You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Brian Lawless/PA Wire

Protesters march through Dublin city centre over cost of living ahead of Budget Day

The Cost of Living Coalition is calling for increases in several payments, a rent freeze, and for the eviction ban to be reintroduced.

PROTESTERS HAVE MARCHED through Dublin city centre to call for measures to be introduced to help grapple with the spiralling cost-of-living crisis.

The pre-Budget protest, organised by the Cost of Living Coalition, marched from Parnell Square to Leinster House, where speakers addressed the crowd.

The coalition is made up of various representative groups such as the Union of Students in Ireland, the Dublin Council of Trade Unions, the Irish Senior Citizens Parliament, Inclusion Ireland and Extinction Rebellion.

It includes opposition parties People Before Profit and Sinn Féin, as well as some independent TDs.

The group is calling for a range of measures in Budget 2024, including a €25 increase in pension, social welfare and disability payments.

It is also calling for a rent freeze, the eviction ban to be reintroduced, an increase in Child Benefit to match inflation, and the abolition of student fees.

There is a general opposition among the protesters to the government’s reliance on one-off budgetary measures, which last year included lump sum welfare payments and three €200 electricity credits.

Ahead of the protest, chief executive of the Irish Senior Citizens Parliament Sue Shaw said that pension increases “need to match inflation and that older people need to have security and comfort knowing the state pension will be indexed linked as the government promised”.

The Union of Students in Ireland’s Vice-President for Campaigns Zaid Albarghouthi said the organisation was calling for student contribution fee to be abolished, the eviction ban to be reinstated and a rent freeze to be implemented.

The government announced a second package of one-off measures worth €1.3 billion in February, which was more targeted than the €4.1 billion cost-of-living package accompanying Budget 2023 last year.

Budget 2024 is to be announced on Tuesday, worth €6.4 billion, with the details expected to be finalised by ministers and party leaders this weekend.

Recent figures show that inflation in Ireland has not fallen to the levels forecast at the start of the year.

The Consumer Price Index rose by 6.3% in the 12 months to August this year, up from 5.8% in the 12 months to July.

115 Comments
    Oct 7th 2023, 2:38 PM

Fair play these people. I’d be there myself if I wasn’t at work. Can’t turn down the overtime moment

Oct 7th 2023, 5:08 PM

Fake protest by commies, looking to give MORE power to government.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:23 PM

You really are dense.

Mute Pat Ahern
    Favourite Pat Ahern
    Oct 7th 2023, 6:13 PM

@: Comments closed on the terrorist attacks in Israel which are usually open and full of low IQ Hamas fans, true colours shown today but that wont stop Irish Hamas fanboys, they will be chomping at the bit.

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Oct 7th 2023, 6:51 PM

@Pat Ahern: Seriously Pat, have a word?

Mute Pat Ahern
    Favourite Pat Ahern
    Oct 7th 2023, 7:04 PM

@Marcus Maher – Triskellion Films: Dead serious, the only reason comments are closed is because it would be embarrassing to see Irish people comment in support of Hamas at this time, you must be new here.

Oct 7th 2023, 7:36 PM

Gobsh-te

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 7th 2023, 8:41 PM

Sweet Jesus..How did you come up with that .

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 7th 2023, 8:45 PM

@Pat Ahern: Palestine has every right to defend and go on the offensive to defend it’s territory. The terrorist state of Israel has for decades have become the Facist state that once tried to exterminate them.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 7th 2023, 10:56 PM

@Pat Ahern: It would be embarrassing to Martin and Varadkar..Their support for Palestine is a soundbite. Martin and Varadkar quite happy to go to Ukraine for a photo opportunity…Martin and Varadkar have stated they support the Independent state of Palestine…They should now make it official.

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Oct 9th 2023, 8:12 AM

@Donal Desmond: they don’t have a right to attack civilians . They lost their right to that land in previous wars which they started . They lost the land because their were and are the inferior force . Waging war against Israel will result in them being wiped off the face of the earth of Israel is allowed off the leash by the US .

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Oct 9th 2023, 8:13 AM

@Donal Desmond: Jog off to Palestine if you are so concerned

Mute Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Favourite Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Oct 7th 2023, 2:45 PM

This is not a priority for FFG. Zelensky, EU, UN, Israel etc will get the focus, and the marches will be told to get the focus out of there. Ireland is dissolving and it’s our fault for voting in muppets.

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Oct 7th 2023, 2:51 PM

@Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh:
    I see Leo Varadkar has told his Eu masters he’s not taking in any more immigrants, the country is full.
    Crazy eh!
    Who’d have ever thought Leo would lurch to the Far Right so easily?

Mute Philip Slevin
    Favourite Philip Slevin
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:13 PM

@Mary Looners: I agree with you 100%, I’d go as far as to cut social welfare except for the old age and the people that need it.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:14 PM

@Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh: U are spouting crap, Dissolving ? This country is far from that, the cost of living is a big concern, problem is the more money you put into the economy the more inflation goes up , the interest rates going up is also leaving people with a lot less money that happening all over Europe all from the EU & if u think its going to change with a complete change of Government u are deluded

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:26 PM

@Mary Looners: You do know that we have full employment, right? Why should the vast majority of people who live on SW payments suffer because of a small minority who refuse to get a job? That’s on the SW for not doing the job it’s supposed to do. Pensioners, people with disabilities & those who have chronic life long illnesses, should what, continue to live hand to mouth, while worrying about how they’re going to pay the next bill that comes through the door ? If the Minister did the job they’re paid to do, then those people who I’ve mentioned would get their rise & those who haven’t worked in over a year don’t.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:32 PM

@Philip Slevin: You can’t just “cut out” SW payments for everyone, that’s why people pay PRSI, for those times when they are out of work, you know, like the Debenham & Iceland workers? Why would anyone pay their stamps if they get nothing in return. Do you think that child benefit should be stopped too, because that too is a SW payment.

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:50 PM

@Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh: what puzzles me is deli counters and fast food deliveries are flourishing, I think it’s mismanagement of money that’s causing some of the poverty

Mute Mark Fox
    Favourite Mark Fox
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:58 PM

@Mary Looners: 100% true.too many sitting on their holes expecting everything to be handed to themwhile our elderly and those on disability have to fight for every penny.how many on our housing lists have ever worked yet are first in line for everything.

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:40 PM

@Mary Looners: just putting records straight, we are the dearest country in Europe. Like me some people pay private health cover because our health service is beyond fixing with this government. About the welfare carers have taken away from government the responsibility of taking care of a person , child etc that needs care. That is 355,457 but only 8% get carers allowance. Taxing these people who get that allowance and not affording them much respite services.

We were told to pay carbon tax since 2010 to save the ice caps from melting, we pay this tax but it made no difference to the melting ice caps. In Denmark villages and towns were given free solar power and did not have to pay for it. I could go on about rents in Europe and compare it to us but we got a bad deal with this government’s innuendos ideology because we are the dearest country in Europe.

Mute lWOk0fWf
    Favourite lWOk0fWf
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:55 PM

@Mary Looners: ridiculous comment as usual.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:30 PM

@Margaret Deacon: You can’t dictate how people spend their money – deli counters are busy because people buy their lunch for work. People are also entitled to get a take-away if they fancy treating themselves because the prices restaurants charge is extortionist

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Oct 7th 2023, 6:42 PM

@Ann Reddin: I agree Ann, Margaret like many FFG supporters has become an expert at dishing out poverty porn comments aimed at the poorest folk in society. Leo set this horrible trend in motion and his flock are lapping it up. Its a horrible mindset to have, looking down on the poor like they are somehow superior.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 7th 2023, 11:19 PM

@Mary Looners: You blame a small section of society that abuse the system..The real reason there is division..Varadkar preaches those that get up early should be rewarded..Yet it is the policy of Varadkar and FG..Martin and FF and Jesus help us the Greens to tax and penalise those who get up early in the morning…Hypocrisy at it’s best from FFG/ Greens.

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Oct 7th 2023, 2:42 PM

Extinction Rebellion aren’t going to solve the housing and economic crisis.
    Actually they’ll only make it worse.

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:59 PM

Extinction Rebellion was one of the groups in the protest march today, according to the article, so makes sense to talk about them

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:29 PM

@:
    One of the main groups marching today.
    Basic comprehension really.
    [do try to keep up]

Mute Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Favourite Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:05 PM

I think these people are wonderful. They take to the streets time after time in all weathers, to make life better for all of us. I very much appreciate them and would have no time for anyone who belittles them or makes snarky comments.

Mute Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Favourite Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:55 PM

@Mary Looners: that’s easy to say. I feel sad for you, you must have little joy in your life.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 7th 2023, 8:01 PM

@Mary Looners: You mean like when FF/ Greens used the taxpayers to bailout the banks? People were gullible at that time ..not realising how the FF/Green government of the day facilated in the economic destruction of this country. People were gullible when they elected FG/ Labour. The people were again used to repay for the gangsterism of the banks through austerity measures. Yes people were gullible and used by FFG and their cohorts. Like the thousands that turned out in Dublin for water protests..The people who marched today certainly know what they were marching for.

Mute Shane Doyle
    Favourite Shane Doyle
    Oct 7th 2023, 2:50 PM

Just heard rte radio describe it as a march of around 100 far right protesters

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:06 PM

@Mary Looners:
    I think its called sarcasm Mary.

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:11 PM

@Tommy Haze: Might have been sarcasm but at the same time it wouldn’t surprise if it was true.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:27 PM

@Alan Farrell: Why so? I think they’re normally pretty accurate when describing the political persuasion of various protestors. Although in fairness, it’s not that difficult

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:30 PM

@Alan Farrell:
    Exactly. The lines are definitely blurred.

Mute Tom Howley
    Favourite Tom Howley
    Oct 8th 2023, 9:43 AM

@Shane Doyle: Typical from a controlled government mouthpiece ..

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:25 PM

Irelands housing is finished and with droves more bring evicted and immigration increasing its only set to get to a point hard to imagine nothing is being done to halt immigration for a while at least to try accommodate people of any nationality already here so what hope is there for those coming in,the Irish themselves can emigrate for a future if they want it seems to be the only way out now shame on ffg

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:47 PM

@Paddy C: so, let me understand this, you don’t want immigrants, but you think we should be able to emigrate? Very odd and lacking thought, but more than a bang of bigotry off it.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:49 PM

@Paul Fahey: no I don’t think we should be able and if you want to have 5000 in you’re account and visa ready for the likes of US or Australia or you won’t be entering and if you’ve a criminal record no entry opposite way round here makes sense to you I suppose

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:52 PM

@Mary Looners: what’s racist immigration of any nationality I’ve nothing against those people when will people like you see the wood through the trees if we can’t house any nationality that’s here at present Irish or otherwise? where will we house those coming in answer that one please?simply put to stop it temporarily in order to process and house what’s here first makes sense that’s why it’s as bad as it is its being ignored can’t meet demand if demand keeps increasing common sense

Mute Tom McNally
    Favourite Tom McNally
    Oct 8th 2023, 9:18 AM

Rubbish.

Mute Journal Factchecker
    Favourite Journal Factchecker
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:09 PM

Not to worry lads. FFG will roll out the usual band aid one off payments and various ‘schemes’ to give the illusion of carying about the people and having our interests at heart. Lieo migh even wear some ironic socks! Throw some crumbs, spread some fear, job done for another year.

Mute James K.
    Favourite James K.
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:25 PM

The easing of lockdown measures meant to see the economy improve and life to resume. That barge that went sideways in the Suez Canal stopped goods moving to Europe for months, stock levels depleted and prices started to go up, the companies making profit don’t want to let it go. Then Russia invaded Ukraine, further restricting supplies of pretty much everything, further driving the costs up. The restrictions imposed on Russia were going to lead to more limited supplies of goods, this is part of the price we pay to stand up to Russia. At least we have rooves over our heads, food in our bellies, aren’t worried about a rocket hitting our home and killing us, considering what millions of human beings are going through the poorest person here lives a life of luxury by comparison, we’re a country of whingers and moaners, myself included

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:01 PM

@James K.: Serious whinging and moaning is an art form! The dilettantes, among whom I count myself, are to be found inhabiting the comments section of the Journal, but the really true artists are to be found displaying their many talents in Leinster House…

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:31 PM

@James K.: all minor contributories. main cause of the inflation was a decade of drip feeding money to the system by QE, and then during covid putting the printing press into over drive and further increasing real money supply by near 50%. but no politician will come out and say that because its an admission that they are the fault. easier to blame ukraine war etc.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 8th 2023, 12:15 AM

@James K.: You are entitled to moan…Since Covid and end of restrictions prices have skyrocketed. Then inflation and the Russian invasion of Ukraine which profiteers have blamed on price increases . The government pretend shock and horror at utility companies and the banks , Yet outside having a chat with them the did nothing..The banks told them to F..k off. Yet the government preach about the payments they have made to help people conveniently failing to mention it was taxpayers money and borrowed money they used..Remember when the government stated there was no money tree and borrowing was imprudent…Well they found both..Hypocrisy at it’s best.

Mute Angela Ryan
    Favourite Angela Ryan
    Oct 7th 2023, 6:03 PM

Cost of living crisis – Dublin Airport packed to capacity yet another weekend

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 7th 2023, 6:12 PM

@Angela Ryan: yeah tourists going home and young Irish emigrating.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:46 PM

If you can freeze rent, why not freeze the price of a pint at €5, or a litre of diesel at €1…??

Because that’s Communism, and it doesn’t work

Mute James K.
    Favourite James K.
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:26 PM

Where are the Social Democrats?

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:47 PM

Lost the will to live with FF and FG.

Oct 7th 2023, 5:18 PM

Israel have the right defend themselves and the Palestinians do not apparently

Mute Zionist Shill
    Favourite Zionist Shill
    Oct 8th 2023, 8:51 AM

@: Of course. With the recent meeting of your great leader the Mike of Martins, for which this fine publication posted photos of his visits and various hand shakes (and hand signals) when meeting with our great leader and notorious war criminal Bibi, to whisper sweet nothings in the ear.

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:28 PM

This Budget is an opportunity to correct the failures in resources on Mental Health

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Oct 7th 2023, 3:34 PM

@RIP: NO Chance of that and it’s Not just Ireland who has a Very Poor Record on this. All around the World governments Put Mental Health Last on the agenda.

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:44 PM

@RIP: another screw up service of this government. God help the children and others depending on this.

Mute michael hamilton
    Favourite michael hamilton
    Oct 7th 2023, 2:55 PM

Good

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:26 PM

@Mary Looners: You’re a fringe right wing loon. You’ve a hard neck talking shyte about anyone never mind the left.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 7th 2023, 10:23 PM

@Mary Looners: You mean like the banks…It was taxpayers money that bailed them out. It was taxpayers who again paid the price through austerity measures to repay for the gangsterism of the banks facilated by FFG _ Greens. The same banks who were given 20 years of a dispensation in not paying corporation tax. Bit hypocritical of you when you speak of using other people’s money. FG had no problem in using taxpayers money to repay the bondholders…Especially when they stated under no circumstances would that happen. Parasites.

Mute Wayne Shoes
    Favourite Wayne Shoes
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:18 PM

I think Mary works for fine Gale.Pure far right yoke.No hobbies no life..Sad person definitely.

Mute peter lynch
    Favourite peter lynch
    Oct 7th 2023, 5:28 PM

Fake news! No cost of living crises! It’s like the flight of the Earls to France! All the restaurants full morning noon & night! People moaning about the cost of childcare as they want the same standard of living they had before having kids! Plenty of money for vaps & shite

Mute Gregory Daniel
    Favourite Gregory Daniel
    Oct 7th 2023, 8:06 PM

What do we want ‘free stuff’ when do we want it ‘now’

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 7th 2023, 11:34 PM

@Gregory Daniel: Did you chant that when you marched with the banks when the got taxpayers money to bail them out. The Developers and bondholders must be delighted with you as you supported them getting free stuff…Taxpayers money. Bit hypocritical of you don’t you think.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Oct 7th 2023, 6:13 PM

Great to see SF there. Fast becoming the political equivalent of golf. Walking at every available opportunity. Fit (though not for office).

Mute James K.
    Favourite James K.
    Oct 7th 2023, 11:39 PM

@Niall English: What you say is relevant, but to dismiss what I say is an error. I remember not being able to afford to buy new clothes, depending on hand me downs from older cousins, we had a 14″ Black and White Toshiba portable tv running off a car battery, there were no taps or running water, we got drinking water from a well over the road, had baths in my granny’s house and the toilet was out behind a hedge. That was mine and many other’s start in life, I know what real hardship is, I lived it, that was the 80′s and early 90′s in small parish rural Ireland

Oct 7th 2023, 7:09 PM

FFFG OUT

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Oct 8th 2023, 5:25 AM

People moaning about cost of living, should go to a supermarket in Spain
    Milk, bread, cheese, fruit, cereals, tea and many more items much more expensive. And people dont get anything like the handouts they receive in Ireland.
    And if people can’t afford child care, simple , dont have kids.
    As one person says here, plenty money for drugs, vaps, smokes, alcohol all the same.
    60,000 Irush at the rugby game against Scotland last night, probably costs a 1000 Euro a head including flight, tickets and accommodation. Country really struggling alright. People should get real

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Oct 7th 2023, 4:57 PM

How many were on the protest?

Mute Calvin Sweeney
    Favourite Calvin Sweeney
    Oct 7th 2023, 6:37 PM

@Paul, freezing rent but not freezing the price of diesel and pints is communism? The latter parts are actually the polar opposite of communism.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 7th 2023, 6:55 PM

@Calvin Sweeney: indeed, was confused of that link myself. unfortunately the use of google etc has given the masses an over heightened sense of their actual level of intelligence.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Oct 7th 2023, 11:07 PM

Stars extinguish in the midnight sky,
    A curtain call, no reason why.
    Hear the call, so bleak and unheard,
    “All are invited, to the end of the world.”

Into the abyss, figures take form,
    Gathered by fate, in this darkened storm.
    From tyrants to victims, their banners unfurled,
    All find a place at the end of the world.

The table is laden with dread and despair,
    Goblets brimming with the weight of the air.
    Melodies churn, a lament tightly curled,
    A requiem plays at the end of the world.

Thinkers argue in whispers of dread,
    While poets speak words too oft unsaid.
    No jesters dance, no flags are twirled,
    Silence reigns at the end of the world.

A toast is offered with vacant stares,
    “To the void,” it echoes, erasing cares.
    In that final moment, as chaos is hurled,
    Stillness blankets the end of the world.

In the great nothing, all traces fade,
    No memories linger, no foundations laid.
    A universe unravelled, its essence pearled,
    All become void at the end of the world.

Mute vxQ6cYzh
    Favourite vxQ6cYzh
    Oct 8th 2023, 1:27 AM

Jar of Coffee gone up 75c within a week, and this within one of the most popular store, Dunna know why such a big ?

Mute James K.
    Favourite James K.
    Oct 7th 2023, 11:45 PM

@Mary Looners: For my money the Social Democrats are in a good position to gain seats in the next election, they can eat into SF’s vote by virtue of not being SF. They need to up their game and make inroads in local elections in 2024

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Oct 7th 2023, 11:19 PM

Depends on your nationality