You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
HEALTH OFFICIALS HAVE confirmed that a further eight people have died with Covid-19 in Ireland.
It means the number of people in this country with coronavirus who have sadly died now stands at 1,930.
The National Public Health Emergency Team has also said that a further 444 cases of Covid-19 have been confirmed, bringing the total number of cases in Ireland to 63,483.
Of the cases notified today;
208 are men / 235 are women
61% are under 45 years of age
The median age is 37 years old
158 in Dublin, 48 in Cork, 36 in Galway, 28 in Limerick and 174 cases spread across 19 other counties.
There are currently 310 Covid patients in hospital and 41 of them are in ICU. There have been 25 additional hospitalisations in the past 24 hours.
Dr Tony Holohan reminded the public to continue to observe social distancing and the current restrictions.
“If you are a close contact of a confirmed case, you are asked to restrict your movements for 14 days and to attend for your two free Covid-19 tests, one on day zero and one on day seven.
“This is because as an identified close contact, you have come into contact with the virus. It may take some time for this to become apparent, or for you to become infectious.”
“By staying at home for this entire 14 day period, you are helping to stop the spread of this dangerous disease. In following this important guidance, you are helping to bring this virus right back down to where we all need it to be and playing your part in this national effort.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
TheJournal.ie's Coronavirus Newsletter
TheJournal.ie's coronavirus newsletter cuts through the misinformation and noise with the clear facts you need to make informed choices. Sign up here
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
64 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Is there a reason some Gardai talk down to you like a teacher to a student? Genuine question. Never understood it. Making less sense the older I get. Emphasis on “some”, not all.
@IrelandForChange: With authority comes power. That’s natural. Abuse of it though different story. Same as anything else whether it be a politician or a business operator. It’s just personality at the end of the day. Some ride the power and get off on it. Others use the power to make life better. Depends on how you look at it and how they look at it.
Yeeey, go Ireland!
High visibility patrols, enforcement, intimidation, fines, scapegoating, shows of force, more enforcement! Let’s focus on crowd control, let’s send a strong message, let’s not rest until every head shall bow and every knee shall bend in submission!
That’s how others did it!
That’s why we have 2 lockdowns, other had none!
Meanwhile, even contact tracing seems too big a task…
@Stan Papusa: Its hard for people to accept the blame when the virus spreads from people. The public have themselves to blame for not following the rules. We have 6 weeks, lets get this muck down.
@Paul Cunningham: open borders brought the virus here (virus was known to exist long before lockdown in March) no action was taken. The authorities practically invited it here to spread. Lockdown 1 almost solved the virus but no, our genius overlords decided to leave ports and airports open. Wide open. Hence here we are with an incompetent test and trace system. And some scoff at trump? WTF?
@Paul Cunningham: ‘The virus spreads from people’ mantra is a bit overused these days. Of course it does, so what? Unless we’re genetically different from Kiwis (and I don’t mean the bird or the fruit) or significantly less clean/civilized than South Koreans, ‘the virus spreads from people’ means nothing and it doesn’t explain the state of affairs we are in.
The overwhelming majority of people already did their part during the first lockdown and that’s the bottom line. There no such thing as 100% compliance anywhere – regardless how many yearn for it – except maybe in North Korea.
So we had a lockdown, the exit strategy was poor, and they didn’t use that opportunity (numbers being low and situation being stable for over 3 months) to put better controls and measures in place. The exit strategy this time around is not even poor, is absent.
Worse still, they are lying through their teeth, again finding scapegoats (house parties this time around), again refusing to see the elephant in the room: schools and non-essential services.
@Paul Cunningham: it’s hard for the government to accept we have a third world health care system that can’t cope with a Normal winter flu season and is now on show to the world for its ineptitude’s. This winter is no different the last 20, except for meek politicians hiding behind “corona virus” borrowing another 2 billion to pay for a six week lockdown that will cost billions more in lost revenue to the economy not to mention jobs in order to hide this fact, Lockdowns are not the answer and cause more damage than they say they solve.
@Seán O’Sullivan: that’s not an exit strategy its a continuance model.As in we go back to where we were when we started level 5.
Exit strategy could be e.g.:
We set a date Oct 2021, if there is no clear regression of the virus, new treatment or vaccine in sight/in play. We are going to begin the slow return to normality and actually live with the virus not pretend live with it through lock downs.
Mission example to allow us to achieve that: we need to increase ICU capacity x 2 in this period and/or set up covid only hospitals/areas of hos so other health care can continue as normal. Win public support for continued open/close till then by providing the above endstate. Continued improvement care
Alternate endstate. Vaccine in the period achieving herd immunity and open up life again.
@Seán O’Sullivan: Wrt exit strategy I see you already received an answer.
Wrt me leaving yeah I could do that, but I have a better idea.
We could start with liars and incompetents (especially those holding high office), those who dream of an Orwellian society, those who see enforcement and intimidation not as a last resort but as a default response (again, you won’t find too many countries who had 2 lockdowns as draconian as ours).
If we start with those, then the rest of us wouldn’t have to leave, either because we won’t have jobs and a future in this country, or simply because we wish to live in a normal society…
Complete waste of time and resources. If they put all these garda on patrols around housing estates and parks were the all the people are out drinking and meeting up we might stand some sort of chance.
@Fred the Muss…: congratulations on making a balls of your comment. I did read the article I was pointing out the need for more gardai on the street and in parks as there will be more gardai on checkpoints then patrolling the parks.
During the last lockdown I was treated fairly and politely at every Garda Checkpoint . They are doing the job they are instructed to do . Appalled by some of the comments on here tonight as Garda put their lives on the line every day or have you all forgotten about all the Gardai that were killed protecting the public
@Mary Mc Carthy: thats your point of view
Mine is totally different. as soon as he have heard my accent, he start asking all sort of questions and even at one point inspected my work badge even though i showed him my essential work letter! Madness.
@Mary Mc Carthy: lucky you. There were guards 24/7 on the bridge and outside Lidl in the town were I live. They made life very difficult for everyone. I have to go into work a few days a week. It is more than 5 km away. I’ll have to leave at 6 instead of 7 in case there are Garda checks
@Anne Marie Devlin: That is not the fault of the Gardai . They are following government orders in order to ensure the safety of the public . I would take a delay in my journey every day to stop people spreading and dying of this virus ! We are in this position because people refused to follow the guidelines. I hope you never have to endure the agony of a family member dying alone in an ICU unit without a family member present .
@Mary Mc Carthy: I have no issue with the Gardai either. I travelled to work 5 days a week during the first lockdown and they never once demanded a letter from work. I told them I was going to work and that was enough for them. Sometimes they asked the name of my employer or where I was travelling too. Even with the new restrictions people are still allowed to travel outside their 5km for reasons such as visiting a grave, attending a funeral or wedding. https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/66269-ireland-placed-on-level-5-of-the-plan-for-living-with-covid/
I work in the Airport. Only yesterday i spoke to three girls who arrived from The Czech Republic for a 10 ‘vacation.’ Bus to Dublin city for 3 days, bus to Wexford for 3 days, bus to Galway for 3 days, bus back to Dublin Airport and off they pop. And i can’t go 3km for a game of Golf with my father. Totally wrong.
@Geraldine O’Riordan: Lockdowns do not work. Never before in human history has a lockdown ever been used to stop the spread of a virus. You’re trying to stop hundreds of thousands of years of human behaviour, and especially in teenagers. It just won’t work. The Government have fed the media stories about everything from face masks, house parties, air travel to GAA Matches and people now take that as scientific fact when in reality it’s BS.. What should have been done the world over is protecting the vulnerable and elderly and let the rest of society get on with life. Now what we’re left with is a society divided and blaming each other, an economy destroyed and the vast majority of people are depressed and lying awake at night worried about the future.
@David Garland:
You post the same comments day in day out, yet you still don’t understand that everyone may be vulnerable to this disease. It can kill perfectly healthy people.
But that doesn’t shout your anti mask and anti lockdown crusade.
@dublinguide.ie: Everyone is vulnerable to any illness. Healthy People die from the flu every year. Plus Pneumonia kills thousands of healthy People every year. Plus I’m not anti mask, I wear mine everyday in work and where ever else I have to wear it..
@David Garland: “Lockdown” is just another word for quarantine. Such physical separation has been used throughout human history. Leprosy colonies immediately come to mind as an example, though really that’s probably more like how people like you got put in asylums in the past. That the nature of the current transmissible infection is viral, rather than bacterial, does not change the fundamental principle.
@David Garland: lockdowns were used in the 1900’s for the “Spanish Flu” and other versions of quarantine have existed since civilisation began and are recorded.
All for supporting a lockdown but, it is completely pointless exercise while schools remain open.
Out walking earlier and a group of 8 or so teenagers by the Luas. Another couple rocked up, hugged everyone, started high fiving then went on their merry way.
@Jack Inman: Is that where we’re at as a society now? Giving out about kids being kids.. Look at how 8 months of Government spin and media BS have turned society on each other.. People wondered how easily the Nazis gained power and brainwashed an entire Country and turned the local Population against the Jews in every Country they invaded.. In Eight Months look how we’ve flipped as a nation. Banned from having People in your house, banned from going to work, banned from eating in a restaurant, banned from any social interaction, not allowed 5 km from your house, banned from doing any kind of sport. Not only that but blaming everybody and anybody for spreading a virus that let’s face it, can’t to stopped. Plus the testing is way off, the PCR test is flawed and can be as much as 90% off and then we have the Government not investing in more ICU beds and not doing one thing to protect nursing homes. Yet we have People blaming kids on being kids. It’s a complete joke
@David Garland: you are unbelievable, comparing Goverment measures in a Global Pandemic to Nazi Germany…… And you are wrong about Nazi Germany and brain washing against Jews … the relationship between Jewish Communities in Europe and non-Jewish had been a negative one for the previous 2,000 years… do a bit of reading will you….
@Paul Buckley: You tell me what other pandemic caused such extreme measures to be brought in that took away People’s civil liberties? The Hong Kong flu in 1968 killed nearly 8 Million People and life went on. Swine flu in 2009 killed around 800,000 and life went on. Mortality Rate for Covid 19 is around 1%, the WHO publish figures the other day saying the case fatality rate is 0.23% and yet Governments persist with lockdowns and Society blaming each other for something that’s out of their Control..
@David Garland: the measures are not about just saving lives. It us about the long term side effects that this virus impacts on the organs of those that get it.
Yes 85% of people will be fine with this and 0.23 % fatality rate compared to 0.01% of seasonal flu, but there is a vaccine for seasonal flu not for Covid 19.
The Swine Flu was a known virus, it was the strain mutation that affected Himans , it was a flu , Covid 19 is not a Flu…. Two completely different virus , complications are different…. in terms of organ failure and long term recovery.
Stick to driving the Taxi and let experts in virology do their job.
@Paul Buckley: Seasonal flu has a 0.01% fatality rate? 0.1% maybe. Also where do you get the idea from that only 85% of those infected will be fine. Surely it’ll be more around 99% that don’t die or suffer from any any long term side effect that by the way the flu can cause as well.
Driving through Bailieborough at lunchtime today, secondary school pupils leaving the school and no one was wearing a
Mask! What’s the point in lock down with that behavior prevalent!! No wonder Cavan has worse stats!!
@Margaret O Neill: same in Leixlip! All the secondary school students hanging around in gangs not a mask between them getting on the train.No one patrolling trains either.
@Margaret O Neill: The only sane group left in this country. It’s taking the supposedly braindead teenagers to show us all how absurdly brainwashed their elders are.
I’ll stop for a garda, as I’m required to do by law, but I won’t be complying with any request not to travel more than 5km.
This is pure blackguarding of the worst kind. The powers that be are trying to kill the country. All so we can have another lockdown in Jan/Feb. When will they realise they don’t work, the one in March didn’t and this one won’t either. All the while they cause enumerable chaos to other parts of the health (cancer etc), cost thousands their livelihoods and make sure we all have to pay back this debt for the next decade
I refuse to go along with this suicide mission. I do not consent to this nonsense and never will.
@Colm O’Sullivan: The problem is here. Come December 1st when lockdown is lifted,
People will go crazy, pubs,restaurants open, panic buying for Christmas, streets congested because it’s only 3.5 weeks until the big day apart from New Years celebrations. The government says relaxation only to level 3 but a U turn to level 1 or 2.
We will then be back to lockdown end of January just because a minority will not pay attention
@MentalAsAnything: Also our love of making life more difficult than it needs to be.The one silver lining was commuter time reductions. We cant have that! Here’s another hour on your journey… ‘Work?’… ‘Work guard’… carry on.
@Anthony Edward Healy: you are like the Grim Reaper of the the Journal, people are allowed to try to lighten things up and try to make others smile, sorry if that offends your daily stats
@Franny Ando: thanks Franny. As we know the doom and gloomers don’t like to see my stats post on the cases article. I’d say they’re not happy the ICU/hospital numbers aren’t higher. Anthony is probably one of them
If we really need to get serious about covid we need army check points everywhere. Cut the bs. If it’s as serious as they are telling us, get them out to enforce it. If it’s an ICU issue then the government should walk with their heads held low.
@Paddy O Sullivan: Why. Someone going for a spin without leaving their car will not spread covid. But the government have a sin to answer for with regards to I.C.U, contact tracing and the never ending waiting lists for other treatments. They are making a right hames of it and crippling the country along the way.
@Louise Lennon: exactly, who else but those travelling for essential work are out that early. Let the checkpoints commence at 9am when those who need to be at work are not pointlessly delayed at 7.30 or 8am.
I have absolutely nowhere within 5kms to go for a walk. The local roads are busy and the fields are wet and mucky and have cattle in them. If I drive 6/7 kms I have loads of options, forest walks, suburban roads with paths, riverside tarred paths, etc. So I think I’ll be taking my chances. Either that or walk in never-ending circles around my garden.
The gardai will have no problem affording a good Christmas with all that overtime, just a pity that the increased garda presence on the roads and elsewhere will to nothing to reduce the spread of Covid. Public will be slower to buy in this time and understandably so when GAA games not stopped while golf is. Who can explain the logic here? We have also sacrificed retail and other businesses for the GAA who will spread the virus throughout the country. One county team currently restricting movements while awaiting testing but it’s confirmed that they are playing an inter-county match this Saturday!!!!!! Government a spineless disgrace for allowing GAA to be played while destroying businesses and livelihoods.
It took me 2 hours to bring my son to school and back home again. Not looking forward to 4 hours a day on the roads for school runs. Something will have to change because today was not sustainable!
I just hope they don’t cause the chaos they did the last time. Two hours foe some people to get home from work is ridiculous. I’m all for checkpoints but done in the appropriate way!!
@Smokeycarroll: 200 yards from Pearse St garda station and the busiest shopping street in the country. Gobs1tes should have been hosed off the street. We’re fighting a losing battle.
I just hope they have learned frim the last debacle. Two hours getting home from work is ridiculous. I’m all for checkpoints but done in the appropriate way!!
Curious as to why people are so furious at airports being left open? Figures show that it is community transmission that accounts for most of the spread of the virus…not travel! i was in Spain in August, came back, isolated, didn’t have the virus…I think you’ll find this is the same with the majority of people!
@Ed: Neither did I from Dalkey to Grand Canal. In first lockdown they were everywhere. Roads were as busy as ever this morning. Not starting well and with the shambles in the contact tracing and all the other State failings this does not bode well
@Paul Buckley: No you are wrong. It’s extremely unlikely that one or two will loose someone to the virus! By far the most likely outcome is that it won’t have any consequences at all.
I love it when a guard talks down to me like a student. It reminds me of how stiff an organisation they are, and how happy I am to have nothing got to do with them.
What to expect from the new annual UK-Ireland Summit kicking off later today
4 hrs ago
Renting
Rent-a-Room scheme allowing social welfare recipients to take in tenants extended
Updated
5 hrs ago
Finglas
Boy (11) hospitalised after stabbing incident at school in north Dublin
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 153 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 105 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 137 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 39 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 43 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 25 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 51 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 85 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 65 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say