You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Man (24) charged with supermarket attack on 78-year-old over Nutella samples

Derrick Gharabighi faces 11 years in prison for allegedly punching 78-year-old Sahak Sahakian.

nutellafight Sahak Sahakian. CBS Los Angeles CBS Los Angeles

A 24-YEAR-OLD man has been charged with elder abuse after authorities say he punched a 78-year-old grandfather over free Nutella waffle samples at a supermarket in Burbank, California.

Prosecutors say Derrick Gharabighi, of Burbank, was charged yesterday. He pleaded not guilty in an afternoon court appearance.

According to the alleged victim, Sahak Sahakian, Gharabighi was hoarding free samples of the waffles at the Costco – a low-cost supermarket where shoppers buy products in bulk – 14 miles from Los Angeles.

He told local news station CBS Los Angeles:

He takes two, three of them. Left one. I want to take that one, he catches my hand, I say ‘What are you doing?’

nutella2 Derrick Gharabighi babyface81869 babyface81869

The LA County District Attorney’s office says Gharabighi then punched Sahakian above his left eye, causing bleeding and bruising.

Police say the grandfather was hospitalised with a one-inch cut and swelling above his eye.

Gharabighi is being held on $50,000 bail, and he faces a maximum sentence of 11 years in prison if convicted of elder abuse, and a second charge of inflicting “great bodily injury” on a person aged over 70.

Contains reporting by the Associated Press.

Video: Tesco shoppers filmed fighting over reduced-price meat>

Read: Man with Irish accent wanted over “callous” assault on 80-year-old woman in London>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:24 PM

Facing 11 years!?! They don’t feck about do they? On a side note my 78 year old father does not like being classified as elderly.He thinks that title belongs to those over 90.Id say he’d probably have thumped this guy back.

Mute pZTahAXy
    Favourite pZTahAXy
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:50 PM

I worked with a very impressive lady in her 80s in London once. She used to volunteer to take “old folks” on day trips. Some were probably 15 years her junior, but she just didn’t see herself as old. Fair play to her. She had loads of awesome stories of things she got up to in her lifetime. Fabulous lady.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:03 PM

I like that bodily harm to a person ‘over 70′ stipulation. Do we have something similar?

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:33 PM

The problems with those laws would become evident when someone like my old fella would get a few whiskeys on him, pick a fight with some 22 year old rugby player knowing the lad couldn’t fight back and kick his ass.The auld boy can be a right c#nt after his second bottle or so…. ;-)

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 24th 2015, 12:21 AM

@Jamsey: I like your dad!

Mute Babadook
    Favourite Babadook
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:18 PM

I could understand if it was free after eights. I love after eights.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:24 PM

Will he be taking selfies in the prison jacks now?

dj
    Mute dj
    Favourite dj
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:29 PM

He’ll be too busy getting his Nutella spread.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:51 PM

@dj.This article had put me in the mood for Nutella.Needless to say that has now passed.

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    Sep 24th 2015, 9:08 AM

He’s a good looking guy, I think prison will enjoy him and his nutella.

Mute Kevin Connolly
    Favourite Kevin Connolly
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:17 PM

He pleaded nut guilty to punching anutherfella.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:49 PM

That selfie, says it all total w@nker

Mute Kevin Gibb
    Favourite Kevin Gibb
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:13 PM

Every day is Black Friday in the States

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Sep 23rd 2015, 8:32 PM

why would you do that? some people sometimes forget they’re going to be old some day. this new generation of kids aren’t going to be very nice when we (40 and above) are old. oh and Be nice to your kids, they’ll be picking your retirement home.

Mute Jacqueline McMahon
    Favourite Jacqueline McMahon
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:53 PM

Ireland would want to take note of that kind of sentence! Sure you’d be out in less than 10 years for murder here.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:03 PM

11 years?
    Bit over the top.
    Not condoning what he did by any means but 11 years is disproportionate to the level of violence in this instance. In my opinion.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:07 PM

Sahakian told CBS, “I don’t want nothing to happen, but only the government … [or] the police to teach him that this is bad.”
    Generous response.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Sep 24th 2015, 12:01 AM

He deserved 11 years for that w@nky selfie alone.

Eme
    Mute Eme
    Favourite Eme
    Sep 24th 2015, 11:23 AM

In fairness the man pushed his hand away from the nutella, a bit of an extreme retaliation,but the old man was wrong in the first to instance