You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA

Private hospitals to be leased for use as public hospitals for duration of Covid-19 crisis

The private hospital sector has a capacity of 1,900 inpatient beds as well as 47 ICU and 54 HDU beds.

THE TAOISEACH HAS today announced that private hospitals will be leased for use as public hospitals for the duration of the Covid-19 outbreak in Ireland, treating both patients who have the virus and those with other non-related illnesses.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and Health Minister Simon Harris today announced a new public private partnership between the HSE and the Private Hospitals’ Association.

The arrangement will be in place for an initial three-month period, with an option to extend it after that on a mutually-agreed basis.

The private hospital sector, which is made up of 19 hospitals, has an estimated bed capacity of 1,900 inpatient beds, 600 day beds as well as 47 ICU and 54 HDU beds.

This includes nearly 1,000 single bed inpatient rooms. The sector also has 194 ventilators as well as nine laboratory services on sites.

“We’re in the middle of a national public health emergency, and we need to do all we can to increase the capacity of our hospitals so we can provide critical care to those who need it,” the Taoiseach said.

“It’s all hands on deck in this national effort, and I am very pleased that the private hospitals have agreed to come on board and make their facilities available. The public and private sectors are tooling up and working together for the common good.

“The government will take all the necessary steps to increase our hospital capacity and it’s more important than ever for each and every one of us to do all we can in our own lives to flatten the curve, supress and stop the spread of the coronavirus. Stay at home, and wash your hands regularly.”

Under the terms of the arrangement, the HSE will pay for the cost of running the hospitals and treating public patients. The private only consultants, who carry out work for the private hospitals will be offered a locum public contract for the duration of the arrangement.

The private hospitals will retain their own staff for the duration who will help keep the hospitals operating, but will not become public employees.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

142 Comments
    Mute Steve O'Reilly
    Favourite Steve O'Reilly
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:46 PM

Leased? Of course they wouldn’t do it out of good will.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:53 PM

@Steve O’Reilly: It costs huge amounts of money to run a hospital.
    I doubt that fortunes are being made.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Justin Gillespie: if there wasn’t a fortune to be made there wouldn’t be private hospitals.

See 44 more replies ▾
    Mute Justin Gillespie
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:01 PM

@Dave Thomas: Its a business like any other, one with very high running costs. The notion that they could pay all the bills for an open ended lease is nonsense.

Mute Mike Osullivan
    Favourite Mike Osullivan
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:04 PM

@Justin Gillespie: Health care should never be for profit.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:07 PM

@Justin Gillespie: a free first class health service from the the cradle to the grave regardless of anyone personal income. is the most important service in any society that the state can deliver to all its citizens

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:14 PM

I’d like to know how much this is costing? Are the private hospitals creaming it? In other countries they haven’t leased the private hospitals they’ve outright nationalised them for the duration.

Mute Clay Davis
    Favourite Clay Davis
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:15 PM

@Bobby wilson: while I agree with the idea, things are usually free or first class. Rarely both. I am for free health care, free education and against price gouging on housing/rent, etc

Mute Frank Scanlon
    Favourite Frank Scanlon
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:18 PM

@Steve O’Reilly: And if they did it out of good will Steve, who is going to pay their staff? The costs of running a hospital are incredible, so many things you wouldnt even think of factoring in

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Clay Davis: to me personally free first class health service is the most important public service that a state can provide to all its citizens. even more than all the other public services all put together in a democrat society!

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:39 PM

@Frank Scanlon: In other countries the private hospitals have been temporarily nationalized. Here they’re being leased. And guess who stands to cash in?

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:44 PM

@Mike Osullivan: you should become a surgeon and then you could work for what’s called the living wage, remember no profit allowed.

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:45 PM

@The Risen: the usual shit out of this god forsaken hole of a country

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:46 PM

@Bobby wilson: and people who try to mind their health and pay for health insurance (very often with scarce funds)? – should they stand in line with people who abuse their health, spend their spare cash on drink, crap food and Cigarettes and never do a day’s work.
    I think I know your answer but just asking anyway.

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:48 PM

@The Risen: Larry Goodman for one

Mute We Love Katamari
    Favourite We Love Katamari
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:53 PM

@Seanboy: a certain billionaire who has done VERY well out of fine gael being in power owns the Beacon.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:55 PM

@ObsidianShine: I’m against private healthcare but while it exists here and the Government want to use the hospitals they have to pay them. I think the terms should be made public so people can see they haven’t exploited the situation.

Mute David Carolan
    Favourite David Carolan
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:57 PM

@Justin Gillespie: oh holy god . So who’s going to pay for the lease. Cop on

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:00 PM

@Aidan: Nope. There are provisions in the constitution to suspend property rights for the common good. They could be temporarily nationalised with a REASONABLE compensation paid to shareholders.

Mute Eugene Foley
    Favourite Eugene Foley
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:02 PM

@Mike Osullivan: innovation in health care is driven by profit

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:08 PM

@Steve O’Reilly: Shock Doctrine. Using a national crisis to transfer public money to the wealthy.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:10 PM

@Mike Osullivan: think you’ll find some of the best and most advanced treatment and research centres are for profit organisations. Profit isn’t a bad thing, it’s not the enemy and all of our hospitals should be run to make a profit. The biggest problem in Ireland is that the majority of hospitals are not run to make a profit and as a result huge sums of money are wasted!

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone

@Steve O’Reilly: give it a rest ffs I work in a private hospital, we’re not all evil!

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:14 PM

@DERRY1973: ha ha exactly, I work for one, the idiots commenting on here have absolutely zero idea what all the training and responsibilities that it all entails…no money would pay me to do it!

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:26 PM

@The Risen: Pity Sinn Fein weren’t in power they would have put the boot into them and closed them down.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:28 PM

@We Love Katamari: exactly & if he’s a billionaire then pay back the banks the 300 million right off he got!

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:29 PM

@Thewestisbest: Maybe leave the comments to the grown ups.

Mute Peter taylor
    Favourite Peter taylor
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:29 PM

@Larkin About: What value do you put on a single life!! 47 ICU beds, 54 HDU beds, 1000 single patient rooms. All of these are needed during this major emergency we are facing. 47 ICU beds gives us over 10% more than we already have without buying extra equipment or putting more strain on staffing levels. The ICU/HDU facilities will be used to support critically ill people who most likely would die otherwise. The 1000 single rooms will mean that sick people can be isolated safely until test results are back/they recover. Yes it is terrible that we have to lease these beds but would you rather more people die/cross infect. But don’t you worry about lives dude, you concentrate on your political agenda.

Mute Chris OB
    Favourite Chris OB
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:30 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: yes as we are all equal.

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:31 PM

@Jun Stone: for you guys that think this lease is for the healthcare, it’s not – the doctors, nurses etc will be public, bit the hospitals will be getting their daily bed rate for each “unit”. They should have nationised then and covered costs directly. Instead, they are covering the beacon, whitfield and the nuns loan book. The dysfunctional relationship with private health carries on, even in a crisis.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:36 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: I agree with you their is a section of the population that don’t look after its health .that comes down poor education choices people make in their lives. as I said its more important to me than housing and any others public services that the state provides I live in Belfast and we have free health service from the cradle to the grave! Maybe not first class but its free for all it’s citizens. I don’t have to paid 50 euros for doctors visit!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:48 PM

@Justin Gillespie: Tell that to James O Riley former minister for health… He certainly did very well from public/ private practice..How soon people forget the little scandals that surrounded him when he was the minister.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:48 PM

@Brynþór Patrekursson: “Nationalisation” is not a get out of jail card. You can’t just take someone’s business/property/home etc and simply say “thanks, you’re nationalised”. You have to compensate them in full for their business. This seems a very reasonable alternative. Lease the rooms for the duration and pay a fee. And it is immediate, gets the private hospitals fully on board and allows for a seamless link between public and private.

Can we give the ideology a temporary rest please and prioritise using both public and private services to save lives? We live in a mixed economy made up of public and mostly private spheres. And that mix allows us enormous flexibility if utilised properly.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:52 PM

@Lucille Ball: Feel free to leave!

Mute steovani
    Favourite steovani
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:25 PM

@Bobby wilson: only peeps on the Scratcher get that!

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:41 PM

@steovani: I am lost with your question!

Mute Steve O'Reilly
    Favourite Steve O'Reilly
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:49 PM

@Jun Stone: I’ve no issue with them using the hospitals and the state paying the employees wage for the duration. But there’s certainly no need for the private sector to be charging additional fees to the Government (tax payers) for use of the facilities during this time. Governments in other countries didn’t give the private hospitals this option.

Mute Angela O'Riordan
    Favourite Angela O'Riordan
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:59 PM

@Thewestisbest: yes and thereby increase the number of people on waiting lists and trolleys threefold. Remember people who pay for private insurance are treated in private hospitals mostly. Very often people struggle to pay the health insurance aswell as making their contribution to PRSI USC etc.

Mute Gavin Kearney
    Favourite Gavin Kearney
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:09 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: bang on!

Mute Paula T Nolan
    Favourite Paula T Nolan
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Steve O’Reilly: They are doing it on a no profit basis. That was announced a few days ago.

Mute Mary Fitzsimons
    Favourite Mary Fitzsimons
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:18 PM

@The Risen: what are they?

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:10 AM

@ObsidianShine: You still have to pay the staff and other running costs – it’s going to cost one way or another.

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:36 AM

@Dave Thomas:
    They were’nt called private hospitals 100 years ago. They were run by religious sisters to cater for people too poor to be treated at home. Public hospitals as now known did’nt exist.

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:41 AM

@Peter taylor: whole I agree with what you said, what about those people that have paid health insurance and they need beds now too , there is a shortage there to on them , why would you ever want to pay insurance again if your not getting what you paid for, I do understand this is mental times but they have spend this money on the health while others think they just have an automatic right to them

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:42 AM

@John R: you actually can what are they gonna do in the end ? Round up an army and storm the country ?

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:25 PM

@ObsidianShine: where??

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:26 PM

@The Risen: again Where?

Mute Badger the witness
    Favourite Badger the witness
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:47 PM

Look at Leo there, with the big left wing head on him, up the revolution! As necessary as this is, I’m a bit sceptical and would like to see the full terms of the agreement.

Mute Keith Synnott
    Favourite Keith Synnott
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:51 PM

@Badger the witness: I’m sure it’ll be made public soon enough. He’s getting things done and at the moment that’s the most important thing.

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:52 PM

@Badger the witness: Will this mean the likes of Ryan Tubridy will be thrown in with public patients if ( God Forbid ) his condition deteriorated?

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:56 PM

@james dimaggio: Private rooms in Blackrock & Mater Private só Ryan will be fine.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:27 PM

@Badger the witness: when you’re buying a steak, do you insist on looking up the cow’s arse too?

Mar 30th 2020, 6:42 PM

@Badger the witness: Leo left wing?! You clearly don’t know what you’re talking about.

Mute Badger the witness
    Favourite Badger the witness
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:06 PM

@John: I know, just a reference to taking over private hospitals for public use.

Mute Darragh Hurley
    Favourite Darragh Hurley
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Keith Synnott: No matter what was in charger they would have to follow what experts say

Mute Keith Synnott
    Favourite Keith Synnott
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:26 PM

@Darragh Hurley: you’ve been following what’s happening in the UK and the US then ya?

Mute Darragh O Brien
    Favourite Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:52 PM

Hmmm interesting to see who owns these hospitals but not surprising in the least. Any excuse to put money in your friends back pocket. Usual carry on even in a pandemic

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:54 PM

@Darragh O Brien: Are you seriously saying that the Govt shouldn’t have done this?

Mute Towger
    Favourite Towger
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:55 PM

@Darragh O Brien: You know who owns some of them, he has name similar to yours :-)

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:58 PM

@Towger: Ah me aul Uncle D . Exactly ..

Mute Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:00 PM

@Justin Gillespie: Didn’t say that at all but going by Leo’s speech the other day yad swear the government took over running the private hospital sector. Not negotiating a price with them. And I sincerely doubt they are getting them at cost price.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:00 PM

@Justin Gillespie: It’s a populist comment that will attract thumbs from like-minded dimwits. To him it’s worth the flack he’s gonna get.

Mute Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:05 PM

@Tommy Roche: Thanks . Instead of debating my point you turn to personal insults. Appreciate it.

Mute Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Favourite Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:06 PM

@Darragh O Brien: Will you have any problem taking a COVID-19 Pandemic Unemployment Payment from the Government and putting it your own back pocket?

Mute Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:08 PM

@John fitzpatrick: and thanks for the personal insults instead of trying to debate the point. I made a remark and instead of trying to debate it you all just personally attack me. Grow up lads and let’s argue and debate like grownups instead of name calling like children

Mute Tim Tom
    Favourite Tim Tom
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:17 PM

@Darragh O Brien: All ears for your alternative solutions and ideas. They would be better served rather than begrudgery at this time. Businesspeople are entitled to operate profitable businesses you know, the fact that some of these might be private hospitals is because there is a demand for such facilities in this country. The fact that they are making their facilities available to the government and will be paid in turn is completely understandable. If you owned your own business and the government suddenly insisted that all your goods/services had to be provided to them for a period of time would you do it for free and incur all the costs yourself? I doubt it and it certainly wouldn’t make financial or business sense and would be ignoring your directoral responsibilities to the business

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:21 PM

@Darragh O Brien: want to know who owns some of them?

Nuns, not kidding. Look it up.
    So many private hospitals are owned by catholic organisations and nuns.

Mute Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:25 PM

@Tim Tom: thanks for reply. Yep few good points you are correct on but isn’t been drilled into us that all this is for the greater good of the country so you still believe companies should make profits off keeping people alive in a pandemic?

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:28 PM

@Barry: Yep, religious orders, Denis O’Brien, and, Larry Goodman.

Mute Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Favourite Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:29 PM

@Darragh O Brien:
    You made a very childish remark, accusing the government of corruption because they paid for a service. There was no valid point to debate with you. You just made a baseless accusation. Perhaps it’s you who needs to grow up.

Maybe if you post something grown up in the future, people might debate it like grown ups with you.

Mute Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:31 PM

@Barry: yeah I looked it up before I made the point. I’d assume they won’t be paid since religious organisations still owe the state €237 million…..

Mute Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh: I didn’t personally insult people who i have a difference of opinion with . So no need for me to do any growing up thanks

Mute Tim Tom
    Favourite Tim Tom

@Darragh O Brien: Company directors have a regulatory responsibility to act in the interests of their company and its stakeholders. If you suspect that there is inflated costs being agreed then you would be best to provide proof of this or leave it to the relevant bodies to follow up on. We can only take the arrangements on face value and trust that our government have secured an acceptable agreement. In the end of the day thses private facilities are offering a ready to go solution to an urgent requirement. The fact that we dont have a fully funded national health service such as the NHS is for another days debate, we have to make the best out of the resources at hand to combat this crisis. I feel the government are doing a relatively good job on that so far.

Mute Darragh O Brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:49 PM

@Tim Tom: I agree they are doing a good job but this “in the government we trust ” thing has time and time again being proved to be a wasted opinion. I sincerely hope no one is profiteering from a pandemic and maybe this one time we can trust . By all means I hope big business is putting the needs of the country ahead of the needs of it’s shareholders.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:52 PM

@John fitzpatrick: In fairness the whole thing smacks a bit sour in these times. Assumed the private hospital were jumping in on the National interest. But instead the fee is likely coming from all our pockets and will be paid through higher taxes at some point down the line.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:49 PM

@Justin Gillespie: They should have nationalised them.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:01 PM

@Donal Desmond: They should have just “nationalised” them! Do you think nationalisation does not involve full compensation? You can’t seize someone’s business. It’s unconstitutional and is also contrary to EU law. This is a far better option. Pay a fee, have full use of the service and get full and seamless cooperation with private hospitals avoiding High Court injunctions and challenges. It’s also less costly than nationalisation where the State would have to pay for the full capital costs and future profits. When all of this is over we can consider what we wish to do with our health service. For now let’s get on with dealing with the crisis. Nationalisation is not the solution to everything.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Justin Gillespie: compulsory order without purchase to be relaxed after the pandemic has passed. Naw would never work

Mute Pól Ó Broin
    Favourite Pól Ó Broin
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:23 PM

@Justin Gillespie: other countries changed the law and took over the private hospitals for the duration . But our fellas have to rent them

Mute Seoirse Ó Staighe
    Favourite Seoirse Ó Staighe
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:01 AM

@Justin Gillespie: are you seriously saying it’s OK for the private hospitals to grab multi millions of taxpayers money in profit just to allow the HSE emergency use of their beds during a lethal pandemic.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:47 PM

Hotels could also be used for recovering patients if matters worsen .

Mute DK
    Favourite DK
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:14 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: They’ve already taken over the City West Hotel.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army

@DK: Yes about time. China build two hospitals in two weeks. We take a month to take over one hotel.

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Toon Army: Yes, we should close down Pfizer, Glaxo and the rest of the for profit pharmaceutical money grabbers. The cheek of them investing billions in developing newer life saving and life enhancing drugs every day. Then expecting us to pay them for the fruits of their I’ll gotten gains. All this should be done by the state and we shouldn’t have to pay for it. I think JP McManus, Denis O’Brien and Dermot Desmond should be made to finance the running of the state. They have plenty of money. If that doesn’t raise enough just increase taxes on everyone that earns more than me.

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:36 PM

@Toon Army: Lets not wish our country or society resembles that of China. We aspire to so much more!

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:51 PM

@Toon Army: And the fact that you long for a Chinese totalitarian approach in Ireland speaks volumes. By the way, China has 1,400,000,000 people, Ireland has 5,000,000. So they have 280 times our population. Scale can achieve things that are otherwise impossible. So can a gun pointed at someone’s head which is exactly what would happen in China if they didn’t follow orders. I prefer democracy, warts and all.

Mute chihuahua
    Favourite chihuahua
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:54 PM

Larry Goodman and Dennis O’Brien wouldn’t agree to it out of the kindness of their hearts. I’d like the thought that the public weren’t held to ransom all the same. It’s positive they’re coming on stream, the negative highlighted is again the root of the problem before this started.

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:20 PM

@chihuahua: It’s a good time to re evaluate irish society’s direction, I for one didn’t think it was heading in the right direction.The little man/woman is more important and needed then any so called entrepreneur.

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:22 PM

Don’t tell me they creates jobs, Jobs are a byproduct of entrepreneurial greed.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will

@Dave Nomates: If jobs are a by-product of entrepreneurial greed then without that greed you wouldn’t have the jobs.
    How else would you create real and sustainable employment?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:58 PM

@chihuahua: We are among the highest spenders per capita in the world when it comes to public health yet that is not reflected in the quality of services provided.
    Private healthcare is not responsible for the really poor management of the public system.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:00 PM

@Will: by having lots of smaller business than a handful of big ones

Mute chihuahua
    Favourite chihuahua

@Will: I’m all in favour of entrepreneurs but not at the detriment of public welfare. Some are obsessed with money and power, let them but it shouldn’t be forced on those that aren’t through vital services. There’s a fundamental issue when profits are all that matter regardless of who it impacts. That’s my belief anyway and I’m fully aware it’s not how this world works.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins

There are some who are going to make a lot of money out of this crisis……

Mute James Bishop
    Favourite James Bishop
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:14 PM

@Sean Higgins: Its an ill wind that does not favour someone or something.

Mute DK
    Favourite DK
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:34 PM

I get that the private health insurance companies have to be paid for the use of their buildings and staff but at the same time most of us private heath insurance holders are still paying our premiums. The insurance companies shouldn’t lose out but they also shouldn’t be earning on the double out of this.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:26 PM

Will people who pay private hospitals insurance get a break while the hospital are leased to the H S E

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin

@pat seery: I called to ask this question before this announcement. I was told so long as procedures etc. are available then no. But if it escalates (which it will) they will “review it”.

I’m going to call in a couple of weeks and ask for a payment holiday

Insurance company has 0 risk as no one can claim. So I see no reason people should have to pay

Mute Gerry Ashe
    Favourite Gerry Ashe
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:13 PM

This is a great move now and into the future and one which i totally support but and there us always a but what about our VHI contributions are they now on hold.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:05 PM

@Gerry Ashe: consultants will still be available to see patients so why would it be on hold? I was due to have an appointment in Blackrock Clinic next week that I cancelled but it was still available if I wanted it.

Mute Gerry Ashe
    Favourite Gerry Ashe
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:46 PM

@Sam Harms: sorry but mine was canceled today for next week. Now that’s fine as I am fine.

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Favourite Spartacus Ireland
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:51 PM

We really need those beds and ventilators etc, not just now though, always

Mute Gordon Comstock
    Favourite Gordon Comstock
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: they’re always available, but they have to be paid for.

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:12 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: yeah..in the US.So be grateful that you live in Ireland and will get treated private insurance or not.

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: I think we should have them. Let’s buy them, enhance the health service and pay for it by jacking up taxes.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:53 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: Why are you citing the US private health system to illustrate what we should do in Ireland? If that poor young man was living in Ireland or anywhere else in the civilised world he would be alive today.

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:10 PM

@John R: Read the story guys, he was treated….at the hospital he could afford…the public one…this is where two-tier systems can bring us if we let it

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:14 AM

@Spartacus Ireland: We won’t let it

Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter

Look the famous private owners have always been out for themselves and made billions from Irish state and citizens……..how in gods name do you think they won’t take advantage of this as they take advantage every chance that presents……..

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:25 PM

The spin unit will be in overdrive on this one.

Mute Scott Blanc
    Favourite Scott Blanc
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:59 PM

Wow, I can’t believe how many people here seem to think that this should or maybe could be provided for free… Irrespective of the profits that can be made under normal circumstances, a hospital costs a small fortune to run – of course someone has to pay for it! If not, how else will the doctors, nurses, HCAs etc (i.e. those risking their lives and the lives of their families for the sake of others) get paid?

Mute Mia Ryan
    Favourite Mia Ryan
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:00 PM

@Scott Blanc: Apparently we should work for free. We obviously don’t count because we work for a private hospital. And before all the judgementals on here berate me for working for a private hospital, do you all work in the public sector??? I’m proud to work for Mater Private and incredibly proud of all we are doing to assist in this crisis, despite all the moaners and begrudgers on here. Stay at home and you won’t need any hospital service, public or private. That way, not only will you save lives, but your precious little sensibilities won’t be offended.

Mute Siobhan McCarthy
    Favourite Siobhan McCarthy
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:32 PM

@Mia Ryan: No apparently all of us who work for private hospitals are the cause of the hse not being able to cope with their a&e departments being full of people who don’t need accident or emergency care. And the 40% of the population that have health insurance and use our facilities in their millions every year, thus reducing the workload of the hse are also to blame

Mute Siobhan McCarthy

@Mia Ryan: No apparently all of us who work for private hospitals are the cause of the hse not being able to cope with their a&e departments being full of people who don’t need accident or emergency care. And the 40% of the population that have health insurance and use our facilities in their millions every year, thus reducing the workload of the hse are also to blame

Mute Siobhan McCarthy

Mute Peter taylor
    Favourite Peter taylor
    Mar 31st 2020, 5:40 PM

@Mia Ryan: I’m a public sector ICU nurse and believe me you do count Mia, hopefully you and your colleagues will ease the burden on my colleagues. The begrudging, whinging miscreants on here spouting what can only be described as horse dung will see the true value of your services once the surge occurs. Publics hospitals will be full, ventilators will be in short supply and the poor unfortunate souls critically ill will be thankful of the extra capacity provided by private hospitals. Who knows these nincompoops might actually end up in one of the beds, what a bitter pill that would be to swallow.

Mute eoinrua
    Favourite eoinrua
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:36 PM

So does this mean Simon Harris was talking through his hole last week when he called this a done deal with no mention of leasing?

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:24 PM

@eoinrua: No

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:19 PM

There should be one national health system for everyone – a system based on need not private wealth who can jump ques and get almost immediate treatment where other people have to wait years on a waiting list and possibly be long dead before they get called.

Mute steovani
    Favourite steovani
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:26 PM

@GO GREEN: don’t forget a free house for everyone!

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:20 PM

Leased? Are you kidding me! They should be used in the national interest, this is a pandemic, not a f#cking pantomine! It’s citizen’s health, not others wealth that should be looked after here!

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan

@Niall Binéad: No bother Niall your house is needed for spare hospital space. Hand over the keys on your way out. Typical SF response to private property.

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Denis Ryan: cop on Denny, we’re talking about hospital space here, not house space! Any private or public hospital at this juncture (you do realize this is a pandemic) should be used without the cost of money of leases being entertained! But you do know that, you’re just coming across as the typical government apologist!

Mute Chris OB
    Favourite Chris OB
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:40 PM

@Denis Ryan: comparing somones home or house as you call it to a hospital during a pandemic says everything about your logic. Then you compare it to SF for some throw away after thought. Please dont reproduce the thoughts of more of you going around is not worth contemplating.

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:47 PM

@Niall Binéad: No Niall never voted for FG and never will. I’m a big believer in the common good. The word in the headline is leased and should 100% be not for profit but the slippery slope of what is yours is now ours can never be ignored.

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:50 PM

@Chris OB: Great insult Chris, hows about you play the ball not the man.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:10 PM

@Niall Binéad: Leasing is fine. The costs of the private hospitals have to be paid whether they are public or private. There is no magic bullet costless solution. And you can’t just seize private property without compensation. This deals with some of the issues around capacity.

Are there any other private assets you’d like to seize like hotels or housing estates or apartments while you’re at it? That approach has been tried. It doesn’t work. You do it once and nobody ever invests in your economy. Name one successful economy where private property was seized which is successful today? The bulk of our economy is private. People have their pensions and other funds invested in private assets. This is a perfectly logical and reasonable solution to the current temporary problem.

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:53 PM

@John R: wake up! It’s not about seizing anyone’s property, it’s about private hospitals being leased by this idiotic caretaker government when they should be utilized without entertaining negotiations for leasing! No one asked these hospitals to pay for it, that’s this government’s dept. This is a global pandemic, nobody should be profiting from it, nobody!

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:50 PM

Guess who owns the tax payer funded and wrote down private hospitals goodman and Dob

Mute Chris OB
    Favourite Chris OB
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:27 PM

Leased hahahaha fg all over …like we own the banks. Only fg could resort to this.

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding

The man is trying not like other expert’s

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:15 PM

GOOD MAN DENISE??????

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:19 PM

The headquarters of the Department of Health in Dublin is leased fromLarry Goodman costing the taxpayers €6 million a year!!!!

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:06 AM

France, Italy and Spain nationalise their private hospitals overnight…Ireland under our FFG government “lease” private hospital facilities with taxpayer money for undisclosed (astronomical) sums from DOB and Larry Goodman. Something to remember when we’re expected to pay for this down the road and also for those who think FFG are doing a “great job”

Mute Ciaran bolger
    Favourite Ciaran bolger
    Mar 31st 2020, 11:54 PM

@SJF: no they didn’t!!, where did you get this rubbish from???

Mute Albert Brennerman
    Favourite Albert Brennerman
    Mar 30th 2020, 6:27 PM

FFS. I pay pay pay.

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh
    Mar 30th 2020, 5:59 PM

Michael Martin must be bulling lol

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien
    Mar 30th 2020, 7:55 PM

Another tax payer hand over for fine gael sponsor denis o brien the man has no shame an coveneys wifes goodman beef cartel

Mute Albert Brennerman
    Favourite Albert Brennerman
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:26 PM

This is dire. Private hospitals don’t want the dirty covid patient.
    This is going to be staffed from the public side. The private side provide the infrastructure. They will be lightly used because where do the magical staff come from.

In part looks to be a Scorched earth policy on finances for next Gov.

Mute Siobhan McCarthy
    Mar 30th 2020, 8:35 PM

@Albert Brennerman: are you saying that the staff of private hospitals aren’t capable of doing their jobs??

Mute nafoits
    Favourite nafoits
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:28 AM

These numbers don’t tie in with Simon Harris’ announcement yesterday. He claimed 101 additional ICU beds were being made available through these measures. More spin. The number of beds, in particular ICU beds as well as resources and staff will have a massive negative effect if the number of infected gets out of hand.