You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Serg Zastavkin

166 Covid-19 cases at Queen's University described as a 'concern'

The university said it “fully appreciates” that this may cause anxiety for students, staff and their families.

QUEEN’S UNIVERSITY BELFAST has said the 166 positive Covid-19 cases at the university is a “concern” and cause of anxiety among staff, students and their families. 

It is understood that 166 staff and students have tested positive for Covid-19.  

In a statement, Queen’s University said: “The safety and wellbeing of staff and students is the University’s first priority and a range of interventions have been made across campus to minimise the risk of infection.”

Last week, it was reported that 100 students in the university were self-isolating after 30 students tested positive for Covid-19. 

The university today said it is liaising daily with the Public Health Agency in Northern Ireland to “ensure the university is continuing to apply to correct measures to limit the spread of infection”. 

“Although the number of staff and students affected remains a minority, the increase in number of positive cases is a concern and the University fully appreciates that this may cause anxiety for students, staff, and their families,” the statement said. 

The university said it is “closely monitoring” the situation and “will not hesitate to apply additional measures to further protect members of our community”.

It added that contact tracing information has shown that people are being infected in social or accommodation settings, not elsewhere on the campus. 

“The university continues to emphasise that it is essential for all members of the Queen’s community to follow public health guidelines, including the avoidance of unnecessary travel, to limit further spread,” the statement said. 

There were 616 new cases of Covid-19 in NI confirmed in the last 24 hours.

3,630 cases have been reported in the last seven days, bringing the overall total number of cases confirmed in the region to 14,690.

No further deaths have been reported by the NI Department of Health, leaving the toll at 584.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute John Cotter
    Favourite John Cotter
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:59 PM

Nothing but a s(um bag

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:58 PM

@John Cotter: behaving like the s.cum he is. This man is no role model but a disgrace.

Mute Roger Poles
    Favourite Roger Poles
    Dec 1st 2017, 6:01 AM

@John Cotter: here’s here a complete and utter disgraceful behaviour and that’s sums up his sport as well

Mute Yvan Buggy
    Favourite Yvan Buggy
    Dec 1st 2017, 6:51 PM

@Roger Poles: It’s my sport as well.

Mute John Flynn
    Favourite John Flynn
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:02 PM

@John Clarke: he acted like he has always goes on thinking he’s some sort of gangster for a speeding ticket ?? reality is he’s now super rich and surrounded by cling-ons , funny thing about his dress attire he slagged the shit out of mayweather a few weeks back for wearing a “track suit” that’s all he wears. He’s more than likely going to blow that cash and the whole world will laugh at him “another Tyson”

Mute Rosemarie Martin
    Favourite Rosemarie Martin
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:56 PM

Alot of young people [especially young boys] look up to this man. Emulating him, joining boxing clubs. His new found cockiness does him no favours. His physical cavalier attitude entering the court was childish and I expected more for somebody who should be an Ambassador for Ireland. Speeding is nothing to laugh about despite banter with the Judge. Somebody could have been killed. Boasting about how much one owes is tacky. Again, cockiness is not a trait that most people admire. Most Boxers are as good as their last fight.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:02 PM

@Rosemarie Martin: Wow, begrudgery or what …

Mute Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Favourite Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:26 PM

@Anthony Halpin: clear you’ve picked up a new term for yourself here Anthony without knowing the context in which to use it. Unless you’re being sarcastic?
    If not ask someone to read the comment back to you then attempt to find the begrudgery in it. Clueless.

Mute James Conway
    Favourite James Conway
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:31 PM

@Rosemarie Martin: Chillax with your blueshirt drivel, no one cares. Get a life

Mute Mic
    Favourite Mic
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:26 PM

@James Conway: 200 plus people would disagree with you, also unsure how her comment makes her a blueshirt, please explain?

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:29 PM

@Rosemarie Martin: up till now he was a fantastic role model for young fellas, I’d probably go mad myself if I went from rags to near unlimited riches in 5 years. How he recovers from this ‘break’ is important, it’ll go one of two ways.

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Favourite Michael Geraghty
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:32 PM

@Anthony Halpin: he doesn’t even have the decency or respect to wear a suit to court. Nothing but contempt

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:48 PM

@Michael Geraghty: remembering some of the previous suits McGregor’s worn, what he did wear to court was probably more appropriate :D

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:53 PM

@Séamus Ó Lochlainn: Sorry if you choked on your Latte there and forgot your name As Gailge :)

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:53 PM

@Michael Geraghty: Indeed. Look at all the good things men in suits have done for this country. Oh, wait …

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Favourite Michael Geraghty
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:20 PM

@Anthony Halpin: it’s down to representing yourself and the court. He’s disgraceful

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:26 PM

@Anthony Halpin: Until he hits you going at 150kph…

Mute Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Favourite Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:52 PM

@Anthony Halpin: good one?!

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:58 PM

@Anthony Halpin: What is there to begrudge? Conor McGregor appeared (belatedly) on a charge of speeding and left trying to repeat the same offence, he should have been charged again as he pulled away speeding , seems Conor will soon have another record.

Mute Fargo Boyle
    Favourite Fargo Boyle
    Dec 1st 2017, 12:15 AM

@Anthony Halpin: I bet you’re wearing a tracksuit now!

Mute Mary D
    Favourite Mary D
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:19 PM

Just watched the news, he comes out and has his car parked where it shouldn’t be, gets in, no seatbelt on as he roars away at speed. Pity he wasn’t stopped again. Lovely example to be setting to his younger fans.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:29 PM

@Mary D: hear hear. He’s just a s***bag with money. Anyone who thinks he’s a good role model is probably cut from the same cloth as he is. Or, should I say, the same filthy rag.

Mute Jason Cole
    Favourite Jason Cole
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:33 PM

@Mary D: I don’t he had the car left there if you see on the clip 1 of the guys handed him his keys while walking out assuming he had just pulled up shortly before he came out

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:50 PM

@Maria Hickey-Fagan: so being absolutely determined to be the best you can possibly be and work harder than anyone else to get there is being a bad role model.. Ffs , everyone has had a mad spell in their life , just so happens this fellas is being played out in public.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:04 PM

@Hardly Normal: She probably drives a 2001 Mini.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:48 PM

@Hardly Normal: there’s having a bad spell and there’s being downright irresponsible when you have many young faces looking up to you. He’s just an arrogant pig and, despite working hard to bring himself to the top, is no role model. And to the other idiot who thinks I drive a 2001 mini, you’re actually wrong, but I can see you’re of McGregor’s ilk the way you judge a stranger on what you think they might drive. Jog on.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:01 PM

@Maria Hickey-Fagan: he’s blowing off steam, it’s his arrogance that has brought him this far., He is better off out of Ireland though.
    There’s thousands of irresponsible role models out there, from the Kardashians to McGregor. I just think McGregor deserves a lot more credit because of how far he’s brought himself, ya fighting in a pub or driving 150km an hour isn’t the smartest idea but we have young men and women doing that on a regular basis previous to McGregor even being a role model. My point is if you’re worried about how it will affect the youth , it’s up to society to show them the right path and looking at the lenient punishments handed out for far more serious anti social behaviour it seems as if society is failing itself and not Conor McGregor or anyone else.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:22 PM

@Hardly Normal: I know there are many irresponsible role models out there. I shudder every time a Kardashian appears on TV. And you’re right, it’s up to parents to guide their kids in the right direction, but sadly a lot of parents see nothing wrong with a Kardashian or a McGregor. His blatant disregard for the safety of other road users is what annoys me the most. Speeding away from the court the way he did, having just been up on a speeding charge, plus later tweeting #relaxjudge, shows he has no intention of slowing down and actually respecting the safety of other drivers. I just hope he doesn’t kill someone. And yes, I know the roads are full of irresponsible drivers, but the majority don’t have young people trying to emulate them.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:35 PM

@Maria Hickey-Fagan: people have been speeding long before McGregor and they have been fighting in pubs long before McGregor. Young people don’t have to look at him to emulate him, they just see what their every day peers do and emulate that!

Mute Borderline State
    Favourite Borderline State
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:26 PM

Knackers will remain knackers

Mute The Irish Pain
    Favourite The Irish Pain
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:04 PM

I am a big fan of Conor but his behaviour recently has been shocking. He has a lot of pressure on his shoulders despite what people think, but still feel this doesn’t excuse how he’s acting.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:27 PM

@The Irish Pain: Prob more to do with the coke up his nose!

Mute Rosemarie Martin
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:03 PM

Error ‘Boasting about how much one earns is tacky’ . This was not a personal attack on McGregor as I have watched his star rise, just sad to see the Judge seem to think it’s all good fun when somebody could have been killed, if it were somebody from Ballymun and unemployed, a different story. Celebs have a duty to drive carefully too.

Mute TradingDuck
    Favourite TradingDuck
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:24 PM

Why in Gods name were the comments closed all day on this article?

Seriously. What was the journal afraid of?

Mute Morgan Freeman
    Favourite Morgan Freeman
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:19 PM

@TradingDuck: Who cares. You’ve got Twitter and Facebook to rant on if you want.

Mute Jason Cole
    Favourite Jason Cole
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:34 PM

Sure is he not supposed to be in Lanzarote?

Can’t fault the guy in his in ring/octagon ability and his selling of his fights was entertaining. But his carry on lately is a bit much and looks to be throwing away his career which is a disappointment.

Mute Ray Farrell
    Favourite Ray Farrell
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:41 PM

@Jason Cole: In fairness thougn he’s made for life whether he ever fights again or not.

Mute Peter Brophy
    Favourite Peter Brophy
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:13 PM

@Ray Farrell: it’ll all be gone in a few years

Mute Jason Cole
    Favourite Jason Cole
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:27 PM

@Ray Farrell: that maybe true but still an awful waste of talent

Mute Rosemarie Martin
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:06 PM

Anthony Halpin ~ Begrudgery? No, I admire people who make it, who work hard, play hard. I don’t think this guys Ego needs your sympathy or anyone to shout on his behalf, he’s more than well able to to this himself.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:19 PM

@Rosemarie Martin: You could apply the same philosophy to the kinahans or the hutches.Do you admire them?

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Dec 1st 2017, 6:03 AM

@Dermot Foley: when did the Kinahans or the Hutches ever work hard?
    Most of their family and associates are on social welfare!

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:34 PM

The mans a clown, money is gone to his head

Mute Arron
    Favourite Arron
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:28 PM

Like a thug arriving in the tracksuit. Have some class son kids are watching

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:54 PM

Hes no fool and he put the effort and commitment in so he deserves his success but anyone that thinks hes a class person, guess again. He possesses not one ounce of class and no money or skintight trashy suits will change that.

3 non appearances? Should have been a warrant just like every one else out there.

Mute Michael Bride
    Favourite Michael Bride
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:11 PM

Never thought we’d have somebody else in the Bono league of arrogance inflicted on us, but this towrag is right up there; leaving the ego wagon blocking the public highway outside the court with doors open was a real touch of classlessness-guy’s a disgrace to Dublin!

Mute Loretta stiletto
    Favourite Loretta stiletto
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:25 PM

@Michael Bride: ridiculous comparing him to bono. What have they got in common seriously

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:49 PM

@Loretta stiletto: they’re both poxes

Mute Michael Bride
    Favourite Michael Bride
    Dec 1st 2017, 8:58 AM

@Loretta stiletto: Arrogance, arrogance, arrogance!

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:16 PM

He has delusions of gangdeur

Mute Jack O'neill
    Favourite Jack O'neill
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:55 PM

The other thing that was with him is a very undesirable individual from d12.Mc Gangster associates with some very undesirables and there is a lot more to the incident in the pub.

Mute Gerard O Rourke
    Favourite Gerard O Rourke
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:58 PM

Pure low class, he should of arrived to court in a suit and tie and show respect as he does when he promoted his fights ….I say anyone driving a BMW now feel like a knacker….

Mute Orla van der Noll
    Favourite Orla van der Noll
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:20 PM

I don’t get why he’s so admired. He beats people and gets beaten up for money. That’s all. Nothing admirable about it. And now he’s being an indecent civilian. Not an ideal role model for young people.

Mute Mark Hannan
    Favourite Mark Hannan
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:56 PM

The devil’s dandruff mixed with bad company, a touch of brain trauma, a massive ego and outstanding talent and drive, mix a lot of celebrity and a cult like worldwide following and pop it into a madly wonderful city like Dublin, it’s going to get wild

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Dec 1st 2017, 10:19 AM

@Mark Hannan: when you put it like that… I’m off to get popcorn.

Mute MiseBean
    Favourite MiseBean
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:48 PM

Small man syndrome maybe.

Mute lapsy pa
    Favourite lapsy pa
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:08 PM

if other were cars on the road thats actually dangerous driving

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:43 PM

What a tosser…. imagine young fellas idolize this eejit…

Mute Darren Flynn
    Favourite Darren Flynn
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:19 PM

When he started out he seemed decent enough. But as soon as he started running his mouth and then changing his accent and then jumping into the cage and pushing a ref,slapping an offical while having no association with bamma/bellator, shouting over his coach to a fighter, disrespecting more r less anyone who is not sbg the public is finally realising what he is.

Mute Siobhan Kirby
    Favourite Siobhan Kirby
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:10 PM

Pull your socks up Connor!!!! Set an example!!!!

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:01 PM

What’s really unfortunate is that the only way people like him ever cop on is if they cause an accident. I just hope that neither me nor any of my loved ones are on the receiving end of his utter stupidity and disregard.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:03 PM

An absolute tool, he got lucky in his sport, he earned millions for losing a fight, hes a mouthpiece , cant wait for his fall from grace or for such a time that he cops himself on.

Mute Dillon Kalen
    Favourite Dillon Kalen
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:18 PM

20mill cheque from adidas in the post. Clever man!☘️ haters are always gonna hate in this country.
    He’s a young man from Dublin enjoying life and his fruits.
    He’s not gonna act like a rugby player from d4 just because he’s the wealthiest sportsman from Ireland. He’s keeping it real as they say in the hood.

Mute Ray Farrell
    Favourite Ray Farrell
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:42 PM

@Dillon Kalen: He seems to be keeping it too real if weekend reports are anything to go by.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:05 PM

@Dillon Kalen: no cheque from Adidas mate. I hope you understand how endorsements work. Adidas don’t want to be seen coming out of court.

Mute Peter Brophy
    Favourite Peter Brophy
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:15 PM

@Dillon Kalen: moron

Mute Fargo Boyle
    Favourite Fargo Boyle
    Dec 1st 2017, 12:21 AM

@Dillon Kalen: good man and you’re business acumen is spot on! Adidas will pay Mcknacker 20 mil for wearing their coming out of a court room. Jesus Wept!!

Mute blueman79
    Favourite blueman79
    Dec 1st 2017, 1:28 AM

@Dillon Kalen: I think you’ll find rory mcilroy is the richest sports person from the island of Ireland, he just doesn’t need to boast about it every ten minutes

Mute Jimmy Cullen
    Favourite Jimmy Cullen
    Dec 1st 2017, 12:43 AM

It’s our culture BOSS.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:56 PM

Come on ye boys in green pay your fine .

Mute Kieran Magennis
    Favourite Kieran Magennis
    Dec 1st 2017, 1:11 AM

Class and real modesty are permanent….you just can’t fake stuff like that…

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Dec 1st 2017, 2:28 AM

Why cover your face leaving a court for a speeding ticket,comical.Apoligise, donate to local charity,Earn a bit of respect.Close comments again,

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:31 PM

What sort of Judge didn’t put him of the road for the maximum time that she could ? That would have damaged his bloated ego even if he can easily afford a Private driver !

Mute Rosemarie Martin
    Dec 1st 2017, 2:24 PM

Despite people who think me a blues hirt, my heart goes out to many parents and loved ones who have lost a loved one/ a child because of reckless driving. Exceeding the speed limit is against the law, but it was not his first offence. Try calling the grieving parents of victims of those who abuse fast cars and mow down humans that this was fun and part of McGregors ‘gregarious personality’

Mute McGarnagle
    Favourite McGarnagle
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:38 PM

He shud have knocked put that juge and all the rest of the snobs in that curt. I wood have luvd to have seen tat. Jeez I wish hed kick somones head in like he used to when he didn’t need to mout off at all…..

Mute Donna
    Favourite Donna
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:47 PM

@McGarnagle: eh what???

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:53 PM

@McGarnagle: And the point is proven, knackers love knackers

Mute McGarnagle
    Favourite McGarnagle
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:49 PM

@Karl: just wondering how many thumbs up I would get from putting up a knackery statement.i have to say I’m a bit disappointed, a year ago I would have got hundreds

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:50 PM

@McGarnagle: I got it

Mute Ste
    Favourite Ste
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:21 PM

@McGarnagle: can you rewrite that in English please

Mute Lesley Harpur O Connell
    Favourite Lesley Harpur O Connell
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:46 PM

What a horrible thug…

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:18 PM

Surely he can pay a fine get a chauffeur he is not short of everything like the rest of us . It must be nice to not fault for anything.

Mute Patrick Keena
    Favourite Patrick Keena
    Dec 1st 2017, 1:31 PM

Drama drama drama fair play Conor just don’t get to big for ur boots we all let loose now and again enjoy life apologize and move on don’t let the devils dandruff be ur downfall coz ul be broke overnight trust me jump bk in the ring and keep up the hard work don’t throw it all away now after been lucky enough to get the chances Ye have had but money will always bring out the worst in anyone especially when ur sending half it up ur nose and taking on the ppl ur getting it from coz it’s gone to ur head kid time to get bk in the gym and turn this year around…

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Dec 1st 2017, 12:38 AM

Well the judge warned and warned and warned … hold on why can I comment on a legal case …. admit it McGregor enterprise wins again!!! Leo should get his 5m comma team to piggy back off team McGregor

Mute Michael Donovan
    Favourite Michael Donovan
    Dec 1st 2017, 5:49 PM

With the wealth this man has made from his career,,.and rightly so he has erned it.

The penalty should have been €3000 euro fine 3 penality points and ordered by the court to donate €100,000 to a charitable trust for sick children,,,.
    Whilst im sure he can well afford it,,,,as for Dress Code many talk of this as disrespect to the ‘Court well I’ll leave that one open for debate,,,as for the fine imposed it was rather small concidering he wasn’t issued with penality points am i to understand that in Ireland we no longer issue penality points as of his apperence today and if so,,Yahoo.

Certainly this wasnt his first apperence and wont be his last for speeding,,,,it therfore seams he got the courts and the Guarda in his pocket,,.and this is what direspect means.

Mute Siobhan Kirby
    Favourite Siobhan Kirby
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:11 PM

Conor!!!! Bloody iphone

Mute Stephanie Mahony
    Favourite Stephanie Mahony
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:37 PM

What a shit head notice box ugh

Mute Don Callery
    Favourite Don Callery
    Dec 7th 2017, 3:21 PM

It is what it is leave it off CONOR doses it his way some like it some don,t. He has every right ta he made it not just once or twice and the gas thing about is there plenty more to come. KEEP IT UP CONOR WISH YOU AND ALL THE FAMILY A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A GREAT NEW YEAR. DONCHRISTIAN CALLERY.

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Dec 2nd 2017, 4:12 AM

Money hasn’t changed him at all..not