You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

How much will Seanad abolition save? Quinn doesn't know, but Hayes says it's €20m

The Labour and Fine Gael ministers had different views on how much would be saved by abolishing the upper house.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxgJTlWAnNw

TWO GOVERNMENT MINISTERS have different views on how much abolishing the Seanad will save.

Education Minister Ruairí Quinn said today that he is “not entirely clear” on how much of a saving would be achieved if the referendum on abolition is passed next month.

By contrast Minister of State at the OPW, Brian Hayes, said that the Houses of the Oireachtas figure was “in the region of €20 million” and said it is a “key part of the campaign”.

Asked if Taoiseach Enda Kenny should debate Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin on the abolition of the Seanad, Hayes said:

The two ministers were speaking at the launch of the Newgrange Children’s Art Competition at St Stephen’s Green in Dublin where Hayes even promised to turn on the sun:

Like politics? Then why not ‘Like’ TheJournal.ie Politics on Facebook to keep up to date with all that’s happening in and outside of Leinster House.

Oireachtas: It’s not possible to estimate how much abolishing Seanad would save

Rumble in Ranelagh: McDowell and Quinn clash over future of Seanad

Read: “I don’t want to embarrass you” – Taoiseach’s excuse for not doing TV debate with Martin

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

38 Comments
    Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:22 PM

Doesn’t hayes have a face ready made for a slap

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:24 PM

Arrogant git alright.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:48 PM

He will get his one day alright. Arrogant pr1ck.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:00 PM

Mouth like a drain that needs costic soda and a scrubbing brush. My septic is cleaner than his trap.

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Brian O'Sullivan
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:03 PM

He licks himself every night before he goes to bed. ;)

Mute Wilson
    Favourite Wilson
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:17 PM

Hayes is a smarmy git…. Why doesn’t he have its recorded so all the kids in the schools can see it??

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Sep 19th 2013, 5:44 PM

Had a run in a few years back with Hayes. He is an arrogant self serving pr*ck. Simple as.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Sep 19th 2013, 5:45 PM

Think the irish people know by now if the government want rid of it . Vote not to do so .

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:19 PM

They can’t add 2+2 so how can they add up millions more bull

Sep 19th 2013, 3:15 PM

I thought I had read that the of the Oireachtas could not supply a figure to the Referendum Commission? Is Hayes claiming they lied to commission?

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:58 PM

Bills should be referred to the people not the Dail. The Dail is the worst of two evils, keep the Seanad and give more power to them and the president. Make the Dail bar public.

Mute John Doee
    Favourite John Doee
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:42 PM

Save 20 million on the sanead and set up a court the will cost 100 million

Mute Eugene O'Leary
    Favourite Eugene O'Leary
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:15 PM

The question that should be asked is: “how much would Dáil abolition save?”

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:13 PM

The reality around the Seanad abolition debate shouldn’t even be about monetary costs. There are other costs around it that should be considered.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:53 PM

That 20 million is an out and out lie. Hayes doesnt know his arse from his elbow.

And how much will this referendum cost? Upwards of 20 -22 million

Tell us why you REALLY want to get rid of the Seanad, Hayes – thats if you actually know yourself

Mute Mark O Brien
    Favourite Mark O Brien
    Sep 20th 2013, 12:26 AM

Its a power grab plain and simple!! If there is no second house we cease to be a republic. And as we have no monarchy we will become a dictatorship.

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:26 PM

I am not really bothered how much it costs, it is archaic and surplus to requirements. Get rid!

Sep 19th 2013, 3:32 PM

Why are we getting rid of the presidency’s ability to refer a bill to the people at the same time Reg? What does that have to do with the existence of the senate?

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:41 PM

The President can still refer a bill to the Supreme Court if he feels that it is unconstitutional.

Currently: “Bills may be referred to the people for a referendum if a majority of members of the Seanad and not less than one third of the members of the Dáil ask the President not to sign a Bill because it contains a proposal of such national importance that the decision to have such a law should be made by the people. The President may agree or disagree with this request.”

Has a bill ever been referred to the people? – Genuine question.

Sep 19th 2013, 3:59 PM

No idea to be honest but I wonder why the presidents power to refer a bill to the people is being removed.

Mute Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Favourite Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:12 PM

Reg , that can only be done if theres a constitution to refer to , your blueshirt mates have seen to it that no-one gives a shite what happens ….well done

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:19 PM

My Blueshit mates Deasun, well that’s a valuable contribution to the debate. How do you know I am not a Shinner like you!

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:19 PM

As far as I know, the power to refer a bill to the people has never been exercised, but even so, we have to ask why it needs to be removed. It doesn’t cost anything to keep the provision in there, and given that the office of the Presidency has so few powers as it is, why are the Govt trying to further limit that?

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:26 PM

Perhaps because it’s never been used Kerry (not entirely sure) and the chances of it happening are zero. The president passing a bill to the people would have had to go through a few stages before that to have happened I’d imagine, Council of State, Supreme Court etc. Maybe someone more enlightened can add something?

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Sep 19th 2013, 5:12 PM

If the President receives a petition that a Bill should be referred to the people, the only action he is required to take beforehand is consult with the Council of State. No other stages are required, other than to make a decision on the petition within certain timeframes.

I can’t see anything about this Presidential power that requires its total removal. I can see the difficulty the Government would have in amending it in light of the abolition of the Seanad, but that’s not grounds for further limiting the powers of the President.

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Sep 19th 2013, 3:24 PM

If it was €20 it would still be worth getting rid of, its just a home for bewildered cast-offs of the parties.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Sep 19th 2013, 5:34 PM

well said

Mute Saff Baggins
    Favourite Saff Baggins
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:55 PM

Does anyone notice everything they post on the journal.ie appears in a google search for their name for ever after. This concerns me a bit and I can’t see any reason for it as other news sites I use such as the guardian.co.uk and the irish independent etc. don’t do this. There doesn’t seem to be any way to change old comments and there is no notification from the site that this is the case, people should be made aware of this feature of the journal.ie as their comments may be used against them by prospective future employers.

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Sep 19th 2013, 7:32 PM

Alternatively Saff, you could post comments that you will be still proud of in 50 years

Mute Finbarrb
    Favourite Finbarrb
    Sep 19th 2013, 6:21 PM

Anyway he is not only arrogant , smarmy but also stupid.

Newgrange winter Equinox – where did he get that – its the shortest day not an equinox

They are in March and September

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern
    Sep 19th 2013, 5:53 PM

Shameless power grab by a clueless government

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Sep 19th 2013, 5:40 PM

If Hayes says €20m , cut that by half and take 10% off…man couldn’t tell the truth if his nuts were in a vice.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Sep 19th 2013, 6:08 PM

Not so long ago the figure was only €6 million, now this week its €20 million!

Sep 19th 2013, 7:22 PM

That’s Enda’s €20 million. He’s being talking to the bankers and you know where they get their figures…..

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Sep 19th 2013, 4:55 PM

That’s great , we don’t want the bond holder s waiting for an extra 20 million

Mute gerrymiah
    Favourite gerrymiah
    Sep 19th 2013, 7:21 PM

Take into account wear and tear of the carpets and they will have to be replaced every few years. Then there is the saving on the loo paper. Wear and tear on the furniture. ect., ect.,ect., we will then come up with another few Euro and we will eventually get the bill up and justify getting rid of the senate. I will be voting no on both referenda because all they want to do is appoint their cronies to vacancies on the bench with this new intended creation. Where is the so called savings??.

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Sep 19th 2013, 7:29 PM

The wonderful enigma that is being Irish. Too many Politicians we scream. The minute we are told to vote for getting rid of a bunch of the most useless ones, up in arms we go.
    For the record, I’m one of those “privileged ones” that can vote. I think they are a complete waste of space.
    Forget the money, it’s the waste of our time thinking about them that’s the problem

Mute Sean Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Sean Bambi Keeling
    Sep 20th 2013, 1:51 PM

Were in debt by 170billin, in the grand scale of thinks 20million is kinda chump change. When you do the rough maths, it costs each Irish person around €4.37 to keep the senate. It’s not the worst. Definitely should be reformed.