You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Which county has seen the biggest increase in new car registrations this year?

The industry is picking up, but employment remains some level off the boomtime peak.

THERE HAS BEEN an increase of over 50% in the amount of cars registered so far in 2014 in County Leitrim, according to the Simi/DoneDeal quarterly motor industry review.

The county only accounts for a tiny 0.44% of the total amount of registrations, with Dublin accounting for the largest amount of registrations at 38.25%.

By gross figures, Dublin is outpacing the rest of the country with 25,164 registrations so far this year. The closest competition comes from Cork, where there have been 8,372 new cars registered.

However, the capital and surrounding county has only seen a 14% increase in new car registrations, placing it at the bottom of the county list. This compares to a 23.4% jump nationwide.

Simichart Simi Simi

Click here for a larger version

Cavan is joined by several other smaller counties at the top of the table, with Wexford, Monaghan, Cavan and Clare also posting levels more than 40% higher than in 2013.

Growth was sluggish in Westmeath, Kilkenny and Galway, all of which saw growth levels of less that 25%, as was the case in Dublin.

The overall number of new cars registered has jumped from 53,225 to 65,704 this year.

Employment

While employment in the motor industry is some way off the peaks seen in 2006 and 2007, the recovery in the sector has seen an additional 2,300 people employed in the sector compared to the first quarter of 2013.

Simichart SIMI / CSO SIMI / CSO / CSO

Click here for a larger version

Economist Jim Power, who compiled the report, said that it shows that the outlook for the motor industry is continuing to improve.

“This looks set to be the most positive year for the Irish economy since 2007 with the Motor Industry being a key driver in this, contributing 3.4% of the total tax revenues collected in the first six months of 2013.”

Simi director general Alan Nolan said that stability from the Government is key to locking in recovery in the sector.

“We need the Government to play its part and keep these conditions stable over the next 12-18 months to help the industry recover, to create jobs and to ensure that we continue a healthy contribution to the Exchequer.”

Read: How many new cars have been sold in Ireland so far this year?>

Read: Huge increase in number of people buying new cars compared to last year>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

25 Comments
    Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:03 AM

As the CPA is dependent on borrowing billions then it´s not in Labour or FGs control to promise it will be honoured. They can promise what they want, but they´re clinging on for a global economic boom to save the day which may or may not come in time for them.

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:21 AM

Hate to break it to you Neil, but the CPA is saving the country BILLIONS over the lifetime of the agreement. Staff numbers are being cut across the board as well. Now as much as it pains you, our country needs a public service, and the people working in it deserve to be paid like anybody else in employment. Why the infantile vendetta? They’ve already seen a 14% pay cut and the public sector numbers is being reduced by around the same amount

Every second post I’ve seen from you on here has ‘CPA’, ‘PS’, and ‘SW’ in it. It’s like you attack them so often you’ve had to abbreviate the words so you’ll have enough time in your day left to get stuff done.

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:27 AM

Too Trueleft, the problem with the CPA is that it is not at all discerning. Whomever leaves the service, leaves. So you can’t decide to cut a quango or other body we decide we no longer need to prioritise nursing, teaching, Garda or other numbers.

I recall the story in a quango of a senior director leaving (and lo, the sky didn’t fall in without his six-figure salaried self around) and his secretary kept her job, but with nothing to do but cover reception now and then.

Meanwhile in a hospital I know of, a specialist testing lab has lost 3 of 4 technicians and has to close when the remaining one takes a (well deserved) holiday. This despite patient numbers being up.

The CPA looks after the boys, not the people.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:32 AM

Here Here, Too Trueleft. It’s the guy & gal at the lower & middle income level who are bearing the brunt of the cuts. Not those at the top & there’s Jack O’Connor fighting austerity on over E100k a year. It’s time we all stopped this public/private divide. All of us on lower & middle level pay are equally affected by austerity. It’s those at the top in the public service at least who are getting paid way too much. Look at our “socialist” President on up to E240k a year, our Taoiseach on E200k a year, Táiniste on up to E190k a year. Bertie on up to E150k a year pension. Is this nation broke ? Start at the top.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:34 AM

The “boys” at the top, Aaron. Those on the lower & middle income levels are just as screwed as anyone else.

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:35 AM

@Too Trueleft
    I´m just telling the hard facts. You might like to ignore the fact the 40% of PS pay is coming from borrowing, as you might have to address some awkward questions. Sorry to burst your bubble. PS wages are going to come down one way or the other unless we get an export driven economic boom, i.e. other countries start booming. Maybe by hard political decisions, or maybe by leaving the euro and paying the PS in a devalued currency, but massive budget deficits are unsustainable for long for a small country like Ireland.

I hope the PS are paid much the same in real terms in 3 years time. Because that can only happen if the world economy has been booming and we´re making billions more from exports. It certainly won´t happen by lumping up taxes as you might prefer.

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:35 AM

Hey Declan – See http://www.realpay.ie (a petition for pols to lower their salaries and expenses.) I agree.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:36 AM

“If our tax-raising capacity has been permanently and significantly reduced, isn’t it time that state spending was permanently and significantly reduced too? Government receipts (including social insurance) are expected to be around €50 billion this year, down 17% from their level in 2007. Gross government spending is expected to be €70 billion, up 12% from its 2007 level (with only half of that increase due to increased social spending following increased unemployment). Our national solvency is being held hostage by a public sector which has yet to adjust to Ireland’s permanently reduced circumstances.

Allowing Ireland access to the ESM cookie jar from 2014 onwards would only give the public sector another excuse to delay its long-overdue adjustment to reality. If we haven’t fixed this by 2014 it’s not more financial methadone Ireland’s public sector will need, it will be financial cold turkey.”
    Cormac Lucey

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:41 AM

@ Aaron. The reductions in numbers under the CPA are voluntary and not compulsory. Where appropriate, staff are being redeployed. Also, governments cut quangos, not the public service. I read your column attacking the public service which displayed a breathtaking ignorance to the actual current state of crisis it finds itself in and efforts of the VAST majority of staff to get things done. It could only have been written by the diector of a private company. May I suggest you put your efforts into attacking the issues your own company has with processing orders instead of the public service before you lose even more customers. I used to be a regular customer of Kompletts.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:43 AM

Sean – I’m in the PS & not on the high income many think we are. I’m down a full pay cheque a month. Multiply that by 12 months & there y’are. As I said before, it’s the guy & gal in the low & middle ( in both sectors ) who are being screwed to the wall. It’s to the top in the public sector at least who need adjusting. There are many people I work with who can barely keep their heads above water. Aaron – I clicked into that when u first announced it & agree with u. Don’t know if it is making a difference to date. Is it ?

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:47 AM

Too Trueleft, when you can’t play the ball anymore play the man, eh? Customer satisfaction and repeat business is up, thanks.

To the substantive issue of the article, there is a direct link between the CPA and worsening conditions in our hospitals and schools. You can cut a quango brand, but you can’t let the people go. Not let them go because they’re not good workers – But let them go so you can give the budget for their salary to a nurse, or a teacher.

My local hospital is closing another 31 beds today, after 28 going in October. They don’t have the nurses to manage the wards and their agency budget is being cut. I don’t think the secretary to a retired director can be redeployed to do their job, or teach a class.

If you make no choices, the choices will be made for you.

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:59 AM

@ Neil. 40% of the PS wage bill needs to be borrowed due to a collapse in the tax take as a result of the disasterous economic policies of FF. Wheres your vitriol for the people who got us into this mess instead of the 300,000 public servants who go to work, pay ALL of their income tax on time and spend their salary in the economy? Are you that blinded by hatred that you dont’t realise that further cutting the pay of over a quater of a million people in a country with half the population of the city of london is going to help us?

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:05 AM

Aaron, my point is that the article you wrote on the public service showed a blind ignorance and could only have been written by somebody like you. The public service is not a company. Its primary purpose is to serve the public interest and not turn a profit. Trying to apply private sector principals to a sector that exists for completely different purposes is ridiculous. And I stand by my comments about Komplett under your stewardship. If your company was running the public service, I’d order an ambulance on monday, ring the following monday to find out that somebody else ordered it while it was in my checkout basket, then receive a fire engine 2 weeks later without the hose to connect it to the main.

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:10 AM

@TooTrueLeft
    It´s not a question of what should have been done (although obviously dampening down the property bubble AND the massive increase in government expenditure it temporarily propped up, would have avoided all this mess) . That takes us nowhere forward.

In the end it comes down to the sums, and economic factors outside our control. If there is no global economic boom, if things continue to stagnate, then the idea that a government can sign a piece of paper which guarantees they will have the money to pay so and so at such a rate for years into the future is just rubbish. If the money is not there, if nobody will give us enough of it, then you won´t have it to spend.

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:10 AM

Too Trueleft, your point is really on the button: The public service is there to serve the public interest. Closing hospital wards whilst keeping the same number of individuals in local authority planning departments (because none choose to leave) when there’s no development is not serving the public interest.

Government is making no choices. It could choose to lead a line directly from cutting departments, quangos and local authorities to preserving hospitals, schools and Gardai.

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:23 AM

@ Aaron. Or they could increase the taxes on the Aarons of this world and close the loopholes and tax breaks that also favour the Aarons of this world. Then we could avoid the problems you’ve mentioned.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:31 AM

Hi all, thanks for your comments. Just a reminder that we don’t allow personal attacks on individuals, including other commenters. Play the ball not the man and all that.

You can have a read of our comments policy here: http://www.thejournal.ie/comments-policy/. Thanks!

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:35 AM

Too Trueleft, keep playing that ball, eh? Tax increases have worked so well to date you are correct. Let’s pile on more? Indeed, it’s not the Aaron’s of this world suffering the most – The marginal rate of tax hits 50% at €32,800. If you earn the average salary of €36,000 then the government will take €1,600 of the difference between those two sums.

When you count in VAT and income taxes to find total tax burden between those two taxes, the only people who pay more than the top 10 per cent of earners is the bottom 10 per cent. But hey, we jacked up VAT 2 per cent in the latest budget. Go talk to all the retailers that have shut down since then, or the folks trying to make ends meet.

The left wing “Tax everything” approach eventually harms everyone, too.

But hey, if you want to introduce a 50 cent tax rate or similar I have no problem with that. (Your difficulty is that, as in the UK, most of the people it will target will simply leave and you’ll end up losing money overall when they take the investment money with them.) As it is I give the Minister just shy of half of what I earn.

That still won’t cover the deficit, though.

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin
    Apr 13th 2012, 2:05 PM

@Too Trueleft

We know exactly where Aaron works and what business he runs…we even know his real name. Perhaps you could even the playing field and let us know what exact job you do in the public service?

Mute Gay Pea McManus
    Favourite Gay Pea McManus
    Apr 13th 2012, 3:03 PM

Scrap the coke park deal for those above a certain salary cut their salaries, cut cut cut cut the wealthy , tax tax tax the wealthy use the cash to create jobs for the unemployed , so they can begin to contribute to the economy again, that’s what Gilmore would be doing if the man had any balls. No more elites in this country having it their own way a level competitive playing field for all.

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:15 AM

They’ll honour an agreement that looks after their special interest groups (who donate the most to Labour) at cost to the rest of us.

Not one ineffective Quango will be cut in favour of preserving nurses in our hospitals.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:04 AM

Maybe I missed it but im curious as to your alternative to the CPA? And to anyone with a bit of cop on it was obvious nothing would be done to threaten it, 18 months of cooperation or 18 months of work to rule and strikes. Which one did you think the gov would pick?

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:12 AM

Scarr, I’m not sure a person who shows up to Connolly Hospital today to discover A&E understaffed and a 31 bed ward closed, or the person whose operation will be cancelled and deferred because of that, really cares about work to rules; and I doubt, from my conversations with frontline staff like nurses, that they’d participate.

You’re essentially correct: Industrial peace has been secured at the price of services to the frontline.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:56 AM

My last reply must have been too awesome for the journal to handle as it has not shown up. I made the point that services have been maintained and not sacrificed. It’s easy to say what should be done when you don’t actually have to make that decision

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:57 AM

Also you’ve not yet given an alternative.

Mute Joey Dempsey
    Favourite Joey Dempsey
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:03 AM

Nice to hear Mr Gilmore will honor something, albeit an agreement that accommodates the select few in our society, Pity Mr Gilmore has developed selective amnesia when it comes to other commitments he offered when seeking election to Government. Perhaps Mr Gilmore should look carefully at recent Poll’s dealing with his and his parties performance to date.

Mute raymelody
    Favourite raymelody
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:18 AM

Frankfurts way or Labours way it all sounds so hollow now it’s hard to respect or believe anything he says anymore its all about sound bites and no substance

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:36 AM

U hit the nail on the head there, Raymelody.

Mute Yvonne Byrne
    Favourite Yvonne Byrne
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:56 AM

Its a pity he didn’t honour the agreement he made with the electorate before the last election.

Mute Taidi Mcnally
    Favourite Taidi Mcnally

“Government” and “Honour” are two words that don’t really go together here in Ireland.

Mute Dexter Gordon
    Favourite Dexter Gordon
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:07 AM

Damn! There goes the country down the tubes ..

Mute Sean Davids
    Favourite Sean Davids

They won’t break this promise because if they did saying that they couldn’t afford it they think there would be riots in the streets because they can’t afford to pay the senior bond holders but they honour that one.

Mute D O C
    Favourite D O C
    Apr 13th 2012, 12:03 PM

Neil what line of work are you in? Arm chair analyst? You’re comments are always negative and ill-thought. Get a life.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Apr 13th 2012, 12:24 PM

Play the ball. Not the man DOC.

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    Apr 13th 2012, 12:51 PM

Gilmore
    WE do not believe you and why should we ? You have lied from day one of taking office and lied to get there !

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Favourite Tigerisinthezoo
    Apr 13th 2012, 11:07 AM

Can anyone tell me how much SW, pensions and public pay will have to be cut to balance the budget? What will the water and property charges end up being?
    The troika plan set out these cuts but they were also projecting growth rates of between .5 and 2.5% over the course of the austerity package. This clearly wont happen as we have near negative growth.
    Does the country need a stimulus every year, e.g. 2 billion to be put into public infrastructure every year which would be paid off as part of a long term loan with repayments only beginning in say 2020.

Mute Mairtin Cathbhar
    Favourite Mairtin Cathbhar
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:37 AM

No surprises there. Labour supporting productivity enhancing initiatives that could increase the live register? Methinks not. Going along with FF plans is political tactics and lacks creativity & leadership. A natural attrition strategy is not reform. C’mon Leo, let’s here it!

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Apr 13th 2012, 12:46 PM

Government will honor Croke Farce Agreement, but promises to abolish upward only rent reviews can be safely dishonoured. After all, who among the political elite have any respect for the retail sector?

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Apr 13th 2012, 1:46 PM

The rent reviews are not being tackled as that whole arrangement is tied into nama and the amounts they purchased properties from the banks for.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Apr 13th 2012, 2:39 PM

Tear up all contracts now and issue 1 yearly contracts with lower wages for all above 30K. We are broke. People are looking for 50% write down on mortgages so why not the same rule for wages.

Mute Gay Pea McManus
    Favourite Gay Pea McManus
    Apr 13th 2012, 3:10 PM

Whatever about salaries, why would you put people on 1 year contracts, what would making them insecure in their jobs achieve, would you like to whip them to work is that it?

Mute D O C
    Favourite D O C
    Apr 13th 2012, 2:18 PM

Ah ref?! He was all over me

Mute HI SPRUIKER
    Favourite HI SPRUIKER
    Apr 13th 2012, 7:33 PM

One things for sure it’s pointless overpaying the public service if the money is going to pay Ponzi Mortgages to Ponzi Corrupt Banks.

In the private sector, if you cant pay your mortgage, then you cant pay your mortgage.

Mute phantom duck Nibbler
    Favourite phantom duck Nibbler
    Apr 13th 2012, 4:59 PM

just tax the rich , problem solved

Mute John Corcoran
    Favourite John Corcoran
    Apr 13th 2012, 10:19 PM

The FF led government of the previous fourteen years implemented the policies of the Irish property industry and destroyed the entire economy.

This same property industry now claim that the “abolition of the upward only rent review clause in commercial leases will lead to an average of 20-30% decline in Irish commercial property prices.

Commercial property should be a service to enterprise,trade and employment. Irish commercial lease law i.e UORRs tied to long leases, destroyed all three.

In a democracy power comes from the ballot box. The Irish people have spoken. Over 80% of the Dail were elected on a manifesto that included the abolition of the UORR lease clause and an open market rent review for all commercial tenants this year. Minister Shatter has stated on live TV and restated twice in the written media “that he is consulting with the AG on this legacy UORR issue and he will bring legislation to the Dail as expeditiously as possible“ The Irish government have spoken.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Apr 13th 2012, 4:18 PM

A 1 year guarantee of a job is like gold these days – who else in the country has that ? Private business people don’t know if they will survive and people on unemployment have no guarantee it will be maintained.
    We are also borrowing the money and there is no guarantee that we will be able to keep borrowing.