You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of deputy Chief Medical Officer Dr Ronan Glynn. Sasko Lazarov

Coronavirus: 5,156 new cases confirmed in Ireland

The Department of Health confirmed the latest figures today.

PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICIALS have confirmed 5,156 new cases of Covid-19 in Ireland this afternoon.

As of 8am today, 503 people are in hospital with Covid-19, including 110 who are in ICU.

Yesterday, 5,622 new cases were confirmed while 487 Covid-19 patients were in hospital, of whom 114 were in ICU.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 111 comments
111 Comments
    Mute Warren Mcdermott
    Favourite Warren Mcdermott
    Apr 13th 2019, 11:51 AM

What’s wrong with having a sign saying Delaney out, they are not causing trouble or doing anything wrong ,are the fai and Delaney so bad that people cant protest against them

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:23 PM

@Warren Mcdermott: Danish and Sebian security staff did similar in the past.of course John the Baptist knew nothing about it.

Mute Humphrey Harold Haddington
    Favourite Humphrey Harold Haddington
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:54 PM

He must have something on the journal as well…. My last comment was deleted. Why is every one so afraid of this guy?

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:36 PM

@Humphrey Harold Haddington:

Dear H H H , I have a feeling that your post was not nice or fair. You sound like one of the social media hit squads the world is talking about !!!

Mute Rachel Didleu
    Favourite Rachel Didleu
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:21 PM

@Humphrey Harold Haddington: short and curlies?

Mute peter crew
    Favourite peter crew
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:27 PM

@Humphrey Harold Haddington: I’ve heard stories about this monster. He is not a good man and those that support him will be ashamed when it comes to light

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Apr 13th 2019, 4:27 PM

@Warren Mcdermott: simple answer……YES.

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:02 PM

I wasn’t far from that stand at last night game and would have just been better for everyone if the lads were allowed unfurl and banner and probably put it away again a few mins after. Absolutely no trouble until the Gardai got involved, that actually resulted in all the pushing and dragging

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:03 PM

@Zossima:
    Apologies about spelling , walking and typing

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:07 PM

@Zossima: I dropped my son and his friend to that game last night and picked them up afterwards, they are aged 14. When I heard about this I was furious. The security and Gardai should be ashamed looking at the footage online (if they have footage showing otherwise…like to see it). Will never bring my kids alone there again and may boycott FC until security is real security and not thugs

Mute peter crew
    Favourite peter crew
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:26 PM

@Dan: AGS don’t have personal videos because shin Finn have complained thay it would impinge their human rights if far do could film what actually happened. They have blocked any requests for this technology

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Apr 13th 2019, 6:08 PM

@peter crew: would like to see the report or link that says that. Just so that I know its correct and not say so

Mute mark
    Favourite mark
    Apr 13th 2019, 7:25 PM

@peter crew: what’s that got to do with anything

Mute Centerro
    Favourite Centerro
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:15 PM

The Gardai beginning to look like a private security firm protecting the corrupt in this country instead of upholding the law.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne

@Centerro: well said

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:22 PM

@Centerro: I don’t often agree with Sinn Féin but there TD is totally right in this case. Displaying a banner is a legitimate form of protest; it is not like they were rioting or anything. What did the security guards / Gardaí think was going to happen? A retaliatory attack by irate Delaney supporters? I don’t think the latter even exist (except maybe for another TD in Kerry).

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Apr 13th 2019, 6:49 PM

@Centerro: ask the people from Mayo where the pipe came ashore. Cops acted for Shell allegedly

Mute David Guiney
    Favourite David Guiney
    Apr 14th 2019, 2:07 AM

@Centerro: my understanding was that these free state mercenaries were always the private security firm of the corrupt and powerful.

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Apr 14th 2019, 9:49 AM

@Centerro: not looking like, they are. Rent a cop

Mute Bungee Aky
    Favourite Bungee Aky
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:01 PM

If it was michael Martin or Simon Coveney they wouldn’t dare throw him out.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:13 PM

@Bungee Aky: what makes you think they would have got involved. It was none of O’Brien’s business and no one invited him to get involved.
    When he was part of the City board why didn’t he try to get the Munster FA to change the name of that stand. He should remember Meriongate and Joe Delaney’s major involvement in it.

Mute Bungee Aky
    Favourite Bungee Aky
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:40 PM

@Fergal O’Leary: and they wouldn’t attend a cork city match either.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Fergal O'Leary
    Favourite Fergal O'Leary
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:51 PM

@Bungee Aky: Martin would, he’s a turners cross boy.

Mute Fergal O'Leary
    Favourite Fergal O'Leary
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:53 PM

@Bungee Aky: I see my comment was deleted. Political commentary isn’t allowed on sports sites I suppose.

Mute James O'Donovan
    Favourite James O'Donovan
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:04 PM

@John Buckley: None of O’Briens business?, He’s a former chairman of the club and has been involved behind the scenes for years. It’s 100% his business.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:50 PM

@Bungee Aky: you’d never see Coveney outside his den unless it was financially profitable for him.

Mute Bungee Aky
    Favourite Bungee Aky
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:08 PM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin: the word from cork is that Coveney is under big pressure to keep his seat in the next GE, he has been hidden away and there are a lot of issues not getting any attention in his area

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:22 PM

@James O’Donovan: Why does that give him a right to get involved. It was an altercation between a protesting group of fans and stewards & Gardai. It had nothing to do with him so is none of his business. All he say was the opportunity for political points. He has done absolutely nothing to get rid of the FAI board or get the Munster FA to change the name of that stand.

Mute Bungee Aky
    Favourite Bungee Aky
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:38 PM

@John Buckley: so your complaining he got involved in the protest and your complaining he was involved in the protest. Nice.

Mute James O'Donovan
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:12 PM

@John Buckley: Because he was part of that group. No political point scoring involved. He’s one of those people who does things rather than complains about it on forums. How do you know what he’s said or done regarding the name of the stand.? Were you present at MFA meetings or have access to communications that aren’t in the public domain?

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:32 PM

@Bungee Aky: if you actually looked up articles on the subject you would see that he was not part of the protest. So where am I complaining about him being involved in the protest when he certainly was not part of it. I am criticising him for getting involved in an altercation that had nothing to do with him. It is obvious he saw the free press and scoring political point.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:39 PM

@James O’Donovan: no he was not part of the group – try reading more thorough articles on the subject. I an a city fan and know plenty of members of Foras. He has never said anything to them about the name of the stand. If he tried to get the name changed, he has a responsibility to tell the clubs owners.

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Apr 13th 2019, 4:27 PM

@Fergal O’Leary:

Why would you post a political commentary on a sports site ///

1. Was the game good ??
    2. Who was the MOTM ??
    3. Did your team win ??

Those are the questions for a sports site …………

Mute James O'Donovan
    Apr 13th 2019, 8:32 PM

@John Buckley: And I’m a City fan and a Foras member and I can te you’re talking absolute ****

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Apr 13th 2019, 9:54 PM

@James O’Donovan: if you were you would know he was not part of the protest. Stop spreading fake news.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Apr 15th 2019, 11:19 AM

@Bungee Aky: wouldn’t surprise. He was the 4th and last to get elected here…and now he is the 2nd most powerful man in the country.

Mute Darren moore
    Favourite Darren moore

This is not a first . Fans who have displayed the same banner at Ireland games have been removed or even banned form entering the stadium . It’s a ridiculous situation that one person has this much control and influence .

Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:45 PM

@Darren moore: you have control. don’t go to the games.

Mute PΛÐÐY ЯOOПΣY
    Favourite PΛÐÐY ЯOOПΣY
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:23 PM

@Renton Burke: So the clubs suffer damage to their already shoe string budgets?

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:00 PM

Sinn Fein at it again knocking the Guards and trying to gain political points. I go to matches to enjoy the game and I don’t want to be disrupted by protesters. There is a place for everything.

Mute Bungee Aky
    Favourite Bungee Aky
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:04 PM

@Tim Oleary: dead right Tim, a football match is no place to be protesting something football related. You shouldn’t have to sit at the other side of the stadium and ignore what’s going on just in case it affects your delicate sensibilities. People should keep their protesting to their downstairs toilet.

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:07 PM

@Bungee Aky:
    Might be an idea if the club offers people buckets of sand they can put their heads in should some god awful protest kick off

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:11 PM

@Zossima: what about those standing behind the protesters who just wanted to watch the match and couldn’t because someone had just unfurled a big banner in front of them?

Mute Yorkie1892
    Favourite Yorkie1892
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:15 PM

@Vocal Outrage: research a bit will ya. Everyone in that part of the stand boycotted the Delaney stand and we’re protesting there. I’m sure the we’re aware of the big banner coming as they part of the group..

Mute Thomas Bohan
    Favourite Thomas Bohan
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:17 PM

@Tim Oleary: move along Tim

Mute Fergal O'Leary
    Favourite Fergal O'Leary

@Vocal Outrage: thank god it was only a banner they unfurled

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:37 PM

@Yorkie1892: were you there?

Mute Yorkie1892
    Favourite Yorkie1892
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:48 PM

@Vocal Outrage: no I wasn’t. But if you follow certain loi social media platforms it will back me up.

Mute Fergal O'Leary
    Favourite Fergal O'Leary
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:54 PM

@Yorkie1892: you sound backed up already

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:01 PM

@Yorkie1892: I was

Mute SidNolan
    Favourite SidNolan
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:06 PM

@Tim Oleary: The same guards who falsified a million breathalyser tests? The same same guards who stood by and watched an elderly couple beaten by loyalist thugs? The same guards who accused an innocent man of being a pedophile? I could go on. Screw the guards. Nothing but lazy wasters.

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:45 PM

@Tim Oleary: he was superb on the committee the other day, asking the question why the 100,000 loan wasn’t presented on the monthly accounts (as usual the dopes on the board couldn’t give him an answer). Not a Sinn Fein voter by any stretch but he’s one of the good TDs. Football without fans is nothing and I don’t think there’s a football fan in the country who doesn’t want the FAI overhauled.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:56 PM

@SidNolan: no, different gardai but members of the same organisation. There are bad gardai out there, you’ve mentioned a few but the vast majority do a very difficult job very well.

Mute Margarita Huanca
    Favourite Margarita Huanca
    Apr 13th 2019, 4:20 PM

@Tim Oleary: people like you are tampons for the corrupt.
    Keeping everything in and pretending everything is rosy.

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Apr 13th 2019, 4:37 PM

@Thomas Bohan:

“” @Tim Oleary: move along Tim”"

You used to say that when you lot had a an army behind you. Tim has a very good point !!
    So Move Along Tommy boy…………….

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Apr 13th 2019, 6:15 PM

@Tim Oleary: Ah bless.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Apr 13th 2019, 6:56 PM

@SidNolan: Hardly all the same ones, most likely all different ones

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:08 PM

We can only hope that his ex wife fleeces him. That would be Karma.

Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:43 PM

@Jonny: I wouldn’t be so pessimistic, but there really needs to be questions asked when Gardai are being asked to intervene in event security. I’m guessing the guards are there to maintain public order, and when they get involved with this they need to be impartial. they should release a statement, but these are private paid functions where they can enforce any rules they want. as always, the only way to protest is not support and buy tickets for clubs that support Delaney. they are not *your* clubs, they are theirs.

Mute peter crew
    Favourite peter crew
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:30 PM

@Renton Burke: if a guard directs you to hand something over and you refuse you can be done for not following directions of an officer of the peace. Do as you are told and there is no pushing or fighting.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Apr 13th 2019, 6:18 PM

@peter crew: What law was broken?

Mute George McCarthy
    Favourite George McCarthy
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:07 PM

Meanwhile, the sick, weak and the elderly are on trollies all over the country.

Mute James O'Donovan

@George McCarthy: They are. And we show just as much outrage about that on the threads about it.

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Apr 13th 2019, 4:48 PM

@George McCarthy:

And if you had the power, you would clear all the problems !! If you gave Half of the money you lot smuggle across the border it would help a lot but you would have a lot less in your pocket and less arms ??

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Apr 13th 2019, 5:20 PM

@Martin Quinn: jasus , you seem to have a lot of Intel on people posting here

Mute Graham Sullivan
    Favourite Graham Sullivan
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:42 PM

Just another chapter in the omnishambles that is Cork sports this decade. Where to start with the GAA? Munster Rugby becoming a Limerick team and now this from Cork City. It’s a pity since City have been the one shinning light but between bottling the Caulfield decision in the off season and now this they seem to be following suit

Mute phil82
    Favourite phil82
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:59 PM

@Graham Sullivan: go back to bed boy will ya

Mute Brendan Grace
    Favourite Brendan Grace
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:00 PM

@Graham Sullivan: is limerick not in Munster? That’s the problem with cork they reckon they are entitled to be centre of the universe

Mute Bungee Aky
    Favourite Bungee Aky
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:02 PM

@Graham Sullivan: you left Keano out as well

Mute Sean Roche
    Favourite Sean Roche
    Apr 13th 2019, 7:30 PM

Same story in the Aviva. Intimidation by staff escalating a legitimate protest results in an excuse for the guards to get involved in something that has nothing to do with them. Sooner or later somebody will remind the guards and the security goons at these games that we live in a free country and we have the right to express our opinions as football fans. It’s just as well delaney is going because with the default behaviour of so called security in the singing section sonner or later there was going to be a confrontation. Clear out the board and lets begin again with people like Brian Kerr and Niall Quinn.

Mute Bill Clay
    Favourite Bill Clay
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:24 PM

Everyone queing up to score political points off the John Delaney debacle. They were happy enough to text him for tickets not so long ago.

Mute Padraic O Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O Sullivan
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:48 PM

Were the Guards being supervised. We know what happens when they are not.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:56 PM

All clubs are duty bound to keep the peace within the grounds. The inside of a club grounds is no place for a protest, any kind of protest, take it out to the public street and they can protest to their hearts content!

Mute Bungee Aky
    Favourite Bungee Aky
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:09 PM

@Paul: there is nothing unpeacefull about a protest.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:33 PM

@Bungee Aky: that’s my point lol

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:04 PM

Until these eejits stop pretending that they’re protesting and actually hit the FAI where it hurts, nothing will change.

Stop the silly banners and tennis balls and stay away until they change they want happens

Mute Orla Cosgrave
    Favourite Orla Cosgrave
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:25 PM

@Paul Lanigan: absolutely agree hit them where it is going to hurt. I reckon the €100.000 is only tip of the iceberg.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Apr 13th 2019, 6:20 PM

@Paul Lanigan: Stay away from their local club? Do you think the FAI would give a shit?

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 13th 2019, 5:52 PM

This highlights a lot of what is wrong in this country.

Mute John Murt
    Favourite John Murt
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:57 PM

Why did he get involved in the first place publicity machine is going rapid

Mute Martin Bunny Carroll
    Favourite Martin Bunny Carroll
    Apr 13th 2019, 2:50 PM

I wouldn’t mind but the old shinners hate publicity ahhhhh

Mute John Tobin
    Favourite John Tobin
    Apr 14th 2019, 8:47 AM

I saw then try to take RED AND WHITE Palestinian flags from Tyrone supporters and made a no situation into a dangerous situation for a lot of people

Mute John Tobin
    Favourite John Tobin
    Apr 14th 2019, 8:48 AM

DELANEY OUT AND THE BOARD

Mute Jams O' Donnell
    Favourite Jams O' Donnell
    Apr 13th 2019, 8:31 PM

Anyone remember the days when soccer was the “Garrison game” and so un Sinn Fein? All depends on how the wind is blowing I suppose.

Mute Dam IenCahill
    Favourite Dam IenCahill
    Apr 13th 2019, 5:15 PM

Why was my comment deleted ?

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Apr 14th 2019, 9:48 AM

Was at a match before at the cross were the national flag was removed at the behest of Portadown supporters. Ask the cops at Portadown to take down the union Jack and you would get hammered.
    Disgraceful

Mute Billy Flynn
    Favourite Billy Flynn
    Apr 14th 2019, 8:55 AM

Are we about to see the demise of another soccer club in Cork.

Mute Colm Moylette
    Favourite Colm Moylette
    Apr 13th 2019, 6:40 PM

Gardai & fans of shite boring game discommoded by equally idle people unfurling a tricolour with crayola writing on it….Sinn Fein obviously don’t recognise the laws regarding defacing the tri-colour

Mute Sean Roche
    Favourite Sean Roche
    Apr 13th 2019, 7:34 PM

@Colm Moylette: you sir are not a football fan .. so it’s unlikely that your opinion is burdened by actual knowledge of the game and thereby irrelevant

Mute Kevin O'sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'sullivan
    Apr 13th 2019, 4:53 PM

Hey Jonathan, welcome to the club. Any sign of Fitxy?