ahernlioni
    Favourite ahernlioni
    Oct 7th 2015, 6:07 PM

So why don’t they stand! simple answer if there’s so many of them

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:58 PM

“..an accountant and tax advisor who has been based in Gibraltar for the last two years.”? Psshh.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey

Wonder who she’s been advising on tax issues in a tax haven…… Hmm, now what sort of issues could these people have.?????

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:10 PM

Pillars of society Jamesy.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:42 PM

The best person for the job is best and not a choice of gender based on money. Politics here is baloney.

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:31 PM

but #vag lives matter too

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris

Ridiculous, How do Finna Fail except to get new voters with this carry on

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:00 PM

I can see the spin now….

” We in Fianna Fail believe in including more women in politics and we also care about our diaspora……”

Mute Jax Maxwel
    Favourite Jax Maxwel

How are people still voting for any of these parties? Never change.

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:56 PM

Jesus christ. Hasn’t lived in the country for the last two years and is almost literally parachuted in because of daddy’s name. Same with this O’Keefe fella. These people have no interest in public service, and just want cushty jobs and pensions. NOTHING has changed in this country, and especially in that party full of liars and criminals.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:45 PM

Another shower of Aherns? Have FF resorted to inbreeding for candidates?

Mute Libtard
    Favourite Libtard
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:49 PM

Inbreeding? #SameLove

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:38 PM

No Daisy, they’ve just handed her a free pass as she has a vagina. I would have thought you of all the posters on this site would have been happy with that as that seems to be your MO.

Mute Rad
    Favourite Rad
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:44 PM

Emigrant quitter coming back to jump on the gravy train. You’re not wanted here.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas

Would you feel the same if it was an emigrant who was coming back for a proper job?

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:14 PM

idiotic comment. emigrant quitter? like the 100′s 1000′s who left due to redundancies course if any of those stayed here you and your ilk could look down your snooty nose at them drawing social welfare.

Mute Mark Damme
    Favourite Mark Damme
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:21 PM

It’s called family business.

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:47 PM

What a joke!!! A very VERY bad joke :(

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry

Did someone say dynasty? All they’re missing is a candidate with the surname Carrington

Mute seamus
    Favourite seamus
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:16 PM

ff up to their old tricks again…

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe

How about cutting state funding to all political parties,and let them run whoever they like..why does everything have to cost the taxpayers?

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Oct 7th 2015, 2:54 PM

what are ye talking about? he fixshed the roads!

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:30 PM

Her Interview: How long have you been in politics. Never. What do you know about the political situation. Nothing. You’ve been abroad what do you know of the homeless and poor of Ireland. Absolutely nothing. So why are you looking to get into Irish politics. Because ive relations in FF. Ah enought said welcome to the Gravy Train.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:25 PM

Coached from early childhood on the method of getting potholes filled…….you don’t find qualifications like that in college.

Mute DiarmuidMurphy
    Favourite DiarmuidMurphy
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:35 PM

Her Father couldn’t even get elected to the local council, and they want to add her to the ticket, out of the Country for 2 years, and no direct experience in politics. Seriously who makes these decisions, they couldn’t find a woman in Cork and in Fianna Fail that could run? I’d love to the Daughter canvassing, all on the back of Daddys name.

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:21 PM

this gender quota rubbish is more pc nonsense.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Oct 7th 2015, 4:42 PM

Hey, it automatically doubles the number of “tits” in FF….Don’t worry, already grabbing my coat….

Oct 7th 2015, 3:16 PM

I’ve often thought how much more effective an X Factor format would be in electing politicians…

In the current system name recognition is everything hence yer man above talking about ‘profile’..

Any candidate who dosn’t have a political family name and/or money is doomed in our current system..

Imagine the X Factor winner being chosen on the basis of name recognition. That’s our system.

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:52 PM

Message to Barbara Ahern,stay in Gibraltar and dont embarrass yourself.You are qualified enough to make your own way in life without needing your Daddy.

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:53 PM

I wonder if she would even be eligible to vote for herself? She hasn’t been a resident for more than 18 months, so technically she shouldn’t be on the register, and to get back on it you need to be resident on 1 Sept. I don’t think that would effect her ability, but it would be kinda interesting if she did and wasn’t able to vote for herself.

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:54 PM

ability -> eligibility (to run)

Oct 7th 2015, 3:53 PM

This country is full of who you know and not what you know… Political dynasties from the Civil war nearly??? That is my view…

Mute Pharmyco
    Favourite Pharmyco
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:15 PM

She sounds like a class act.

Mute John Mac
    Favourite John Mac
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:57 PM

FF just don’t geddit,do they?

Have they learned ANYTHING in the years that they’ve been in opposition?

Utterly shameless organisation . They’ve had months to at least line up a reasonable array of talent to present to the public and it turns into (a) Have you boobs? (b) Have you got boots? Cause we need you to tog out .I know you never played the game but your father was a dinger for uz,so you’ll soon pick it up……..

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:19 PM

Don’t get it or don’t care. As long as people keep voting for these idiots nothing will change. Just 1 more example of the arrogance of our exalted political class

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:40 PM

All i can say is aaaaaa, give it up Fianna Fail…

Mute John Reid
    Favourite John Reid
    Oct 7th 2015, 4:37 PM

Micheal Martin is an absolute disgrace to democracy. Foisting a heretofore absentee accountant from the tax-haven of Gibraltar onto the people of Cork East, just because she is a woman, shows a disgusting contempt for the Irish people.

Fianna Fail should just take the cut in “state funding” (political parties shouldn’t be funded by the state in any case, such state patronage actually militates against the emergence of new democratic forces) that they might receive if they don’t gender-mander enough constituencies. It is far better to adhere to democratic principles, i.e. that the party’s candidates are selected on merit through the democratic selection conventions and are not imposed because of their sex, than to receive a few more cents from the state. Any deficit in funds will be compensated over time due to support from the public who would realise that a Fianna Fail which selects the best candidates on merit, and not on the childish and sexist basis of gender, are deserving of votes, donations and political power. Fianna Fail under Martin, who due to a misplaced “liberalism” and a cowardly desire to be approved by The Irish Times voted in favour of the legislation in Dail Eireann which seeks to financially punish democratic parties who don’t gender-mander a substantial number of the political candidates that the Irish people would then be allowed to vote for (it’s shocking that that Irish people are now being told by the state who they can and cannot vote for!), are not nearly at that place where they could be rewarded by the Irish people for sticking to democratic and meritocratic principles instead of being controlled by the sexist dictates of the state and unaccountable, clique-ish media in Dublin.

Mute Larry Smierciak
    Favourite Larry Smierciak
    Oct 7th 2015, 4:44 PM

I can’t believe this crap is still going on.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Oct 7th 2015, 4:55 PM

Parachuting a candidate in from another country with no political experience to run just because of who her father was and more importantly the fact she doesn’t have a penis? Sounds like a great person to vote for. Because being from another country, being related to a former politician, and being a woman are the three things you look for when electing the person who will make the laws that govern your country.

Mute Grumpy Bollox
    Favourite Grumpy Bollox
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:02 PM

given that she’s been living abroad, will she be able to get her tax clearance cert in time in case she is elected? Although that bollox bertie managed to get away for years without one.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:08 PM

She will fly back chance her arm with the old age pensioners Fianna Fails core voters and if rejected hop on the plane again leaving the austerity behind that her father his mates in Fianna Fail and their twin sister Fine Gael implemented on the population her not knowing anything about it and not giving a shite about it either. Their down right cheek and lack of shame is astonishing Mickey Martin on the box the last night smiling his skinny little ass of boasting how he should be leader of the country. Take their pensions off them and send them on their way that would wipe the smirk off their entitled faces. Soldiers of Fortune Fianna Fail NUA

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:25 PM

I’d love if we could start a national movement – ‘No to nepotism’. People automatically do not vote for the relative of a previous TD, no matter how good they are.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Oct 7th 2015, 4:42 PM

Thanks, feminism

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:07 PM

When it comes to the ge just don’t vote ff fg and liebour problem solved.

Mute Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Favourite Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:48 PM

What’s the personal tax rate in Gibraltar again?

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Oct 7th 2015, 7:12 PM

We can’t complain. We vote these political families into the Dail. We have to take responsibility. It doesn’t matter if a candidate puts themselves forward for all the wrong reasons, it’s still the fault of citizens who actually vote for them.

Mute Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Favourite Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:49 PM

“The likely outcome of this legislation is to allow a power-grab by the party elite over ordinary members and encourage the political parties to be more conservative, not less, in their candidate selection. ”

http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/irish-politics-in-dire-need-of-fresh-faces-from-all-walks-of-life-not-just-women-1.448359

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Oct 7th 2015, 4:25 PM

The Ahern OKeefe feud goes on into the next generation.

Lots of families have a tradition within the same business and anyway it is the people that bestow the seats in Dáil Éireann. There is nothing new or uniquely Irish about this.

Mute Carly Bailey
    Favourite Carly Bailey
    Oct 7th 2015, 7:32 PM

“Born into it”…And we tried to rid this country of rule by monarch for how long?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 7th 2015, 8:10 PM

Another fiefdom being carved up by the ‘establishment dynasties’.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Oct 8th 2015, 12:06 AM

so if you work abroad, through necessity say, you can’t vote in an election here. But you can hop on a plane and get elected worth no problem- and double points if you’re a woman ? democracy my arse

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Oct 7th 2015, 8:47 PM

Love it sure she will tell us all about the other off shore accounts FF helped with

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 7th 2015, 10:51 PM

same old ff,not one vote people.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Oct 7th 2015, 6:28 PM

at least she is irish. SF flew in a foreigner in Baron Adams

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:09 PM

Those who complain about nepotism should make a greater effort to understand the meaning of the word.

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:32 PM

From dictionary.com-

noun
    patronage bestowed or favoritism shown on the basis of family relationship, as in business and politics:

What’s your point?

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:35 PM

maybe he just wanted to know if anyone read his comment!

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Oct 7th 2015, 3:48 PM

Seriously, Pat, what are you on about this time?

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Oct 7th 2015, 5:47 PM

Why should being a former TDs child bar you from running for politics. They still have to get the votes. And seeing that there are so many of them elected, the general public don’t seem to have a problem with it.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Oct 8th 2015, 12:10 AM

you can see the private jet shipping her home. bless.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Oct 7th 2015, 6:32 PM

can someone please tell me how all this supposed nepotism exists. all posts are elected by the people, nothing handed out, the people vote. the usual clowns dont even know what nepotism is. these people are all fairly elected in a very transparent manner all ballots are rigorously checked. i think you people have a problem with democracy and nothing else.

Mute lilolil
    Favourite lilolil
    Oct 8th 2015, 12:16 AM

sure who will be left to look after the off shore tax affairs now in Gibraltar???